Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced escapism
This is one of the better 'B' movie, low-budget productions out there. The movie is fast paced and exciting with a fairly believable script. However, contrary to the promos, Erika Eleniak is NOT the star; she plays a somewhat desperate soccer-mom trying to save her teenaged son. Julie du Page, fairly unknown in the U.S., plays the gritty, sexy, Brazilian-butt psychopath...
Published 2 months ago by Carlton Fitzpatrick

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laughable, but entertaining, thriller
Once upon a time, director Mark L. Lester directed two of my all-time favorite drive-in flicks/guilty pleasures: "Bobbie Joe and the Outlaw" and "Class of 1984", the former featuring "Wonder Woman" herself Lynda Carter flashing her breasts and shooting it out with the police while the latter features a very young Michael J. Fox getting knifed in a high school cafeteria...
Published on April 9, 2005 by James D. Leverton


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laughable, but entertaining, thriller, April 9, 2005
By 
James D. Leverton (San Marcos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady Jayne - Killer (DVD)
Once upon a time, director Mark L. Lester directed two of my all-time favorite drive-in flicks/guilty pleasures: "Bobbie Joe and the Outlaw" and "Class of 1984", the former featuring "Wonder Woman" herself Lynda Carter flashing her breasts and shooting it out with the police while the latter features a very young Michael J. Fox getting knifed in a high school cafeteria by a psychotic punk gangster. The movies were trash, but they had flair. Now, with drive-ins nearing extinction and the drive-in movie a thing of the past, Lester is stuck helming direct-to-video nonsense like "Lady Jayne: Killer", with a standard B-level cast including video stalwarts James Remar, Adam Baldwin and Erika Eleniak playing total stereotypes involved with a psychotic, sexy hit woman named Jayne, played by a supposedly "hot" French actress name Julie Du Page, who in reality has a hot body but a face that a only a blind man could love. But I digress--

The plot is standard for this kind of opus. Jayne is looking to leave Los Angeles after her latest hit job. Unfortunately, she can't get a flight or a rental car. What's a psycho babe to do? What anyone else would do: she hitches a ride with the dumbest mother and son in the United States, Emily Shaw (Eleniak) and her hormonal (natch) teenage son Kerry (Jeremy Lelliott), who themselves are heading to Houston to escape a vicious drug dealer Kerry has crossed. The fact that Jayne is an obvious sociopath who immediately starts hitting on Kerry and has no luggage except for a silver case usually used in movies like this to transport money doesn't seem to elicit any alarm in Emily: oh, no. She, Kerry and Jayne simply head off to Houston, using the same route movies like this always use: the back roads through the Mojave Desert, not the direct route on I-10, since to do that the filmmakers would have to pay for the proper permits.

Actually, the movie peaks about halfway through, when Emily's car breaks down and the three check into a motel for the night. They get adjoining rooms, with the connecting doors unlocked and wide open, even when Kerry and Jayne are both parading around in towels. (Not the standard postage-stamp size motel towels, but huge ones that strategically cover vital parts of their bodies.) This sets up the highlight of the film: a cringe-inducing fantasy sequence where Kerry drops trou and joins Jayne in the shower. What does he do in his fantasy once he joins her? Nope, he doesn't make out with her. He washes her back. Honest!

It's all down hill from there, as Remar and Baldwin join the foray as lawmen on different sides of the law. (Just figure out who's the bad guy: Jayne's cohort (Remar) or the FBI agent on her tail (Baldwin). Here's a hint: if you guessed Remar, you've never seen a movie like this in your entire life.)

Actually, "Lady Jayne: Killer", as stupid as it is, is still a kick, as campy hoots usually are. It runs a brisk 90 minutes, and the cast is surprisingly competent, even if Baldwin in particular seems to be wondering how he got from "Ordinary People" to here. Du Page is actually quite effective as a psychotic hit woman, in spite of the fact that her character is horribly written and virtually unplayable with a straight face. Remar is solid, and Eleniak does the best she can as a mother who has absolutely no common sense whatsoever. As for Lelliott, well, if you can't say something nice--

The only problem with "Lady Jayne: Killer" is that it's not presented in widescreen format, but in a good-looking full screen print with no extras except for a rather limited filmography for the principles, which for some reason leaves "Bobbie Jo--" and "Class of 1984" off of Lester's film list. But I'm giving it a pass since it is obvious it was filmed for television viewing. In other words, unlike the Disney classics and great action films like "Charley Varrick", the full screen format, while maddening, actually suits product like "Lady Jayne: Killer".

*** (out of *****) for the film; ** for the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, May 19, 2013
If its wasn't taking itself so seriously, I could have laughed at the story, acting and production.

There is a reason you probably never heard of this one, and its not because its a guarded secret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lady Jayne, May 14, 2013
By 
Barbara (DUBLIN, OH, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Weak story, acting - fair, purile plot. Not worth the time I spent watching it. Sorry but thats the way I feel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I WANTED this to not suck......but it did., December 29, 2013
How do you take three good actors (Eleniak, Baldwin and Remar) and produce a bad movie? Crappy script, directing and story line. I REALLY like Baldwin and Remar, but I couldn't get myself to even moderately like this movie. Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad movie waste of time, September 5, 2013
By 
hated it. waste of time. seen better on cartoon network. bad acting and story line. all they did was ride around los angeles and the valley and called it a movie. please!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced escapism, June 23, 2014
This is one of the better 'B' movie, low-budget productions out there. The movie is fast paced and exciting with a fairly believable script. However, contrary to the promos, Erika Eleniak is NOT the star; she plays a somewhat desperate soccer-mom trying to save her teenaged son. Julie du Page, fairly unknown in the U.S., plays the gritty, sexy, Brazilian-butt psychopath "Jayne-with-a-Y".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, June 25, 2014
While not having any big names listed I was skeptical about watching it. Once it got going it was actually better than I thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BETRAYED BY BETRAYAL, September 27, 2013
TERRIBLE WATCHED ABOUT 10 MINUTES. ACTING IS TERRIBLE SORRY I EVEN WASTED 10 MINUTES. SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE WASTING MY TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PU, September 5, 2013
Don't waste your time on this one. A real stinker. I bailed after about 10 minutes. The most boring assassin flick ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best acting, July 11, 2014
Not the best acting. Seemed like an 80s made for TV movie. I was surprised to see that it was released in 2003. I streamed this from Amazon prime, and there were actually FBI warnings about copying VHS movies at the beginning and trailers for other movies, which was kinda strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lady Jayne - Killer
Lady Jayne - Killer by Mark L. Lester (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.