Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: LEGO Monster Fighters 9467 The Ghost Train
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars148
Price:$118.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

*Does not include motors or track. Not immediately compatible with other Lego trains*

**Update: Lego delisted this set in the U.S. in October, 2013. Prices will rise as supplies become scarce. Check my Lego train guide (click through my name) to see what is currently available and forthcoming.**

I am the nut-job parent that you'll see in some of the other train reviews. I grew up with Lego and returned to it when I had kids. Obviously I am terribly partial to Lego, but I'll give you the best review I can so that you can make the decision that is right for your kids. I do not receive free sets or compensation for my Lego reviews.

This set arrived in May of 2012 as part of Lego's in-house Monster Fighters theme. The train itself is not immediately compatible with Lego's other trains, but it is a train and, with some amount of retrofitting, could be made to run on track. More on that below. Overall, I very much like this set because it is just good fun for the kids. It is has really quirky styling that makes it a design stand-out.

The set includes a black 4-4-0 steam engine (with white and gray detailing) without a tender. The roof of the engine lifts off for easy mini-figure access. The train has three cars, two with bat wings that flap as they roll, and a small cage car. The cars use technic wheels (pulley wheels, actually) with o-rings while the engine uses four standard train wheels and four larger steam engine drivers (the set also includes two extra flangeless drivers). The connections between the cars are hitches rather than the usual magnetic couplers. The train makes extensive use of bone and spike pieces, many of which glow in the dark. There is also a red and gray radial-engine aircraft with four flick-fire missiles and an unusual ghost vacuum. There are five mini-figures: Frank Rock, Ann Lee, and three ghosts.

The train and airplane combo has very good playability. Lego has a storyline for the Monster Fighters (involving a Vampire and his evil moonstone device) but I find that kids already know what to do with a scary train and ghosts. The train is not a difficult build, but it does have a lot of small detail parts. It operates well on different surfaces (e.g., wood, tile, low-carpets). The individual train cars can operate independently, though younger children (below the recommended age range) may have some difficulty undoing the hitches. As with most Lego toys, this train may return to the repair-shop after pieces fall off. I have not seen a single train escape a staged crash, and this one is prone to chasing down mini-figures. Damage will ensue, but that is part and parcel of Lego.

There is no track, nor would this set be able to use Lego track without modification. It is also not motorized. If you wish to place it on track, you will need to purchase train wheels (x12, part 55423), and train buffers (x6, so the cars can follow a curve). For the engine bogies to swivel independently, you merely need to remove two of the four vertical pin plates that are already part of the bogie assemblies (thank you to M. Norin for the tip). These extra pieces are sometimes available through Lego's Pick-a-brick shop and usually available through Bricklink. Converting this train will require a bit of tinkering. Motorization is a tougher conversion and would really require the building of a tender to hold the battery unit. To learn what is typically required for motorization, go to my Amazon guide, "Get a Lego train for your kids." Tracks and motorization really aren't necessary, and kids will likely have the most fun using this simply as a push train.

The last time Lego had such an unconventional train was in 1997 with the Twisted Time Train (#6497). The set was similarly incompatible with Lego train tracks, and though it does not command an extraordinary price on the used market, 6497 is still regarded affectionately.

Addendum: Lego just announced (June '12) a large and very detailed Haunted House (#10228) that is part of the Monster Fighter's line but is also sufficiently complex and design-oriented that it could sit aside, but not connect to, Lego's other modular buildings (e.g., #10224). It will be pricey, but it will also greatly expand the depth of the Monster Fighter line. The Haunted House arrives in September of 2012.

Cheers
88 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
This is a great set! My 6 year old son loves this series and this did not disappoint. The trains, bones & ghosts are aplenty, and the glow-in-the-dark features rock! My son loves the hoses on the plane, as well as the hanging chain so the heroes can swoop in and grab the moonstone. Thanks Lego! Now please bring on the coordinating DS and Wii game!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
The aesthetic of this set is perfectly in line with the rest of the excellent Monster Fighters line. The glow-in-the-dark ghosts are nifty and the pair of Monster Fighters are cool, but while the train itself is fairly stylish and detailed it has one major flaw--it's incompatible with LEGO's train tracks. My 9-year-old LEGO maniac wanted to motorize this train to use as part of a "Halloween Town" she was putting together but it ended up being too complicated for her to figure out without major frustration. Not like the Marsek or even the Hogwarts trains that she was able to get moving with a LEGO R/C motor. A fun set but don't expect to be able to get it on the tracks without major re-working.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2012
My 8-year old daughter saved up for months for this. It is pricey, as the larger Lego sets are, but she absolutely loves it. For her it was worth every penny. She has rebuilt the train several times and invited our next-door-neighbor, and fellow Legomaniac, over to build it with her. The glow-in-the-dark pieces are very fun as are all of the little details. Would be even better with tracks and a motor, but you can't have everything. :)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2012
Product arrived as expected. my son was delighted with it. He adapted it to run on his older train track and was pleased with the results. He is a college student, but I guess you are never too old for Legos!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2012
Ghost trains have long held a place in folklore and ghost stories, so its fun to see Lego play off of this with the spooky Ghost Train. Part of the Monster Fighters theme, the Ghost Train features plenty of the hallmarks of this new theme: Lego versions of classic monsters, tough, well armed humans, glow in the dark pieces, and specialized vehicles reminiscent of the early 20th century. While the Ghost Train doesn't have tracks or a motor like many of the more expensive and more traditional Lego trains, it does include 5 mini figures, the engine, 3 train cars, and an airplane for the Monster Fighters. Is this a train you'll want to catch or should you take a cab? Read on and find out!

The Facts:

# of Pieces: 740, 2 instruction manuals
Minifigures: Three ghosts (they glow in the dark), Frank Rock, Ann Lee.

Positives:

*The train is very striking when put together. The black of the train parts matched with the white of the bones which ornament the train really makes for a nice display piece. Little details like the cow catcher, the eerie green flames rising from the smokestack, and the glow in the dark ghost face on the front of the train (is this a train driven by ghosts or is the train a "ghost" itself?) really give this train a phantasmagorical vibe which is incredibly appealing.

*The Monster Fighters' airplane included with this set is really, really cool. It's quite large and is covered with some neat details like "flick-fire" missiles, 6 revolvers on the sides, and very steampunkish system of a barrel and hoses which is used to suck up the ghosts. The thing looks awesome, and even has a chain which can be used to attach to the train for daring rescues.

*There are lots of little interactive features on the train. Inside the cabin of the locomotive, the furnace opens up and has little flames inside. There's lots of little levers and such as well in there.

*The cars can be connected in whatever order you want. The smaller cars both feature flapping wings when they roll.

Negatives:

*In terms of minifigures, this set is a little bland. The ghosts are not unique to this set and there are three of them. While I love Ann Lee and Frank Rock, they're also not unique to this set. In terms of minifigures, you're not getting anything really unique with such an expensive set.

*While I like the design of the cars, the two train cars with flapping wings are both exactly the same. I really wish they were at least a little different.

*While the train looks very ornate, those ornate pieces have a tendency to fall off or flip around when you're handling/playing with the train. The little white bone spikes and the black railing on the front of the train take quite some time to get perfectly aligned, only to get messed up again as soon as you pick the thing up.

Overall: While I have some issues with the train, mostly due to the fact that it includes no unique minifigures and reuses the same car design for 2 of the 3 cars which the engine pulls, I do think this is a striking piece. It looks fantastic sitting on display, especially the engine. The airplane is also a fantastic build. I do think kids might get frustrated with the train do to the many small pieces which can fall off and get turned around, but fans more intent on building and displaying this set won't be disappointed!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
BIRTHDAY GIFT 2013.

This was for my eldest & it was put together & played with & still sits on the dresser today (April 2015)

The Monster Theme was fun (One of my Favs)

LEGO ROCKS!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
Bought this for my 6 year old nephew even thought the age range is 8-14. He LOVED it. Takes him a little longer to build but he gets through it and does it by himself with only a little help. The train is fantastic. so is the airplane. Very cool buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
My son wanted a Lego train- the $300 one, and I just could not spend that much on Lego's. So I bought this monster train. I like this monster theme Lego did- glowing ghosts funny vampires swamp things and wolfmen. It's very cool. So we got this train and when he opened it I was a little worried there's tons of pieces, but he just sat down and got to building this train. It is so much cooler than I thought, first off it comes with a plane. I guess I didn't notice or read that on the box, and then there's the train with 3 cars attached. One of the train cars has bat type wings that flap up and down and you pull it. It has certain glow in the dark elements and was a great addition to a few of our other monster pieces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
Not a very "large" set, but very detailed and unique. The wings flap on the train cars when you drive it around. The fighter plane is really cool with it's ghost killer weapons and detailed engines. Minifigs look great. MANY glowing parts so it looks awesome in the dark or under a black light. Great attention to details not seen in the photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.