Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Garden In All Its Glory
La Foce is an attractive Tuscan villa which is presented here in text and pictures. The text offers a picture of one family's history, including interesting archival photographs and drawings. What makes this book truly spectacular, however, are Morna Livingston's photographs, presented in a beautiful layout and printed on a silky white paper which heightens the...
Published on November 18, 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rated "good to very good" I was surprise that the ...
Rated "good to very good" I was surprise that the book's binding was torn with back cover unstable. I would consider book in rough shape.
Published 1 month ago by Norman Nezelkewicz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Garden In All Its Glory, November 18, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
La Foce is an attractive Tuscan villa which is presented here in text and pictures. The text offers a picture of one family's history, including interesting archival photographs and drawings. What makes this book truly spectacular, however, are Morna Livingston's photographs, presented in a beautiful layout and printed on a silky white paper which heightens the luminesence of the incredible Tuscan colors. In more than one hundred photographs Livingiston captures the villa's gardens in every light and season. There are stunning images of the broader landscape and fascinating details of both the architecture and the plants. For those who have wondered just what the attraction of Tuscany is, you will find the answer here. For those who already know, this will serve as a reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany, May 15, 2005
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book. It bodes one well to have read Iris Origo's autobiography to help understand much of the background of La Foce, although Benedetta Origo does an excellent job of providing background, too. The combination of the estate's background, color photographs and sketches by the authors makes this book an excellent buy, especially if one is interested in Italian gardens and their development. Maps, too, have been included to give one a sense of location. Beautifully done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LA Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany, June 26, 2008
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
I bought this book having seen a copy in the house we were staying in in Italy. We were then inspired to go & see the garden. A very interesting account of the history of the garden & a very accurate representation of what you will see if you visit the garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, January 4, 2008
By 
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
First I must make it clear that I have been interested in Iris Origo for a long time. When I discovered this book, it was a delight because it not only showed a perspective on Iris and Antonio Origo's life, but it contains beautiful photographs and drawings and is a joy to own. I find myself looking it up with the flimsiest of reasons, and enjoy it every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, December 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
Fabulous photography and great story by the daughter of the woman who restored the villa and created the gardens. Enough said by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars italian Garden architecture, February 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully illustrated book depicting an ancient villa near Siena, Italy, which was restored before the second world war. An Italian aristocrat married a wealthy Anglo/ American woman who was acquainted with an English landscape architct and the three of them created gardens that we now consider classic formal italian landscaping. The woman kept a diary of the work on the gardens and villa and the second world war coming into the estate, published as " War in Val d'Orcia". Invaluable records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Multiple views of a famous garden, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
Whether you've visited it or not (I have), this book is enriching because each chapter looks at La Foce from a different perspective. The founders' grand-daughter synthesizes the fascinating history of the garden, the estate, and the region, accompanied by illuminating period photographs. The photographer offers, and comments on, a hundred varied photos. The artist shares her informative and analytical notes along with her drawings. And an expert situates Cecil Pinsent's work in garden design history. This is a book for specialists that can be enjoyed by amateurs as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
Purchased in anticipation of upcoming trip. We have reservations on this property and wanted to check it out ahead of our stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars La Foce, June 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
Gorgeous garden and beautiful book with fascinating history. Gave it to a friend as a gift. She and her husband lived nearby and it was a pleasure to see her reaction when I gave her the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rated "good to very good" I was surprise that the ..., August 10, 2014
This review is from: La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture) (Hardcover)
Rated "good to very good" I was surprise that the book's binding was torn with back cover unstable. I would consider book in rough shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

La Foce: A Garden and Landscape in Tuscany (Penn Studies in Landscape Architecture)
$69.95 $47.16
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.