Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a big fan of mystery, this is a good summer read, preferably by the beach with a chilled margarita.
Last to Die by Kate Brady
Romantic Suspense - Aug 31st, 2010
4 stars

There's a killer out and about killing prostitutes to punish them for their secrets. Five had already died brutally with a sixth victim planned. Detective Dani Cole, who knew the fourth victim, is in a race against time to find the serial killer and stop the murders. But her...
Published on August 31, 2010 by Bookaholics Reviewer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat formulaic romantic suspense
A woman is found dead in a park, and Dani Cole, still recovering from the suicide of her father two weeks before, is called into the case. Then Dani finds out that the dead woman is a former prostitute that Dani helped steer away from the street, and the search for her killer gets personal.

The hunt leads her to Mitch Sheridan, a former childhood sweetheart,...
Published on April 29, 2011 by Julie A. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a big fan of mystery, this is a good summer read, preferably by the beach with a chilled margarita., August 31, 2010
By 
Bookaholics Reviewer (Bay Area, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last to Die (Mass Market Paperback)
Last to Die by Kate Brady
Romantic Suspense - Aug 31st, 2010
4 stars

There's a killer out and about killing prostitutes to punish them for their secrets. Five had already died brutally with a sixth victim planned. Detective Dani Cole, who knew the fourth victim, is in a race against time to find the serial killer and stop the murders. But her investigation bringsher and her ex-high school sweetheart, Mitch Sheridan, together again. And Mitch wants Dani back. He will do everything he can to protect

Dani as the investigation shifts the killer's fury and focus on Dani. I grew up reading thriller romances but eventually got tired of this sub-genre due to the clichés and bad writing that abound. Brady is, thankfully, a capable writer who can keep several threads going on without losing or confusing the readers. For a thriller-romance that doesn't seem any different from the other thriller-romances, Last to Die, is surprisingly packed with depth. For one thing, Dani is a layered protagonist. She has so many issues and baggage that makes her rea, and not just a 2-D, tough-as-nails, run of the mill female protagonist. She's genuinely conflicted and trying hard to keep it all together. I feel so sorry for her and yet at the same time I just want to tell her to relax.

Mitch Sheridan was also well written and fleshed out. Still, at times I feel like Dani is the one who did all the detective work. It is almost as though her character overpowers his sometimes, but that could just be my inner feminist. To me, Brady sets a new standard for tough on the outside, vulnerable in the inside female protagonists.

Plot wise, this novel an engaging read with lots of subplots threading through it. It's hard to say anything without spoiling it, but I really wished that Brady, as the writer, had made the killer suffer more!

If you are a big fan of mystery, this is a good summer read, preferably by the beach with a chilled margarita. Equal part solid romance and thriller, Brady's novel is an entertaining and fast-paced read.

Reviewed by Pauline from the Bookaholics Romance Book Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridget's Review, September 13, 2010
This review is from: Last to Die (Mass Market Paperback)
Kate was added to my favorite author's list after I read One Scream Away. Her knack for romance and suspense keeps a reader intrigued from cover to cover. I love Dani and Mitch and I enjoyed helping track down the killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great suspense, romance and characters - loved every minute of reading this book, September 10, 2010
By 
Crystal Fulcher (Beaufort, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last to Die (Kindle Edition)
Why I read this: I love romantic suspense and have been wanting to read Ms. Brady's books (I won One Scream Away but haven't read it yet), so when I saw it was available for book tour I signed up.

How is the novel driven: It's romantic suspense, so it's plot/action driven and character driven, just the way I love it.

My thoughts: Right off I really liked the main characters, Dani and Mitch (how can I not like a man named Mitch - it's my husband's name). They have a history, but that history is 18 years in the past, but it was so much more than typical teenage puppy love so when you put them back together there are sparks, but first there are murders. Since it's romantic suspense, there has to be some form of suspense and I would say that Ms. Brady does a marvelous job with the suspense. She unpeels the layers of the suspense like an onion, slowly letting the reader know little bits and pieces about what is really going on. I would figure something out and be right, then figure something else out and be wrong. Lots of great red herrings and great suspense done in a way that does not frustrate, just makes you want to keep reading.

So to some it up - great romance, wonderful characters with some flaws, but who are perfect together and compliment each other well. Add to that a great suspense plot with enough twists and turns that keep you turning pages and you get a brilliant romantic suspense novel. I have Ms. Brady's first book, One Scream Away and it will be quickly making it's way to the top of my tbr pile.

My Rating: 4.5/5.0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, November 15, 2010
This review is from: Last to Die (Mass Market Paperback)
Author Kate Brady has won or been a finalist in many writing contests, including the Golden Heart from the Romance Writers of America, the Maggies, and the Suzannah. When not writing, she is a full-time choral conductor and assistant professor of music education. Her other title, One Scream Away, (a 2010 RITA Finalist for Best New Book and for Best Romantic Suspense) was her debut novel for this "Sheridan" series. She resides with her husband and two children.

When acclaimed photojournalist Mitch Sheridan receives a frightening call from his mentor one night, he hops a plane and travels across the globe, where he's been hiding since a tragic accident took away any will to continue his art. But coming home has a different form of pain in way of memories. Detective Dani Cole is heading the investigation into Russell Sander's murder, along with a string of disappearances and murders tying all three of their pasts. The old attraction between Mitch and Dani heats again as they race to find a killer right under their noses. And this time, Dani is this calculating killer's last target on a list bent on revenge.

This is book two in the Sheridan series, following One Scream Away.

I've said it before, and I'll say it again--Kate Brady knows how to blend romance and suspense into a killer plotline with page-turning urgency. This is an author who knows her police procedure and how to pace a book very well. The setting, near Lancaster, Maryland, was a perfect, well-described backdrop. And the killer was unique not only in whom, but motive as well. The hero and heroine are relatable and layered, and there was such an intensity to this book not only in the heat between them, but in the suspense. Also true to form is the author's ability to stretch an ending instead of a swift, unsatisfying bang. Oh, and there's a great twist you may or may not see coming, but you cannot stop reading anyhow. I love that Neil returns from the first book as Mitch's brother. It was like welcoming an old friend. With old romances renewed, a murderer hiding in plain sight, a blended past so twisted you'll have nightmares, action like no other, and witty dialog--what's not to love? Masterful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars taut police procedural, September 3, 2010
This review is from: Last to Die (Mass Market Paperback)
In Maryland, after burying her bad cop father, Detective Dani Cole remains the loner she has been all her life as she has relied on one person: herself. Ironically in spite of depending on no one, Dani enjoys helping others in trouble; others call them her "charity cases".

Dani helped Rosie McNamara change from being a street hooker to a solid citizen. However, not long after her transformation, someone kills her. Upset, Detective Tifton and Dani investigate the homicide and the rapid killing of five other women; six dead in a week. The clues lead to a former lover photographer Mitch Sheridan who has quit the camera that had been an appendage of his for years. Mitch seeks redemption and he begins to believe Dani may prove his redeemer as the death toll mounts.

The latest Sheridan romantic suspense (see One Scream Away) is a taut police procedural with a great twist that enhances the exciting investigative story line. Dani is terrific as she has plenty to prove to her superior and Internal Affairs as she knows everyone except field cops expect her to be a chip off the rotten block. The romance takes a back seat to the strong whodunit as Kate Brady provides her audience with an exciting action-packed thriller.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, February 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last to Die (Kindle Edition)
I just read this author for the first time and she had me hooked- great, well developed characters and supporting details
to help you connect with them and tell you why they are who they are. And don't forget the thrilling plot.
A little gory at times, but still a very well done plot. Can't wait to find more of
her books- just couldn't put this book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding., June 19, 2011
This review is from: Last to Die (Mass Market Paperback)
Detective Sergeant Dani Cole is called in to help with a body found in a local park. The deceased lady turns out to be Rosie McNamara, a former hooker that Dani had helped to straighten out her life. This makes Dani determined to find Rosie's killer and a chain of events begin. In quick order, Dani finds her home invaded, her furniture destroyed, her dog at the vet, the killer taunting her, and then the chief of police has her pushed off the case (because her late father had been a crooked cop and the chief is just waiting for Dani to follow in her dad's footsteps). To top it all off, Mitch Sheridan has returned and is connected with the investigation.

Mitch Sheridan is a famous photographer. His photography reveals tragedies around the globe. Mitch is half way around the world when he receives a frantic call from Russell Sanders, his close friend, mentor, and the managing director at JMS Foundation for Photography Art. (The Foundation is Mitch's namesake.) Mitch hears a scuffle before the phone call is disconnected. Worried, Mitch returns to Maryland and finds Russell dead. This is how Mitch runs into Dani Cole. Eighteen years ago he and Dani had been in a relationship. But that ended as a teenage Dani watched her father being arrested and saw Mitch there with his camera in hand. Now Dani is all grown up and is tougher than nails.

Dani and Mitch soon realize that the homicides of Rosie and Russell are somehow connected. As the two unofficially investigate, they find themselves not only dealing with multiple homicides, but also with a black-market baby ring. In some unknown way, the Foundation is involved. From the shadows, a killer watches Dani and decides she is getting too close to the truth.

***** FIVE STARS! This story has pulse pounding action and suspense from the beginning until the end. I found myself unable to stop reading and losing sleep, but it was worth it. This author never insults the reader's intelligence, so as soon as the reader is sure of whom the killer must be, the author no longer bothers to hide the information. This gem will test your wits as it pulls you along on one of the fastest rollercoaster rides of the year. Outstanding! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat formulaic romantic suspense, April 29, 2011
This review is from: Last to Die (Mass Market Paperback)
A woman is found dead in a park, and Dani Cole, still recovering from the suicide of her father two weeks before, is called into the case. Then Dani finds out that the dead woman is a former prostitute that Dani helped steer away from the street, and the search for her killer gets personal.

The hunt leads her to Mitch Sheridan, a former childhood sweetheart, now turned photojournalist on a mission to help save the world, who owns a photography studio and runs a charity foundation. When Mitch sees Dani, the flame is instantly re-ignited, but Dani continues to push him away in her hunt for what appears to be a serial killer. In untangling the murders, there is the POV of the killer, a black-market baby ring, and another murder that may also be linked to the serial murders.

This was a somewhat convoluted plot, with varying POV's, and a weird psychopathic killer - usually right up my alley, but for some reason, this book didn't do it for me. I like to be involved in the book, and feel some connection to the characters, and that didn't happen here. A rather formulaic plot, hero, heroine, and offbeat killer (not always bad, mind you), but with nothing new to pull me in, and sex scenes that were rather too graphic and really didn't fit the character of the book. I was interested, but not very much.

QUOTES (*** indicates redaction of possible spoiler):

He knew where the bodies were buried - literally. He'd put them there. And Fulton's type wasn't easy to find. A misdiagnosed schizophrenic who was really a sociopath, Fulton had been born without that quirk of chemistry that allowed for emotion. There were no therapies or medications for men like him; modern psychiatry hadn't yet learned how to manufacture a conscience.

"That could be, but *** didn't tell me he was having an affair with an eighteen-year-old hooker or that he was planning to kill her and then shoot himself and jump off a bridge."

"That's not the point. The point is that I would've killed him. Without a second thought, if he'd laid a hand on you, Dani, i could have blown the sonofa___ away."
She cracked a smile. "You talk so purty."

Writing: 4 out of 5 stars
Plot: 3 out of 5 stars
Characters: 2 out of 5 stars
Reading Immersion: 2.5 out 5 stars

BOOK RATING: 2.8 out of 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Romantic Suspense Novel!, January 22, 2011
This review is from: Last to Die (Mass Market Paperback)
Fans of the amazing romantic suspense novels written by the likes of Allison Brennan or Brenda Novak will want to check out Kate Brady's latest release Last to Die. Brady writes a chilling and terrifying suspense novel amongst a steamy romance that any adventure seeker will love!

Dani Cole is after a killer. One who brutally murders women and takes part of their hair as a souvenir. Detective Cole discovers she knows the victim, a prostitute whom Dani helped turn her life around. When a second murder occurs later that evening, she knows they must work quickly. While investigating the case, she realizes the last person one of the victims spoke with is an old flame, Mitch Sheridan. An ex she never forgot and is certainly frustrated to meet again. Mostly because she realizes the spark and attraction when she reunites with him is still there. After the killer leaves a few presents for Dani, she is taken off the case. Only to be hired by Mitch to help him investigate the identity of the killer. The further they dig, the more danger they encounter.

Mitch and Dani have a tormented past. They haven't seen each other for 18 years and now that they are reunited once again, their relationship is somewhat complicated. Before, Mitch was the one to follow Dani's every whim and eventually, she pushed him away. What makes this relationship so interesting now if that Mitch has finally decided to take matters into his own hands. This time, he's not going to be pushed away. Their relationship was written in a masterful and heart wrenching way that is likely to be unforgettable. Dani has spent her whole life saving others and Mitch is placing himself into her life to be the first one to help her. Of course, Dani fights him, but the temptation to finally have someone to rely on is too much.

What stuck out immediately were the parts in which the killers thoughts were revealed. Many times I was cringing in disgust or shock, which really are the emotions you should experience while reading this type of novel. It gave away so much, yet at the same time, very little. About half way through the novel, you can predict the identity of the villain and Brady soon after confirms those suspicions. That is when the novel really takes off for an `edge of your seat' adventure. It actually adds to the suspense once you find out the killers identity, which is just another reason why Brady's plot lines and twists are so fantastic.

Last to Die is a thrill ride that shouldn't be missed. I was hooked from page one on this whirlwind adventure. For those who love the police procedural novels, this one is certainly a worthwhile novel to check out. Brady gives the perspective of all the parties involved, from the police detectives, the witnesses, and also through the eyes of the killer. The characters are compelling, the villain cringe-worthy and the novel a suspenseful thrill ride that will make this book difficult to put down. Brady has written a psychological thriller that is sure to have you biting your nails and staying up all night to finish!

Overall: 5/5
Heat Level: 1/5

Lisa @ Once Upon A Chapter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A New Favorite Author Based on This Book!, November 4, 2010
This review is from: Last to Die (Mass Market Paperback)
It's nothing new to know that I love mystery, suspense, drama, etc., but I do like to find a new author once in awhile that I can both add to my "favorites" list and share that information with my readers! Kate Brady with Last to Die has done that! I will be going back to purchase her first book, One Scream Away, and be watching for her new books!

The amazing twisted ending was so startling that I "almost" sympathized with the killer for what she had done... To me that means the author deserves special kudos for not only keeping me in suspense and turning the pages, but adding a touch of irony that moved a good book to great for me...

Detective Dani Cole was personally pulled in when a woman was viciously killed and found in a local park. Rosi McNamara had been a young girl who had been in trouble, hooking, and who Dani had helped to get back into a decent job and life. But she had already been picked to die. Actually, she was only one of six who had been chosen. But Rosi had been discovered before an accomplice had arrived to remove the body...

What that delay allowed was for the police to get involved in finding what turned out to be a serial killer...

Knowing Rosi had been a hooker, Ty Craig, who owned most of the street women was a person of interest... And once that was mentioned, Dani was on borrowed time because her father had been found as a dirty cop, on Craig's payroll... Besides, Dani was also in the killer's sights and attempts to scare her off had already occurred. Soon, she was officially off the case!

But that didn't stop Dani--she continued with her own investigation, helped as much as possible by her now ex-partner...and by a major player, Mitch Sheridan.

Mitch Sheridan, a well-known photojournalism, had been overseas when his friend and business partner, Russell Sanders, called him, and after a brief conversation, had been heard arguing and pleading. And then the line went dead--dead as Mitch's friend now was...

Neither Dani nor Mitch wanted to hook up again after their brief affair when they were both too young to know what they were doing, but Dani was the assigned officer and as the investigation went on, there was some questions concerning the Sheridan Foundation, which had been started by Mitch and Russ, that kept him involved. In fact, there were criminal activities taking place there under the umbrella of the Foundation!

Of course, we all knew to be looking for the attraction between the lead male and female and their relationship provides an exciting side story that mixes well within the suspense and action to identify the killer.

A little mystery, a lot of suspense, criminal activities, psychological serial killing...and romance...all dished up in one novel...Last to Die by Kate Brady...what a great addition for those who enjoy mixed genres with a taste of danger that keeps hearts pumping until the end! For those like me, this is a must-read!

This book was won from
AuthorKellyMoran@blogspot

G. A. Bixler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Last to Die
Last to Die by Kate Brady (Mass Market Paperback - September 1, 2010)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.