Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Quirky Train
*Does not include motors or track. Not immediately compatible with other Lego trains*

**Update: Lego delisted this set in the U.S. in October, 2013. Prices will rise as supplies become scarce. Check my Lego train guide (click through my name) to see what is currently available and forthcoming.**

I am the nut-job parent that you'll see in some of the...
Published on May 22, 2012 by R. Ferguson

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not compatible with LEGO Train Tracks
The aesthetic of this set is perfectly in line with the rest of the excellent Monster Fighters line. The glow-in-the-dark ghosts are nifty and the pair of Monster Fighters are cool, but while the train itself is fairly stylish and detailed it has one major flaw--it's incompatible with LEGO's train tracks. My 9-year-old LEGO maniac wanted to motorize this train to use as...
Published on November 27, 2012 by James L. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Quirky Train, May 22, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
*Does not include motors or track. Not immediately compatible with other Lego trains*

**Update: Lego delisted this set in the U.S. in October, 2013. Prices will rise as supplies become scarce. Check my Lego train guide (click through my name) to see what is currently available and forthcoming.**

I am the nut-job parent that you'll see in some of the other train reviews. I grew up with Lego and returned to it when I had kids. Obviously I am terribly partial to Lego, but I'll give you the best review I can so that you can make the decision that is right for your kids. I do not receive free sets or compensation for my Lego reviews.

This set arrived in May of 2012 as part of Lego's in-house Monster Fighters theme. The train itself is not immediately compatible with Lego's other trains, but it is a train and, with some amount of retrofitting, could be made to run on track. More on that below. Overall, I very much like this set because it is just good fun for the kids. It is has really quirky styling that makes it a design stand-out.

The set includes a black 4-4-0 steam engine (with white and gray detailing) without a tender. The roof of the engine lifts off for easy mini-figure access. The train has three cars, two with bat wings that flap as they roll, and a small cage car. The cars use technic wheels (pulley wheels, actually) with o-rings while the engine uses four standard train wheels and four larger steam engine drivers (the set also includes two extra flangeless drivers). The connections between the cars are hitches rather than the usual magnetic couplers. The train makes extensive use of bone and spike pieces, many of which glow in the dark. There is also a red and gray radial-engine aircraft with four flick-fire missiles and an unusual ghost vacuum. There are five mini-figures: Frank Rock, Ann Lee, and three ghosts.

The train and airplane combo has very good playability. Lego has a storyline for the Monster Fighters (involving a Vampire and his evil moonstone device) but I find that kids already know what to do with a scary train and ghosts. The train is not a difficult build, but it does have a lot of small detail parts. It operates well on different surfaces (e.g., wood, tile, low-carpets). The individual train cars can operate independently, though younger children (below the recommended age range) may have some difficulty undoing the hitches. As with most Lego toys, this train may return to the repair-shop after pieces fall off. I have not seen a single train escape a staged crash, and this one is prone to chasing down mini-figures. Damage will ensue, but that is part and parcel of Lego.

There is no track, nor would this set be able to use Lego track without modification. It is also not motorized. If you wish to place it on track, you will need to purchase train wheels (x12, part 55423), and train buffers (x6, so the cars can follow a curve). For the engine bogies to swivel independently, you merely need to remove two of the four vertical pin plates that are already part of the bogie assemblies (thank you to M. Norin for the tip). These extra pieces are sometimes available through Lego's Pick-a-brick shop and usually available through Bricklink. Converting this train will require a bit of tinkering. Motorization is a tougher conversion and would really require the building of a tender to hold the battery unit. To learn what is typically required for motorization, go to my Amazon guide, "Get a Lego train for your kids." Tracks and motorization really aren't necessary, and kids will likely have the most fun using this simply as a push train.

The last time Lego had such an unconventional train was in 1997 with the Twisted Time Train (#6497). The set was similarly incompatible with Lego train tracks, and though it does not command an extraordinary price on the used market, 6497 is still regarded affectionately.

Addendum: Lego just announced (June '12) a large and very detailed Haunted House (#10228) that is part of the Monster Fighter's line but is also sufficiently complex and design-oriented that it could sit aside, but not connect to, Lego's other modular buildings (e.g., #10224). It will be pricey, but it will also greatly expand the depth of the Monster Fighter line. The Haunted House arrives in September of 2012.

Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not compatible with LEGO Train Tracks, November 27, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
The aesthetic of this set is perfectly in line with the rest of the excellent Monster Fighters line. The glow-in-the-dark ghosts are nifty and the pair of Monster Fighters are cool, but while the train itself is fairly stylish and detailed it has one major flaw--it's incompatible with LEGO's train tracks. My 9-year-old LEGO maniac wanted to motorize this train to use as part of a "Halloween Town" she was putting together but it ended up being too complicated for her to figure out without major frustration. Not like the Marsek or even the Hogwarts trains that she was able to get moving with a LEGO R/C motor. A fun set but don't expect to be able to get it on the tracks without major re-working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness in a box, November 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
This is a great set! My 6 year old son loves this series and this did not disappoint. The trains, bones & ghosts are aplenty, and the glow-in-the-dark features rock! My son loves the hoses on the plane, as well as the hanging chain so the heroes can swoop in and grab the moonstone. Thanks Lego! Now please bring on the coordinating DS and Wii game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This train's a little rickety, but overall its a good ride, August 28, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
Ghost trains have long held a place in folklore and ghost stories, so its fun to see Lego play off of this with the spooky Ghost Train. Part of the Monster Fighters theme, the Ghost Train features plenty of the hallmarks of this new theme: Lego versions of classic monsters, tough, well armed humans, glow in the dark pieces, and specialized vehicles reminiscent of the early 20th century. While the Ghost Train doesn't have tracks or a motor like many of the more expensive and more traditional Lego trains, it does include 5 mini figures, the engine, 3 train cars, and an airplane for the Monster Fighters. Is this a train you'll want to catch or should you take a cab? Read on and find out!

The Facts:

# of Pieces: 740, 2 instruction manuals
Minifigures: Three ghosts (they glow in the dark), Frank Rock, Ann Lee.

Positives:

*The train is very striking when put together. The black of the train parts matched with the white of the bones which ornament the train really makes for a nice display piece. Little details like the cow catcher, the eerie green flames rising from the smokestack, and the glow in the dark ghost face on the front of the train (is this a train driven by ghosts or is the train a "ghost" itself?) really give this train a phantasmagorical vibe which is incredibly appealing.

*The Monster Fighters' airplane included with this set is really, really cool. It's quite large and is covered with some neat details like "flick-fire" missiles, 6 revolvers on the sides, and very steampunkish system of a barrel and hoses which is used to suck up the ghosts. The thing looks awesome, and even has a chain which can be used to attach to the train for daring rescues.

*There are lots of little interactive features on the train. Inside the cabin of the locomotive, the furnace opens up and has little flames inside. There's lots of little levers and such as well in there.

*The cars can be connected in whatever order you want. The smaller cars both feature flapping wings when they roll.

Negatives:

*In terms of minifigures, this set is a little bland. The ghosts are not unique to this set and there are three of them. While I love Ann Lee and Frank Rock, they're also not unique to this set. In terms of minifigures, you're not getting anything really unique with such an expensive set.

*While I like the design of the cars, the two train cars with flapping wings are both exactly the same. I really wish they were at least a little different.

*While the train looks very ornate, those ornate pieces have a tendency to fall off or flip around when you're handling/playing with the train. The little white bone spikes and the black railing on the front of the train take quite some time to get perfectly aligned, only to get messed up again as soon as you pick the thing up.

Overall: While I have some issues with the train, mostly due to the fact that it includes no unique minifigures and reuses the same car design for 2 of the 3 cars which the engine pulls, I do think this is a striking piece. It looks fantastic sitting on display, especially the engine. The airplane is also a fantastic build. I do think kids might get frustrated with the train do to the many small pieces which can fall off and get turned around, but fans more intent on building and displaying this set won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Toy, November 19, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
My 8-year old daughter saved up for months for this. It is pricey, as the larger Lego sets are, but she absolutely loves it. For her it was worth every penny. She has rebuilt the train several times and invited our next-door-neighbor, and fellow Legomaniac, over to build it with her. The glow-in-the-dark pieces are very fun as are all of the little details. Would be even better with tracks and a motor, but you can't have everything. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Ghost train, September 15, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
Product arrived as expected. my son was delighted with it. He adapted it to run on his older train track and was pleased with the results. He is a college student, but I guess you are never too old for Legos!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost Train, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
My son love's lego's! he gets them every year for Christmas. He was a wee bit disappointed with this one though, and it is still irritating him. It looks great and will be proudly displayed on his shelves but the bat wings on the last train to do move up and down very well:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highlight lego set of the year., June 17, 2012
A Kid's Review
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
This set isn't exactly like a real train, it's got a bunch of weird things to make it look spooky and stuff.
This set starts out with you making the airplane with you can suck up the ghosts.
And then you start out with the train and you begin making the lower back part of the train and just carries on until you've made the whole locomotive and that ends the 1st instruction booklet.
the 2nd booklet is you making bat car #1 and then it makes you repeat the instructions to make bat car #2.
And then for the last part you make the prison, and then you're done.
The only thing that's a little hard is when you're moving it you have to detach the cars and prison from each other and that takes some pulling but it's supposed to be able to come off.
Comes with 5 minifigures and 2 vehicles: Frank Rock Ann Lee and 3 ghosts, and an airplane for the heroes and the train for the ghosts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what is the orange flipper piece for?, June 14, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
this is great ! what is the orange flipper piece for . does anyone know . ive seen it before in other sets too .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting display for halloween, May 7, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train (Toy)
This is a weird looking train but makes good fun as a display piece during Halloween. The luminous pieces make it even more fitting to the theme.

As many reviewers had pointed out, motorizing this train would be a challenge. Had seen many videos and description around but not one with detailed instructions. Hence had done up my own version of it to make it run using Lego PF parts since I only joined the Lego trains fray after the 9V was phased out by Lego.
Instructions here: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4KQ6yGncOYtTjE2dGJYLURjN0E/edit?usp=sharing
Video here: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4KQ6yGncOYtSTdYM0Z6OWxrQ00/edit?usp=sharing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.