Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now SnS

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 16, 2008
I had heard this album on Ween's myspace when it was streaming and wasn't really that impressed. I finally decided to get this record two weeks after it came out. Listened to it, still not impressed. But now I finally understand it. Put it on while reading a magazine or book or whatever, it will sink it. Every Ween album has been a grower for me, but some move a little faster. This one has taken the longest. But at last it has defeated my mind. This or anything starting with and after Chocolate and Cheese is the place someone should start if they want a more accessible Ween. If you want more of the brown, go to Pure Guava and anything before.
In conclusion, I would originally have said this to be Ween's weakest effort. But now I'm finding my self reaching for this disc quite a bit lately. This is a weird, fun, relaxing, not to be taken too seriously, not so drugged out, stripped down Ween album. Enjoy!
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2008
Wow!! Some really negative reviews here - more than a little surprising.
A common problem with reviewers is that they often compare an artist's work against their other works. If it doesn't seem as good as other works to the reviewer, they often don't treat the work based on its own merits and therefore rate it lower than it deserves.
I reckon this is what has happened here although I respect that everyone has a different view.
I went to see Ween in Melbourne last week - absolutely F###### brilliant!! Every person I spoke to were enthusiastic about the La Cucaracha even if it wasn't their favourite Ween album.
I've waited until I was familiar enough with the whole album before I reviewed La Cucaracha. Ween's albums as great as most of them are, can take a few listens before they click - even for myself being a self-confessed Ween-nut. This album is no different. It took a few listens but now I can't get it out of my car.
I can't be bothered thinking up superlatives or to try and impress you with crap so here's some highlights:
Fiesta is an instrumental that immediately grips you with its infectious vibe and get's you moving- no Viagra needed!
Blue Balloon is classic Ween - artistic & original (not trying to compare - only explaining to the already initiated if they haven't heard it as yet) without sounding....been there, done that.
This band is about fun and Friends falls into that category where you may think the lyrics are corny, but you'll be bouncing to it at any party. This is a different version from the Friends EP version as noted by other reviewers and both are great and worthy of purchase. Ween of course aren't stupid - the corniness of some lyrics are totally tongue-in-cheek.
Object is a disturbingly sinister song - masterfully done - the mood in which it's delivered suits the music perfectly. - check out those lyrics!
Sweetheart in the Summer is a perfect hangover floater......a very welcome comforter for that shaky, sweaty, low-on-energy day.
Woman and Man starts as foreplay and then its "hold on for the ride of your life!" Sounds amazing turned up loud as you drive along a freeway. Air-guitaring after a few drinks works brilliantly as well.
The lyrics in Your Party are intentionally straight-forward sounding but in the typically 'loaded' Ween style. I've noticed that some people reviewing this song on different forums just don't get Ween's humour. The gorgeous music that goes with the lyrics melts in your mouth.
I pretty much like every track on the album but the above are my favourites and the ones I'll skip to if I want to cut it short.
Wake up people!! Don't be put off by overly-good or bad reviews! Give it a few listens and make up your own minds. For me, this is (almost) a great album, Ween-or-not.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2014
Aaron himself has said their creativity was at a low point when they made this disc. That being said, 1/4 Ween tops most other things. Deaner amazes in man and woman and the song object is in my top five ever by Ween. There are some lower points. You have to love them thru it all. It is the power of Ween after all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2012
'Object' and 'With My Own Bare Hand' alone, this album is worth it.

Ween always has songs that don't do anything for me and then they completely blow me away with the next song.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
I love this album so much. Having owned a few other of their cds, I knew what to expect and wasn't disappointed. I can't choose a favorite, but Blue Balloon and With My Own Bare Hands are the ones I look forward to. Buy this cd. Do it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2015
Some great songs, a must have for religious ween fans. A lot of this album takes some getting used to. Definitely not for the beginning ween fan. Myself, I love LA cucaracha, especially tracks blue balloon and sweetheart of the summer. Can't seem to identify with the third track"friends ". My least favorite ween song ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2007
La Cucaracha is not a bad album, it is just not up to Ween standards. Ween has been blowing us away with amazing music for many years and this album just feels like a let down. Had it been an experiment of some other band, it may have been spectacular. Unfortunately, it just doesn't work. Of course, there are still a few songs that will bring you back to the good old days...
Fiesta is a good, interesting way to begin the album with an instrumental. Its not the best but not the worst track, either.
Blue Balloon is very good, it has the Ween spirit, with weird sounds and lyrics that can keep you moving.
The version of Friends on the EP Friends Ep was so much better than this one! It was faster and more upbeat, this sounds like Ween got stoned and wanted to cover someone elses song then couldn't think of anyone else so they just covered their own song.
Object is very good too. When they played it live, it obviously had more enthusiasm and feeling, but this song definitely deserves to be on the album.
Learning To Love has potential but falls way short and just gets annoying after a few seconds. You're much better off with 12 Golden Country Greats.
With My Own Bare Hands is kind of La Cucaracha's Blarney Stone from The Mollusk. It's offensive and dirty and awesome.
The Fruit Man is fun, and kind of funny, a bit slow and would fit well on Shinola, vol. 2.
Spirit Walker is one of my favourite tracks. At first I hated it and thought it was a cheap knock-off of the more abstract songs from Quebec. It almost sounded like they were trying to sound like Cher... But anyway, after several listens, I love it!
And what better way to follow up a good track with the ABSOLUTE WORST WEEN SONG EVER??? Shamemaker is pathetic. I understand the concept of doing parodies of other noises, but when you sing in that nasal, emo, California boy-band voice, it just makes you look like a novelty act. I'm sorry, but I hate this song.
Lullaby is a good song, it reminds me of She's Your Baby, only slower and cleaner and weirder. And of course not quite as good as anything on White Pepper.
Woman And Man is the jam song on the album. It kind of bugged me at first but then I gave it another chance and it grew on me.
Your Party, the last track, is probably the best one. It definitely puts you in the mood to move...

Overall: Ween fans (you already have it because you are a Ween fan), anyone else (go buy the other albums first before you mess with this one Chocolate and Cheese,The Pod,Pure Guava,Shinola, Vol. 1,God Ween Satan-Anniversary Edition), and the others listed above.
I give it 3 out of 5 because it is Ween and there are some good songs, but it's very disappointing.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2008
La Cucaracha is controvertial even for a Ween album, however, it's for different reasons than most. Many Ween fans banned La Cucaracha, citing that the songs sound too similar, and/or it's not up to Ween standards, and the songwriting is weak. Though I can see where some people might reach that conclusion, you have to take this album in the context of where it's coming from. This is Weens "Let it Be". They have stripped down the extravagance and gone back to their roots, much like the Beatles did. Ween's last real record "Quebec" (which is one of my favorite albums EVER)was full of ambient experimental bliss, but it was the darkest album Ween has ever peoduced. On La Cucaracha, Ween lighten up (even the ironic song "Shame Maker" which is about addiction is in an up-tempo happy number, though if the lyrics are in stark contrast)and have fun with their experimentation. They also cover some previously unexplored (and some explored) genres for Ween such as New wave( it's better than it sounds, prog-rock, sub-reggae, knee slapping alt-country, and jazz among others. Ween makes music for themselves, not copping out to fans wishes, and you can either be critical of, or take it for what it is and enjoy the ride.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2011
I love Ween, so keep that in mind. This album rates about 3 1/2 stars compared to their other output, and rates 4 1/2 stars compared to the stale fart sounds on the radio today. Personally, I think that the highlights outshine some of the warts on this record. "Learning To Love", "Blue Balloon", the sublime "Your Party",Deaner vocals on "Sweetheart in the Summer", and the ultra tasty jam out of "Woman and Man" still make this album a solid purchase. "Lullaby", "Shamemaker",and "Fruit Man" are complete throwaways. "My Own Two Hands" is not for the faint of heart....

What this album has that many of the low-fi Ween fans don't know to pay attention to is the depth of the recordings and the layering of sounds going on in latter Ween studio albums. I guess that haven't trained their ears to appreciate that level of depth in their music. That is basically why the 4-track stuff doesn't quite do it for me; it's too flat. I rather just hear them live shredding then hearing them backed by a drum machine and a programmed bass.

Point is that Ween circa 1990-1992 is two KIDS finding themselves musically, and is amusing. Latter Ween are two PROFESSIONAL ADULTS making some of the best rock ever made.To me, Ween rights some the catchiest yet craziest music out there. They are true o.g.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2007
Maybe I need to give it more time, but so far I've found this to be a real disappointment. Really pains me to say it since I've been with them since the early 90s, but these songs just seem like a shell of what they should be. A couple nice moments, but really it seems like they are kind of parodying themselves at this point. The songs just jump from one genre exercise to another but the tracks just don't have the substance that they did in the past.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.