Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Tunes Keep Rolling Out From The Vault.
Record label for the late country and gospel singer-songwriter legend Johnny Cash has already released 4 'Bootleg' volumes (some multi-disc) plus 'Greatest Duets', 'Greatest: Number Ones' and 'Greatest: Gospel Songs' CDs. All of these were great except for 'Greatest: Gospel Songs' CD (it had fewer tunes, some of the tunes were in 'Bootleg' volume 4 already and these were...
Published 16 months ago by M. Mariba

versus
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More "Repackaged" than "Unheard"
I was extremely disappointed with this CD. Not with the music itself, which is wonderful, but with the misleading way in which it was marketed. The copy on Amazon promised "a dozen rare tracks" that had been previously "hidden in the vaults" and were "now unearthed." That was enough for me to pre-order this disc, but I should have done more research first. These songs...
Published 16 months ago by Matthew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More "Repackaged" than "Unheard", August 15, 2013
By 
Matthew (LOS ANGELES, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
I was extremely disappointed with this CD. Not with the music itself, which is wonderful, but with the misleading way in which it was marketed. The copy on Amazon promised "a dozen rare tracks" that had been previously "hidden in the vaults" and were "now unearthed." That was enough for me to pre-order this disc, but I should have done more research first. These songs may have been hidden in the vaults at one time, but the majority of them were unearthed long before now. This is simply a repackaging of songs from the four volumes so far released from Sony's wonderful Cash Bootleg Series, with only two actual rarities that really are previously un-issued. (Most come from Vol. III.) So if you're a die-hard Cash collector and have already bought all the Bootleg Series, you've already got most of this stuff and there's no need to buy Life Unheard. Just download the two "new" tracks, "Ben Dewberry's Final Run" and "Movin' Up." Those two tracks are quite excellent, especially "Movin' Up." For someone who doesn't own any of the Bootleg Series, this will be a nice compilation of some great songs you might not have heard before. (Though honestly, if you're really interested, you're better off just buying the Bootleg volumes themselves, which offer a lot more great material as well and are fairly inexpensive.) But it should not have been titled "Unheard" or billed as rarities. Nothing available on an official, in-print CD from the same label is really "rare."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Tunes Keep Rolling Out From The Vault., August 13, 2013
By 
M. Mariba "the teacher" (pretoria, south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
Record label for the late country and gospel singer-songwriter legend Johnny Cash has already released 4 'Bootleg' volumes (some multi-disc) plus 'Greatest Duets', 'Greatest: Number Ones' and 'Greatest: Gospel Songs' CDs. All of these were great except for 'Greatest: Gospel Songs' CD (it had fewer tunes, some of the tunes were in 'Bootleg' volume 4 already and these were better in sound quality and versions). So I was a bit apprehensive with this new CD release 'Life Unheard' (12 rare tracks) by the late country and gospel legend Johnny Cash. But don't panic this is a great album of rarities (gospel and bluesy tracks in his early years): 6 live recordings, 2 previously unreleased tracks being the incredibly melodic "Ben Dewberry's Final Run" and "Moving Up", 1 demo track "Restless Kid" and 3 rare tracks "Life's Railway To Heaven", the wonderfully melodic "It Takes One To Know Me" and the closing gospely track "Truth".

The sound quality is great even in the first 6 live tracks recorded in 1969-73, except for "(Ghost) Riders In The Sky" which is not up to scratch with the other 5 live tracks. Stand-outs/gems/my favourites are "I Walk The Line (Live)" (clear sound, great guitar, vocals & melody), "Give My Love To Rose (Live)", "What Is Truth (Live)" (great 'rappy vocals' & guitar) and "It Takes One To Know Me" (wonderful guitar chords and incredible melody).

On overall, Johnny Cash's vault still has great music rolling out as demonstrated by this new rarities album 'Life Unheard'. A highly recommended CD for his fans and new ones for both quality, greatness and collectability purposes. There is also be a book released 'Life Unseen' released today with the same cover as the CD, the book has rare and never been seen photos of Johnny Cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed by the actions of Amazon & Columbia, August 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
This is the first time I have to say that I am very disappointed in Amazon's & Columbia Records' failure to advise shoppers that of the 12 songs on this CD-all but 2 have already been released on previous Cash CDs.

Nowhere in the Amazon webpage text when I ordered this CD did it state that 10 out of 12 songs I paid for were already on other Cash CDs. On the day I received the CD I opened it to find out the truth. The title of the CD should be changed from LIFE UNHEARD to CD UNBOUGHT for Jonny Cash music collectors.

Sorry I bought this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy the Two New Tracks, Then Get the Bootleg Series, August 19, 2013
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
This hodge-podge compilation pulls together a random assortment of tracks from Sony's Johnny Cash Bootleg series, plus throws in two unreleased songs. Here's a synopsis:

1) Tracks 1-6 were recorded live in Vietnam (1969); Newport Folk Festival (1964); Wheeling Jamboree (1976); The White House (1970); and Nashville (1979). Just buy the Bootleg 3: Live Around The World, and you'll get all of these songs, plus, in several cases Johnny's entire set for each!

2) Restless Kid is an acoustic demo from 1958, offering a tune Johnny would later use for You Dreamer You/Oh What a Dream. It's on the excellent Bootleg, Volume 2: From Memphis to Hollywood by Johnny Cash [2011] Audio CD along with a whole host of early acoustic demos, unreleased tracks, and non-album singles and b-sides from the 1960s.

3) Life's Railway to Heaven and It Takes One to Know Me are both acoustic tunes recorded by Johnny at home in the late 1970s. They're both great, but are available with 47 more similar recordings on Johnny Cash Bootleg, Volume 1: Personal File.

4) Truth is a spoken-word outtake (with honky-tonk piano backing) from 1979's A Believer Sings the Truth. That whole album, plus two other rare/released gospel albums and outtakes, are all available on Bootleg Vol. IV: The Soul Of Truth.

That leaves two new tracks on this album: Ben Dewberry's Final Run and Movin' Up. Both are from 1981's Pride Of Jesse Hallum and are high-quality compared with much of his 80s output. Ben Dewberry is a top-notch train song. An upbeat shuffle, the instruments are tastefully restrained, yet everybody gets a moment to shine. Movin' Up is also a country shuffle, but it's marred by that slick 80s sound: the drums are muffled and compressed, and the cheesy keyboards keep rearing their ugly had. That said there's some fine, if not anonymous, guitar leads.

I don't see the point in this release. Diehards have most of these songs already, and newbies will do better looking to a singles compilation. The music, however, is great.

For this and more Johnny Cash reviews, including discussion of outtakes and b-sides, visit my blog at raisemyglasstothebside at wordpress dot com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading, June 10, 2014
By 
FLORENCE ANDERSON (RICHMOND HILL, NY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
Johnny Cash is just one of my favorite country classic singers so it was a treat to be able to read all about him in yet another book I have added to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised how much I enjoyed, April 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
I'm kind of a sucker for unreleased Johnny Cash, but this short and sweet album is a real pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
great music from a great singer any cash fan will enjoy listening to this over and over. any Cash fan will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quality, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
My dad is a huge fan of Johnny Cash. This arrived quickly and he loves the cd. The quality was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for a Cash enthusiast!, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
Best gift I could have bought! Very pleased with the quality and content. It was a gift for a collector of JC music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash - Music version you may have missed, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LIFE Unheard (Audio CD)
Variety of Johnny Cash country music .. And most songs on here ,I have not heard the versions before now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LIFE Unheard
LIFE Unheard by Johnny Cash (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
In stock on December 24, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.