Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best LEGO sets of 2013!
79014 Dol Guldur Battle was released in late November / early December 2013 for "The Hobbit" with a LEGO store retail price of $69.99. It officially contains 797 pieces, 6 minifigures (including the first physical LEGO appearances of Radagast the Brown and The Necromancer of Dol Gunder, as well as being the first non-exclusive set to contain the orc leader Azog), 2...
Published 11 months ago by Ron Cole

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Very disappointing!
Published 3 months ago by Boxelder


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best LEGO sets of 2013!, December 17, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
79014 Dol Guldur Battle was released in late November / early December 2013 for "The Hobbit" with a LEGO store retail price of $69.99. It officially contains 797 pieces, 6 minifigures (including the first physical LEGO appearances of Radagast the Brown and The Necromancer of Dol Gunder, as well as being the first non-exclusive set to contain the orc leader Azog), 2 additional semi-minifigures (a full skeleton and a statue), various accessories (weapons, skulls, wizard ring, etc..), and the pieces to build the Dol Guldur structures as well. The set itself portrays a scene from the second Hobbit movie, and contains characters that will be familiar both to fans of the book and the movies alike.

I was a little hesitant when I first saw this set, as it appeared small for the price - but is it ever fun! Dol Guldur Battle has a lot of features that harken back to the old days of LEGO's previous (2007-2009) Castle fantasy theme, including working traps, an active catapult, and various opening passages / secret places. These features don't necessarily stand out on the box, but they do get noticed quickly once the set is assembled and being played with. As well, there are hinges and pegs that allow the sets to fit together in different ways, keeping them interesting when built according to the instructions. My favorite part of all, though, is that the structure bricks in this set work well with almost any other LEGO fantasy or medieval set - so, when the LEGO builder is tired of Dol Guldur, they can uses the pieces to add a tower on to a castle, build a scary dungeon, or create whatever structure he/she wants! Movie fans should be happy with all of the important characters they get, including Gandalf the Grey and the previously mentioned Azog, Radagast the Brown, and The Necromancer.

My only complaint comes down to the price, which I feel is a bit high for a set of building blocks. But a somewhat inflated price has seemingly become the norm for LEGOs (especially licensed sets like those in The Hobbit line), and this really is an impressive set. If you're a fan of LEGOs (or are looking for a gift for someone that is), this is definitely something you will want to get!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. One of the best sets of 2013!

Note: LEGO Set 79011 Dol Guldur Ambush is a small set modularly designed to fit together with this one, expanding it somewhat and adding to the overall experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dol Guldur would make an excellent addition to your LOTR lego collections., December 1, 2013
By 
William Shull (Pocono Summit, PA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
This is an amazing set with two of the most wanted minifigures. Radagast and Azog are great additions to our collections and with the Pale Orc we don't have to pay SDCC prices.
Set is a nice ruined fort with lots of playability and action features such as a dropping skull and a hidden falling sword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good stuff, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
I love this set. It has good minifigures and interesting buildings. Azog is worth for the price. It will be better if it could have a warg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it but not the best set, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
As a fan, I like this because of the great minifigures but if you are a collector, you won't like the details of the citadel. What I don't like about it is the construction phase. It is not so enjoying because of the plain color does contrast a lot. The architecture is not so like the original one. The general shape is ok but it is most like the helms deep set. Citadel does not very resembles the original castel in the movie.

The necromancer is very dissapointing. I was planning to combine the eye of Sauron in the Battle Wizard set, and probably the helmet of the "Mouth", but that body of this set does not really charming.

Azog is now become a great looking guy. You will definitely like it. The problem is the previous Azog in the other lego set was poor. I don't know why we have two very different Azogs now. A design problem!

Still the stickers are not charming. The brown blades (what ever they are) are not so effective I think. I really love the tower part and the inside decoration of it. Also the outside stairs are cool but I don't find any specific function of them except the nice looking. The traps are nice too.

The cage is very good, Gandalf perfectly fit into it but not the skeleton. The statue is very cool too. The branch decoration and secret of it is so nice.

For who cares for the minifigures, this is a must buy set, I remind that there is finally Radagast the Brown here. For who really cares for the sets itself and if it is your first set, buy Helms Deep or another thing.

Thanks to Amazon for fast delivery! It arrived 10-15 days earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really fun and it got here fast!., January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
When i bought this package i didn't expect it to get to my house for a little bit, but it came in two days!!. And not only that but the set itself is really fun and it was a great price for all that you get, i recommend this to people of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Set, Good Price, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
This set is mostly about the minifigures for me, as it includes exclusive, Radagast, Azog, and Necromancer characters. Besides them the fortress part is very well designed for play or display, and the build was interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool set, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
my 6 year old really wanted this set. with the help of his older brother, he was able to assemble it and LOVES it. very cool pieces and hiding places for the ring. Comes with 3 rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My son loves the characters, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
The buildings are a little difficult to set up, but lots of fun to play with once it is built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
Quick and good condition of the box. I will collect all of the Hobbit set of Lord of the rings!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the above item, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings 79014 Dol Guldur Battle Building Kit (Toy)
excellent. Child thoroughly loved it. It was one of his top choices for a long time. Surprised him. His reaction was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.