Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Lady Killer/Secret Admirer (2 Books in One)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2002
Ms. Jaffe presents a new voice in the sub genre of historical romance with her latest duo of sixteenth century mysteries. In the first, a vampire novel, Miles Loredan, Viscount Dearbourn is averse to complying with his betrothal contract to marry Lady Mariana Nonesuch. When Miles meets the beautiful sleuth, Clio Thornton, cousin of Mariana, he employs Clio as a ruse to keep her in his protection. For the Vampire of London has returned, though Miles thought he had killed him three years prior.
The love scenes are very sensual amidst the backdrop of the wealthy splendor of sixteenth century English nobility. And the mystery of the bodies left behind by the vampire adds a unique twist to the traditional historical romance.
On the flip side of this book is another sixteenth century mystery in which Lady Tuesday Arlington is considered the prime suspect in her husband's murder. Lawrence Pickering, earl of Arden, and England's primary investigator of smuggling begins to follow Tuesday's every move, as she has painted the murder scene where her husband was found. When Tuesday continues to paint more murder scenes, Lawrence starts to become involved with her romantically, though he is bemused by her knowledge of the crime scenes. Is the real murderer stalking Tuesday, possibly using her paintings to stage the backdrop for murder?
Descriptively intimate love scenes are frequent and varied throughout this read. The romantic tension is palpable and reminiscent of Judith McNaught. Add in the mysterious murderer/secret admirer, and you have a true page-turner.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2002
Michele Jaffe's ambitious offering is nothing short of a killer treat for fans who craves paranormal romances with a criminal twist. The two stories set in London in 1500s, Secret Admirer and Lady Killer may be overly sprawling in its plot and numerous twists but the efforts are atmospheric in its surrealistic realm to propel chills and surprises. Secret Admirer tells of Lady Tuesday Airlington who is haunted by dreams of The Lion obsessed with the word W - a murderer who kills her husband and sets out to frame her when Lawrence Pickering, an official to assist the Queen to counter smuggling rings gets caught in the murderer's intricate plot to ultimately destroy him. Lady Killer features a lady sleuth Clio Thornton and her simian partner Toast on the trails of a vampire fiend where innocent females from Devonshire seemed to be the target. Viscount Miles Loredon has supposedly slain off the villain three years ago and when Clio approaches him to solve the mystery together, he finds himself facing his demons yet again. Their blossoming romance is threatened by the prospects of his impending marriage to Clio's cousin and suspected identity of Clio as the vampire itself....
Both romances are sensual and poignant and the murder plots are staged intricately and intelligently - albeit many clues may be too much of a coincidence. Nonetheless, Michele Jaffe has proven her a talent to watch with her crafted crime plots full of shenanigans and delicious red herrings. In the tradition of Gaelen Foley, her narration is clear and focused - and it is double happiness when readers are treated to this hefty but enjoyable read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2002
I too really liked Michele Jaffe's earlier books and was eager to read these. But they are not of the same caliber. SECRET ADMIRER is set during the Renaissance, yet the characters behave and speak like modern people. They do not behave true to their time period. It's disconcerting. And the action is abrupt, moving from point to point without taking the reader along. Where oh where was the editor?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2002
I have enjoyed Michele Jaffe's writing style in her first two books. By far The Water Nymph is still my favorite book by her, but these two lived up to my expectations of them. They were suspenseful and spinetingling. While spinetingling is not a word that is usually associated with romance Michele Jaffe makes it so by her masterful descriptions of the ofthen bloody crimes that her characters thwart or solve.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2002
I was so excited to see another book by Michele Jaffe. I absolutely loved her first two, but somehow Secret Admirer and Lady Killer were even better. They are really suspenseful and exciting, but best of all they have great characters and fabulous dialogue. I highly recomend them both!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2002
LADY KILLER. Lady Clio Thornton finds the corpse of a young woman with vampire bites on her neck. Numerous witnesses observed Miles Loredon kill the vampire three years ago. As Clio and Miles work closely together to uncover the identity of the culprit they fall in love. However, he is not sure he trusts his sleuthing partner as he has doubts about the evidence though he would risk his soul to keep her safe. This is a tremendous historical romantic mystery that contains two wonderful protagonists and a hint of supernatural elements.

SECRET ADMIRER. Lady Tuesday Arlington paints her nightmares as her only way of coping with Death visiting her every night. When someone kills her spouse in an identical manner to a portrait done by Tuesday, Queen Elizabeth's Special Investigator Lawrence Pickering sees the paintings and believes Tuesday killed her husband. As he digs deeper into her life, he falls in love with her. In spite of the proof provided by the paintings, his heart insists she is innocent, but how will he prove so. This is an exciting historical romance and psychological suspense mystery starring a wonderful duo.

This combo book is the bargain of the year as the readers obtain two superbly written Elizabethan romantic mysteries with indications of the supernatural in each one. Either novel selling solo would be worth the price as Michele Jaffe provides triumphant stories that are winners for the audience.

Harriet Klausner
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2002
These are really good, but not great books. There is suspense, intrigue, both plots are wonderful, the sex was hot, the stories move well and the dialogue is good, if not Elizabethan. This, however, is probably a good thing, since Elizabethan writings are usually difficult to decipher. So, for me what stopped these books from reaching greatness is how sex was used in the storyline. Lady Clio caught on a little to fast to the intricacies of sex, or she is the world's fastest study. I also felt Lady Tuesday made the change from: what a horrible person- to the bed very fast. In fairness though: a quick change of emotions is one of my pet peeves. If this type of rapid emotional change doesn't bother you, the books will rate as great, for me they rate really good. ...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2002
I picked this book up without knowing anything about the author and needless to say I am so glad that I did. These two books are great and I read both books in only a few days - the pages just fly by! I can't wait to read the rest of Jaffe's books. Jaffe transports you into another time and place and gets you hooked on the characters and the mystery as well. I am so pleased to have found a fresh, new, interesting author in Michele Jaffe.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2012
Okay I just read Ladykiller and loved it! I couldn't really get into Secret Admirer I don't know why but. I love the main character and her quirks and it was just an awesome love story, Loved how they did the deed and she came up with another crack in the case. Too cute Loved the love story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2008
OK, I'm not going to re-hash the plots of these two novels. Others do a far better job than I could ever do. I happened to find this double novel by chance and oh what a lucky day that was! The two stories are fully fleshed out. The characters are funny, endearing and at times, heart-breaking (in a good way!) Personally, I could care less about the historical accuracy. These are supposed to be mysteries and love stories, for cryin' out loud, let them be!Trust me, you will enjoy these two delightful novels and hey, it's a two-for-one deal. How bad can that be in today's economic climate?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.