Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great reference
We recently purchased a house with a large yard that is rough in several places. Since I am a beginning gardener I find this book a great help in guiding my efforts to enhance and plant our yard. I love that it includes construction help as well as information on plants and flowers.
Published on June 9, 2008 by J. Foster

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was looking for
I imagine this book will be helpful for many more people than those for whom it is NOT helpful; I am one of the latter group. I was looking for landscape ideas, but this book is more about how to put in a patio, how to build a deck, an arbor, etc. Fault is entirely mine...it's called "step by step landscaping" so I should have paid more attention to the title.
Published on December 28, 2010 by Lori M. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great reference, June 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
We recently purchased a house with a large yard that is rough in several places. Since I am a beginning gardener I find this book a great help in guiding my efforts to enhance and plant our yard. I love that it includes construction help as well as information on plants and flowers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, April 10, 2010
By 
Jess R. (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
Having very little gardening or landscaping experience, I found this book to be a good introduction to the topic. It doesn't go into crazy levels of detail on any particular subject, but instead gives you a good overview of what's possible. It stresses planning, explains the importance of practical things like grading and observing the patterns of sunlight year-round, and gives you an idea of how much work is involved in things like building a deck or retaining wall or pond (helpful in deciding whether to DIY or hire a professional).

There's probably not much new in here for experienced gardeners, but as a complete beginner, I now have some ideas about how to start planning the yard, and what subjects I should read about more in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was looking for, December 28, 2010
I imagine this book will be helpful for many more people than those for whom it is NOT helpful; I am one of the latter group. I was looking for landscape ideas, but this book is more about how to put in a patio, how to build a deck, an arbor, etc. Fault is entirely mine...it's called "step by step landscaping" so I should have paid more attention to the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thousand inspirational photos, May 11, 2007
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
Over a thousand inspirational photos accompany these step-by-step outdoor landscape ideas, which appear in a new updated edition of a classic coverage. From swimming pool options and decks and patios to handling slopes and tricky problem areas, STEP BY STEP LANDSCAPING comes packed with both building and planting tips and will be an excellent pick for homeowners who want to transform their outdoors environments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Landscaping, May 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
This book was required for a class I was taking.
It has a lot of good ideas, although not quite enough actual step by step instructions on the projects I was interested in.
I use it for a reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!:), July 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
I love this book it has everything in it. So informative and great photos. I have the "new decorating" book by better homes and garden and it's a lot like that it takes you through step by step to create a great place:) worth every penny:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, February 17, 2013
By 
T. Benitez (San Jacinto, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
Could include more details, other than that I enjoy referencing it for landscaping ideas. FYI this book is not for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Step-by-Step Landscaping..., March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
It's okay. There were some good ideas. However, other books I had already purchased were better. I don't know if I would recommend purchasing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good with good ideas easy to make, February 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
It is an in teresting book with very good ideas easy to do. Actually is one of the best books I have bought about making a good garden. There is a lot of plans well explained with the real photo. There are also make yourself suggestions and plants for different situations. In my opinion it is a good shopping. I would recommeded it to my friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A starter landscaping book, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) (Paperback)
This book has a lot of ideas, but they did not fit what I was looking for. I guess it takes a lot of effort and money to do a project right. I wasn't really looking for a park in my yard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening)
Step-by-Step Landscaping (2nd Edition) (Better Homes and Gardens Gardening) by Better Homes and Gardens (Paperback - February 13, 2007)
$24.95 $18.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.