Customer Reviews


1,455 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,220)
4 star:
 (143)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


262 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairy tale fun at its finest; UPDATED REVIEW FOR BLU-RAY
In the early 80's Jim Henson created one of the most ambitious fantasy films ever: The Dark Crystal. It was a movie that had a completely realized world with its own creatures and flora... and it was performed entirely by puppets. Not the Muppet kind that Henson is famous for, mind you. These were serious creations that involved serious innovations in animatronics. While...
Published on July 30, 2007 by SRFireside

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Edition needs more Special Features
This is my all-time favorite movie (it's up there with "The Princess Bride" and "Willow"), and when I heard that this Collector's Edition was coming out, I had to buy it. However, I was very dismayed to find that this Edition has hardly any decent Special Features, apart from the 'behind the scenes' documentary that was not remastered and has muffled/distorted sound. I...
Published on December 14, 2005 by Nimbus


‹ Previous | 1 2146 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

262 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairy tale fun at its finest; UPDATED REVIEW FOR BLU-RAY, July 30, 2007
By 
SRFireside "ZOOM!" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
In the early 80's Jim Henson created one of the most ambitious fantasy films ever: The Dark Crystal. It was a movie that had a completely realized world with its own creatures and flora... and it was performed entirely by puppets. Not the Muppet kind that Henson is famous for, mind you. These were serious creations that involved serious innovations in animatronics. While many loved the movie and it was critically acclaimed many others didn't "get it". There was no human interaction in the movie whatsoever and that put off people. Also the movie was serious with none of that Muppet mayhem Henson fans are so used to. That put off a few more people.

The next evolutionary step in Jim's grand scheme of fantasy puppetry was Labyrinth, and they filled in the gaps that The Dark Crystal left for those who couldn't (or wouldn't) "get" the concept of a fully realized fantasy setting that is outside of our own. How does he do it? Let me tell you...

Step One - Human actors. Labyrinth included the young, yet already talented Jennifer Connelly as their heroine and well-established musician and actor David Bowie as her nemesis. Now you get the fun of a complete puppet world while at the same time you have human characters that interact in that same environment. Thus giving the viewer a better connection to the puppet characters.

Step Two - Better puppets. The Dark Crystal is a masterpiece in of itself, however the technology used to animate the puppets was in its infancy and if you had to be picky about it you can pick away at the limitations of the puppets in that movie. With Labyrinth you get updated technology, which gives you puppets who can show emotions better. Case in point is the goblin Hoggle, who is the starring puppet. So much attention to detail went into his facial expressions that you can actually see the fear, disgust, anger, and joy in his eyes. Add to that other puppetry innovations and you have a world of cool puppets.

Step Three - Keep it fun. The Dark Crystal was a grandiose and serious film that included some funny moments now and then. Labyrinth is the opposite. Is a fun film where the characters meet up with unexpected and often times crazy situations. Makes this fantasy adventure feel more comical in the same way it would reading a fun bedtime story.

Step Four - Keep the original concept. Jim Henson did The Dark Crystal with the thought that he wanted to create a whole different world inhabited by beings and creatures portrayed entirely by puppets. Labyrinth is essentially the same thing, but done in a different way. Walking through the movie's namesake (the maze that leads to the goblin city) is definitely like being in another world that's both fascinating and fun. Much of what you see is visually impressive and essentially relish in the fact your eyes can play tricks on you. Brian Froud is again signed on as the conceptual designer and his work shines just as well in this iteration as it did with Dark Crystal.

Labyrinth also has the destinction of having songs specially written for the movie by David Bowie. Keep in mind this movie was in the 80's so what you get is 80's Bowie, and there are a couple scenes that flow more like music videos (or musical numbers) than standard scenes.

You might get the impression I am dogging on Dark Crystal in order to lift up Labyrinth. Can't be farther from the truth. However I do know the differences between the two films and how the other was made in response to the first. Labyrinth is the folk tale while Dark Crystal is the fantasy book. I believe both are fantastic movies.

The original DVD for Labyrinth was a good compilation right from the start, and was superseded with the Anniversary Edition having remastered visuals and a couple new featurettes. Now we have the movie on Blu-Ray, and boy I thought the Anniversay Edition looked good. I was worried when this movie went high definition that a lot of the original film grain was going to be lost in the digital cleaning that's popular with some companies with older films. Luckily what you end up with is the best looking picture to date. I'm not going to say this movie is presented in supersharp crystal clarity, but then again that would ruin it. The movie look as true to the original theatrical release as you can get. Details really pop out without looking antiseptic. Visually the Blu-Ray does breath new life into this classic. The extras are pretty much identical to what was offered on the Anniversary Edition with one exception. Here's what you get:

Documentary Making of the Labyrinth - Has interviews with actors, puppet performers and production staff including Jim Henson, Brian Henson, David Bowie (who gives us some insight on his character) and Jennifer Connelly as well as lots of details on design and production of the movie. This documentary is a gem for those of you want solid behind-the-scenes details and was in the original DVD and is included on the Anniversary Edition.

Journey Through the Labyrinth: Kingdom of Characters and The Quest for Golden City - These two featurettes from the Anniversary Edition include updated interviews with the cast and crew and never before seen footage from the Jim Henson archives. Kingdom of Characters focuses on... you guessed it... the main characters in the movie including conceptual design for the puppets (although Hoggle seems to be mostly left out, likely because there is so much of him in the original documentary) and background info on the actors. The Quest for the Golden City is mostly design details on the labyrinth, Goblin City and castle itself. These featurettes do well to fill in the gaps left by the original documentary. The extra footage is test footage of the puppets and such, with some production footage as well. I noticed some of the production footage was a rehash of what's on Making of the Labyrinth, but the crosstalk is few and far between.

The Storytellers Picture-in-Picture: This is the Blu-Ray exclusive featurette. When you turn it on while watching the movie occasionally a window pops up with an interview with one of the crew members speaking some interesting anecdote about the film. There isn't a whole lot of these that pop up in the movie, but when they do you get some rather interesting and entertaining production and behind the scenes information. Hearing about the casting call for the Helping Hands scene and the interview with Warwick Davis are alone worth checking out the feature.

Commentary by Brian Froud

You also get Dolby True HD Surround in English, French, Portugese with a Dolby Digigal Spanish track (how many movies have a Portugese dub?) with subtitles in all. Kind of strange they left out the Japanese audio that the Anniversary Edition had. I recall hearing improvements from the previous release's Dolby Digital 5.1 mix, but nothing groundbreaking.

Every release of Labyrinth has been impressive from the very first DVD, and with each new release it gets even better. So is it worth the double/triple dip? Well just like how the Anniversary Edition gave you a better picture with more extras the Blu-Ray ups the ante. I say if you want to enjoy this movie in the best way visually then yes. The new extras are nice, but to be honest as long as they original making of documentary is in there everything else will always come in second.

Labyrinth is a wonderful movie for all ages. The visuals will impress and the hijinks will entertain. If you are a Muppet fan this movie will be much more accessable than the Dark Crystal, and if you like The Storyteller then you have abolustely no choice but to get this (it's like a full length Storyteller movie sans John Hurt).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Fairytale, July 6, 2000
This review is from: Labyrinth [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw Labyrinth when I was about ten years old and it has been my dream fairytale ever since.
The story was simple -- big sister has to grow up, learn her responsibilities and rescue little brother from becoming a goblin.
But what was magical about the whole show was the brilliant M.C Escher sets, marvelously entertaining puppets created by the father of all puppets, Jim Henson, and the beautifully romantic interludes between Jennifer Connelly (Sarah) and David Bowie (Goblin King).
Present-day computer animation can make dinosaurs almost real but I preferred the cute and adorable puppets that created my own make-believe of a world of magic, fantasy and adventure. I could almost see myself running around in that maze, dodging the boobie traps and having great companions like Hoggle, Ludo and Ambrocious with me.
I admit I was pretty charmed by David Bowie's portrayal of the Goblin King but who wouldn't be? Powerful, mysterious and not bad-looking, he seemed to be in the classic Prince Charming genre, except that he was also a little diabolical compared to those in Cinderella and Snow White etc.
Labyrinth is a classic and will always be my dream fairytale, and I am still watching it over and over every now and then. Most of all, like Dark Crystal, it is one of the signature performances by the late Jim Henson and his wonderful family of puppets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful grown up faerytale!!, January 19, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favourite movies, because it truly understands the hearts of grown up girls, their love of fantasy and lure the dark & dangerous lad that leads us down the garden path. It's a wonderful tale, with marvellous tunes that linger on and on. From "It's Only Forever", "Underground" and "Chilly Down" but most especially "As the World Falls Down". Sigh, such a beautiful and deftly filmed Cinderella Ball for Adults. I don't know a woman that loves this film who does not say "I want that dress!".
Sarah is an easy to relate to teen. She is part child - part woman, one foot in each world and truly not belonging to either. Added to this, her father has remarried and has little time to spend on his growing daughter. We are not told, but it's clear her mother is dead. Mom was an actress and lover of the magic and she passed this on to her lovely daughter. It's very hard to believe Jennifer Connelly is only 12 years old here!!! She is the perfect Sarah, the beautiful woman-child that has no sense of her place in the world. Too grown for childish things, too young for boys and dating. Her cherished childhood toys are giving carelessly to her new baby stepbrother, again emphasizing her feelings of alienation. Her new mother has little patience, and even when she tries, she meets with a hostile resentful woman-child. Sarah pain at feeling as if she is not wanted anywhere is so heartbreaking.
Left with the crying baby, and feeling that her world is slowly crumbling around her (reflected in Bowie's "As the World Falls Down"), the child side takes control and spitefully wishes the baby to be taken away from the Goblins. In true Muppet fashion, they promptly and cheerful comply. Sarah faces the Goblin King Jareth - perfectly brought to life by Bowie - and demands he return her brother. When Jareth says he will only return her brother if she finds her way to the Goblin City, Sarah sucks in her courage and goes after him.
Along the way she meets wonderful friends such as Hoggle and Sir Didymous, and finds out her own inner value and worth. Something we all have to do in growing up.
A true faerytale for the little girl in us, wonderfully realized through the magic of the Muppets, Connelly and Bowie. This set is laced with all the wonderful goodies that will thrill all the many lovers of the film.
Kudos for the super repackage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through dangers untold..., July 18, 2001
This review is from: Labyrinth (DVD)
It's hard to believe that when Labyrinth was released in June of '86 it didn't do well. People weren't impressed. Some people say that things get better with age. Maybe this is also true with films.
Labyrinth is the ultimate fantasy adventure story. Sarah, the heroine, has to find her way through the magical labyrinth to get her baby brother back from the evil Goblin King. Along the way she makes friends and enemies as she fights temptation and reminds us what is truly important.
The release of this DVD was a long-time coming. It was worth the wait. Presented in wide-screen, that means we can see all of the goblins in hidden in the drawers and not just the one speaking, and Dolby Surround. The picture quality is good and the hauting soundtrack has been captured excellently.
Also included on the disc is the original cinema trailer and the original production featurette "Inside the Labyrinth". Probably as valuable, if not more, as the film itself. It's a facinating glimpse into the making of a masterpiece. Including interviews from the cast and crew and, more importantly, the Muppet master himself, Jim Henson.
This movie is probably more popular now than it has ever been and for good reason. And for just over ... bucks it's a movie must for anyone who is young or just young at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical fantasy adventure for all ages!, October 27, 2002
This review is from: Labyrinth (DVD)
"Labyrinth", directed by Jim Henson, is one of my all-time favorite children's fantasies. It's about teenage aspiring actress, Sarah (Jennifer Connelly), who's sick and tired of being mistreated by her parents (Shelley Thompson and Christopher Malcolm) because she thinks her baby brother gets all the attention. Sarah soon begins to hate her baby brother and wishes that he would be taken away by evil goblins. Miraculously, Sarah's wish comes true...but now she's afraid of what might happen to her brother and wants him back. So to get him back, she must embark on a journey through an enchanted labyrinth maze to get her brother back from the evil king goblin (David Bowie). Along the way, she meets many magical creatures and defeats dangerous tasks as she learns what's really important about family.
The film's special effects were done by the Lucasfilm company (yes, George Lucas's effects company). The acting is superb from the entire cast, especially a very young Jennifer Connelly and David Bowie. The storyline is wonderful, but the DVD is lacking, with only trailers, production notes, and one documentary on the making of the film. "Labyrinth" might actually not be for all ages, since it can be a little scary...esepcially the goblins might creep some young children out. But it is still a must.
I highly recommend "Labyrinth".
Score:
100/100
A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Edition needs more Special Features, December 14, 2005
This is my all-time favorite movie (it's up there with "The Princess Bride" and "Willow"), and when I heard that this Collector's Edition was coming out, I had to buy it. However, I was very dismayed to find that this Edition has hardly any decent Special Features, apart from the 'behind the scenes' documentary that was not remastered and has muffled/distorted sound. I was looking for audio commentary (maybe by David Bowie and/or Jennifer Connelly, or possibly a Henson family member) or some better behind-the-scenes docs (maybe click on a button while the movie is playing and you get a behind-the-scenes look of that particular scene). I was also hoping of some more conceptual artwork (or even a commentary) by the great Brian Froud. (I have always been looking for an "art of" book for this movie, but all I have found is Froud's 'Goblin Companion'--which is great, but there has to be more conceptual artwork for this movie than that).

Anyway....I love this movie, but the Collector's Edition could have been more significant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy come to life, August 12, 2004
This review is from: Labyrinth (DVD)
I almost gave this movie four stars, until I realized how many times I've come back to it. It really is worth watching again and again.

The story's opening should appeal to many kids: teenaged Sara rebels at the baby-sitting duties that interfere with her vivid fantasy life. She would never hurt the child, but creates a fairy tale around her frustration. In this story, the beautiful princess (Sara, of course) is set free when denizens of Fairy-land abduct the evil infant. Then, suddenly, the fairy tale becomes real.

The story is Sara's quest to recover the lost child from Jared, played by David Bowie. He works well as the world's dark lord, even if his song scenes seemed gratuitous. Sara traverses the mythic Labyrinth guided, misguided, and befriended by beings from Jim Henson's wonderful imagination. This is the true magic of "Labyrinth," the sustained vision, comical and fantastical, of Brian Froud's world peopled by Henson's creatures. The whole world is simply amazing - and it goes on, in changing scenes and amazing detail, for the rest of the movie.

This is a wonderful kids' movie, with no real violence or adult themes, and with a happy ending. It does have a dark edge, however, that may scare the very youngest. Although it's a kids' movie, the kids are optional. Feel free to enjoy it just for yourself.

//wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The DVD could be better. The movie... hardly!, October 22, 2002
This review is from: Labyrinth (DVD)
Wolfgang Petersen's 'The Neverending Story', Ridley Scott's 'Legend' and Jim Henson's 'Labyrinth' could very well be my Holy Trinity of fantasy films of the 1980's. All three of them set landmarks in the genre by showing great imagination and spectacular spirit of adventure. In the case of 'Labyrinth', a movie more intended for children would prove to be the most harsh of the three by touching a subject not very uncommon: stepping into adulthood and leaving infancy forever.
Jim Henson had already delighted us with his magnificent film 'The Dark Crystal'. In this movie, he shows once again why he's one of the best puppeteers of the world. Although there are many characters in the film, only two of them are played by human actors. The rest is all puppets. This was Jennifer Conelly's first big role, and she does quite a nice job. The brave, yet sometimes overconfident Sarah manages to capture our attention even when surrounded by all the puppets and artistry of the magical world she's in, but it's David Bowie, as the Goblin King, who gets the best of the movie in a scene-stealing role. His presence alone is astonishing, and even when he could seem a little rigid in his acting moments, he feels right at home during the musical numbers, showing us why he was the one and only option for the part. I hadn't watched the movie in over 10 years, and I still loved all the songs, specially the ballroom sequence, where Sarah and the Goblin King face each other in a masquerade where the two of them are the only ones unmasked. In fact, the only musical piece that I didn't like was 'Wild Gang', basically because it doesn't feature Bowie (and the special effects are pretty lame). As for Henson's work, all the puppets are magnificent and brilliant in detail. This is specially good in the big ones, like Ludo the beast, the Helping Hands and the big robot-like creature at the gates of the Goblin City. Adults with a less 'delicate' sense of humor will crack up with the Bog of Eternal Stench.
Unfortunately, once again, fans of a good film will feel betrayed with this edition: a poor presentation, an old documentary, absolutely no commentaries (one by Jennifer Connely and David Bowie would've been the greatest thing on Earth!!) and, worst of all, a mediocre transfer. There is basically no improvement over the VHS version, neither in picture quality nor sound. Bring me the head of the Lucasfilm executive who gave the OK on this paper-napkin edition! Being realistic, I don't think a Special Edition of 'Labyrinth' is planned in the near or far future, so you'll have to deal with this one. But in spite of all this, the movie continues to be one of my favorites, a fantasy classic nobody should miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where anything seems possible, yet nothing is what is seems, June 16, 2002
By 
This review is from: Labyrinth [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Labyrinth is, without a doubt, the best movie I've ever seen. What I love most about it, is that everything is different than what it initially appears. The story and everything in it, can be interpreted on many different levels.
On the surface it is about a young girl named Sarah (Connelly), who sees herself as a heroine in distress, and one night when she is fed up with babysitting her baby brother Toby, wishes the goblins to take him away. She then has make her way through a mystical labyrinth, and defeat the evil goblin king (Bowie) to get him back.
On a deeper level, there are many different plots of the story. One of them being how Sarah is a dreamer who creates the labyrinth in her imagination. Upon emerging from the labyrinth, she has learned a lesson, has grown up, and gives up her childlike dreams ready face the real world. Then at the end, she learns that it is still important to keep a part of her dreams with her, and not completely lose herself to the real world.
On another level,it is about Jareth (the goblin king) falling in love with Sarah, and trying to free himself from the basic story of good v.s. evil. At the beginning he is content to play the antagonist of the story, but at the end, he know longer wants to defeat Sarah, but wants her companionship. Throughout the film, he tries to pursade her to follow her dreams, and to choose her path between the stars, promising that she'll find his love, and that she can have a fairytale ending. He offers her, her dreams, and wants to destroy the basic denoument of good defeating evil. Yet at the same time, as he shows her her dreams in the ballroom scene, he twists them, making them more sinister, malicious. Sarah comes to realize that maybe her dreams aren't what they are made out to be. Maybe living in a fantasy world isn't such a good idea. And so, she chooses to live in the real world, and face her responsibilities.
Well that's about it...hope I didn't confuse you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as I thought it would be, August 15, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Labyrinth is somthing that was my life blood for many years. I have the original release of the DVD and didn't bother getting any of the more recent collector edition or fancy dvds that came out recently so I can't compare to those.

The movie is the same, but much higher qualitiy, you can really see all of the glitter that sparkles all over the labyrinth, its wide screened so you can see that much more of the world (and the elusive treasures in Sarah's room, aka the Goblin King doll).

The DVD is in a slip case, which has a holographic type cover (oh yes, its that cool). The first DVD has the movie along with a track of commentary by Brian Froud. Having listened to it I found it pretty interesting, since he was involved in the entire creative process he had a lot of background information on how certain things came about, though sadly no on set anicdotes (except for a few which are related to Toby) since he didn't witness alot of the filming. It would have been nice to have another track with some of the muppeteers, Brian Henson, Kevin Clash, Karen Prell etc.

The second disc has the old documentary on the making of the movie, which was on the previous DVDs. It also has 2 new documentaries. Both have interviews (new) with Froud (Brian and Toby) Gates McFadden, Brian Henson (very insightful), Karen Prell, Dave Goelz, George Lucas (very interesting, I was surprised he did this actually) and several others that were involved in the making of the movie. With in these new features there are some new behind the scenes footage, screen tests, but what I was really dissapointed in...In the MirrorMask coffee table book it was mentioned how Neil Gaimen and Dave McKean mentioned how when staying in Jim Henson's home in England they found a nearly six hour version of the Labyrinth and used it as a sort of spring board for their own creative process. I wanted to see some of that six hours, to see some cut scenes, extended scenes, outtakes. It sounded when the press release for this first came out that it would have some of that in it...sadly no.

But it is still enjoyable enough to get. Besides every home should have a copy of this movie (or three like mine does)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2146 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Labyrinth [Blu-ray]
Labyrinth [Blu-ray] by Jim Henson (Blu-ray - 2009)
$19.99 $10.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.