Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Price Leader
Let me preface my review by stating if you have never set up a wireless IP camera, get ready for a couple of long nights of Google searches and YouTube how-to videos. However, once everything is up and running the results are amazing. Who would have thought that you could watch what was going on inside your home from any where in the world via a phone?

I have...
Published on October 16, 2011 by Jack

versus
188 of 210 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Decent camera with a serious security flaw
Note: Updates to this review have been moved to the end.

Overall this is a good camera for the price point with one glaring flaw:

The camera ALWAYS attempts to make an outbound connection to a server in China (IP: 58.61.155.158). There is no way to disable this "feature". When I contacted Loftek support, here was the reply:

-------...
Published on November 23, 2011 by Terrence R. Bayne


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

188 of 210 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Decent camera with a serious security flaw, November 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
Note: Updates to this review have been moved to the end.

Overall this is a good camera for the price point with one glaring flaw:

The camera ALWAYS attempts to make an outbound connection to a server in China (IP: 58.61.155.158). There is no way to disable this "feature". When I contacted Loftek support, here was the reply:

-------
Thanks for your message and suport on our product. Please don't worry , 58.61.155.158 is our server ip address . All of our camera ,if you ping its DDNS ,it will resolve to 58.61.155.158 . It is set up for your remote view. It is safe and have no influence to your network. If you still wanna disable it . please close the port forwarding for your camera and disable UPNP in your router. Thanks.
Any question , feel free to let me know.
Thanks for your time.
Best Regards.
-------

So what they suggest is that I modify my firewall to fix a problem in their product. I have suggested that they change the firmware to make this an option that is turned off by default.

Note: Given the way the firmware is designed you can't turn off this feature. It would be easy to make this an "option" so the customer could disable it. The camera will ALWAYS attempt to make an outbound connection to the server mentioned above every time it is turned on. Don't know about you but I am not comfortable with a server in China knowing the externally visible IP address of my camera.

Update (28 November 2011): I have received numerous emails from Loftek asking me to "Fix" my review. I have asked them to stop emailing me with these requests, yet they persist. My review is not broken or inaccurate in any way. The emails claim that they have a way to remove the "hard coded" DDNS server address and to prevent the camera from making an unauthorized outbound connection to their DDNS server. Yet they have not provided me with the information as to "how" to accomplish this. I will continue to update this review. Should they actually provide a way to disable this outbound connection from within their product, I will update this review with that information.

Update (30 November 2011): Last night I received another email from Loftek support. Rather than ranting I will post the email and my response below. At this point I feel I have given Loftek every opportunity to fix the security flaw - to no avail. I have purchased another (non-Loftek) camera. I will post my review once it arrives and I have a chance to test it. Here is the email and response:

-------
>Dear Terrence R. Bayne,
>Thanks for your message. As for your problem , we can delete the DDNS compeletly from your camera. Would you mind tell me if your camera >available for remote view now ? if it is ok , please sent me a Administrator account and password, so that our tech can access your camera >to destroy the DDNS. Please advise.

-- My response --

Let me be sure I understand what you are asking....

1. You want me to provide admin access to a device inside my firewall.
2. You want me to do this so your technician can modify my camera to
remove the DDNS information.

Is this correct?

If so my answer is "No". You will not get access to ANYTHING inside
my firewall. Not even temporarily.

This request clearly shows that you folks really don't have any idea
about network security, or security in general.

Why is it you won't provide the information so I can disable this
functionality myself? Obviously there is a way to do it, so provide
the information to the public so everyone can benefit (and can vet the
process as well).

Note that I will be adding portions of this email conversation to the
review on Amazon.

If you are NOT willing to provide the information on how to disable
the DDNS within the camera DO NOT CONTACT me further.
-------

Update (01 December 2011): Another round of emails with Loftek support. This shows how truly clueless they are. They seem to think it's ok to access a device inside my firewall (they assumed that I thought they wanted to access my PC and that I shouldn't be upset that they want to access the camera). And they feel that the "fix" is some sort of a trade secret. Here is their email and my reply:

Dear Terrence R. Bayne'
Thanks for your message. Acctually we just wanna access your camera not your PC. So sorry we can't offer the information to you to delete the DDNS because it involve our product brand. Hope you can understand. Anyway , if it is not available for us access your camera , we can sent you a replcement camera without given ddns.
Thanks for your time.
Best Regards

My Reply:

Good Morning,

Really? The automatic DDNS entry is some sort of "trade secret"? And
the method for removing it is also secret? Really? Wow, I think you
folks need a few lessons in computer security.

Finally, I am fully aware that you wanted to access the camera, not my
PC. You are aware that ANY device behind a firewall that has a CPU
and network access (and yes the camera has a CPU and network access)
is a potential security hole? Giving you access to ANY device inside
my firewall is an unreasonable request. Just so we are clear, the
camera is a device inside my firewall.

A few points:

1. Security through obscurity doesn't work - this means that hiding
your flaws/weaknesses doesn't make them disappear.
2. Providing customers with a way to fix a security hole in YOUR
product is just good business.
3. No customer who is concerned about network security is going to
give you access to a device inside their firewall. This is NOT a
reasonable request.
4. Your companies resistance to doing the right thing (in this case
the right thing is to admit to the fault, and provide existing
customers with a way to fix it) is becoming harder and harder to
understand. You have read the comments to my review from other
customers on Amazon right?

It is obvious that you have no intention of really fixing the issue,
or providing existing customers with a way of securing their own
cameras. This is a shame really, because other than this one serious
flaw, yours is a nice product. I am guessing that the reason you
don't provide a fix is that you don't have anyone in the company
qualified to update the camera's firmware to remove the issue. It is
unfortunate you have taken this stance on what is a simple firmware
issue. Your sales on Amazon for this product will likely fall, not
just because of the security issue with your camera, but because of
the way you have tried to handle the issue:

1. Denying it is an issue
2. Telling me not to worry, that I can trust you and your server.
3. Wanting access inside my firewall to provide me with a fix.

None of these inspire confidence with your company or your brand. And
I am guessing other potential buyers will feel the same.

Because sending me a "fixed" product doesn't fix the security issue
for potential customers, the review on Amazon will stay the way it is.

If you want to send me a camera, with the automatic DDNS connection
disabled, I am ok with that since it solves my issue. Once the new
camera arrives I will gladly send the other one back to any US address
you specify (note that I am unwilling to pay for shipping outside the
US).
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Update (December 14 2011):

On the 1st of December Loftek offered to send me a camera with the outbound hardcoded DDNS
connection disabled. Two weeks later I have not received the replacement camera, nor have I
heard back from Loftek.

I guess they didn't like the fact that I wouldn't change my review until they make the "fix"
available for all customers.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Update (Feburary 1, 2014)

This is the final update that I will be posting to this review.
As of this date the product still contains the security flaw. And it is enabled by default. The company has posted a "patch" that you can use to disable this "feature".

Several commenters on this review and the company (Loftek) have tried to "encourage" me to change this review.
That is not going to happen. They were given ample time to rectify the problem. Just to be clear here the problem is two-fold:

1. The default DDNS mode of the camera makes use of a Dynamic DNS server. This is enabled by DEFAULT. Unless you know enough to understand this and change it, installing this product leaves a hole in the security of your network.

2. Loftek's reaction upon being notified that this was an issue:

A. Denied it was a problem.

B. Wanted me to let them inside my firewall to "fix" the issue.

C. Offered (on December 1st , 2011) to send me a camera with the security issue fixed. That camera never arrived (not a big surprise).

D. Has offered a patch (via their website) that knowledgeable consumers can use to update the firmware on the product to remove the security issue. Note: I have not installed said patch, and have not in any way vetted the patch to be sure it does what they say it does. For me the solution was to simply block the camera from ever reaching the outside world via my firewall.

It's obvious to me that the company doesn't have much interest in changing the installed firmware and its inherent security flaw.
Does this flaw affect other Loftek camera products? I don't know. Nor am I willing to purchase more of them to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Price Leader, October 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
Let me preface my review by stating if you have never set up a wireless IP camera, get ready for a couple of long nights of Google searches and YouTube how-to videos. However, once everything is up and running the results are amazing. Who would have thought that you could watch what was going on inside your home from any where in the world via a phone?

I have tried 3 different wireless IP security cameras; Foscam FI8918W, LTS LTCIP830MV-W, and now the Loftek CXS 3200. For the money you cannot beat Foscam or Loftek for image quality and ability to find and hold on to a wireless signal. Either one is an outstanding buy.

The Loftek CXS 3200 may in fact be the same camera as the Foscam FI8918W, but in a different body. The software links up and the Loftek camera is visable in the Foscam software. The image quality of the Loftek is great (day and night). With a little help from a Diamond Multimedia Repeater and Range Extender (also sold on Amazon) I get a very usable camera signal through 2 walls.

Remote view via my Android phone is outstanding using either tinyCam Monitor or IP Cam Viewer (buy the "Pro" version to support the devs!). My favorite feature is the email motion alert. Alerts come to my phone within seconds giving me ample time to look at what may have triggered the alarm (via tiny Cam or IP Cam Viewer) and letting me decide whether or not to call the police.

While no security solution is perfect, I feel more secure knowing my little Loftek is on patrol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive IP Camera, August 24, 2011
By 
WELIANG GUO (Sunnyvale, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
As anyone who owns an entry-level IP camera knows, the color quality sucks. One of the most annoying things is the fact that the colors are totally distorted - Trees look white and purple, black clothing looks blue, etc. It's not really a huge problem, but its annoying enough that I had considered dissecting a webcam, removing the IR-Filter, and gluing it onto my first camera (Foscam FI8918W). However, according to the forums, once you glue an IR filter on, you lose night vision capabilities - kind of rendering a night-vision camera useless. I was skeptical that a camera for this price could offer an IR filter as well as night-vision ability. Evidently, its a physical mechanism inside the camera that automatically filters the light during day time, rather than a software or firmware upgrade. The result? I'm very impressed with this odd-looking thing. It also has a slightly wider pan-range (340 degrees over the one I was using before, 300 degrees). Additionally, I opted to use the camera's built-in DDNS. I was previously using a free one from the DynDns website, but using the built-in one is much faster and easier.

It solved my problems of psychedelic colors, and at a very reasonable price! Aside from that, the functions are pretty standard, and almost identical to the camera I was using before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good product for the price, January 29, 2012
By 
SJ (Philadelphia, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
This is my third IP Camera from loftek. First loftek CXS 2200 and second two CXS 3200. I like the shape of this camera compare to 2200. But the night vision on CXS 2200 is better. Audio CXS 3200 is better. {As other reviewers noted Loftek use DDNS server in China [58.61.155.158] whitch I am not happy. But you can block this incoming and outgoing IP address in your router, under security, IP Filter}. I do not use DDNS service anyway. Software came with this camera is ok but not great. In order to monitor this camera from ouside your home, you need to set up your router with port forwarding. Once you set up port forwarding, find your IP address using google search, Then type Http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xx(ip):10xx(your port number), that's all. I was looking for apps to work with these cameras on my Iphone 4s. Finally I found one " Live Cams pro". This application will let you see all cameras at the same time with some audio fuctions.It also allow you to turn of blinking LED light on the camera, PTZ fuction is better. Both CXS 2200 and 3200 work with this app. I recomend this camera to anyone who looking for cheap IP Camera..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beats Foscam, Apexis. My comparison results., December 3, 2011
By 
Big John (Midwest, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
Previously I ordered a Wansview and received an Apexis. The Apexis was a Foscam FI8908 clone. Worked great wired but these clones (other brands as well) have a wireless issue (weak signal, dropped connections. Supposedly from bad internal antenna connection) so I returned it. Next up was the newer Foscam FI8918W (not a clone). Worked great wired but again with a wireless issue (the microphone picks up static when using wireless. So much so that the audio is not usable. But they will gladly send you instructions on how to disassemble it, reverse mic polarity HAHA and swap out a surface mount resistor). Another return, but hey, it was Amazon fulfilled so no biggie. So then I decided that I would look up any common wireless issues for the next candidate to become my IP camera.
After some research and no common wireless issues found I ordered this Loftek. First thing was the hardware test. Wired works great. Wireless range/signal is good and doesn't drop out. Wireless doesn't introduce hardly any static at all into the mic. The audio can pick up any sounds in the room, and any decent volume sounds in the whole house. Pan/Tilt works nicely, quietly. IR filter helps with accurate coloring, especially with certain colors or lighting conditions. I didn't test the alarm I/O or audio output connectors. One thing I noticed on this one is that the lens seems to slightly curve the picture at the edges. The others didn't do that, and it's not enough to be a bother. See if you notice it in the sample pictures, the one with the door.
Finally I had one worthy of continuing on to checking out the included/on-board software. Basic same stuff as the other low priced IP cameras. Front status LED can be disabled, allowing wireless mode to give no indication of data transfer. Emails on alarms sends the usual 6 pack of snapshots.
This camera is way better than any other in it's price range as of today. This is because the hardware actually works. The software works too, although it is way behind even the others in this price range. That being said, here are some things to consider.

Included/on-board software is lacking. While I don't expect the functionality of third party software (see ispy, ispyconnect), I do think that this IP camera could include what the others in it's price range offer with a simple firmware update. I also realize that this isn't meant to compete with more expensive IP cams that have much better included/on-board software.

Here's what should be fixed/improved on this IP camera relative to others in this price range:

No ability to send videos.
No motion detection zones.
No ability to set intervals on email alerts.
No position presets.
No IR LED disable option.

And oh yeah, add a disable option to the manufacturer's DDNS. I'm not sure if the competition in this price range has this option, but I don't see their reviews bringing it up either. It seems easy to fix instead of having thousands of Amazon customers reading about how the IP cam always tries to connect to China. Most people won't have the knowledge to even detect that this is happening, and maybe the more knowledgeable customer bought one of yours.

Believe it or not, Loftek seems to have better customer support than the other guys (again, for this price range). Just responding to issues is more than others do. I give it a 5 stars relative to the other similar priced, similar featured IP cameras. I think I'll get another one of these. I will stay away from Foscam and Foscam clones. Hopefully this review can help others to make an informed decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good camera/strange company, December 22, 2011
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
Edit: I changed to 4 stars since they have a patch for this product now.

My review is for CXS 3200. I received this product on Monday Dec 19th. We had an early Christmas because we didn't have kids plus we could beat the return lines if needed. Also, the main reason was that I work on Christmas Eve and Christmas so it was only easier to do it on an earlier date!

From the box, it shows a white camera, though I wanted a black one. Once I opened up the box, it was the black camera. All packaging material was well secured and the camera was secure in its slot.

I took the camera out and the camera feels cheap. The camera rotates about 1/4 inch left and right, maybe 1/2 inch. It felt loose and I thought I would need to return it but I set it up anyhow.

For me, setting it up took me 10 minutes (though my reset button was covered by a product sticker). The other 1 hour and 50 minutes was trying to get ISpy to work with it. Google search - CXS 2200 ISPY and click the first link for Slow Shutdown and no audio if you need help getting it to work. In there it explains what you need to use for the video and read further down the page for the audio portion. I do notice that when I changed the password for the admin login, I could not login with that password. So I had to reset the camera using the reset button on bottom and just created a new admin account and removed the default admin.

Accessing the product from the internet with a dynamic ip address was not an issue either. It was actually fairly simple. I hate to steal Terrance's lime light (another reviewer on this product) but I do agree with him that the product does have a huge security flaw. Until they fix this, my stars remain as 1 stars. Everyone doesn't need DDNS. Some people would be ok with using their IP address to access this product. Thanks to Terrance, I did block the outgoing IP address connection in my router, but I don't feel I should have had to do this. By the way, for those that didn't read his, basically the IP Camera pings out to a China IP address. Doing this could reveal your Camera to them. Edit: I have changed to 4 stars since they have an update for this.

The other issue that irks me that seems misleading was the fact it is advertised that you can communicate 2 way with camera. If this is why you are buying it, then please understand that you have to have IE for this to work and it requires you to download a file. Downloading is easy, and once it is setup, it works, but from my work, I can't install files like this. So I would denote 1 star for this option unless they can find a way to make this work. I would even give the star if I could get audio to work on Firefox (1 way or 2 way). Just be aware of this.

I would say you do need some experience with your router otherwise you might be pulling your hair a bit. You should understand port forwarding and setting up a private ip static address or at least understand how to set them up.

It is really a good camera and I can check in on my dogs from work. I would give 5 stars if they could correct the audio issue with firefox. In the pros, it does send me an email everytime motion is detected. Each email is about 100-200k but be careful if you don't set a specific date and are watching dogs in a crate, it will go off on every shift but you can adjust the sensitivity level. I haven't messed with the FTP yet. The picture looks good in light or faint light. The operation is quiet when it shifts left to right or up and down.

If I was to do over again, I would probably pay more for a product with a DVR. But if you want to get your hands wet with a camera product, then this is your entry level product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kinda torqued off, July 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
First of all, I must commend Amazon and their customer service. I have found it to be second to none. Now to cut to the chase on my experience with these cameras. Every camera I have purchased out of six, including replacements, have had wifi radio failure. One died completely and one was DOA. Thanks to Amazon, I was able to get replacements, which I now operate in the wired mode and have no problem with those that still work, so far. Loftek will not respond at all to any email concerning setup problems or other tech questions about their cameras,to say nothing about warranty service. It is non existent so dont even consider them to honor any warranty. Their site triggers my virus checker and firewall as a malicious site. This may or may not be a problem for some purchasers, but what is a person to do? The only positive experience that I can document here, is that when these cameras work, they are nice. Forget wireless mode. My Android Gingerbread phone works great on my home network to monitor these cameras. I havent tried to connect with the "included" DDNS service and most likely I will not. If my Netgear WNDR4500 (purchased from Amazon, BTW, wont handle these, I dont think there is any hope. I have had Netgear support work with me to try to get a wireless connection, with no luck so far and my patience has worn thin.

Bottom line is, I dont know what to think. Three cameras set up wirelessly with no problem but the radios quit within a month. One was dead out of the box and Another died that was purchased last November. The colors during daytime are very nice and the infrared mode is great within about 15 meters at night. Pan/tilt works great with my Android camera app, but because of the never-ending trouble with Loftek response and quality control, I have to give this IP cam one star only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor audio on wireless, June 13, 2012
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
Video quality is not too bad, but when using a wireless connection the audio has a very loud static sound which makes it completely unusable. When using a wired connection, the audio is OK. The company support people were no help and there was a high language barrier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peace of Mind, May 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
This camera meets my expectations and then some. It has excellent night vision capabilities and rotates and pans very smoothly. It can be hard to control depending on what connection you are using (local network versus internet). The only thing I used on the software CD was the program to locate the camera on the network so I could change the settings. It was very east to setup on my local network (LAN) but a tad more difficult setting it up to view on the internet (WAN). The issue was due to my router and the need to do some port forwarding. Once I had figured that out it was easy from then on and I even signed up for a dynamic DNS so I check it out more easily on the internet and I wouldn't have to worry about my internet service provider changing my ip address. That "security flaw" that one guy was referring to is most likely the DDNS that the company attempted to set up for users so they wouldn't have to setup their own. But it won't communicate unless you put that in the settings. I have a solid firewall and have had zero problems with any unwanted inbound or outbound traffic from this camera. I also use sensr.net to record video while I am away for added security. I do plan on buying more of these cameras. And like other reviewers have stated; you can't use the camera for looking out of a window at night as the infrared leds will reflect off the glass. The camera would be pro if it had an option to turn the infra red off. Minus a star because of that. But overall it is a great deal for a solid pan and tilt ip camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent camera for its price, May 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LOFTEK CXS 3200 Wireless Ip Camera Pan:340°,Tilt:100°,IR Cut,8-10 Meter Night Vision ,67° Viewing Angle Black (Electronics)
I purchased a couple of these cameras after researching a bunch of ipcams available in the $50 to $120 price range and loftek offered the best bang for the buck. At the time of purchase I was concerned about the mixed reviews the product received and the DDNS issue that a few reviewers talked about. But, those concerns melted away after I setup the device and used it for a week.
The instruction manual shipped with the device is hard to read, but thankfully the manual is also available in .doc format in the CD that is shipped with the device. Setup was a breeze. If you have some basic knowledge about routers and networking, setting this up shouldn't take more than 20 to 30 minutes. Even if you have no networking experience, the setup videos posted on loftek.com is very helpful and you should be able to set this up on your own.

Enabling remote view to access the camera from outside your local network requires changing your port forwarding tables in your router and the loftek.com videos help you with that too!

Yes, the camera pings an ip address in China and sends your ip addres to loftek's ddns server, but that is being done to provide you a free DDNS service. If you are uncomfortable with this, you can always download and run the patch from loftek's support site to block this. Most ISPs usually provide a dynamic IP address for your home internet(you can get a static IP by paying extra) and therefore the IP address for your home connection will often change. If you want to access your camera from anywhere outside your home, you will have to keep track of the changing IP address of your home connection. To avoid this problem, a DDNS will give you a fixed URL to access your camera and the DDNS service will take care of mapping your current IP address to the URL. Anytime you use a DDNS, it requires you to send your current IP address to the service provider's server. If you are uncomfortable sending this to Loftek's server in china, you can use a local DDNS provider like no-ip.com or dyndns.com.

Now to the camera performance. I have been using it for a week and I've had no issues with it, the picture quality is good at 640x480 resolution, the IR feature works great and I get excellent visibility even in pitch black conditions. I am able to easily tilt and pan the camera through the web interface. I've haven't yet played with some of the more advanced features such as setting up alarms etc. I'll update the review once I get to play with those features.
Overall, I think this is an excellent product for the price it is offered at and I plan on buying a couple more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.