Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate Weather Station - Makes Watching the Weather Fun
Installation:

1. Setup of sensors and display unit was simple. Complete 32-page PDF operations manual online is superb.

2. Setup of Heavy Weather Pro software / hardware including sychronization was simple. Complete 55-page PDF software user's guide online is detailed and outstanding.

3. Setup of Lacrosse Alerts PWS software was a little...
Published on October 16, 2012 by Andrew Senske

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars La Crosse C86234
I'm at the point where I believe Lacrosse dumped a troublesome product on Costco to get it out of their warehouse. I am 4+ weeks into trying to get the units to work together & just gave up. Thank heavens for Costco's satisfaction return policy.

We have owned a La Crosse indoor/outdoor thermometer for years. Its propensity to drop the outdoor sensor's...
Published on November 2, 2012 by Wary Shopper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anemometer major problem, January 5, 2014
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
The only problem with this equipment is the wind sensor that stops responding when winds get over 33 mph. It also uses solar rechargeable alkaline AAA batteries that quickly lose battery voltage over time and limit the range of the sensor to just a few feet. Due to the continuous efforts required to reset and keep the anemometer working, it is impossible to recommend this station as other than a toy. Save your money and buy a real weather station.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Crosse Pro Weather Station C86234, December 3, 2012
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
I too purchased this at the Big Box store and had read all the reviews so was a little skeptical about the set up and performance. I have had it for over a month now and have to report that it is working as advertised so I must have purchased a good one. It might be that the folks that had trouble with theirs got one of the few bad ones that can occur in a production batch. I followed the instructions about setting up the sensors in a certain order with the right wait times between battery insertions and the station synchronized perfectly. The only concern I have is the USB device for the computer needs to be resynchronized whenever the computer goes to sleep or is restarted. It would be nice if it automatically re-synched but you have to go the weather station and set up the synch again manually each time it occurs.
Otherwise the station is easy to set up and reports the outside and inside temps humidity, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORKS NICE, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
easy set up just read the set up in manual and go step by step or you will have problems. I would advise to use rechargeable batteries and and charger it will save money in the long run
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great price, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
works better than
i expected.
don't care for the computer graphics
like the wireless of the product
shipped very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very decent, October 7, 2012
By 
zhaba1 (Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
I bought my item from the same place the other reviewer did. I had no problem connecting everything, and even when I by accident reset it and had to reconnect, I just had to follow the instructions.

The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the software, which is rather primitive. Also, you can monitor your weather remotely, but only if your computer at home is running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Does what it is designed to do - and that's part of the problem!, October 21, 2014
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
The product works as it is designed. That's good and that's bad...

Good: For current conditions, it's great. Seems accurate and gives all the data you are looking for.

Bad: For historic conditions, the engineers/programers should be down the road! I am so perplexed by the lack of logic in the programming. For rain you get: 1-hour, 24-hour, week, month and total. Here's a hypothetical: Today is Thursday, you received 1" of rain within the past 24-hours and 2" on the Monday prior. You also received 4" two weeks ago. Logic would mean you would have the following data: 1-hour, 24-hours = 1", Week = 3", Month = 7". No, not with this company. Week mean last week, so after the 24-hour period the rain you received this week disappears until next week when it shows up again. The same for the month. Month mean last month, so you will just have to wait. Your rain will show up for the first 24-hours then disappear until next week then disappear until next month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Won't sync no matter what, December 27, 2013
By 
Kenneth Melville (Royal Oaks, CA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
I can get the temp/humidity sensor to work, but the wind and rain are dead as a doornail. I tried everything. The sequences they put you through to get this working are designed by a madman. They blithely announce "If no syncing then just remove all batteries for 10 minutes and repeat..." The batteries are behind screw-type protectors with shallow screwheads that can barely be torqued without popping out. HUGE hassle. I've been at this for hours, dead as a doornail. A true POS and the setup procedures are either designed by a mental patient, or designed to put YOU in the nuthouse with him.

Update: Just done a ton of research. They discontinued this piece of crap for good reason, apparently many folks had problems similar to mine. The setup procedure reads like a Monty Python skit. Costco is blowing this out for $79, and it's still not worth it. In this price range, the only way to go seems to be the AcuRite 01500 (also sold by Amazon/Prime) for only $99. Reviews are stellar and setup involves sticking batteries in in any order and it just....plain....works. Plus the central unit has a wall wart so you don't have to keep switching out 4 expensive C batteries and you can leave the backlight on. The AcuRite has a huge amount of options and different modes of measurement. Seems to be an extremely well thought-out and user-friendly piece of gear, as opposed to the nightmare of the La Crosse. I have another La Crosse unit from a few years back and my one encounter with a CSR was creepy: the guy was hostile and insulting and when I would ask a question he would hiss back only what he was reading off a manual. I'm reading other reviews here with similar CSR encounters. Swell.

At $79 the price certainly seemed right, until I discovered WHY they were blowing it out. Yikes. At $150 it's highway robbery. Steer clear and if you want something that works, go with the AcuRite 01500. But do your own research, don't believe me. I think you'll find though that that is the best out there for under $300.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, July 4, 2014
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
Keeps dropping wind sensor. Not a very reliable product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worked really well for two months, then had "sensor drift.", April 14, 2014
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
Got a very similar system at Costco (C 84612) and it worked fine for first 60 days or so, then the dash lines started appearing indicating the Thermo-Hygro sensor signal was not being received by the weather station. Did a few of their "Quick Restarts" which got them back to working, but only for a day or so. Each time I moved the units closer together to make sure distance or interference wasn't the problem. Then installed fresh Duracell batteries and did the factory re-set where you put all units close together and re-initiate them all with new batteries, etc. Again, all worked for a couple days but once I moved the weather station more that 20' from the outside hygro-thermal sensor the dreaded dash lines appeared again because the signal was lost. I've spent hours re-starting and re-trying but it never works like it did the first several weeks! I've heard about "sensor drift" and that sure sounds like the problem. Trouble is, there's no information about how to adjust for that from LaCrosse. Alas, maybe $99.00 is too cheap a price for a full weather station and one must step up to the Davis, et al systems that are much more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars poor customer servce, April 14, 2014
This review is from: Lacrosse Professional Weather Station (Lawn & Patio)
I have had model c84612 since Christmas and have had nothing but problems with the unit. Trying to get customer service is impossible. When you call, everyone is busy and have to leave your phone number then it is over a week before they get back to you. Very frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lacrosse Professional Weather Station
$279.99 $121.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.