Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Last Call (The Bill Travis Mysteries Book 1)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 14, 2011
George Wier's "The Last Call" is the first book in a great new series. Bill Travis is an investment counselor; the go to guy when you have a little extra money that you need to invest but invest in a way that is legal but hidden from Uncle Sam's extended hands. On a Monday morning he meets his newest client Julie. She needs his help to retrieve some money from a very bad man. Bill agrees to help this damsel in distress and by agreeing, he finds himself on one thrilling but deadly ride of the week. Who would have thought managing money could be so exciting?

This is the beginning of a thrilling and exciting new series. If you want one of those books that keep you up late at night turning pages than this is the series for you. Pick up your copy today and you won't be disappointed...you just might miss a little sleep though.
33 comments| 268 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
Reminds me somewhat of Lee Child's Jack Reacher series. Very easy to read and quite absorbing. A very pleasant surprise after some of the free Kindle material I have been reading. I'll be having a look at this author's other books!
11 comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
Avid readers are always searching for series books that have fast action, intriguing characters, and a plot that pulls you in. In George Wier's first novel in a 21 book series he accomplishes all of this and then some.

Bill Travis, the protagonist of the story, is a guy who fixes things, which is not uncommon in this type of mystery story. Wier seems to be one step ahead of the well known writers like Raymond Chandler or Dashiel Hammett who are credited with founding the hard-boiled school of detective fiction. There are too many fiction detectives that are too poor, too inept, or too . . . You fill in the blanks. Bill Travis is believable, he is the kind of guy you would want for a friend, and the one you would go to if you had a serious problem. I am looking forward to reading the other books in this series as they become available. This is a book you don't want to miss.

I received this book from a free download on Kindle
11 comment| 223 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
The only thing I did not like was that the pleasure of reading the story, too soon, came to an end (I often get that, I suppose it is an occupational hazard of readers and their love of stories and authors). If I do not like a story, commonly, I do not ever finish reading it.
I liked and cared about the characters, I wanted to find out what would happen next and I felt fully exchanged with, satisfied when finished with the story, wanting more.
I look forward to more Bill Travis stories, I am sure you will too!

David Jefferson Potter
22 comments| 166 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
Based in Austin Texas this debut novel sets a fast pace and is a fun read. The characters come across well and are sympathetic to the reader for the most part. I did think that the plot and characters seemed "rushed" and that the author is still finding his stride for this series. Looking forward to seeing if future installments improve to the potential the debut showed!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 11, 2012
Bill Travis first saw the beautiful woman while he was driving in heavy traffic on the loop near downtown Austin. The beautiful reddish blonde in the red roadster didn't seem to mind that Bill Travis was staring at her. For a few minutes they played a cat and mouse game passing each other in the heavy morning traffic. After a smile his way and a couple of quick moves on her part in the stop and go traffic, she was gone down the interstate and out of his life. That left the nearly 40 year old Bill Travis with only one option---head to work as if nothing had happened at all.

That is until a short time later, as his first client of the day, she walks into his office.

Julie Simmons may have flirted and then cut him off in traffic, but she has bigger issues then being a sexy and rude flirt. She has crossed Archie Carpin, a North Texan Liquor Baron and legendary figure with a violent family lineage dating back to the 20's in Texas. This is one family that you leave very well alone if you have any brains at all. Julie was desperate and took two million dollars and ran. Of course, Archie Carpin very much wants his money back.

Bill Travis, a man that helps well off people with their money problems can't help falling for her in every way possible. Even if there is far more to her story and he knows it from the very start. The beautiful woman wasn't kidding when she said her name was trouble. He just didn't care. He should have as she was not lying about that much at least.

On the run and trying to stay alive on a trail that takes them from Austin to North Texas and back again, Texas author George Wier crafts an intriguing tale full of twists and turns. Populated with complex main and secondary characters, plenty of clues, and plenty of action this recently released novel first in a planned series is a good one. Even seasoned mystery readers will be surprised by some of the twists the complex case takes while imparting some legendary Texas history.

The Last Call: A Bill Travis Mystery
Gorge Wier
Flagstone Books
2011
Kindle E-Book

Material supplied by the author in exchange for my objective review.

Kevin R. Tipple © 2011
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2012
I've found myself anxiously awaiting each new book by this author. Weir's style of writing has a smooth flow and makes for a quick and easy read. I was a little reluctant to try a new author but in doing so, I've found a new favorite! Keep em' coming!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
This is a fascinating, exciting mystery that you won't want to miss. It's set in present day central and north Texas with a little bit of history added in. The author has a smooth and natural writing style with a good bit of wit thrown in.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
Unfortunately the story reads a bit like a fairytale rendering of an A-Team episode. Amusing enough but not likely to draw one in. Love at first sight, unlikely explosions and a happy ending; I wasn't motivated to look for others in the series.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
Within hours of meeting a woman, the hero jumps into bed with her (and of course, just like any teenage fantasy, she is totally keen for this to happen). As well as frequent sexual references, there are some extremely graphic violent scenes which are unnecessary and add nothing to the storyline. What is with his sickeningly violent dream about "Julie" described in enough detail to give a person nightmares? It has nothing to do with the story and is just vulgar and sickening, as is the scene where his friend's death in an explosion is described in gory detail.

Besides that, the characters are flat, with many only being mentioned once or twice. Why mention them at all if they are so unimportant to the story? The endless history of violent gangs is just BORING and largely irrelevant to the storyline. Several irrelevant dreams are described throughout the book, which are tedious and have no relation to the story at all. The plot is weak and totally ridiculous in many places. eg. the hero of the book claims he does not like excitement, but he beds and then runs off with a woman he does not know, including inexplicably running away when the police arrive at a scene where his lady friend was being targeted by a gang of ruthless killers, so that he can confront the armed gang himself at a later time. Sure, that is what all normal people would do!

The author appears to be trying too hard to create mystery by not providing information (the main character is asked over and over and over again what his job is, but he refuses to tell anyone). This is not mysterious, it is just confusing and annoying to the reader. Another example is when Julie tells the hero her life-story (extremely condensed in a totally unrealistic way including talking about the murder of her parents with no emotion at all and the hero does not even bother to ask her for any details or express any sympathy ... she might just as well be talking about what she is cooking for dinner given the tone of the conversation) and then she says that she was not exactly truthful about everything she said ... leaving the reader with NO IDEA about how much of what she said was true. Totally pointless.

There are so many grammatical and spelling errors that are totally distracting (many sentences do not even make any sense at all).

I won't be reading anything more from this author.
22 comments| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse