Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice and affordable
I have this item early than the expected arrival, I thought it is not working and I apologize to the company who sent it. It was my old USB hub that is not working properly. I connect in other USB hub and it is working now and it install the driver very fast. I look on its recorded video very nice too, my room has a poor lighting so its a little bit blurry but I am...
Published 21 months ago by RY

versus
59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised but decent button vid cam
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:30 Mins
I bought the button camera advertised here. It's not bad... Except... it is NOT as advertised. Otherwise I'd probably give it four stars.
See sample footage from actual cam in my video review.

Pros:
-It is actually slimmer than shown in the advertising photos (see photos in my video review)
-It has a reset hole so if it...
Published 17 months ago by N. E. Spencer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised but decent button vid cam, July 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Length:: 2:30 Mins

I bought the button camera advertised here. It's not bad... Except... it is NOT as advertised. Otherwise I'd probably give it four stars.
See sample footage from actual cam in my video review.

Pros:
-It is actually slimmer than shown in the advertising photos (see photos in my video review)
-It has a reset hole so if it ever stops working, you can fix it with a paper clip.
-It actually records fairly sharp video and audio, it adapts to different lighting situations, and actually records amazingly well IMHO.

Cons: It is not as advertised:
-It has no user-removable Micro SD card (maybe if you rip it open, but I'm not going to try. It has no Micro SD card slot on the outside).
-No large flat front buttons as depicted; instead one very small fragile power/record button on the back side. See video review.
-It seems to be getting off-time very rapidly: in about one hour of putting this review together, it's gotten off by about four minutes. One or two minutes off I could see, because I didn't set it to the exact second. But four minutes off? That's not user error (i.e. not my bad). Other mini-vid cams I have are pretty accurate on keeping time.
-Blue LED glows during recording (you could put black tape over it I guess).
-Button hole is off-center from the video sensor, and as a result you see the shadow around the video recording (your mileage may vary. I.e. it might be more centered on your unit, or you could razor the button off and recenter it with superglue. But this is a brand new unit... why should you have to 'fix' it?!

I will be returning it because I wanted removable memory. shucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This partially functional chinese button camera comes with a trojan, a cool magnetic ring, and hilariously useless instructions., July 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first thing I did when I plugged this thing in was scan it for viruses. Avast flagged an EXE file as a trojan in a hidden folder named "RECYCLER". The only non hidden folder on the device was labeled "MUSIC", and I found some weird audio track in music/dj/dj. The videos and pictures I had recorded were in folders labeled "IMAGE" and "VIDEO" respectively. These folders were not visible even after enabling "view hidden folders" in windows. I had to figure out the names of these folders by watching the files that were being scanned by avast when I re-ran the scan. The instruction sheet that came with it is a joke, albeit a funny one. The scale and frequency of grammatical errors makes it hilariously impossible to derive any useful information from the instructions.

If you're tech savvy enough to dodge the trojan and find the video files on this thing, it serves its purpose. The magnetic ring activation is really cool. Touch it briefly to turn it on and start/stop recording, hold it for 1 second to turn it off. All the pictures I have taken so far have been very blurry but the video was of acceptable quality. I haven't used it long enough to comment on battery life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice and affordable, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have this item early than the expected arrival, I thought it is not working and I apologize to the company who sent it. It was my old USB hub that is not working properly. I connect in other USB hub and it is working now and it install the driver very fast. I look on its recorded video very nice too, my room has a poor lighting so its a little bit blurry but I am satisfy thought I have poor lighting in my room you can see the face clearly. If you have a good lighting in your room it is clear as HD. I AM SATISFIED. THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mini spy camera, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is a good camera at a great price but you do get what you pay for. The instructions were so badly translated the were impossible to understand. I had to go on youtube and find a clip of how to operate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too bad the instruction manual is poor, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had a rough time with what turns out to be a good product. The instruction manual is written in poorly constructed sentences, and I was under the impression that I needed a CD with drivers to connect to my computer. What you need is an SD card (specifically called a TF card in the instructions) and you will be able to connect to a PC. How would you know that off the bat? You wouldn't! It doesn't come with a card, so you'd be stuck until you figured it out.

Another tip: the red light is actually supposed to be off when recording, not on. Again, that's hard to know when reading the English instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arrived early but IT DOESN'T WORK - Don't waste your time & money ! You've been warned !, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excited to get this. Arrived early, only to be disappointed because it doesn't work. I search the web for instructions as the manual is in Chinese and VERY BAD ENGLISH translation (Google translation is better than this manual).
I browsed the web also. But still the device just defective, I guess. Sucks tough !
IN PROCESS FOR RETURNING IT.

Also I paid more than the market price around $15, I paid $20 plus S&H.

The Spy Pen is more expensive ($100) but at least it works well and smooth connection with your laptop / computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Button Cam, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought this was a joke when I bought it. Took a little trial and error to understand the vibration sequences but I can't help but be impressed at the video quality and ease of use - it's pretty inconspicuous and stealthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not a bad camera, but the description lies, September 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's not a bad camera, but the description lies. 1st its not HD, its 640x480 so its decent video, but not great. Second you can just burn the manual right away, its in broken English and doesn't make any sense. To turn this thing on you hold the bottom button (its the power) for about 3 seconds and the camera will vibrate a few times and the right light on the side will come on. This puts the camera in standby mode. Now if you press the top button it takes still photos. If you want to go into record mode, you press and hold the top button for about 3 seconds and it will vibrate again and the side camera light will turn off. The camera is now recording. Holding the top button again will stop recording. Now here is where the big problem for me was. When you're recording it records right around 7 minutes of video and shuts itself back off. I was trying to record my non verbal autistic child's bus ride to school, and 7 minutes of recording is worthless. It has a 8gb sd card in it, 7 minutes of video was maybe 300mb, no where near the "record until storage is full" like the description states. The video files play back with standard windows media player, they are in the " //DCIM/100Media/" directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK, Nothing to brag about but functional., May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Arrived much earlier than promised. This item is shipped from Japan. The video is what one would expect from a very tiny camera; shaky even at the least bit of movement. The sound is very good. The biggest problem I had is the instructions are,(seriously)absolutely,virtually worthless. Written in English, yes, but written by a Japanese fella who may read English but doesn't understand English. I have to figure out the operation of the camera on my own. Plug in USB, download driver into computer. Charge the unit on your computer with the USB cable provided. I don't know how long it will run on a charge. For $20 or so, just a fun little gadget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good quality cam, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Overall the quality of the cam is good. It came in a nice box that you can store the cam in . It hooks up to my computer with no problem it's just like plugging in a flash drive. The only problem is the instructions are hard to understand, but if you email the seller he will send you better instruction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.