Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Read
This book was pretty good. It takes place in an alternate reality where aliens also live on Earth. The female protagonist is the daughter of a circus owner who has illegally captured some of them and displays them as a main attraction. She is not in agreement with her father about this treatment and many other things so she is mistreated in many ways, even made deaf...
Published 11 months ago by Christina Brock

versus
88 of 97 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much bible, too little passion
I really love Gena's previous work, so a 2 star review is hard to make. Her writing style has swerved dangerously near to Christian book territory. Bible verses at the beginning of each chapter, and old testament stories woven through the book... The love story is pretty chaste, and frankly, there was not a lot of heat between the two characters. Wicked Nights, her last...
Published 20 months ago by Jane Kreller


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 97 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much bible, too little passion, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really love Gena's previous work, so a 2 star review is hard to make. Her writing style has swerved dangerously near to Christian book territory. Bible verses at the beginning of each chapter, and old testament stories woven through the book... The love story is pretty chaste, and frankly, there was not a lot of heat between the two characters. Wicked Nights, her last adult book, was kind of the same way, and I am seeing the theme.

She has always woven themes of good and evil, light and dark in her books, and she usually has great drama and conflict along with the passion/sex/romance. After this book, I feel kinda preached at. As someone who grew up evangelical Christian, I can scent that a mile away. All that said, I totally understand an author's need to evolve both personally and professionally, so this is not a slight on her. I'm just not sure if I'll want to be along for the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ms. Showalter? I'm Confused., December 31, 2012
This review is from: Last Kiss Goodnight: An Otherworld Assassin Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a huge Gena Showalter fan. Huge. I respect her world-building, creativity, and character focus. However, this book just lost me somewhere. It starts out great, with us meeting Vika, the lonely circus owner's daughter, who is in charge of feeding and caring for her father's menagerie. When she develops attachments to the creatures, her abusive dad slaughters them and makes Vika an accomplice, emotionally devastating her. Years later, Pops has graduated to capturing humans for his sideshow, humans with special gifts, or Otherworlders. The hero, Solo (Short for Solomon, not surname to Han), is one such prisoner. Large and frightening, and an undercover assassin, he soon develops tender feelings for Vika, who is now in charge of maintaining the welfare of the humanoid captives and has been rendered deaf by her father's constant physical abuse.

Now, this is all off to a good start. But then Showalter threw into the mix a little Angel guy and Devil guy that sit on each of Solo's shoulders, yapping in his ears, which just got totally annoying, some out-of-nowhere world shifting powers, zombies that come out of left field, and a plethora of other inconsistencies in the story. It slowly became less and less about the relationship between Vika and Solo and more about this madcap world being created. It felt like, too much, too soon, too scattered.

I am still interested to see where Showalter goes with this story thread, and she will still remain one of my favorites. But this book is not a keeper for me, and Showalter may not be an auto-buy anymore. I may wait for a few reviews to roll in before buying the next in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Different, December 27, 2012
This review is from: Last Kiss Goodnight: An Otherworld Assassin Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I was slightly taken aback with this one. Some spoilers applied... while I am so happy for Gena in finding what she needs in her personal life I was definitely disappointed with the book. I was expecting the old style Gena but as another reviewer wrote this is a new style of her. Again I am happy for her but to be completely honest I would have liked to be forwarned that her books wouldn't contain any of the previous sexual tension or sensual scenes. As I don't read romances just for those scenes and I absolutely love Gena I still would've purchased this book but I don't think I would've experienced the let down feeling or the somewhat duped feeling had I been told before purchasing. It also made me feel like she wasn't concerned with being honest but about the sale . As I said I don't read these just for that but when you expect something from an author but its suddenly void with no warning then its kind of shocking. Now that I know I will still follow her work but with the expectation that it is now completely pg 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at all what I hoped for, January 1, 2013
By 
Mary F (Nashville Tennessee USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rating: 2.5 stars
There is something missing here...this is not Gena's normal fare. I am still trying to decide how I feel about this book. There were some brief sections where I could see Gena's former style shine thru...but there were long stretches in between those sections that felt odd, way too drawn out and forced into the story to take up space.

The Bad...One of the things I like most about Gena's writing is that she writes great chemistry between her characters. You want them to be together so badly because she creates a fantastic tension. She normally also writes great love scenes that make the tension worth the wait. This book had neither of those things. There were a couple of (sadly) brief interactions between Solo and Vika that were in the "old Gena" style but most of the chemistry felt flat. And the physical part of their attraction? Vague, brief and very glossed over...I felt like I was reading a love scene from a book published in 1990. I had to reread to be sure that they had sex...because it was so vague.

The good...There are some bright spots...the premise is interesting and Gena created an interesting new world with just the right amount of detail. The bad guy was really bad and she did a great job making me hate him from the beginning.

The confusing...I got the feeling that this book had a larger purpose for the author and she tried to force a story into the framework of the message she was trying to send. To be more blunt, I think that the author wanted to send a religious message and the story of Solo and Vika was secondary to that purpose. I have read Gena's testimonial on her website and I am happy that she has a renewed relationship with God. But I don't want to feel "preached to" in a PNR. Starting every chapter with a quotation from the Bible? Very obvious biblical devices throughout (x as the angel and dr e as the devil on Solos shoulders....literally)? The repeated (stop hitting me over the head already...I got it the first time) message that one must have complete faith to take the right path? I don't expect that in a PNR nor do I want it. Just my opinion...but I will definitely think long and hard about purchasing the next installment and I will take Gena off auto-purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just...no, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't even know what to say about this book. If it were written by any other author, maybe I wouldn't be so disappointed in it. But Gena wrote it and NOTHING about it is what you expect when diving into a Showalter novel. Where was the banter, the sexual tension, the interesting supporting characters? Okay, that last one is there, but if their books are anything like this one, I want no part of them.

I understand Gena has had something happen that has re-awakened her faith. That is wonderful, but not if it's going to become some sort of barely-not-even-at-all concealed theme in her work going forward. Romance novels are not the place for preaching, which is all over this story. It pains me to say it, but maybe she should switch genres. I'll be curious to see how the next Lords book turns out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the fence, December 21, 2012
By 
Kelly "Books-n-Kisses" (Corvallis, OR, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have not had the chance to read Gena's Alien Huntress series yet, which Last Kiss Goodnight is a spin off of. I will say that I don't think that you have to have read Gena's the Alien Huntress series first. Gena does a good job of explaining the world. But I think if you did read them you would have a greater understanding of the world.

That being said I am on the fence about this book. I loved the setting, the idea, and a good majority of the characters. Solo & Vika are great together and apart. But I will admit that I was bored more than once while reading. Maybe I was tired. But there didn't seem to be the same amount of action or sexual tension as I have found in past books of Gena's. But overall I did enjoy. Really like the ending and the tension. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

Disclaimer:
I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointing, December 26, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a fan of Gena Showalter, however, this does not feel like one of her works. It has no bite and was so boring, I repeatedly set it down. Had to force myself to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story line but missed the steamy sex, December 30, 2012
By 
squirt52 (Juneau, AK USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Overall I like the book, but the sex scenes were glossed over. They weren't as descriptive as her other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What happened here?!!, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've read all of Gena Showalter's books and I've loved them. So I don't know who wrote this book, but it couldn't have been Gena Showalter. This book bored me to tears! I found myself skipping almost whole chapters searching for, no, actually praying, there was something more interesting happening further in the book. No such luck. Solo did not live up to all the hype in the beginning of the book, and while he was likable enough, there was no chemistry between them. What a disappointment! If this is a new series, it's not off to a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice start to a new series but....., December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have loved every single book written by Gena, in particular her Lords of the Underworld Series. I have to say that this book, and the way the story was carried, the pace of it all, was quite a bit different and left me.....discombobulated, as well as disappointed, a new for me when reading a book written by this particular Author.

First off, the Author stayed with the familiar theme of the AIR and Otherworlders, so that was easy to pick up on and to understand the characters. Where I got lost some, and what really affected the overall enjoyment of the book for me, was the pace that was set. Can anyone say DDRRRAAAWWWNN OUT?

I haven't ever read a book by Gena in which this was a problem, so it really threw me for a loop. All of her previous stories have had a wonderful character development, a great plot and the story was fluid, carried at an even pace that always left me wanting to rush to the next page to see what was going to occur. In this case, I wanted to rush to the next page just to get done with the one I was on, at times it was almost painful to see it continue and continue.....

It seemed to me as though she got 'stuck' in her story development process. Either that or she simply had pages to fill and not enough story ideas to do it so she simply dragged it out. Either way, it really ruined the story for me. As an example, by the time the characters were FINALLY, and I mean FINALLY able to escape, the story was at 74% progression!! That's insane!! The story was literally 3/4 done when they finally were able to break free and show what struggles they would face in the next step. It literally bored me to tears by the time I got there.

Once there, I thought "yeah, they are finally free, FINALLY able to run and in doing so, explore the developing feelings between them!" Well, again, not so much. More dragging. How long do I need to hear about then trudging through the elements!?! Then when they are finally free, they have that freedom for all of a couple of days, during that time they get to express their feelings physically, again a HUGE disappointment!

Gena has always been very detailed and expressive in her writings, so much so that you can clearly picture what is occurring. I didn't get that here at all. Honestly, we have this build up, for 3/4 of the book, of the characters growing feelings for one another and their desire to express it physically (ie: sex). On top of that, we have a girl who is clearly inexperienced and this will be her first time sharing intimacy with a man of any kind, let alone an Otherworlder. When they finally get around to experiencing each other for the first time together, and for her the first time ever, it's so generic that I couldn't even tell if he had an orgasm, to be blunt! It was that uh. Now I'm not expecting porn-on-paper, but this was so completely out of character for Genas writing style (of past). I felt more like I was reading s teen book than an adult romance.

Long story short, it was not my favorite of reads and certainly not one that I would 're-read, like I have many times over with her Lords' Series. I don't even know if I would buy the next in the series; likely if I did it would only be due to the fact that I have enjoyed her writings so much in the past and to see if the flaws of this book are addressed and corrected in the next. If they continue as this one did, I really can't see this becoming a popular series, no matter the name of the Author.

Decide for yourself. Either way....Enjoy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Last Kiss Goodnight: An Otherworld Assassin Novel
Last Kiss Goodnight: An Otherworld Assassin Novel by Gena Showalter (Mass Market Paperback - December 26, 2012)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.