Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy setup
The LG player Setup was simple. A regular Blu-Ray disc was visually stunning. I don't have my 3D Tv yet but if a regular Blu-Ray disc is any indication then it's going to be great! The premium section is where you can find Netflix, YouTube, and hulu or Pandora etc. The remote is large with big buttons.
While watching a Netflix movie there was no way to fast forward...
Published 21 months ago by Gerald S Fralick

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Offline Content.. Not so good for Online
Baught this player 1 week back (Not from Amazon).

It is sleek but the front feels plastic like despite glossy finish.
Connections on back are adequate for AV.

It plays almost all 2d and 3d video without any glitch.
I did not notice it doing any improvement on standard video by upscaling to HD.
Audio codec support is good as well...
Published on May 19, 2012 by Tej Yadav


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Offline Content.. Not so good for Online, May 19, 2012
By 
Tej Yadav (Leeds, USA and Mumbai, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LG BP520 WiFi Ready 3D Blu-Ray Player - Black (Electronics)
Baught this player 1 week back (Not from Amazon).

It is sleek but the front feels plastic like despite glossy finish.
Connections on back are adequate for AV.

It plays almost all 2d and 3d video without any glitch.
I did not notice it doing any improvement on standard video by upscaling to HD.
Audio codec support is good as well including flac. Plays pictures well but no stretching options available.

Internet connectivity works through wired network.

The interface for live content is crap..
Web content available only through LG interface and apps (No web browser built in and none available in LG appstore)
Online videos are jerky despite good internet speed (5mbps)

Almost 70% apps in LG app store are not supported on BP520.

I could not make the DLNA work when player is connected to wired nw and my laptop is on wifi (Could be some more settings to explore as I can stream through my smartphone on wireless)

All in all GOOD FOR OFFLINE CONTENT but NOT GOOD FOR ONLINE CONTENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy if you want to watch Amazon Instant Video, May 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LG BP520 WiFi Ready 3D Blu-Ray Player - Black (Electronics)
Although the information includes pictures of the Amazon app in the LG App Store, after a thirty minute call to LG Tech Support I was advised that the 2012 models no longer support Amazon Instant Video.

I did not check out any other features other than I can say the LG interface is a bit of a mess.

It is going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what I need...but one complaint, November 11, 2012
This review is from: LG BP520 WiFi Ready 3D Blu-Ray Player - Black (Electronics)
Set this up yesterday and so far it seems to work just fine playing offline material. I have ROKU for streaming input, so that's not an issue with the 520 for me. My only complaint is that when playing audio CDs (yes, some of still have those!), it only shows "track1, track2, track3...etc" instead of showing the actual title. Not sure if enabling internet access would fix this but very disappointed with this functional gap. When playing mp3 and iPod inputs you can see what you are playing, but not audio CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy setup, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LG BP520 WiFi Ready 3D Blu-Ray Player - Black (Electronics)
The LG player Setup was simple. A regular Blu-Ray disc was visually stunning. I don't have my 3D Tv yet but if a regular Blu-Ray disc is any indication then it's going to be great! The premium section is where you can find Netflix, YouTube, and hulu or Pandora etc. The remote is large with big buttons.
While watching a Netflix movie there was no way to fast forward to pause our mute the sound. The only button that worked was the return button or home key. There was no manual in the box. Online there was little information when I downloaded the manual about the premium section on how the remote controls the content. It basically said to contact the premium provider for information on how their service works which is just stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LG BP520 WiFi Ready 3D Blu-Ray Player - Black (Electronics)
Excellent product, exactly as was specified in the ad sales shipment took place smoothly, and very good product, I hope you continue to work well for consumers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blue ray LG, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LG BP520 WiFi Ready 3D Blu-Ray Player - Black (Electronics)
me parece muy bueno el producto, estoy contenta con la compra y recomiendo el blueray, llego en el tiempo esperado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LG BP520 WiFi Ready 3D Blu-Ray Player - Black (Electronics)
It has Cinavia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LG BP520 WiFi Ready 3D Blu-Ray Player  - Black
$209.99 $119.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.