Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 27, 2002
Let's face it. Keeping track of changing tax laws and estate laws isn't much fun. The new laws mean we must re-evaluate our financial situations. Where do you start? I'd recommend this book. Here's why:
Harold Apolinsky is the single person most responsible for getting the estate tax repealed. Stewart Welch III handles the financial porfolios of the nation's wealthiest individuals. These two are a financial dynamic duo!

You'll be getting the best information that's out there in a remarkably easy-to-read, logical, organized fashion. You don't have the read every page. Just skip to the topic you're interested in and Viola! begin digesting the contents. You'll appreciate the bullet points and short paragraphs. Though the subject is dry, the book is anything but.
In my opinion, the best aspect of this book is that it focuses on the important stuff. Stewart and Harold tell parables or stories about what happens when one fails to plan. Then they take the time to walk you through all the questions you should ask yourself. I appreciated the way topics were discussed, followed by case examples to illustrate the point.
The book is sold as a paperback--so you can easily read snippets of it while you take the commuter train to work, or while waiting at Johnny's baseball practice. The bottom line is that professional advice from these men would ordinarily cost hundreds of dollars. By reading this book, you can pick their brains for less than 20 bucks.
This book would make a great gift to baby-boomers and young people alike.

If you are not a do-it-yourselfer, Welch and Apolinsky supply a list of professional advisors. (Name, firm, phone number and E-mail).
While the book is not a thriller, you'll be thrilled you read the wisdom contained in its pages.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2002
If you're at all like me, you're hanging on by your finger tips trying to understand and/or keep up with the multiple nuances of estate and tax planning. This book is easily readable, and is written through the eyes of both a financial planner, and an estate planning attorney. There's no reason with a book like this why anyone can't keep a responsible eye on these personal matters. I strongly recommend this book.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2002
In guiding my clientele through the ever-changing maze of estate tax planning law, I have found JK Lasser's New Rules for Estate Planning and Tax to be an invaluable body of knowledge that I have referenced again and again. The easy-to-read layout allows quick focus on particular issues and topics that are presented in clear and concise laymen's terms.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
This book provides a good overview of estate planning. I am an attorney who is going to be adding estate planning to my practice in the near future and this book has a lot of good information.

Some people have complained that this book is too focused on using an attorney for estate planning. This is a strength and not a weakness. Estate planning is not something that a person should try to do without an estate planning attorney. Tax law is too fluid and there are too many subtle nuances for the lay person to stay on top of changes in their state probate law and federal tax law.

There are three really good reasons to have a professionally prepared estate plan: 1) minimize stress on your heirs after you pass; 2) ensure that you maximize the amount of your money that goes to your heirs and not Uncle Sam; and 3) ensure that your estate goes where you want it to go after you pass.

This book will save you money. A client who comes into their attorney's office properly prepared, will require less of the attorney's time, and will therefore be billed less. Understanding the basic concepts of proper estate planning and properly organizing will minimize the amount of work necessary to prepare the estate plan and help you explain to your attorney what you want the goals of your estate plan to be.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
This edition was published in 2012 and does not reflect the latest congressional action on the Estate Tax. As such it is not up to date and not the best guide to the future of estate planning.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
out of date, but I guess it was current at the time. The title "new rules" was misleading since I didn't know the publication date. JK Lasser Products are always superb and thorough. However the special needs trust, which is why I bought it, just said to consult my lawyer, and gave no examples. I was disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2002
An excellent resource for those who want objective advice and guidance on very complicated subjects. The authors take very technical concepts and explain them in plain language. The worksheets, checklists and diagrams are very helpful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
but were afraid to ask! This is a little heady and not exactly what i was looking for but if you want to know the ins and outs of estate tax planning this looks like an excellent source. Anyone want to buy a book?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
This book will motivate you to get your estate plans in order in a hurry. Easy reading, well organized, perfect to prepare you for the expensive visit with your estate planner. Kinda puts you in charge of the meeting and not dependent upon what they say. As with any professional, don't just delegate everything to them. Be a knowledgeable buyer of legal services. This book will help you achieve that goal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
Easy to read, have both book and download on Kindle. A going to manage Dads estate and wanted to know what it entailed plus have since made out own living and regular will, much needed information in an easy to read format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.