Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Chance Beauty Queen
What an entertaining read! From the first page on I just had fun with a cast of unique characters, antics and just plain weird persons! It brought all the advantages of living and being raised in an itty bitty town to make for a more then interesting family! Only took me a day to read and was really a GREAT SUMMER READ! It's a "make me happy person" book! Have to go get...
Published 23 months ago by Lynn Demsky

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but tad repetitive
I requested this book from NetGalley because the premise for this book seemed quirky. "Golfing for God" and talking to angels ? Really ? I'd expected a witty, up close and personal small town tale, but this book read more like the typical Mills and Boons/Harlequin romance novel. Rocky is beautiful and curvy, and DeBracy is very handsome with a delectable British accent to...
Published on March 15, 2012 by fiction_fridaynirvana_com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but tad repetitive, March 15, 2012
This review is from: Last Chance Beauty Queen (Mass Market Paperback)
I requested this book from NetGalley because the premise for this book seemed quirky. "Golfing for God" and talking to angels ? Really ? I'd expected a witty, up close and personal small town tale, but this book read more like the typical Mills and Boons/Harlequin romance novel. Rocky is beautiful and curvy, and DeBracy is very handsome with a delectable British accent to boot. Rocky's family is very influential in the town - her mom owns the local beauty parlor and her brother Stone is the sheriff. The family is also very strong-minded and Rocky is persuaded to participate in the Watermelon Festival in her Beauty Queen paraphernalia, much to her chagrin and DeBracy's amusement. Both are attracted to each other., with the Lord's heart racing whenever Rocky is around and Rocky's "lady parts getting all hot and bothered" by Hugh's presence.

While the author does well for this genre, building up the main and supporting characters very well, I thought the story a bit repetitive. After DeBracy and Rocky get to Last Chance, there are a series of events each of which lets the pair to get to know the other a bit better. The book went on in this manner for a while, and my attention flagged with each passing episode. While Rocky has a backstory and lots of family members to help build up her personality I only had Rocky's perspective by which to judge DeBracy. Apart from being physically attractive I didn't quite get why he was so appealing. I might be over this genre but I has expected a little more story and little less romance. If you're a fan of Ramsay's earlier work - this is part of a series with each book featuring one of Rocky's siblings - this might suit you better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely story, August 11, 2012
By 
C. Toste "Buecher wurm" (Puyallup, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last Chance Beauty Queen (Mass Market Paperback)
I was a first read winner of this book and I have to say I quiet enjoyed it. I read some reviews that refer to this book as a Christian romance. I never felt that I was preached to, which is something I don't enjoy. I was just lucky to read a nice story about quirky characters, that make you laugh out load, in a small town in South Carolina, that overcome everyday obstacles. So if you like a romance novel that is not too heavy on the sex, than this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Chance Beauty Queen, August 8, 2012
By 
Lynn Demsky "Lynn/MI" (Rochester, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Chance Beauty Queen (Mass Market Paperback)
What an entertaining read! From the first page on I just had fun with a cast of unique characters, antics and just plain weird persons! It brought all the advantages of living and being raised in an itty bitty town to make for a more then interesting family! Only took me a day to read and was really a GREAT SUMMER READ! It's a "make me happy person" book! Have to go get more of this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Chick Lit Read, August 7, 2012
This review is from: Last Chance Beauty Queen (Mass Market Paperback)
Really enjoying this chick lit series by Hope Ramsay when I need a light read. I read the first two books, Welcome to Last Chance and Home at Last Chance during recent hospital stays. Really helped to pass the time. Excellent light reads.

Last Chance Beauty Queen features the only daughter of Elbert and Ruby Rhodes. Rocky aka Caroline Rhodes is a career driven young woman. I don't really buy the English Lord bit though. The sorrowful angel bit is all too much for me as well...it is obviously the ghost of Haley's mother.

It is a well written book and very readable. Ramsay is good at weaving a good tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Chance Beauty Queen, May 15, 2012
'Last Chance Beauty Queen' is filled with lovable characters that are quirky and sweet. It is a fun read that follows a journey of self-discovery. This is the first Hope Ramsay book I have read, and it definitely won't be the last. She brings the small town, Last Chance, South Carolina to life; I look forward to visiting again. I recommend the book to all contemporary romance readers who enjoy quirky humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars File this one under "Heartwarming small town romance" - 3.5 stars, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Caroline ("Rocky") Rhodes is within a hair's breadth of landing her dream job. As an aide to the Senator from South Carolina she lives and works in Columbia, but with a little luck she hopes to make the move to his Washington D. C. office. Unfortunately for Rocky, the assignment that could garner her that coveted promotion will take her back to her hometown of Last Chance, South Carolina. The Senator wants Rocky to facilitate the building of a small textile factory in Last Chance, but there's one slight problem - Rocky's father refuses to allow construction to take place on his property, which is home to a dilapidated mini golf course with a biblical theme, known as "Golfing for God".

Hugh DeBracy needs to get this factory built - asap. He may be a titled member of the British aristocracy, but he's also flat broke. If he can't make a success of his business, then his only other option is to marry for money, a prospect that he doesn't find very appealing. One thing that Hugh does find appealing is the very attractive Ms. Rhodes. But a romance between a small town pageant queen and an English Lord is impossible...or is it?

One of the things I liked best about this book is the way the residents of Last Chance reacted to Hugh. Once they found out that he hadn't been invited to Will and Kate's wedding (had in fact never even met the Queen!), they were thoroughly unimpressed. Hugh and Caroline were both appealing characters, and I liked that Rocky never feels ashamed of her family. There are times that she wishes they would tone down the eccentricity, but she loves them unequivocally.

One of the things that didn't work quite so well for me is the side story about Rocky's young niece who can see and hear an apparition she's nicknamed the "Sorrowful Angel". Honestly, the Angel creeped me out, what with all the wailing and temper tantrums - I felt sorry for the poor kid! That part of the storyline just didn't go anywhere for me, though this book is part of a series and I suppose the Angel's significance will probably be revealed in a later installment.

This is a cute small town romance; it doesn't break any new ground but the writing is good and there's a warmth and sincerity to the main characters that I enjoyed. I waffled between 3 stars and 4. While it's not brimming with originality, I did like the way the roles were slightly reversed. Rather than the heroine in need of being rescued, Hugh is the one in dire need of help, and he's willing to let Rocky save the day. Good for him.

Very occasional strong language and one non-descriptive love scene.

Book One: Welcome to Last Chance
Book Two: Home At Last Chance
Book Three: Last Chance Beauty Queen
Book Four: Last Chance Christmas

There's also a "Last Chance" holiday short story that can be found in the Christmas anthology Small Town Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Chance Beauty Queen by Hope Ramsay, March 23, 2012
This review is from: Last Chance Beauty Queen (Mass Market Paperback)
Siroco Caroline "Rocky" Rhodes has left her former beauty queen days as a Watermelon Queen of Last Chance behind her. She's an administrative assistant for the Senator from South Carolina and she has aspirations to make it Washington D.C. All of her hopes and dreams rest on this one deal involving Last Chance and her family's land, that has the infamous mini-golf course Golfing for God on it. Rocky's problem is two-fold. No matter how embarrassed she is about her daddy being able to talk to angels or the golfing course, the Rhodes stick together when it comes to keeping the land and the golf course. On the other hand, Lord Woolham, or Hugh DeBracy is as stubborn as Rocky on getting the land to construct a factory that would save his fortunes and his need to have to marry a wealthy woman, and the Senator has told Rocky to help Hugh get what he needs and to smooth his way. The attraction that just happens between them is just icing on the cake. Especially since they receive differing fortunes/advice from the matchmaker and their attraction is hard for them to resist, even knowing the other is the enemy.

This is the third book in the Last Chance installment in the Christian/Inspirational romance series and it's a really good book. We get more back history about what really happened between Bubba and Rocky and we also learned more about the sorrowful angel. I loved the chemistry between Rocky and Hugh. It was hot and you can see how even though they fought it, they were fighting a losing battle. The pairing of Rocky and the Baron was great. It took them a while to figure things out, but they managed in the end. There are also lots of laugh out loud moments in this book, which I really liked. The only thing I think that was left unresolved was about Rocky going to Washington D.C. and how she and Hugh would work it out. That left me a little confused. But I'm really looking forward to Stone's book and maybe a book about Dash and Hettie. I'm not a Christian romance reader at all, but I'm hooked to this series. That's got to tell you how good it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend LAST CHANCE BEAUTY QUEEN!, February 25, 2012
This review is from: Last Chance Beauty Queen (Mass Market Paperback)
My Look:

What happens when a United States Senator wants a British baron to buy land in his state that isn't for sale?

The land deal problem falls on Caroline Rhodes.

She's a small town, ex-beauty queen who can't seem to forget her not so famous but infamous background, where her name is Rocky, despite her professional ties working for Senator Rupert Warren. However, her boss expects Caroline to help get a landowner to sell property to a foreigner. His view is that, after all, the baron wants to build a factory and give the locals jobs, but Caroline sees no easy deal. In fact, she knows this task is impossible.

Spotting this English aristocrat, Hugh deBracy, didn't take skill. His suit and accent is like a scent to a hound dog, and although he is the handsome sort with a sexy voice, Caroline Rhodes needs to forget her addiction to romance novels and concentrate on her job. This whole Senator and British love affair with state and family land could toss her career out like yesterday's trash. Consequently, when she mistakenly adds the title lord to his sir name, Caroline takes her first step toward the Dumpster.

Lord Woolham, a.k.a. Hugh deBracy had just insulted her father, but he had not known she is related to the man who spoke to angels.

This woman had taken his unintended insult with class that rivals ladies in Woolham, and she didn't seem flustered by him at all. Nevertheless, knowing of her background and all the things that he'd been told about her father, why did Senator Rupert Warren send her on this task? And why did she accept it?

Dismissing those questions right out of hand is Caroline Rhodes, she is insisting her father will not sell. Moreover, she is trying to get him to choose an alternate site. The problem here is that he needs that parcel of land, thanks to his partner, George Penn. Woolham House already owns real estate beside this tract.

A matter of fact, he owes more money than he has, and the former owner of the other owned plot will not take it back. This British businessman had better soon buy that particular parcel or loose everything. In desperation, lord Woolham almost demands to go to Last Chance over her objections, but when she finally agrees, Hugh knows that he is in real trouble. Despite those beautiful eyes and that long graceful neck, Hugh knows she's up to something.

My Take:

I recommend Hope Ramsay's LAST CHANCE BEAUTY QUEEN!

Her quirky characters continue to endure, and the new ones you'll meet work their way right into your heart. In this book, Last Chance comes alive with Rocky's friends and neighbors but visiting with the Rhodes family still makes you want to stay. In addition, you will get a glimpse into Hugh's background, his relatives, and into their way of life.

Hope Ramsay's writes a Southerner meets stranger romance that is chock full of laughs, and she even gives an unexpected twist with a hint of mystery with land and chicken.

LAST CHANCE BEAUTY QUEEN is title that stands alone. However, I haven't a doubt that you''ll want to read the other books in the Last Chance series, WELCOME TO LAST CHANCE (March 2011) and HOME AT LAST CHANCE (September 2011), and then you'll be waiting for another! ***Though the publisher provides the free ebook, I offer the opinion.***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read with Idiosyncratic Characters, February 15, 2012
By 
Leigh (Conway, AR, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Chance Beauty Queen (Mass Market Paperback)
Last Chance Beauty Queen
Hope Ramsay
B-

Ms. Ramsay's Welcome to Last Chance, the first book in this series captured my imagination with the sorrowful angel, and the quirky characters - so much so I am literally compelled to find out the rest of the story. While I thought the second book somewhat weak, the third book -Last Chance Beauty Queen has the author back on track with her amusing scenarios and unpredictable plot.

Carolina Rhodes is between a rock and a hard place. Her boss, Senator Warren wants her to assist Lord Woolham in his quest to purchase a plot of land in Last Chance. This sounds like a win win situation. A factory in Last Chance would provide much needed jobs and solving this problem would help propel Carolina to the Washington D. C. office - except the land in question is her father's and he is not about to turn his back on his Golfing for God miniature golf course no matter how attractive the offer. And really shouldn't her loyalty be to her father, even if he does embarrass her at times with his talk of speaking to angels.

Hugh deBracy, Lord Woolham has been swindled by his partner and his only chance of saving his estate is the success of a new textile factory in America and to do that he needs the adjacent property with its access to the rail line and the highway. He is not sure that he can trust Carolina Rhodes but what other choice does he have. When she mentions the Watermelon Festival he knows this is the perfect time to woo the city politician and Elbert Rhodes.

After the debacle of her last Watermelon Festival Carolina swore that she wouldn't be back for another one. However there is no way that she can get out of this one now. If she wants to limit the damage to her meticulous facade she needs to be on-site for any necessary damage control. She has spent too much time changing from Rocky to Carolina.

Hugh and Rocky are both honorable, wholesome characters hiding behind sophistication and rank. The stripping of those masks is my favorite part of the book as each discover that they have more in common than they thought.

The pacing and Hugh and Rocky kept me interested although at times I questioned the need for additional idiosyncratic characters such as Hugh's relatives. Last Chance is original enough without more peculiar people.

As with any story with repeat characters, the originality is somewhat lost with more exposure. Golfing for God is not as clever as it was in the first book, and the embarrassment that the children feel over their father's business is becoming a little stale. However, the sorrowful angel and Haley Rhodes' attraction hasn't diminished and even though it is playing out like I suspected I am hooked on its resolution.

While this book can be read on its own, I think that reading at the least the first book will allow readers to have a more distinct picture of the town and characters.

If you looking for a lighthearted read with kooky characters then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exceptional, but a cute book!, February 15, 2012
This review is from: Last Chance Beauty Queen (Mass Market Paperback)
I had recently read the Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvis , also published by Grand Central Publishing and I adored the books! So you can assume that the bar was set pretty high for Last Chance Beauty Queen, Book #3 in the Last Chance series by Hope Ramsay.

This book revolves around Rocky aka Caroline, a former Last Chance Beauty Queen, who left her small town for bigger things. She's a woman who knows what she wants and has worked for it. She actually reminded me a little bit of Reese Witherspoon from the movie Sweet Home Alabama. Then there's Hugh, the hot male lead who's looking to build a factory in Last Chance on the land that Rocky's father owns but refuses to give up, which obviously put Rocky in an awkward situation.

Predictably, Rocky feels insecure at having to take Hugh to her home town thinking that Hugh might look down on her but being the perfect hero, he surprised her. Together, they made a rather sweet and adorable couple.

Last Chance Beauty Queen is a pretty standard contemporary romance novel with a cute plot, good characters, a zany sense of humor and a likable pairing that's perfect when you're looking for a comfort read. While Last Chance didn't meet the standards I expected, it did have most of the feel-good that I look for in a romance novel. Hope Ramsay does a pretty good job of making you feel the charm of a small town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Last Chance Beauty Queen
Last Chance Beauty Queen by Hope Ramsay (Mass Market Paperback - February 1, 2012)
$7.99
Usually ships in 1 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.