Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 109 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not what I remember.....
Yes, it's a grey 15" square Lego plate. But I seem to remember the "baseplates" being the same thinkness as a regular Lego piece. ...the base plate is a thin (1/16"?), flexible Lego baseplate that will allow you to build really big stuff, but it's tough to use on the "living room carpet" because it is so thin it flexes into the carpet when you try to press a "house"...
Published on August 7, 2001 by J. Campbell

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This product's chief virtue is to offer a lesson in the school of hard knocks
.
for those who fall for it. Look under "Bricks & More Building Plates" and you will find (as of this writing) the very same 15 x 15-inch base plate ("Building Plate" in LEGO terminology), with the very same item no. (628), with no indicated differences, and about $2.60 cheaper.

As always, it pays to shop around. Maybe even comparison-shop within this...
Published on November 13, 2010 by Allen Smalling


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 109 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not what I remember....., August 7, 2001
By 
J. Campbell (Londonderry, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
Yes, it's a grey 15" square Lego plate. But I seem to remember the "baseplates" being the same thinkness as a regular Lego piece. ...the base plate is a thin (1/16"?), flexible Lego baseplate that will allow you to build really big stuff, but it's tough to use on the "living room carpet" because it is so thin it flexes into the carpet when you try to press a "house" onto it. The result is that either only one corner of the house sticks, or it sticks fine, but all the other structures you've put on, flex off.
Anyway, it's a vital item in any kid's (or adult's) Lego set....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars glue it to a piece of wood, January 13, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
If you're worried about it flexing glue it to a piece of wood. If you get the right thickness of wood you can match the height of the board to the height of a regular brick (ie: 3 flats high). I've got two of them expoxyed to the center of a 2' x 4' piece of MDF (~ $3 + epoxy) and it works great on the carpet. There's extra room around the plates for building or running cars on, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big blank canvas always presents a challenge, July 1, 1999
By A Customer
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
And this is the biggest one Lego offers. I still have mine from childhood, so it does last if you are careful with it, but any child old enough to play with it could snap it in half without too much effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lego base plate, January 7, 2010
A Kid's Review
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
I used this instantly when I got it. Great for bilding, but it would be better if it was thicker so I can build on carpet - I always have to put a board underneath to keep the pieces on it and the pieces pop off if I try to carry it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This product's chief virtue is to offer a lesson in the school of hard knocks, November 13, 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
.
for those who fall for it. Look under "Bricks & More Building Plates" and you will find (as of this writing) the very same 15 x 15-inch base plate ("Building Plate" in LEGO terminology), with the very same item no. (628), with no indicated differences, and about $2.60 cheaper.

As always, it pays to shop around. Maybe even comparison-shop within this one vendor, when they get sloppy at times like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every kid needs at least one!, August 13, 2006
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
We ordered several and glued them to a plywood table. My two kids (boy, 9; girl,7)have built an entire lego city on it. There is no limit to the creativity. I HIGHLY recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great for Duplo, August 5, 2009
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
This is probably a great plate for legos, but I bought it for my 18 month old to use with his duplo blocks and it doesn't work very well (even though it is advertised for both). Most of the duplo blocks will click on this plate, but it is hard for a very young child to do. I ended up buying a plate especially for duplo blocks which is much better. Will put this away until he is old enough for legos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit flimsy, January 16, 2008
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
The big size is great. I would have expected this Lego plate to be more sturdy. When you pick it up, it sags, so it isn't good to carry it when you have something on top. It is just fine set on a table or hard flat surface though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes Lego creativity possible, but not for shag carpet and don't pay too much!, January 18, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
Without a baseplate, the world of Lego creativity is rather limited. Building with Legos sans baseplate is like building a house without pouring a foundation.

Sadly, these baseplates are thin and flexible, so you won't likely break it if you drop it, but you also aren't likely to get too far if you try to build that skyscraper on a shag carpet. I bought one of these for each of my boys and we'll either use them on the dining room table or use a hard surface over the carpet, or glue the baseplate to a thin piece of plywood.

Finally, you can get these at toy stores for about ten dollars, but for some reason I've seen these priced at two or three times that from various on line businesses. Shop around because it isn't necessary to pay much over ten bucks for these things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628) (Toy)
Bought this for great grandson. He could hardly wait to get it out and start building with the other sets we bought him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628)
$18.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.