Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair camera at a fair price
This is a relatively nice system. Although the cameras look identical to other products of this type, the receiver is significantly nicer than most because the channels are selected by pushing a button instead of manually tuning with a knob so you never have to adjust the tuning like some of the similar products. The video is quite noisy under normal home incandescent...
Published on August 9, 2011 by Douglas Chin

versus
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy setup but can only send one video feed at a time!
This wireless minicam kit was a quick and easy setup right out of the box. The instructions are not terribly detailed, but they are sufficient to getting the job done. I chose to set mine up running into a computer using an EasyCAP DC60 - USB 2.0 Audio/video Creator Capture High-quality Analog Video, which comes with Ulead Studio SE software. After installing the...
Published on January 22, 2011 by GadgetGeek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy setup but can only send one video feed at a time!, January 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LYD W203I2 2.4GHz Wireless Kit with 2 Spy Mini Cameras (Electronics)
This wireless minicam kit was a quick and easy setup right out of the box. The instructions are not terribly detailed, but they are sufficient to getting the job done. I chose to set mine up running into a computer using an EasyCAP DC60 - USB 2.0 Audio/video Creator Capture High-quality Analog Video, which comes with Ulead Studio SE software. After installing the EasyCap to the computer and installing its Ulead software, I went to the LYD transmitter, plugged it in, hooked up the cables from it to the EasyCap and plugged one of the cameras into an outlet in another room.

From there, I went into the Ulead software and chose "Capture", picked the EasyCap (listed as VideoGrabber) from the device menu and !bang! there was video! You can focus the minicams by turning the front element and they send a decent image for the price. I am getting a bit of interference running the transmitter in my basement and the cameras on the next floor up, but it's more than acceptable.

Where this system falls flat, however, is in the fact that the YOU HAVE TO MANUALLY CHANGE CHANNELS/CAMERAS BY PUSHING A PHYSICAL BUTTON ON THE RECEIVER! Because of this, YOU CAN ONLY RECORD THE FEED FROM ONE CAMERA AT A TIME. This was not laid out in the product description. While this would work fine for applications where you have someone sitting and watching a monitor and flipping between channels, it makes this functionally a one-camera system if your intent is to record your feeds.

So, if you are looking for a wireless system to serve as part of a manual monitoring setup, this may work for you as you can add a couple of cameras to the two included and have a 4-feed setup. If, however, you want to record feeds from multiple locations while you are away, there are cheaper wireless receiver/camera setups to be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair camera at a fair price, August 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LYD W203I2 2.4GHz Wireless Kit with 2 Spy Mini Cameras (Electronics)
This is a relatively nice system. Although the cameras look identical to other products of this type, the receiver is significantly nicer than most because the channels are selected by pushing a button instead of manually tuning with a knob so you never have to adjust the tuning like some of the similar products. The video is quite noisy under normal home incandescent room lighting and I have other, more expensive, video cameras that perform significantly better under these conditions. With bright light, the picture improves and I would rate it good to very good with well lit scenes. The audio is a little quiet but very understandable and not very noisy.

The camera operates in the same 2.4GHz frequency range as WiFi, Bluetooth, microwave ovens, and some cordless phones. Each camera can be set to one of 4 frequencies by setting two tiny switches on the back. I was able to find 1 channel that did not show interference from my WiFi router. Since you can also change the channel used by your router, the best combination will depend on how your other electronic items are configured. Note that you can only view the output of one camera at a time with the included receiver. The receiving channel is set by pushing a button on the back of the receiver that cycles through the 4 channels and there are LED's that indicate the current channel on the front.

I bought this camera to mount on a Lego robot and an RC blimp so size matters to me. The camera without the stand weighs 17 grams. Of that, about 5 grams are in the relatively large power connector at the end of the power cable. Each camera comes with its own AC wall adapter and a 9V battery connector. The cameras are rated at 8 Volts. I measured the current at 150mA at 8V so your average 9V battery isn't going to last very long. The cameras are well made and metal stand is also very nice and easily removed. The stand weighs 12 grams. The lens has manual focusing and can be focused from infinity to a couple of inches. The field of view if surprisingly narrow at roughly 32 degrees so this is definitely not a wide angle camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Product does not even work, September 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LYD W203I2 2.4GHz Wireless Kit with 2 Spy Mini Cameras (Electronics)
I purchased this product to discreetly monitor my property entrance, it has very poor instructions no way to troubleshoot and it did not even work. It was a total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LYD W203I2 2.4GHz Wireless Kit with 2 Spy Mini Cameras (Electronics)
The Signal is very weak in a way you have to make a wire between antennas (not wireless) even you catch the signal the picture is very bad. Do not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't have the range advertised, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LYD W203I2 2.4GHz Wireless Kit with 2 Spy Mini Cameras (Electronics)
Very spotty picture that comes and goes even at closer ranges that are well within advertised range. Won't work with DVR for practical business application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars memory the video, May 18, 2012
This review is from: LYD W203I2 2.4GHz Wireless Kit with 2 Spy Mini Cameras (Electronics)
i want to know is this cam can save the video. if not how can i save it??
i want to know is this cam can save the video. if not how can i save it??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.