Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Far, So Good
I have been using three 500GB LaCie drives for three months with no problems. I will need three more within a month and, based on my results with the drives I have, I will purchase LaCie hard drives again. I, too, am interested in the terabyte drives coming out in May, but will probably settle for the Big Disk Extreme drives. I've been using multiple LaCie CD Burners for...
Published on April 12, 2004

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 400GB lost...
I am a big fan of LaCie drives, but this drive...not so much.

In less than two weeks I had to use DiskWarrior3 at least five times to rescue the drive. The first time I lost about 4GB of data (though I later discovered that some of the other data was in fact corrupted). Obviously, there is something wrong with at least some of these drives as the problems...
Published on September 3, 2004 by sagemonic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 400GB lost..., September 3, 2004
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
I am a big fan of LaCie drives, but this drive...not so much.

In less than two weeks I had to use DiskWarrior3 at least five times to rescue the drive. The first time I lost about 4GB of data (though I later discovered that some of the other data was in fact corrupted). Obviously, there is something wrong with at least some of these drives as the problems described by others are too similar to be coincidence.

Realising the drives (this drive is actually a hardware RAID 0 consisting of two 250GB drives inside the enclosure) were about to tank, I ordered myself two 250GB LaCie drives and disconnected the 500GB less it tank again before I could do a file transfer. Well, after receiving my new drives the 500GB did tank again, but this time even DiskWarrior was useless. Drive Recover X was able to find the vast majority of the files, but I actually opted not to bother transferring them since I would then have to go through every file to check for corruptions. Since 90-95% of the data is backed-up on other drives and discs (and the other 5-10% will just require some extra work to replace) I just wiped the thing and sent it off for my refund.

I will continue to buy LaCie drives as this is the only problem I have ever had with their products, but I'm going to steer clear of these hidden RAID drives (which is a shame because I was really looking forward to getting one of the 1TB drives...). I'll stick to daisy chaining the smaller d2 drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perfect timing, May 9, 2005
By 
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
I've been using a LaCie 500 GB Big Disk for managing a large amount of media for a Final Cut Pro Project. On my Mac, it worked fine for about a year -- until a week ago. Suddenly, the files were inaccessible, and a foreboding clicking sound came from the drive. I ran disk repair utility, and I was able to again access the files -- but 3/4 of them had been wiped out! I called LaCie, and the guy wasn't particularly helpful, but he did confirm that "that clicking sound is bad news."

So I thought to myself -- at least I've backed up the data and the Big Disk is still under warranty -- I think. But when I dug out my receipt I found my purchase was exactly two weeks past one year ago. Ouch! Could they have timed it much better?

So buyer beware -- and don't fail to back up your files!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Holy cow, I wish I knew, April 9, 2005
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
I wish I knew this was really 2 250gb drives in raid 0. Those who dont know this is really bad for mass storage. The data is striped so your chance of data loss is huge. This drive is the reason I now check Amazon's reviews before I buy anything. I used this drive for about 2 weeks and had issues with XP. The drive began to lose directories more and more. I ran checkdisk and recovered much but not nearly all of the data. I gave it a second chance but it was all down hill from there. I ran checkdisk again and cut my losses and took this junk back to the store. I informed the store clerks (They know me well) and they appreciated the info as many of them were interested in the product also. I don't know many people who would buy a massive amount of storage such as this and want to take such chances with loosing all the data on it.

FYI when the directory listings were missing most of the data was still there (-+ recent changes) the drive simply cant find it anymore and this was seen by the drive usage reported by windows being unchanged. Run a recovery utility backup to another drive and send this thing back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, November 30, 2004
By 
Stephen714 (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
The LaCie drives are a mixed bag, being extremely quiet and very fast. I use mine with a usb 2.0 card with my laptop and the external drives are actually faster than the internal drive.

However, there are problems that may or may not be due to LaCie. I have also had an ongoing problem with the drives losing data and being recognized by Windows. After a lot of checking, the problems seem to be simple, yet very destructive. A notebook card protrudes out a good bit over the side of the computer. This has led to ocassional bumps to the card that likely have been the cause of cracks to the bottom of several usb 2.0 and firewire 800 cards. I mention this only to alert anyone who is frustrated by trying to figure out these data losses. LaCie apparently has never encountered this problem. Also, a heavy firewire 800 cable will frequently fall out of the firewire 800 card and that also causes data loss. This data loss theorectically should not be happening, as I have write caching disabled which makes it unecessary to use the "safe removal icon" in the notification area. Whether the loss of data despite write caching being disabled is a Windows problem or a LaCie drive problem is something I have not yet determined. Although I may buy another LaCie drive, that purchase is clouded by the inforgivable lack of information from LaCie. They do have users e-mail addresses and could easily have sent out the firmware update information that is necessary after XP service pack 2 is installed. The reason this is so critical is that the firmware update must be done on a computer NOT using service pack 2. This effectively makes my drives unable to use the firewire connections anymore because I did not find this out until AFTER the XP service pack 2 installation and upon finding that the drives had yet another problem. Basically, these drives can not be counted upon for any data that is not backed up elsewhere, which makes their value very questionable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID THIS DRIVE AT ALL COSTS, April 6, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
Believe the other reviews written by people who have lost data! We bought 3 of these drives and have lost data on all 3. Two worked poorly out of the box (read times of 30 minutes per megabyte across firewire with data access errors). The other one one worked fine for 6 weeks then unexpectedly went belly-up with no recovery possible. LaCie technical support is completely unhelpful. The best warning to everyone is that they post new FIRMWARE updates on their site almost every week. They know they are having real problems with these drives but don't acknowledge it to users. Don't buy these drives unless you want to participate in La Cie's beta testing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drive Fails, Data Lost, Multiple Instances, March 22, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
These drives should be avoided.
Our laboratory, and several we work with, have made a big commitment to these drives. We have bought more than a dozen of them. Several times, after working fine for a while, the drive disappears; it does not come up on the desktop. Disk Manager shows it as unallocated. LaCie tech support is not acknowledging the problem. All they could offer was try a data recovery program. I did; it didn't work. We have lost lots of data on theses drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LaCie BigDisk is trouble, December 9, 2004
By 
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
I work at a graphics company and we have large files that are stored on our server. Because of budget constraints we bought a couple of 500GB drives hoping to use them for weekly backups of our work. They have been nothing but trouble from the start. Often after properly disconnecting the drives and reconnecting them the drive is read as being unformatted. This has happened multiple times we still have our original data but will not trust the drives as a back up solution. And to cap it all off the service from Lacie is horrible we have called them several times without any real resolutions to our problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No good on Windows, flaky on Mac, August 17, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
There are a variety of folks on the net talking about the "delayed write failed" errors these drives get after a while. I had mine (I have 3) work for almost a year on WinXP before they started crapping out. Now I'm struggling just to get the data off them. And LaCie's tech support is entirely not interested. "You should reformat, that'll probably fix it." Right. Like cutting off my head will cure my headache.

I used to really think LaCie made good stuff...their industrial design is certainly attractive. But their "Big Disk" products are crap, and their support is either abusively indifferent or just nonexistent. I'm hoping I can get the data off the disks and they try to get some use out of them on the Mac, but even there the one disk I reformatted has had recognition problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid. Just Avoid., August 5, 2005
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
This drive lost over 300GB of data within one month. Recovery programs -- purchased at my own expense without any help from the almost comically rotten LaCie tech support -- were able to get back most of it. A complete nightmare. Worst of all? I have to ship the drive back to get another one. EVERY other manufacturer recognizes that you just maybe might need somewhere to put all that data which THEIR drive DESTROYED. But not LaCie, from whom I have purchased my last product. As should you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caveat Emptor, October 27, 2004
This review is from: LaCie 500 GB Big Disk Triple External Hard Drive (300721) FW/FW800 & USB2 (Personal Computers)
I have been considering buying this drive for a few weeks now and was about ready to pull the trigger when I read the reviews. After all the research I've done this is the first I've heard that this is actually 2 250MB drives in a RAID 0.

It is totally unacceptable that LaCie does not disclose this fact. I won't bore you with the details but RAID 0 increases your chances of losing data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.