Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

138 of 143 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2010
Verified Purchase
I had VERY high hopes for this TV...i bought it from Amazon and the first TV was shipped with prime (UPS delivered) and the box top was opened when I received the unit. It appeared it had been a return, as the inside styrofoam was somewhat broken up...but this review is about the TV, not the delivery service. Picture Quality was not good, and I realized I had a received non-IPS panel (check the AVS forum on it or google "le5300 panel lottery")...it turns out that LG uses both IPS and non-IPS panels in their models below 42". Now I've seen people on here get the IPS panel in this 37LE5300...but I wasn't so lucky. The large, white sticker on the box read 37LE5300-ASUDxxx...which means the unit was a non-IPS model. Had the sticker read ASUWxxx...it would have been an IPS panel...which is a top of the line screen. I returned the TV (amazon customer service was top-notch) and they overnighted me a replacement unit.

Turns out the replacement unit was another AUSDxxx model and we refused the delivery...I don't want a crappy version of an amazing TV, that's not what I paid my money for. I'm very pleased with Amazon's amazing customer service though, but I'm extremely disappointed with LG and the way they conduct business. It's a crapshoot if you order online, I realize that now, but you couldn't beat the price at $699.00 with free two day shipping. Now the TV is at $[...] but it doesn't make sense for me to buy it, knowing I've already lost the panel lottery TWICE. I'm really disappointed with my experience, but I know Amazon is not to blame here, just the TV and their company. I'm happy for those customers who received the IPS panel, because they actually got what they were supposed to be paying for.
1818 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
113 of 118 people found the following review helpful
on July 18, 2010
This is my first flatscreen TV. I bought the TV based on 4 specific features: 120Hz refresh rate, the LED backlight (and resulting power savings), the ability to play video files from USB, and 24P Real Cinema feature. I'm glad I made the purchase. Setup was easy, with only 8 screws to attach the stand to the TV. The unit is stable. I'm impressed by how thin the TV is. All the front lights can be turned off. The screen is a matte finish (no reflective cover). The TV doesn't have networking capability, but I wanted to buy the best TV I could afford and then use a Blu-ray player to provide the network interface.

I didn't know much about HDTVs a week ago and what I learned after about 8 hours of research and reviews is that the picture I actually see on the screen is heavily dependent on the source signal and the many different conversions the signal may go through (frame rate, aspect ratio change, deinterlacing, etc.) before it actually gets to the screen (the result of not feeding it a pure 1080p HDTV signal over an HDMI cable). I was really frustrated over looking at TVs in retail stores because doing comparisons side-by-side, I figured, was useless unless I knew what the original source video was and whether or not all the settings in the TV were set right. I ended up buying this TV because I figured it would give a great picture so long as I fed it with good source video. So far, that's true.

Right now, I only have a DVD player and a USB hard drive connected to it. My cheap little $20 DVD player outputs in 480i or 480p. The 480i signal has less jaggies on this TV than 480p. My guess is that the deinterlacer in the DVD player is low quality, so the 480p signal fed to the TV is not so good. I'm confident a 480p signal will look better once it's coming from a decent upconverting DVD player or Blu-ray player. All my anamorphic widescreen (1.78, 1.85, and 2.35) DVDs display great with the TV set to 16x9. 4:3 TV stuff (like old X-Files videos) display properly too. DVDs are clear, crisp and smooth.

I'm really impressed by the ability to play videos from a USB drive. So far I've played .avi, .mkv, .vob and .divx files up to 720p quality and file sizes between 500 MB and 2.1 GB. (When I hit the Info button on the remote, it looks like most of my .avi and .mkv files are encoded as MP4 and H.264, if that helps.) Windows .wmv files do not play. Quality is beautiful! No stuttering or pixilation. One problem I've faced, however, is the audio and video getting out of sync on some videos after about 20 minutes of play (the video starts to lag behind). I've been able to re-sync it by pressing stop and play. (Maybe it'll get fixed with a firmware update? Or maybe it's a problem with my files?) By the way, USB videos can be resumed from where you left off if you press stop or if the video stops. Once in awhile, videos will just stop on their own, but I'm able to start them again and they'll pick up and play just fine where they left off. I don't know if that's an issue with the file, the USB drive, or the TV. Aspect ratio modes are limited in USB mode: I only get the option of "Original size" or "Full" (which expands the video to the entire TV). I haven't had any problem yet with the "Full" setting because all my video files appear to be encoded in widescreen formats.

The LED backlighting is adjustable, either by changing the AV mode (standard, cinema, sports, etc) or by setting the power saving feature to "Auto". At full strength, I see some LED light vignetting at the corners of the screen when there's just a black image being displayed. (I see the same thing on my LED PC monitors). By comparison, the shade of black present in the vignetted areas is still blacker than the blacks produced in the video.

I don't have much to compare it to, but the remote works just fine for me. It took a little bit to figure out how to get to all the features (especially the 24P Cinema Mode, which is a couple menus deep).

Sound is just fine for my tastes. The volume runs from 0 to 100 and gets plenty loud enough to be too loud when sitting about 7 feet away. Sound quality is fine and actually has a pretty good frequency response range...it's not tinny or muffled. ClearVoice does add some crispness to voices.

TruMotion is kinda neat. It "interpolates" and inserts additional frames which really smooths out motion on any video I've fed it so far. Sometimes the results are desirable...sometimes not. On a "I am Legend" DVD, for example, setting the TruMotion to "Low" smooths out the video and adds to the quality in my opinion. It does add a little bit of the "Soap Opera Effect"--unnaturally clear and smooth video when compared to traditional 24-frame per second movies, so I just turn TruMotion off if I don't like the result. On some of my HD video from the USB drive, TruMotion makes motion more blurry, so I just turn it off. Again, the benefit seems to be dependent on the frame rate and quality of the original video signal.

The 120Hz refresh rate and the 24P Real Cinema mode are all about displaying film and video at their native frame rates without the need to do "pull down" frame rate conversions to the video signal which can cause judder (stuttering). I'm still learning about "judder" and "pull down" so I really don't have anything to compare good vs. bad video quality. I can say that I don't experience any stuttering no matter what DVDs I play.

I love the quality I'm getting out of this TV right now and it's only going to get better when I can actually feed it full 1080p signals. I will definitely look at LG LED-LCD TVs when it comes time to buy a bigger TV for the living room.

I learned a lot about this TV's features by reading the online manual at LG before I bought. I now have the CD manual which is 178 pages and goes into a lot more detail about what the TV can do. If you want a copy, send me an email at rgknowlton at hotmail dot com.

********************
3 month update. I now have an LG BD570 hooked up to the TV and I think the TV is amazing. When fed a full 1080p signal, the picture is absolutely stunning (Planet Earth, Life, Avatar, etc.) I've fed it everything from 380MB TV rip files to full quality MKVs. I am very pleased with the quality: Even the quality of the smaller video files is more than I expected from normal viewing distances. DVD upconverting through the player also displays beautifully on the screen. Once in awhile when I try to play VOB files from a hard drive, the TV won't expand the image to full screen, and once in awhile I get a video that the TV won't play (e.g. no CODEC for it). It certainly isn't enough to bother me. Whatever the TV won't play I can usually play through the BD570. Between the two, 9 out of 10 files play correctly. I like the TV so much I'm seriously considering one of its big brothers for our main living room TV.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on June 27, 2010
Verified Purchase
I purchased this HDTV off Amazon about two weeks ago, and I am beyond pleased with it. I replaced a 26" Vizio 720p LCD with this. The features that really drove me to this TV is the LED backlighting and the 120Hz processing. This TV has a stunning picture quality with some of the deepest blacks and great color. The 120Hz TruMotion has really gotten me though. It makes everything much more realistic, almost to a point to being scary sometimes. Watching Blu-rays with the TruMotion on the highest setting almost takes you out of the movie. It's beyond cinematic, and it seems like I'm just looking out a window watching the actors in real life. It's not bad by any means, and in fact, I can't go back to not having it, but it may be too much for some people. You do have the option to adjust it, and you can even turn it off altogether.

I use this TV currently for the following devices: an Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, Gateway PC, and Comcast Digital HD package. Gaming is great. I've noticed everything I've played so far has been super smooth and the response time is phenomenal. I've tried the following 360 games on it with great results: Halo 3, Need for Speed; Shift, Alan Wake, Modern Warfare 2, and Split/Second. The Wii looks a bit worse on this TV than on the small Vizio, but I imagine it's the increased screen size. I have the Wii hooked up with component cables and set to 480p widescreen, but playing Super Mario Galaxy 2, The Conduit, No More Heroes 2 looked kind of bad. I know the Wii is not an HD console, but it's a bit disheartening to see some of the better Wii's graphics downgraded. Now, with the PS3, I don't game to much, and I've yet to play a game on it with this TV, but as far as the Blu-ray goes, it's been outstanding. This TV is enough to make me just skip the theater and wait for movies to release on BD. Blu-ray movies have such amazing clarity on this set, and the 3-dimensional feel is incredible. I played The Dark Knight, and the movie is so deep. With this kind of picture, I think I can wait a decade for 3D HDTVs to prove themselves more worth it to me. My Comcast HD looks nice, too. I know it's not 1080p, but there's no complaint. The TruMotion is great in the case of sports, and watching Braves baseball is more enjoyable due to it.

I'm loving my TV, and I'd say traditional LCDs should be no more. LED is so much better, and the LGs are priced very reasonably. I can't believe I got this for $850.
1111 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on November 19, 2010
Verified Purchase
As the other reviews have stated, this is a very good display; I won't go into the picture quality much since that is well covered. I bought this recently based on the positive reviews here on Amazon, and I am completely satisfied. I got this to upgrade from a 720p Toshiba from 2007. Prices of HDTV's have gone down so much, I decided it was as good of a time as any to make the move. I had never purchased anything from the Korean based LG prior to this, but based on their overall good reception over the years I decided to go for it.

So, as I mentioned, the picture is well documented as being excellent on this set, and indeed it is. I was a little curious as to what an LED screen would be like, as I have only had devices with regular LCD screens in the past. The viewing angle is still very good; perfectly fine for any viewing position that people will consider 'normal'. The main advantages of the LED screen are that, for one, it uses very little power, and two, it allows the display chassis to be incredibly thin- despite being a 37" screen, this set is only around 1.3" thick, which is not only neat looking, but also makes it less bulky and relatively light for it's size. I was able to set this up by myself with little trouble, and that is something I appreciate. The box is thin even, and although a little cumbersome to move alone, it is not at all impossible.

Upon opening the package, my first impression was dealing with the stand... and honestly it was not the best first impression. I already knew the picture quality of the set was great (I checked it out at a local store ahead of time)- but assembling the stand was more work than I was expecting. The Toshiba stand (from my former set) was very easy to assemble and disassemble. It had high quality, precision machined screws that mated flawlessly with their respected openings. The LG set was not as painless... the screws are of good enough quality, but use standard a '+' screwdriver to install, unlike the Toshiba, which had hex screws which are (from an engineering standpoint) more durable and easier to manipulate. Not a huge deal... but getting the screws to line up took the most time. I was very careful because I did not want to risk letting the screws strip their engagements in the base, and getting the 4 base screws all aligned was tricky. I was able to get them all to engage without excessive force, but it took several tries. Bottom line, once the stand is put together, it is fine, but I will not be taking it apart when I move the set in the future, because I do have concerns that it could be damaged from repeated assemblies/dissembles.

In the box there are the other normal things you would expect; remote, batteries ('Rocket' brand?), manual, and other standard things. What caught my eye where the 2 unusual mini-plug adapters included. This leads to the strangest thing about this set--
The inputs on the back can be seen in the features, and I have no complaints about them- 3 HDMI, 1 component; the regular gamut you would expect. This set does not have a baseline analog audio out however, so note that if you want to route audio out, it's only going to be through the optical-digital output. So, anyway, the mini-plug adapters... so, this set has 'side' mounted inputs, as is common on most TV's these days. For some reason though, LG's designers decided to have the side component video input, as well as the side composite video input, both be in the form of mini jacks that require these adapter leads to use. This is pretty inconvenient, the only reason I can think that they did this was to save a couple bucks on manufacturing costs, but I really don't know... maybe some cameras use these mini outputs directly?
There is also a side mounted HDMI, making the HDMI input total 4. Additionally, there is a headphone out, which is a nice perk that you don't see on every set out there. One more thing to note about the side inputs; they are so far behind the set that any cables you have plugged in won't protrude out into sight, so you can just as well leave things plugged in without it looking tacky. I would really call them 'side facing rear inputs'.

Lastly- everything else is great. The set has an excellent GUI (Graphic User Interface) menu that is very intuitive and simple to understand, yet it isn't watered down in what it lets you do. Also, all the adjustments you can make have visible numerical values, which is superior to the useless generic 'bars' that some sets have. The remote is bare bones, but well laid out for the most part, and aside from the somewhat odd 'clicky' middle arrows, works great for getting around the menus.

My test subject was an xbox 360 connected through HDMI, running at 1080p. Everything was sharp and clear, and (with a few adjustments) the colors where rich and pleasing, but not overly 'sweet' or overblown.

Overall, I am completely pleased with this purchase. The stand could be a little friendlier, but the actual set is stellar, so I am not going to knock points for something that ultimately has no effect on your viewing experience.

*Update-
Now that I have had a chance to use this set more extensively, I thought I would add a couple more insights, as I know I personally find these user reviews really helpful in making a choice, so I want to try and pass that along- but anyway-
The USB port on this is actually pretty neat. I didn't think I would really use it, but I have actually found it handy for watching video files off of my flash drives. The display's browser works well, and lets you navigate folder trees, make playlists, and pretty much offers all the functionality you need for media use. I also found that you can connect a card reader, in my case an SD USB card reader, and this lets you view images directly from your camera's memory card. Although you need a reader, this is a good option over sets that have specific card slots, since USB will adapt to work with everything.
I have also used it more extensively as a computer display. If you are fortunate enough to have your PC near your TV, you can enjoy the benefits of running this as a second monitor. I have a 5 year old video card (NVIDIA), and it has no trouble running this at 1080x1920 in addition to my monitor. Note that you can simply use a DVI to HDMI cable if your video card doesn't have a an HDMI output.
Having a 37" monitor is pretty nice, though note that the resolution, by computer standards, is only average. That said, this is actually pretty usable. On my 720x1366 32" Toshiba, computer images where too cramped to be that great, but 1080x1920 gives enough breathing room that you feel like you are using a proper display, not just awkwardly using a TV as a computer monitor. Obviously, this is not going to replace a 'real' monitor; the dot pitch on HDTV's is not as good as even inexpensive dedicated PC displays, and eye fatigue will strike faster here... but, once you adjust things (turn the brightness down...) the image quality is surprisingly good; I was amazed at how accurate colors were compared to my PC monitor (which I often use to check colors for printing).
Ultimately, as a monitor, it is a bit of a novelty, but for entertainment purposes (you will not want to read much text on it...), it is a pretty neat set up to try out. Plus, it really reveals how slick the picture quality is in this set!

One last note- As has been pointed out, this set does not have analog audio outputs, but the nature of how the headphone jack is positioned (on the side/rear, recessed fairly far in), you can just connect a mini adapter to route analog audio out if you really need to.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on July 18, 2010
Verified Purchase
This LG HD LCD 27LE5300 this is an overall exceptional HD Television. The Qualify, Reliability, Performance and ease of use is the best TV performance I have experienced. I have a Samsung 52 inch HD TV and an Westinghouse 32 inch HD TV. Neither matches this LG HD TV model. The only drawback that it has is that LG does not include a paper User Manual. They provide a CD disc with the the User Manual. Since my LG is not even on the same floor as my TV, when I needed a particular answer for setup, I had to run downstairs and look it up and then run upstairs to try to apply what I looked up. This sometime didn't work and it was back to the computer. I ended up printing numerous pages to setup the TV correctly. I still give this TV 5 stars due to the mostly ease in setting up with out the manual.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 31, 2010
Verified Purchase
It took me about 2 months and a lot of research to finally decide on a LCD flat panel TV and this is the one I finally bought. I'm huge on customer reviews and read everything I could get my hands on about different brands and kept coming back to LG. I've only had this set for a little over a week and so far so good. The picture is great, it was extremely easy to set up (it took me longer to attach the stand (it was an issue of trying to use the wrong size screws) than it did to set up the TV) and I couldn't be happier. The only real problem I had was with the HDMI connection. I thought I also needed an HDMI cable so purchased one only to find out that the converter box I had from my cable provider didn't have an HDMI port. I called the cable provider and found out I needed an HD converter box which was going to cost me an additional $10 a month to my already staggering monthly TV bill. I gave in when they tempted me with a free DVR. Anyway, when the technician came to hook everything up, he asked me a very simple question. What did I use my TV for? He said that one of the biggest traps that people fall into (especially when they don't know much about this sort of thing) when they buy an HD LCD TV, is that 9 times out of 10 they don't need an HD connection at all. He said if I were a big sports enthusiast, watched a lot of live TV or hooked my computer up to play games then I should by all means get the HD connection, but for regular TV viewing I didn't need it. He thought the picture was great on the LG and so do I. Since I'm not much for sports or those other things, I cancelled hooking up HD for the time being. At some point, I'll succumb and do the HD thing, but for now I'm happy with a great TV and look forward to watching more amazing television on it. You will have to decide for yourself if you want HD or not, for me and my budget, saving $10 a month on something I don't really need is huge to me.

The only complaint I have and I understand this is going to change because of Federal regulation is that I have to adjust the sound from time to time. This has nothing to do with the TV.

And, actually setting up or programming the TV was very easy. I was worried about whether or not I'd be able to do it without LG tech support on the phone, but it really couldn't have been easier.

I recommend this TV and the size is pretty great. I thought about buying a 42" set but am happy with this "smaller" size, any bigger and I would have had to set up my favorite TV viewing chair outside in order to watch it without being distracted by seeing pixils rather than picture. Take that into consideration when you buy a TV, if you have a really large room then a really large TV is fine, otherwise all you see are pixils (the little dots that make up the picture) rather than just a TV picture.

Hope this helps with your selection. Good luck.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on September 10, 2010
Verified Purchase
After a couple of months of use, we are generally satisfied with this TV. Two trouble spot appeared for us... one was with initial set up. It did not go through what was described in the instruction pamphlet, and I truly thought it was not working at all and would have to be sent back. Somehow, it started to work fine after a long delay. That was frustrating, but it worked.
The second trouble spot continues intermittently and infrequently: the sound volume starts to climb all on it's own, and cannot be lowered, and once this starts, all controls on the TV and the remote stop responding. The first time this happened, I was very startled and thought the TV was having a meltdown. It took a few minutes to realize none of the controls would work at all and I finally just pulled the plug. That solved the problem... the only way to stop the blasting sound (that jumped all the way to max) is to unplug the set for several seconds and plug it back in. This returned it to normal function. This has happened 3 or 4 times in the last couple of months. Not fun, but not terminal. Of course, this could be a problem limited to just a few of these units.
Aside from these issues, the picture quality (resolution, contrast and color) and sound are fine, and we are satisfied with our purchase.
We are also pleased with the size we chose... the 37" in. screen fits nicely into our TV cabinet and is large enough. Living on solar energy (off the grid), we choose appliances carefully for energy consumption, and are pleased to have the efficiency of the LED LCD.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on July 24, 2010
Verified Purchase
I have never purchased a television online. I was pleased in ALL aspects of this purchase. My last TV was an HD 60Hz 27 inch. I was nowhere prepared for the picture that I would get from this HDTV. The 120HZ and the contrast make a picture that is almost creepy at how real it is! The setup was easy and I only needed to glance through the instruction manual. I hope LG continues to produce 37 inch HDTVs. I can only imagine what the picture will look like when the refresh goes up!! I would purchase this again without a second thought!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on December 14, 2010
Verified Purchase
This was the first and the last time I bought an LG television. The price is good, yes. But I believe you will not get what you are paying for. At first, this TV seemed fine - good picture, nice colors, average sound. However, in a few days I started noticing a small blur in all four corners of the screen. As the time passed, these "blurs" got bigger and bigger and started taking a large portion of the screen - really annoying. I was able to notice them even in scenes that were not dark at all. At this point, I contacted LG and sent them a picture showing the problem. Their customer service said that the unit was apparently defective and needed to be repaired. However, I decided to return it to Amazon and get a replacement. The return/replacement process was really painless and the new TV arrived very quickly. I plugged it in and, again, it seemed perfect - I was really excited to finally get a working TV. However, after no more than a couple of days the same problem started happening again. There was nothing much I could do, but return the new unit and ask for a refund. I will probably get a Sony or Samsung LED TV this time - they are a little bit more expensive, but much more reliable.
review image
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
I bought this model to replace an already great 720p LCD HDTV, but wanted an LED model. The LG doesn't disappoint. Stunningly clear and deep picture presents an almost 3D effect especially when viewing Blu-ray discs, and uses only 60% of the energy of the non-LED model. Definitely worth the upgrade.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.