Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining As The First Last Exile But Also Has Some Of Its Faults Too
While the new cast for this sequel are as endearing as the previous LE the overall storyplot and villains and hero's also feels just the same as well. That's not to say the series is boring far from it you do wish though that they made the personalities of the character protagonist a little more original though with most animes and some shows that's pretty hard to do...
Published 17 months ago by Rich(!!)

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not Last Exile, this is skies of arcadia with some Last Exile gimmicks thrown in
First off I am only giving this series a three star ratting because it made me appreciate the original even more so. First off, the producers should have done a prequel to the original series, showed the blue world and how cool it was, showed why the Exiles were the way they were and the Last Exile traveling to outer space and establishing the artificial world that the...
Published 14 months ago by Dominic La Pinta


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining As The First Last Exile But Also Has Some Of Its Faults Too, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
While the new cast for this sequel are as endearing as the previous LE the overall storyplot and villains and hero's also feels just the same as well. That's not to say the series is boring far from it you do wish though that they made the personalities of the character protagonist a little more original though with most animes and some shows that's pretty hard to do nowadays. I give kudos to keeping the animation the same as the previous LE and soundtrack score also fits nicely with the series,also you do get a special treat if you saw the first LE series as we see the return and cameos of characters from that series which is appreciated. The voice cast for both the Japanese subbed and English dubbed did a great job though with some of the previous LE characters they will of course sound somewhat different in the dub audio as the original voice actors and actress couldn't or wouldn't come back to dub their character voices though the people picked to dub those characters did a stellar job.

So if you already have the first Last Exile series then this is a must have to add on to your anime collection or if you're just looking for a good anime series in general....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like it very much, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
I liked this series right from the start, although I thought the first Last Exile Series was better! This art is just as good as the first, with a bit more computer animation than I cared for, but otherwise it was great! I just wished they had offered it as either bluray or dvd and not both together in the same package, this just drove up the cost of the series unnecessarily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, August 1, 2014
By 
jda (Lamoni, IA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
very enjoyable anime and for the most part well made. I think they threw in some of the 3D gaming style a bit too much but over all very enjoyable to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not Last Exile, this is skies of arcadia with some Last Exile gimmicks thrown in, December 27, 2013
This review is from: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
First off I am only giving this series a three star ratting because it made me appreciate the original even more so. First off, the producers should have done a prequel to the original series, showed the blue world and how cool it was, showed why the Exiles were the way they were and the Last Exile traveling to outer space and establishing the artificial world that the first Last Exile series was set in. The original series was one that really needed more flushing out via a sequel for its back story. They could have show exactly how the blue world got the way it did. Or they could have showed the younger versions of each of the main characters in the first Last exile series. For example: Claus and Lavies father, Alex and Euris's relationship, the original Guild leader before the Maestro took over, etc, so many characters to show back stories to would have made a great prequel series. Anyways, what caused me to first start not liking “Fam the silver wing” was the atrocious non-Last Exile like opening song. From the music to the video, it was just wrong. All that aside I still stuck through the entire series from start to finish. I was surprised to see that it wasnt a full 26 episode series like the one before. Overall I really didnt like all of the copied story arcs from the original and the tone inconsistencies as well. I was sitting there saying: “Oh, I remember when that happened before in the original series.” Overall this sequel borrowed too much and copied too much from the original. Thats not how its supposed to be. After almost ten years this new sequel is supposed to offer up something different, not the same thing just with different gimmicks. What this new sequel should have also done was delve into the politics of the war in depth and flushed that part out in depth too. Also the fact that there wasnt a real villain really ticked me off. Wait, now he isnt evil now? From the first series, the Maestro, was a great villain. Although she didnt have very much screen time it was what she was doing through the Guild that made her a great villain. Now THATS a great villain. See, in a great story the villain is not overall liked or felt sympathy for, they are a villain, not a victim. Anyways, all of this aside, if you want to see an anime that is different then go ahead and watch this one. But dont watch it if you think that it will be better than the first Last Exile. It isnt, it just isnt. This one isnt Last Exile, this one is skies of Arcadia with some Last Exile gimmicks thrown into the mix. What I liked about this series is how it made me appreciate how great the first Last Exile was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A pale imitation of the original, March 19, 2014
This review is from: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
I'm a huge fan of the original Last Exile, and I was super-excited when I heard about the sequel series. What I got, however, was a steaming pile. The characters are insipid at best and downright annoying at worst. The story is a muddled mess that limps along while making increasingly clumsy attempts to connect with the events of the first series. The ship-to-ship combat has turned into a farcical spamfest that attempts to distract viewers from the lack of underlying substance with an improbable overabundance of tracer rounds.

Murata's cover art is amazing, as usual. I just wish the series itself had been worthy of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Gift that was appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a classic!! Must get!, September 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
First, you will want to watch the first series "Last Exile". It's great and sets the stage for this series Part One and Two. The characters are well developed, a terrific storyline, and great dubbing. I would call it a mix of sci/fi, fantasy, action, aliens, maybe a little fan service, some comedy and drama. I did look for the best deals and am very glad I got this and Part Two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a joke Thank god this was a gift!, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
I'm sorry to say but, this isn't last exile people. Do not buy this so called season 2 of Last exile. Its filled with uninteresting characters like the three young naive girls I'm about to describe including a so called midget guy named Teddy if you can beleive.

Pros-(and Their are few)

-Its art style stays pretty close to the original
-The Ship Battles are the main Awesomeness of this anime but even they can't cloud the crap that's in this weak anime
-Animation/cgi is pretty good for this so called second season of Last Exile(and thats it)
-last but not least the cameos of the former characters are few and far between and thats all you'll find interesting in this Season. Dio is throughout the series and adds some interesting parts but thats about it

Cons-and they are many

-The 3 main characters (Milia The princess of Toron) has no back bone,annoying dialogue, and is just down right to young to be taken seriously throughout the entire series. Now For Fam Fam now 16 years of age looks like the smallest 16 year old you've ever seen. Her personality is most annoying and selfish in a bad way all around one of the worst anime Characters of all time. Her childhood friend Gigi isn't annoying but,lacks any independence to go off on her own away for Fam.

-The Villains are mediocre and uninteresting like the good characters.

-The story arcs if you want to call them that are almost non existent and everything just seems one big mosh pit of mediocrity.

-Story- I have no idea what the Japanese creators were thinking or how they managed to get this second chapter out the door let alone market such a blandly put together anime story.When the only appealing thing about it is its ship battles.

I urge anyone thinking of buying this anime to if you have to see it no matter what just Stream it its not worthy of being called last exile beyond the ship battles. the original characters of the former series aren't given their due and the new characters are annoying and quite down right predictable after the first few episodes. The War in this excuse for a sequel is just meaningless and no seems to take the deaths of entire nations let alone people around them seriously enough. Even for an anime. This anime is nowhere near the glory of the original. so don't buy stream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing - Part One (Blu-ray/DVD Combo)
$64.98 $37.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.