Customer Reviews


421 Reviews
5 star:
 (270)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,002 of 1,011 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL difference between BC-900 and BC-1000
I purchased the La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger, not because I needed another advanced battery charger/analyzer (I already own the La Crosse BC-900, BC-700, BC-500 and the Maha MH-C9000), but because people kept asking me: "Is there any difference between BC-900/9009 and BC-1000?" So here it is, to put the issue to rest...
Published on September 5, 2011 by NLee the Engineer

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two bad units in a row
I bought the first of these from Amazon back in May of this year, but didn't start using it until about a month ago. It worked great for about three weeks. Yes, the menus are a bit awkward to navigate, but I'm used to that from dealing with RC LiPo chargers. After using it for three weeks, and maybe a dozen charge cycles, it JUST STOPPED WORKING. COMPLETELY. NOTHING...
Published 22 months ago by John R. Conrad


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,002 of 1,011 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL difference between BC-900 and BC-1000, September 5, 2011
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
I purchased the La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger, not because I needed another advanced battery charger/analyzer (I already own the La Crosse BC-900, BC-700, BC-500 and the Maha MH-C9000), but because people kept asking me: "Is there any difference between BC-900/9009 and BC-1000?" So here it is, to put the issue to rest...

[Exterior]
Except for the color, the BC-1000 looks and feels EXACTLY the same as my old (circa 2006) BC-900. Even the boxes they came in have identical illustrations on them. Check out the customer images I uploaded to 'Customer Images' section and you'll see what I mean.

[Electrical Spec]
The specifications are EXACTLY the same for both chargers, namely:

- Operations: Charge, Discharge, Charge/Test, Discharge/Refresh
- Charging Current steps for 4 cells: 200mA (default), 500mA, 700mA, 1000mA
- Extra Current steps for 1-2 cells: 1500mA, 1800mA
- Acceptable battery capacity: 300-3000mAh (my previous testing showed the BC-900 can actually charge up to 3700mAh)

[AC Adapter]
Again, the two AC adapters looked identical except for the colors. Both are rated for 100-240V AC input, and 3V 4A output. There is, however, a small difference in their open-circuit output voltages. The BC-900's adapter measures 3.0V, while the one for BC-1000 measures 3.17V
Date code on the back of BC-1000 adapter says '4710', which means 47th week, or November of 2010,

[Firmware Version]
My old BC-900 has firmware version '33'. The new BC-1000 shows '37', which is the same version for BC-9009 sold since middle of 2010.
Note: firmware version is the number briefly displayed in the rightmost column, after you plug in your BC-900 or BC-1000.

[Quirks]
Sadly, the same limitations for BC-900/9009 are carried over to the BC-1000:

- If you put in a completely depleted cell (battery terminal voltage under 0.5V), the charger cannot recognize it and the display says 'null'
- If you were previously charging at 500mA, for example, you cannot subsequently increase the charging current for a new cell to higher than 500mA. You need to remove all cells in order to reset the maximum limit.

If I stopped my comparison right here, I would have concluded that the BC-1000 is nothing more than the BC-900/9009 with a cosmetic update. But wait, there's more to the story...

[Interior]
After I removed the base from my BC-1000 (by the way, don't do this unless you know what you're doing), I was surprised to find a very different printed circuit board inside. There are significantly more components on the BC-1000 board compared to that on the BC-900 (refer to my uploaded picture in 'Customer Images' section):

- The BC-900 has just one 'glop' covering the controller IC
- The BC-1000 has two 'glops' on its PCB, suggesting that there is an extra controller. Given the past history of 'meltdown' problem with BC-9009, the most likely function for this controller is to monitor temperature during charging.
- The BC-1000 also added four bulky thru-hole diodes ('B220' 2A 20V Schottky diode) on the PCB. Again, the most logical explanation is to burn off excessive power during charging, to prevent other surface mount components from over-heating and suffer a thermal runaway.

[Conclusion]
The BC-1000 may look exactly like the older BC-900 and BC-9009 from outside, but there is significant design overhaul that took place inside. Note that I cannot testify that BC-1000 has solved all thermal-related problems, because I have never witnessed any over-heating problem before. But as an engineer, I know that no company will accept a design change that ADDS cost to an existing product - unless it is absolutely required to fix a problem.

Assuming the alleged 'meltdown' problem is really solved, one question still remains: is the BC-1000 a better value than the Maha MH-C9000 (currently available in the same price range)? Personally, I think the user interface of BC-1000 is much better, but other people may disagree. So it comes down to whether you can make use of the bonus items (4xAA + 4xAAA cells, 4xC + 4xD-cell spacers) in this package. If you can use some of them and feel that they are worth paying $10 for, then go for the BC-1000. Otherwise, you may want to consider the BC-700 at half the cost.

[Update on May 11, 2012]
For general questions on La Crosse chargers, check out my "BC-700/900/1000 FAQ" under BC-700 product page.
http://www.amazon.com/review/RK62EGS3P082I/

[Update on Feb 19, 2013]
I have tested the AccuPower IQ-328 and found it to be practically identical to the BC1000 - down to the same bugs. It is worth considering at its present price (around 60% that of the BC1000).

[Update on June 21, 2013]
I tested the BM200 Battery Charger Analyzer and found it better than BC1000 in many ways - except for problem with over-heating when charging 4 cells at 1000mA. Read my review on it for details. The same problem exists in IQ-328, by the way.

[Update on Jan 31, 2014]
There is a newer model of the BM200 called the BT-C2000. It solved the thermal problem of BM200, and offered several improvements over BC1000. It is a good deal since it is currently priced lower than the BC1000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far, so good, September 2, 2011
By 
Chris in SC (Columbia, SC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
I received this BC1000 a couple of days ago. I purchased it along with the 16 AA and 8 AAA eneloop batteries, so I guess this review can be used for both the charger and the batteries. The BC1000 arrived with all advertised accessories present. I purchased the BC1000 instead of the predecessor because of the new auto shutoff mechanism when the batteries get too hot while charging. I think I saw pictures on Amazon of a "fried" 9000 model. Being new to rechargeable batteries, I decided to charge the first 4 AA eneloops on the lowest setting (200ma). BC1000 showed a total charge input of 707 mah, 734 mah, 909 mah and 790 mah. I then decided to test each of these four batteries for total capacity. In test mode, the BC1000 charges the batteries to full capacity, discharges them and then fully charges them to get a total charge reading. These four batteries showed a total charge of 1841, 1867, 1932 and 1918 mah. This process of charging to full capacity and then running the test took about 24 hours. The batteries never got hot.

I decided to just run the test cycle of the BC1000 for the next four batteries, since this would fully charge them. I used the setting of 1000ma to charge and the BC1000 automatically defaults to 500ma to discharge the batteries before charging them again. These for batteries showed a charge capacity of 1986, 1977, 1993 and 1998 mah. Slightly higher than when using the lower setting. It should be noted the BC1000 did what it was supposed to do during this test cycle. Right before these 4 batteries reached total capacity, the charger shut off because the temperature was above 127.4 degrees F. My temp gun read 128, so this was verified. I left the batteries in the charger, and it automatically resumed charging once the batteries had cooled.

Charging and testing at 200 ma took forever. Something like 24 hours. A big chunk of time was spent discharging at the default 100 ma. That alone was over 10 hours. Using just the test cycle at 1000/500 ma, it took less than 10 hours. I wish the BC1000 gave a total test time, but it doesn't. It only shows the total time for each function (charge, discharge, charge). As of right now, I'm using a the setting of 700/350 hoping that is a good compromise between time and heat. When I go to just charging and not testing all of these batteries I might even go to 500 ma or 200 ma overnight.

The BC1000 also displays volts. The eneloops came pre-charged with at least 1.30 volts. They are labeled 1.2 volts. I was able to charge them up to between 1.47 and 1.51 volts. I have not used the eneloops in any device other than the charger as of yet.

Note: I'm on my third set of testing 4 AA eneloops. Right out of the package it took 53-60 minutes to charge each one to full capacity. They got hot as well at 700ma. My temp gun read 126 degrees. The charger did not shut off as the limit is 127.4. I'll try the 500ma setting on the next 4 AA's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most advanced charger in the world, October 17, 2011
By 
Tony J. (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
I just got this a few months ago, and it's been serving me quite well. It's main advantages are the amount of manual control it gives you and of course its ability to report data on the status of the batteries being charged. It also comes in a travel bag and is paired with plenty of accessories like 4 2600 mAh AA batteries, 4 1000 mAh AAA batteries, and 4 C/D-size spacers to allow you to use AA batteries in places that take C or D-size batteries. The manual that comes with it is very brief and uninformative; you can get a better one at www [dot] lacrossetechnology [dot] com [slash] bc1000 [slash] manual [dot] pdf.

An overview of the modes:

Charge Mode: Charges 1-4 AA or AAA batteries individually at user-selectable currents: 200 mAh, 500 mAh, 700 mAh, and 1000 mAh. If you are only charging 1 or 2 batteries (for 2, they must be placed in slots 1 and 4), you can also do 1500 mAh and 1800 mAh. For some reason, it lets you charge AAA batteries at 1000, 1500, and even 1800 mAh. My advice: just don't. Let's keep it safe at 700 mAh. Display can be configured to report mAh accumulated, time spent charging, and current.

Discharge Mode: Discharges the batteries until empty, and then charges until full. During discharging phase, reports mAh discharged, time spent discharging, and discharging current. Once a battery begins charging, the display resets into charging mode. Otherwise the same as Charge Mode. Use this option if you have NiCd batteries and need to deep cycle them to remove the "memory effect," or just want to find out the current mAh capacity of a battery.

Refresh Mode: Performs multiple charge/discharge cycles. Good for old batteries that need to be reprimed. I haven't used this mode before.

Test Mode: Charges to full capacity, then discharges fully, and then recharges back to full. Reports capacity of battery based on discharged mAh at the end. I've had some troubles with this mode on new batteries. AA Eneloops, which are supposed to give 1800 mAh on their first charge out of the pack, only showed up as values ranging from 200-500 mAh when I did Test Mode. After a charge/discharge cycle, the reported capacity went up to 2050 as expected.

There are four buttons, one in front of each battery compartment, allowing you to individually configure each battery. At the bottom are the three important buttons: Current, Display, and Mode. Current cycles between 200, 500, 700, 1000, 1500, and 1800. Display cycles between (dis-)charging current (mA), time elapsed (HH:MM), and capacity (mAh). Note that capacity switches to Ah with 3 significant figures at values of 2.00 Ah and above due to lack of space for digits. Mode cycles between Charge, Discharge, Refresh, and Test. A potential con is that the bottom three buttons feel rather cheap and loose. I have a friend with a BC-9009 whose buttons have fallen off, and must be manually pressed with a pencil.

Here are my ratings:
Performance 5
Features 5
Reliability 3
Usefulness 5
Ease of use 4
Value 4
Overall 4.5

I'll round it up to a 5 for the actual Amazon star rating because I really, really like this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it works, and why the BC-1000, February 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
There will be two different types of readers here. One that just wants to know if this is the one to buy, and how to use it, and the other that wants to know why they should buy it, and the information they need to get the most out of it. I'll start with the former.

Just tell me what I need to know.
1. The BC-1000 is the right one to buy because it has what is necessary to address the needs of maintaining nickel-based batteries, and when you consider the 8 batteries and useful accessories that come with it, it's as good a deal as the BC-700. The BC-700 has the same abilities as the BC-1000 to maintain NiMH batteries, but not quite as much current capacity. Anything less than the BC-700 doesn't have what it takes to properly maintain NiMH batteries.

2. Basic Operation
Charge: (Charges)
- Put batteries in
- Plug in.
*Shows Full when finished

Exercise/Discharge: (Drains, and Charges)
- Put batteries in
- Plug in.
- Select one of the Compartment Numbers
- Press the mode button until you see Discharge
*Shows Full when finished

Recondition: (Drains and Charges until capacity no longer increases)
- Put batteries in
- Plug in.
- Select one of the Compartment Numbers
- Press the mode button until you see Discharge Refresh
*Shows Full when finished. Some batteries may go through more cycles than others and take more time.

Test: (Charges, drains to measure capacity, Charges)
- Put batteries in
- Plug in.
- Select one of the Compartment Numbers
- Press the mode button until you see Charge Test
*Flashes between Full and cell capacity when finished.

OK, now tell me now why I should buy it with all of the details.
1. The need:
NiCd and NiMH batteries both have problems with "memory", which is crystalline formation. The positive nickel plate, a metal that is shared by both chemistries, is responsible for the crystalline formation. With an anode in fresh condition, the hexagonal cadmium hydroxide crystals are about 1 micron in cross section, exposing large surface area to the liquid electrolyte for maximum performance. When the crystals grow to 50 to 100 microns, they insulate large portions of the active material from the electrolyte. After reconditioning, the crystals are reduced to 3 to 5 microns, an almost 100% restoration. In addition to the crystal-forming activity on the positive plate, the NiCd also develops crystals on the negative cadmium plate. Charging partially discharged or charged batteries is what causes the problem. Because both plates are affected on NiCd batteries, they require more frequent discharge cycles than the NiMH. Another advantage of NiMH is they have twice the power density and the same voltage.

NiCd batteries in regular use and on standby mode (sitting in a charger for operational readiness) should be exercised once per month and NiMH every 3 months. The exercise drains the battery to ~1V/cell, and then charges it back to full. Between these exercise cycles, no further service is needed. The battery can be used with any desired user pattern without the concern of memory. However, if no exercise is applied to a NiCd for three months or more, the crystals become difficult to break up. In such a case, reconditioning is required. Recondition is a slow, deep discharge that removes the remaining battery energy by draining the cells to a voltage threshold below 1V/cell. During recondition, the current must be kept low to prevent cell reversal. It will continue to perform this cycle until no more capacity is being gained by doing so, which means batteries could be in there for quite a while if they are badly crystalized.

To achieve long life from these rechargeables we need to:
- Not leave a nickel-based battery charging after full charge is reached.
- Perform periodic exercises on the cells.
- Recondition cells when necessary.
- Avoid elevated battery temperatures.
- When batteries are connected serially, it helps to group them by capacity.

Chargers that lack independent cell charging, or without the microprocessor controlled exercise and reconditioning cycles, simply do not have the capabilities necessary to maintain nickel-based rechargeable batteries. Thus, it goes without saying, you will not be able to achieve a positive ROI from your NiMH batteries with the dumb chargers that frequently come packaged with batteries.

2. Why the BC-1000?
- It can provide the cycles necessary to properly maintain the batteries. Besides Charge, it provides Discharge/Exercise, Recondition, and Test to measure the cell's mah.
- The default current value is conservative for any battery so you can simply place the batteries in it to charge, or select discharge/exercise, or recondition, and not change the current. One that defaults to 1000 ma for AAA batteries is not a good situation when you have non-technical people sharing the charger.
- If you need batteries charged in a hurry, it will do 4 at a 1000 ma, or 2 at 1800 ma, and has thermal protection for the batteries.
- It comes with 8 batteries, 4 AA, and 4 AAA, and 4 D-Cell adapters. (In a household that has only Li-Ion and NiMH, they are handy for the air mattress pump, which is the only thing we have that uses D-Cells anymore)
- You can see what is going on with each cell without cycling through screens.
- It doesn't require a degree in computer mysteries to use it. I was initially torn between this and the Maha Powerex Wizard One MH-C9000. The first advantage of the La Crosse BC700 and BC1000 is you can see at a glance how all 4 batteries are doing without cycling through a menu, and just push the button next to each battery to cycle through the readings or set cycle. This is important because even batteries from the same package never finish near the same time. Thus, you can pop out the ones that are finished and use them, and put others in their place to be recharged. The second advantage is it defaults to 200 mah. That setting won't won't hurt AAAs, and many times you don't care how long the AAs take if you put them in there and take the out the next day. Doing even a 500 mah charge on AAAs will overheat them to where they will never get their capacity back I found out. I experimented with the Panasonic 550 mah batteries that come in cordless phones, which averaged about 350 mah. In an effort to see if "juicing" them with a 250 mah discharge and a 500 mah charge would help, I ended up losing capacity I was never able to get back.
- The D-Cell adapters that came with it that I didn't think I would ever use I needed the first day. I witnessed first hand the huge advantage a low resistance battery technology has over a high resistance battery technology in situations where there is a lot of current flow, such as the 4 D-Cell electric pump that blows up air mattresses. For high current draw operations, the alkaline battery internally consumes much of its own energy before it ever leaves the battery to do useful work, much like a resistor loses watts of electricity to heat while providing resistance. Alkalines' initial voltage advantage of 1.5v vs. 1.2v falls off real quick. You can hear it in the pump motor. As you may know, a slow turning centrifugal air pump doesn't pump air, so the usable life of the D size alkalines in this situation is less than AA NiMHs, plus the NiMH batteries are rechargeable. The Alkalines shine for low current draw where their high resistance doesn't matter, and their cost works only if you buy in volume. Low current draw is the ONLY way Alkalines get anywhere near their rated mah capacity. For a flashlight, the one advantage the Alkalines would have is you could milk a very dim light for a lot of hours where the NiMHs simply stop.
- The batteries that come with it aren't junk. The triple AAA 1000 mah batteries clocked in at 898, 939, 970, an 1010 mah. The 2600 mah AA batteries measured 2060, 2090, 2170, and 2270.

3. Why not the BC-1000?
The only problem is documentation. The documentation of its features is spread all over and not always accurate. The instructions above and the truth table below are the clearest means to learn how to use the BC-700 and BC-1000.

Truth Table: (This sounds complicated until you use it a few times and then it becomes logical and you don't need to remember any of this.)
- If no Compartment Number key was pressed and is flashing, the Current, Display, and Mode key input affect all of the occupied compartments. Sometimes you will need to press one of the Compartment Number keys to make changes.
- When you place a battery into a compartment, you have 8 seconds to change the current. If you change the Display or Mode for that compartment during that 8 seconds, the 8 seconds starts over. However, once the 8 seconds expires, you cannot change the Current without physically removing the battery or unplugging the device. Oddly, after the 8 seconds, you can still change the mode.
- When there is a battery located in compartment 1 and/or 4, and none in 2 and/or 3, max. charging current: 1800 mA.
- If you have a battery only in position 1 or 4, when you increase the charge current above 1000 ma, the null indicator for positions 2 and 3 will turn off, and the charger will no longer recognize batteries placed in position 2 and/or 3.
- When there is a battery located in compartment 2 and/or 3, max. charging current for every compartment is: 1000 mA
- If you put a battery in any compartment, and allow the 8 second timeout for Current to expire, oddly, any batteries you add to any compartment after that cannot select a current above that current level.
- The charge current level is fixed at twice what the discharge mode.
- When you set the max current for discharge mode, the max you can select is 500 ma, no matter which or how many compartments have batteries in them, which in turn allows a max charge current of 1000 ma.

Summary: Maha Powerex Wizard One MH-C9000 Advanced Battery Charger and Analyzer has its advantages, but once the tech coolness wears off, and you are just using it to charge and recondition batteries, the La Crosses are handier to use and requires no understanding of anything to use it as just a charger. Of the La Crosses, the BC-700 is the cheapest one that has all of the capabilities required to properly maintain rechargeable nickel-based batteries. When you consider the BC-1000 only costs $16.00 more, and comes with 4 AAs and 4 AAAs, you are already at the same price as the BC-700. The BC-1000 also has more reserve charging capacity, 4 D cell adapters that you might use more than you think, and a nylon pouch to keep things from getting lost. While from a practical use standpoint the BC-700 is just as capable as the BC-1000, all around, the BC-1000 was cheaper, and brought some accessories with it that turned out to be more valuable than I had anticipated.

Update: It's December 1, 2013, and I still can't think of a NiMH battery charger that I would rather have. I've had zero problems with it. What I wrote back then makes just as much sense today.

Update: It's February 11, 2014 and the price has gone up on the BC-1000, so the gap is no longer $16, it's $30. This changes the value proposition between the BC-700 and BC-1000 significantly, since the price difference is now greater than the value of the batteries and accessories that come with it. The BT-C2000 Battery Charger Tester Analyzer NiMH NiCd AA AAA C D 12 Volt Powered starts to look attractive with its 1000 mah capacity and priced at only $13 more than the BC-700. It comes with two adapters to enable you to charge real C and D rechargeable batteries. I'd rather have that than the nylon bag and C and D adapters where you put AAs inside an adapter and still only have the power of AAs. With the remaining $17 I saved, I can buy 8 brand name LSD NiMh batteries of the size I want. Moreover, the BT-C2000 could rig it to run off my car battery, since the AC adapter output is 12V DC.

*** ALSO *** I noticed jjceo did a video review on the BC-1000 here. It enables perspective buyers to be able to grasp the concepts of the BC-1000 and BC-700 interface WAY faster than reading the manual so any usage tips you read afterwards will make a lot more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, smart and flexible programming to charge, test and extend the life of your rechargeable batteries!, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
Length:: 3:45 Mins

Edited 11-5-2012: Please see my edit shown below

If you own handfuls of rechargeable Ni-Cd and Ni-MH batteries like I do you are always looking to extend the life of the batteries and trying to figure out when is the time to buy new ones. This battery charger is your answer to how to charge, refresh, fix and test the batteries while getting important technical data that is unavailable from almost all other chargers.

I have attached a simple video to try to demonstrate the basic functionality of this product. I had to cut it short as I am only allowed to post a video of a certain size so you should read this written review for some details that are missing in the video. I am also sorry for the quality of the video in some places in the film. You have to greatly reduce the video quality to make it fit onto Amazon and what was perfect on the computer screen is fuzzy in some places on the web site.

The charger can be used as a simple charger and I charged 5 sets of batteries this way so far. I also pulled out a set of 6 old NiCd batteries that are over 10 years old to test the charger's ability to refresh and rejuvenate old batteries. Two of the six batteries were simply beyond all hope and they are destined to be recycled. At least now I know that they are beyond recovery. Three of the remaining batteries reached over 70% for their original functionality and the last battery actually exceeded the original specs for mAh of capacity. I used the refresh mode to work on these batteries.

Update:
I reran the refresh more on the four NiCD batteries. After one more refresh cycle two of the batteries exceeded their 100% rating. I removed those two and reran the refresh mode again and the last two reached 100% of their rating. This is impressive as these batteries are over 10 years old and hadn't been recharged for over 6 years. This product delivers what it promises.

This product features excellent performance and provides battery performance data that you don't normally get to see. I have already saved four Ni-Cd batteries and found two to dispose of. I hope the video is helpful to you. I love how this product performs and the quality of the charger, This is a 5 star product and I recommend it to you.

BC1000 Main Features:
* Works with all Ni-Cd and Ni-MH AA and AAA batteries
* You can mix AA and AAA batteries at the same time
* LCD multimeter displays each individual battery capacity when charging is complete if you discharge them or test them.
* Four modes of operation, Charge, Discharge, Refresh and Test.
* Will not over charge batteries, switches to trickle charge when charging is complete.
* Has overheating protection to prevent overcharging.
* You can set different charging rate for each battery as well as mode of operation. Max current set by first battery cell location.
* Selectable charging rate ranging from 200 ma, 500 ma, 700 ma, 1000 ma, 1500 ma and 1800 ma.
* 1500 ma and 1800 ma are only available when battery channels 1 and/or 4 are used.
* 200 ma is the default charging rate.
* Measures and displays the voltage of each battery.
* Measures the charged capacity in mAh or Ah for each battery.
* Keeps track of charging or discharging time in hours and minutes.
* Detects damaged batteries.

BC1000 accessories included in this kit:
* Charger
* AC power wall plug rated at 3 VDC and 4 Amps.
* Four AA Ni-MH rechargeable batteries rated at 2600 mAh.
* Four AAA Ni-MH rechargeable batteries rated at 1000 mAh.
* Nylon carrying bag for charger and all accessories.
* 4 C size adapters to make the AA batteries C size
* 4 D size adapters to hold the C size adapters and AA batteries to make them D size.
* Small owner's manual but download the one from the Web. It is much better.

BC1000 modes:
* Charge Mode - Charge each individual battery at your selected current rate.
* Discharge Mode - First discharge and then charge to remove the memory effect of rechargeable batteries. Batteries discharge at ˝ the rate at which they charge.
* Refresh mode - Performs multiple discharge and recharge cycles (up to 20) to refresh old batteries. Stops when the batteries are no longer improving their capacity.
* Test mode - Fully charge, then discharge and then fully charge to measure the capacities of batteries in mAh or Ah. If battery contains more than 1, 999 mAh the display shifts to Ah display like 2.6 Ah.
* Each battery location can be set into a different mode and charging rate. The battery in the first slot will set the max charging limit for all slots but you can lower the charging rate for other battery slots.

BC1000 Notes:
* Use the charging table to select the maximum charging rate for different sizes of batteries and consider the amount of time you have before you need to use the batteries. The higher the current, the faster the charge time but the harder it may on the batteries life span/
* 200 ma is the recommended charging current to extend the life of the batteries.
* Damaged batteries will only display "null"
* Definitely download the instruction manual from the web site, it is MUCH better than the manual included in the box! It is 48 pages long with small pages.

Update: 11-5-2012

I just love this charger and as an engineer it just helps to answer all the questions I have about my rechargeable batteries.

I do have to comment though about the batteries that comes with the kit. The AA size is slightly larger in diameter than normal sized AA batteries and they do not fit into most devices I would use them in. They do not fit into my wireless computer keyboard or into my Maglight flashlights. You couldn't force them into some items if you tried and if you did you would never get them back out. Just don't count on those batteries being of good use to you as you will have to select what they fit into and what they won't fit into.

It is sort of sad, the best charger I have ever purchased with batteries that are not of much value. I still recommend this charger as one of the best available and I love it to use with my Eneloop and Sony rechargeable batteries.

Update 11-16-2012

I returned my batteries to La Crosse and they sent me replacements that fit into my flashlights and electronic devices. The support was helpful and they took care of the problem. I commend them for standing behind their products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good charger, but not the best IMO, January 2, 2012
By 
Vince B. (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
I've owned this charger for less than a week so I may not be completely accurate on the reliability of this charger. This review is based on the initial look and use. Since I also own a MAHA C9000, I am also going to compare it.

Pros:
-Compact: Compared to the C9000, this charger was smaller than I anticipated, even after looking at comparison photos of the BC-900/9009 and the C9000. This is great for frequent travelers.

-Programming: All cells can be programmed at once, which is great compared to the individual programming (if not charging at 1A) on the C9000.

-Freebies: The package comes with a bag, 4 C adapters (inside D adapters), 4 D adapters, 4 2600mAh AA batteries, and 4 1000mAh AAA batteries in addition to the charger.

-Reading for All Cells: This is one advantage over the C9000 that I like. Being able to see the info on all the batteries at the same time is great. Also, pressing the Display button to see the voltage, time, capacity, etc. and it staying on the selected display is also a plus instead of waiting for the info to toggle like the C9000.

-Batteries are Full After Charging: Unlike the C9000 with the low voltage cutoff of about 1.47-1.48V, this charger (according to NLee) has a cutoff of 1.52V, which fully charges the batteries. This is the sole reason I bought this, in addition to freeing up my C9000 for the Break-In charge mode (it lasts about 2 full days).

-Independent Slots: This is one of the more important features as it charges each battery independent from another so each battery will get the proper charge without over or undercharging.

Cons:
-Programming: It's somewhat different to the C9000 in that it isn't straightforward. If I press the Mode button at the wrong time after plugging it in, the charger won't select the different modes and would start the default charge.

-Build Quality: To be blunt, it is cheap. When I first picked up the charger, the two halves of the charger, when squeezed hard enough, separated slightly. The buttons also feel pretty cheap. According to one reviewer that reviewed the BC-700, pressing the buttons cause damage to the board, which is somewhat freaking me out as he stated that every press damages the board. The C9000 is more rugged and hefty. Also the buttons feel solid and still working after a couple of years of use.

-Close Proximity of Cells: This is a major con as heat can reduce the lifetime of the batteries. I've noticed, when charging at 700mA and 1000 mA, the AA batteries heated up to the point of triggering the temperature safety cutoff (around 53-54 degrees Celsius). This is also outside of the recommended charging temperature of 45 degrees C (according to the Sanyo Eneloop tech specs).

-Battery Freebies: When I tested the free batteries, the AA's had a capacity of about 2000mAh, far from the rated 2600mAh. The AAA cells were also low at around 850mAh. I am currently running a Break-In charge on the AA batteries with my C9000 so I will update this review with the ratings.

-Temperature Sensors: These are the only ones that are paired. Meaning that each pair of cells share one temperature sensor.

-Old Adapter: Mine seems to have shipped with the old BC-900/9009 adapter. While the unit itself is black, the adapter resembles the same blue coloring of the BC-900. If anyone with a BC-1000 is reading this, can you guys tell me what adapter your's shipped with?

Conclusion:
For a starter pack, this charger and the freebies that come with it are great. For those on the fence between the BC-1000/700 and the C9000, I would recommend the C9000 due to the excellent build quality. For those that have no batteries, then the BC-1000 is a great package to start with. No offense to the reviewers that claimed that programming the C9000 is tedious, but to put in perspective, I literally pressed more buttons texting, typing this review, and surfing the net than programming the C9000. When charging Eneloops, there is virtually 0 button presses as the C9000 defaults at 1A (0.5C charge rate), which is in line with the recommended charge rate stated by Sanyo. I would also like to credit the users of Candlepowerforums and NLee for valuable information on battery related things.

*Update 1 - 01/03/2012*
I just wanted to update that the Break-In of the AA batteries that came with it resulted in capacities of 2177mAh, 2119mAh, 2057mAh, and 2155mAh. This is lower than the advertised 2600mAh. Maybe the capacities will rise after a few more cycles, but I have no confidence in the quality of the included batteries.

*Update 2 - 01/05/2012*
Another update. The AAA batteries just finished a Break-In cycle and had capacities of 885mAh, 911mAh, 899mAh, and 908mAh. These numbers are much closer to the advertised 1000mAh so this set of batteries are a pretty ok deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Revew for Knuckle-Heads Like Myself., October 23, 2011
By 
Tull1 "Tull1" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
Plain and to the point: If a knucklehead like myself now finds this battery charger a 'how did I live without this until now' thought, so will you after your purchase. It's like I had a Home Simpson 'V8' moment (where you slap yourself on the forehead and moan 'Doh'!).

It is simple to use and such a convenience. I was tossing away exhausted alkaline batteries from my digital cameras and similar electronics. I decided to buy this charger when I purchased a Uniden mobile scanner a couple weeks ago. I have since then used the charger about 15 times. Having the digital display is EVERYTHING to a charger. It tells me how slow (or quickly) I can charge my NiMH batteries (charging times are easily programmable by the user). I can charge 1, 2, 3 or 4 AA batteries at once. Once the batteries are charged, the system shuts itself down to a slow trickle. When charging, the unit does get hot (but not hot enough that you can't pick up the unit). But as I said, once charging is complete, it cools down significantly and just supplies a trickle charge to each battery to keep them alive until ready for use.

You can find more details and specs on this charger reading other (more knowledgeable) reviews. I was just looking for a unit that gets the job done and allows my non-electronic/engineering mind to monitor and/or simplify the process. This charger does just that (and makes my life easier and colors me a slight shade of recyclable green).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good charger - full of functionality, November 28, 2011
By 
C. Courtney "TAZ" (Sugar Land (Houston), TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
This is a great charger, but for the pricing I'd have assumed it would be a bit friendlier to use. I have no issues using it, but the wife does.

Pros: Charges batteries very quickly when needed
Can set the charge rate to effectively match how quickly you need the batteries, I'd set them at the lowest setting for the time you need them by.
Good refreshing capability for some of my older batteries
Ability to indicate the capacity of the battery.

Cons: The 2600mAH batteries that shipped with it can only get to about 2000-2100mAH charge.
To test it performs a Full Charge/Full Discharge/Full Charge cycle which takes forever (well ~1 day on 200mA)
It still get's hot but at least it shuts down to avoid damage. A 1000mA charge rate spends a lot of time cooling down.

It's a great smart charger for those who want to be able to revive and test, but be prepared to be a little annoyed as it's still going to take a lot of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two bad units in a row, October 6, 2012
By 
John R. Conrad (Greenville, SC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
I bought the first of these from Amazon back in May of this year, but didn't start using it until about a month ago. It worked great for about three weeks. Yes, the menus are a bit awkward to navigate, but I'm used to that from dealing with RC LiPo chargers. After using it for three weeks, and maybe a dozen charge cycles, it JUST STOPPED WORKING. COMPLETELY. NOTHING. Thinking I had just gotten an unlucky draw, I ordered a second one from Amazon. Got it yesterday. It worked great--ONCE, AND ONCE ONLY! After charging four batteries, the displays cycle randomly and refuses to charge. It's going back tomorrow. Won't gamble on a third one.

Maybe it's just me, maybe I'm jinxed, but I'd recommend caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battery analyzer...outstanding features, November 23, 2011
By 
G. Burnstein (Sitka, Alaska USofA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger (Kitchen)
The charger/analyzer works exactly as advertised. The included C-Cell and D-cell AA adapters are a nice bonus. Helps to identify if one of your batteries is not well matched to others by mAH or charge... I would highly recommend . Have used to test multiple brands of 1200, 1600, 1800 and 2200 mAH batteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

La Crosse Technology BC1000 Alpha Power Battery Charger
$59.99 $57.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.