Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource for the subtropical Gulf Coast gardener!
This is the first book I have found which provides useful information about gardening on the Gulf of Mexico. I live on the Texas coast, Galveston Island to be exact, and the weather and climate here is truly special! Forget the "zone 9" stuff. This text provides information about plants which will survive--and thrive--here on a barrier island where many...
Published on October 3, 1999

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Thank god I paid only Five dollars including shipping for this
First off, all the drawings are in black and white and second, it didn't offer anything new that I couldn't get from Sunset Gardening Book (at least the pix in that book are in color). Also it's geared for Florida so if you live outside the hot and humid South, this book is not much help.
Published 8 months ago by Gardener's Library


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource for the subtropical Gulf Coast gardener!, October 3, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates (Paperback)
This is the first book I have found which provides useful information about gardening on the Gulf of Mexico. I live on the Texas coast, Galveston Island to be exact, and the weather and climate here is truly special! Forget the "zone 9" stuff. This text provides information about plants which will survive--and thrive--here on a barrier island where many "normal" plants perish. "Salt tolerance" is listed for each plant as well, which is so helpful as I live two blocks from the Gulf. Thank you, thank you Mr. Dehgan for this book which has made such a difference for me. I don't buy plants anymore without checking here first! I believe this book is a "must" for coastal residents all along the Gulf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Reference, April 4, 2005
By 
J. Whealton (Central Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates (Paperback)
I bought this book as a requirement for a plant identification course (Dr Dehgan as an instructor). It contains information about every plant you could want for landscaping a tropical yard. As a reviewer stated earlier though, it contains only line art so it isn't really very visually impressive. For a gardener (or hobbyist) who already has an idea what plants he wants for a landscape and isn't trying to decide by looking at pictures I suspect this would be a great reference because it typically contains a full page of specs for each plant it lists. If all this information was converted to a database and made searchable by plant feature, what a wonder it would be. For the average layperson though (i.e. me), I think it has limited usefulness as a stand alone reference and is best combined with a nice pictorial guide. If this book had color plates it would hands down be a 5 star rating. Even at a lower rating than what I scored it, it would still be a great value and a worthwhile addition to your library for the modest price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books That Deliver What the Title States/Implies, March 12, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates (Paperback)
Dr Dehgan's book is about as complete a guide as one can find for the state of Florida. It is extremely well organized combining the most useful information concerning a hugh variety of plants with a very intuitive format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Miami Plant Lovers Guide, March 10, 2010
By 
Hugh Manly (Miami,Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates (Paperback)
This is a great help to anyone who wants to understand,
how each plant that grows in this region grows or needs to be cared for.It will help you buy soil or planting mixes and to fertilize your plants once or twice a year in season. I copy each page,that I need,
to refer to often and put it with my gardening tools,
so that,I do not ruin this Bible of plant lore,
when I am watering or replanting the perennials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Thank god I paid only Five dollars including shipping for this, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates (Paperback)
First off, all the drawings are in black and white and second, it didn't offer anything new that I couldn't get from Sunset Gardening Book (at least the pix in that book are in color). Also it's geared for Florida so if you live outside the hot and humid South, this book is not much help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gregg L. Friedman MD, Psychiatrist, Hallandale Beach, FL, August 15, 2012
This review is from: Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates (Paperback)
This is an excellent book with a lot of great information on growing and caring for tropical plants. It has great photos and describes most of the common tropical plants and trees. By Gregg L. Friedman MD, Psychiatrist, Hallandale Beach, FL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, December 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates (Paperback)
Bought this for ORH3513C at UF, and it's a really useful book! It has a ton of information about plants in this region, which is usually somewhat difficult to find online. Would've been better if the book had actual color photos of the plants, but I didn't mind since a simple Google search shows me the actual plant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay, nothing great, July 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates (Paperback)
This book does cover a lot of information. However as there are only pencil drawings,(and many of those look identical) without color pictures, the overall result is below the norm for most gardening/landscape plant books. It you own other books with color pix this might be a decent addition to your library, for additional information. For someone starting their collection, this book doesn't offer much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars black and white sketches..., June 2, 2003
By A Customer
Very disappointed in this book....Black and white sketches in the 21st century don't cut it. I want to see a photo of the plants described. The information provided is good if you live in Florida....but for anywhere else...the recommendations are sketchy. This is the only book from Amazon that i have ever returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates
Landscape Plants for Subtropical Climates by Bijan Dehgan (Paperback - December 31, 1998)
$24.95 $21.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.