Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the love of FANG.., February 10, 2001
By 
Tim McDuff (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
This band was without question one of the most unique and all- around fun bands of the early to mid 1980s. Not only was Fang's Landshark ep one of the greatest "get drunk at punk rock party" records of all times. Their shows were amazing.. These guys played at bar in Broadripple, Indianapolis to a coven of hard-core Fang lovers that by the end of the set half the audience was on the stage, at the mic singing - "Skin Heads Smoke Dope" with Sammy. I must have seen a 1000 bands, but nothing has held a candle to that incredible show with Fang. This CD is must for any comprehensive Punk Rock collection. The contribution Fang made to the genre is a worth while musical commentary on the Punk scene in the 1980s..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars east bay punk, November 17, 2000
By 
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
Anyone that was around the east bay punk scene in the early 80's knows that fang was a great band. They sang anthems for the whole east bay...berkley heathen scum, I am one! They were also a great live band, so if you want to see what bay area punk was like before gilman st. pick this up. The bay use to have alot of bands that played music like fang..bands like sick pleasure or the f...ups or condemmed to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Goin' to Hollywood..., February 15, 2006
By 
R. Clements "RC" (Lake Oswego, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
Growing up, and even now, this is one of my alltime favorite records for reasons beyond words. The "attitude" of punk is perfected in this album. The sheer visceral noise of punk is captured perfectly. The language, both angry and playful, the authentic and refreshing bluntness of this album are perfect. I was devastated when my brother told me his LP was destroyed many moons ago and we wandered through life without fang afterwards, so I'm pleased this is available again. When it comes to punk, this album is perfect. In my mind it ranks with Social Distortion's Mommy's Little Monster as one of the all-time greatest works of punk ever made.

Despite what might have happened to the respective bands on down the road...

5 stars really isn't enough to satisfy my all around warm and fuzzy over hearing this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave home with it, March 11, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
FANG are not one of the better known U.S. hardcore groups of the 1980s, but they are one of the best. They are also one of the most offensive(check the lyrics to Berkeley Heathen Scum). Fang sound like no one else. The tunes on this CD aren't super fast (for the period, this was unusual). Yet their disconcerting, often intoxicating, slower-paced material is just as punk as any of the 100 m.p.h. hardcore you'd care to mention. This CD consists of their first two 12"s, & a couple of other tunes (1 from the Not So Quiet on the Western Front compilation; 1 from one of the Rat Music for Rat People comps.; & I think one other number [don't have my copy of the CD to hand]). Pick this up. And a note to the previous reviewer: Sammy is not dead (as you suggest). He is alive & kicking; Fang are still going; & they are working on a new CD, to be released on Hello Records. Watch for it on Amazon in the near future. To anyone interested enough in Fang to be looking at this page, I would also recommend anything by GG ALLIN. The legend aside, GG was an excellent musician, ahead of his time. Check for GG at Amazon. Also, pick up anything by GEORGE JONES, the MURDER JUNKIES, & by HANK WILLIAMS III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Hitler was to death camps Fang is to feed back, January 10, 2005
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
Of all the reviews not one brings up Fangs most creative aspect, the art of feedingback. Jimmi was just a drugged out hippy, Kurt was just a drugged out grunger. I bet Tom of Fang was a drugged out punk but if drugs are needed to perform quilty feedback I say shoot up on my door step anytime. The boys of fang could produce white noise as good as any ever recorded, thay used it mainly in the place of conventional guitar solos or maybe the solos are so feedback heavy that noise and music become the same. Any way over analyzing punk rock is as pointless as over analyzing movies that feaure talking babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANG YOU, September 11, 2000
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
IN A DAY WHERE BANDS LIKE BLINK 182 ARE CALLED "PUNK ROCK"...WE ARE IN BAD SHAPE. IF YOU CALL YOURSELF A PUNK ROCKER...YOU MUST HAVE THIS ALBUM. IT SHOULD BE EVERY PUNK ROCKERS COLLECTION. ALBUM OR CD...IT DONT MATTER...JUST GET IT!!! THE BEST THING ABOUT FANG IS BACK IN THE 80S...ALL THE PUNK ROCK BANDS WERE PLAYING A MILLION MILES PER HOUR...FANG DID THEIR OWN THING...THEY PLAY SLOW, SLEAZY RIFFS. AND NOT TO MENTION SAMMYTOWNS CREEPY VOICE AND DOWN RIGHT OFFENSIVE LYRICS THAT TELL YOU WHATS REALLY GOING ON IN THE WORLD.LOOK OUT FOR MORE FANG ALBUMS IN THE FUTURE...AND IF YOU DONT LIKE EM'...WELL FANG YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blind people can't see, they bump into me, June 11, 2005
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
Deaf people can't hear, they have defective ears.

Dudes with good senses of humor, poor skills and talents, cheap equipment... and a great album because of it.

I recommend it if you like humorious punk rock, if you're into bands like the stooges or black flag, and if you have 12 dollars to spare.

A very funny CD. They influenced people like Mark Arm and Kurt Cobain and the dude from the butthole surfers. and buzz osbourne. all geniouses. buy it if you want, it's not necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best bands ever, May 3, 2000
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
i dont know who said sammys dead but they are wrong. hes very alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landshark/Where the Wild Things Are, September 11, 2004
By 
Barnard barzoloski Hair (Devil's Buttcrack, WY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
These are two of the greatest punk albums of all time smooshed into one convenient portable cd. If you don't have this cd, I only have one question for you. Just what the hell are you thinking? Buy it now so you don't have to sit in the corner hitting yourself over the head, wondering just what it is that you've done wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two great albums in one, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are (Audio CD)
Great bay area punk, good production. The fact that you get in my opinion the two best albums of this band is a great deal. The album is a mix of thrash and mid tempo punk. The" money will roll right in" and "destroy the handicapped" which is obviously satire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are
Landshark / Where the Wildthings Are by Fang (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.