Customer Reviews


271 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The X-Wing Fighter You're Looking For
This is Lego's fourth iteration of the Star Wars X-Wing Fighter (not including the mini-scale and Ultimate Collectors Series (UCS) versions). The first was #7140 in 1999 (reprised in 2002 with set #7142). Lego came out with set #4502 in 2003, and #6212 in 2006. The UCS kit, #7191, came out in 2000 and retailed for $150. [UCS are large and intricate, and are geared mainly...
Published on January 31, 2012 by R. Ferguson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to build
This was great to build with my son but he does want to play with it a little and each time we make the wings expand they fall apart. I'm not sure if the blocks are not holding as strong as they should or if the rubber bands are too tight.
Published 10 months ago by Katharine Kreitzer


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

153 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The X-Wing Fighter You're Looking For, January 31, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
This is Lego's fourth iteration of the Star Wars X-Wing Fighter (not including the mini-scale and Ultimate Collectors Series (UCS) versions). The first was #7140 in 1999 (reprised in 2002 with set #7142). Lego came out with set #4502 in 2003, and #6212 in 2006. The UCS kit, #7191, came out in 2000 and retailed for $150. [UCS are large and intricate, and are geared mainly toward collectors rather than for play.] This latest set arrived in January of 2012. [Addendum, 7/2013] Lego released a new UCS X-Wing (#10240) in May of this year which retails for $200.

This latest version is, arguably, the best of the non-UCS versions. It is very much an evolution of 6212. Like the earlier set, it has working x-wings (they open and close using a gear at the rear of the craft), an opening cockpit, and retractable nose gear. Where the set differs is in the mini-figures and some key design features. The prior set included six mini-figures whereas this set includes only four: Luke, R2-D2, Porkins, and R5-D8. If you don't immediately recall Porkins, he was "Red Six" in Episode IV; during the final battle, he is the one screaming as his ship disintegrates around him. Porkins and R5-D8 are new mini-figures, and the droid sports a new conical top (as opposed to the usual spherical top of R2-D2 and the like). The design itself differs in a few big ways from 6212. First, the lower wings are now reversed so that the studs are upside down. This is what the UCS version did and it gives the model a cleaner look from the underside. Second, Lego reworked the wing folding mechanism and structure. This is important because set 6212's wings had a bad habit of breaking during play (due to how the rubber bands pulled against the bricks). Third, the engines and the guns are, I believe, more accurately rendered. The new set also has Proton torpedoes that attach to the fuselage. There are other small differences, such as the use of stickers rather than the printed tiles of 6212, and the droids now sit sideways, but these are distinctions that only catch the eye of hardcore Lego enthusiasts.

One small note regarding the build, you may find it easier for your child to activate the X-wings by only using two of the four rubber bands (the tradeoff being that the wings become floppy). This new model uses a different gear ratio than the old one, so while it takes fewer turns to open the wings, it requires more torque.

If you are a parent of a young Star Wars fan, it is hard to pass up this set. Yes, it is more expensive than many of the smaller sets (and there has been a ten dollar price appreciation over 6212) but, in terms of play, you get a lot of bang for the buck. The set is central to the original plot, so any movie scene staging is incomplete without it. Though my kids always want ALL the sets that Lego has ever made and ever will make, I've found it to be more economical to get a few of the key sets, even if they are more expensive, than to collect a lot of the lower priced and more peripheral sets. For a young kid, this set is an impressive build and has great playability. I do warn you, however, that these sets will suffer mechanical failures. Depending on the age of your child, you could become (as I have) a certified hyperdrive repair-person and obscure piece-finder (that became lost during an attack scene staged across three rooms).

If you are still unsure of the set, there are a large number of lengthy video reviews on youtube (search Lego 9493). It helps to see the set handled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging and rewarding build good for both play and display, November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
Great value in purely a bricks per dollar sense. As a "classic" Star Wars item I was as excited about this build as my 6 year old. some long a complex instructions but we tackled it in one sitting. Great fun. The mechanics of the wings is fantastic. Sturdy enough for play and not just "display". A year after building it, my son still has the X-wing put together. It has not been recycled for parts into another project. Now that really says something for the model design. Great job Lego!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i feel like a kid again......, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
not going to lie, i'm 34 years old and have no kids.

it's been about 25 years since i touched my last lego, and boy did i love legos!

making this unit was so much fun!

just knowing how the wing moves.........incredible!

it took me about 30 minutes to put it together. those 30 minutes were THROUGHLY enjoyed!

i'm going to wait for the millenium falcon to go on sale, i would love to build that unit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love about lego X-wing fighter?, March 10, 2014
By 
jls_gator (Jacksonville, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
Shopped the X-wing fighter all around, and even with other Retailers running Legos promos and sales, found that Amazon's prices were consistently better and more convenient (1 click, and 2 days later, poof...with no wasted time or gas)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
I'm a grown-ass man and still decided I needed to buy this. Took about half an hour to put together and allowed me to reminisce about my childhood in the process!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
My son loved it, he is a star wars fan and really enjoyed putting this together. Great for display but as any lego needs to be treated nicelly....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for boyfriend, August 17, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
My boyfriend loves Star Wars and he loved building this. I got him this and the Millennium Falcon for his birthday and he loved them both. He really enjoyed building them. We're still trying to figure out how best to display them though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT NOW!!!, September 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
This is the coolest lego set I have ever bought. It was so much fun to put together and it looks incredible! great purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice product. Highly recommend., November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
My kids love it. They spent hours on this toy and learnt patience. I also bought a few other legos for the Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and challenging!!, February 28, 2013
A Kid's Review
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493 (Toy)
This is a very good set and I enjoyed making and playing with it. There were no missing pieces. when I was making it I got stuck once and I had to undo it but that was the only problem with it. I would give it a five star if it didn't have that one problem. the wings are very cool because they flap up and down. I greatly enjoyed this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LEGO Star Wars X-Wing Starfighter 9493
$59.99 $48.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.