Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars33
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$13.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 3, 2008
A talking dagger? Bones as instruments of rebirth? Flying a plane into a dimensional portal? Yes, Bryan Davis is at it again. Picking up where Enoch's Ghost left off, Last of the Nephilim effortless weaves old friends and new characters into a gripping tale of betrayal, trust, justice, mercy, friendship, enemies and more. Surprises and prophecies emerge at every turn as Second Eden is threatened by evil.
Readers of the previous books will be amazed at how Davis finally answers the question about Bonnie's wings without revealing her choice from Tears of a Dragon.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 16, 2008
"Last of the Nephilim" is the sequel to "Dragons in Our Midst" from the best selling "Oracles of Fires" series. In this masterly crafted Christian fantasy novel Bryan Davis writes comparable to Stephen Lawhead. His characters are reminiscent of Narnia.

This strong high fast moving adventure story involves the reader in emotions of conflict, resolution, fear, danger, and inspiration. The plot pits giants against dragons as they invade Second Eden. The forces of good battle the forces of evil in a bitter conflict. I especially appreciate Bryan's clear reinforcement of Biblical values and Christian character throughout his writing.

For any new readers of the series, Davis recommends that since the story line extends earlier adventures leading into this multi-dimensional land that "Enoch's Ghost" should be read prior to "Last of the Nephilim."

Bryan's books have become favorites of young readers in the genre of Christian fantasy. I am sure "Last of the Nephilim" is on the way to becoming an important influence as it joins the other best selling books in the series.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2008
"This book was AWESOME! Definitely deserving of a place on my bookshelf. I read it under the covers after my lights were supposed to be out it was so good! It wraps up where Enoch's Ghost left off and I can't wait to read more of the adventure!" Adam age 14
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2008
This book was amazing! I didn't actually think it'd be as good as the rest, but there I was, on my bed, eating, going out, always constantly reading! It was fantastic and it was even better than the rest of the books!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2008
Last of the Nephilim picks up right where Enoch's Ghost (Oracles of Fire) left off. Literally.

There's no getting around it this time. Bryan Davis writes in his author's note that readers are recommended to read the Dragons in Our Midst series and the previous two Oracles of Fire books first. Do it. You'll need them.

I mentioned in the title of the review that the book does move a bit more slowly than I'm used to from Bryan Davis. That's okay, though. It gives this wonderfully tense feeling of the roller coaster ratcheting up the chain lift. Then you get to the end, and the roller coaster has stopped looking over the edge of an enormous hill. That's Last of the Nephilim, but don't think of it as a bridge between two books. It's a great story, very worth the read. More deep characters who learn relevant lessons. One complaint: The next and final book doesn't come out 'til next year!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
Last of the Nephilim is exciting and thrilling. They're back, Billy and Bonnie are back in the story! The threat of the Nephilim on Earth has passed, and thanks to Karen and Naamah they didn't complete their bridge to Heaven. But the connection between Earth and Hades is still attached which is causing some of the dead in Hades to roam the Earth once again. As well as the nasty Caitiff from the Circles of Seven. Walter, Ashley, and Sapphira learn from Enoch that the only way to severe the attachment between Earth and Hades is that they must go to another dimension called Second Eden, and that the Father of lies himself is about to unleash a war on the peaceful people of that realm. Enoch instructs them to go, but they must send word to all the former Dragons, and the heirs, and friends of King Arthur, they must also come. Billy and his Father, Sir Barlow, Sir Patrick, and Shiloh journey to Montana to meet Sapphira, and she will open the portal to get them to Second Eden. Elam, Acacia, and Paili arrive in Second Eden from Heaven's Alter, where he is prophesied to become the warrior chief. Sapphira is given a very important but trying task, she is asked to stay behind and keep Bonnie hidden from the slayer, and the only place that will protect them is Sapphira's old home in Hades, where they must wait in the lowest realm before they can go to Second Eden. Last of the Nephilim is amazing. The Mercy and Grace displayed in this story is one that will be remembered. A must read, the story continues and ends in book 4 The Bones of Makaidos.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2008
this book was really good, as are all the others in this series. i really enjoy reading them, and i can't wait for the next one to come out!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2008
was a WONDERFUL book!! It was fast moving, with lots of twists and unexpected turns. One of my favorite things about Bryan Davis's work is that he brings in stories and characters of the Bible into these books and also the faith of the characters; their struggles and triumphs. All the former dragons are called to work together and the young warriors are called to become the men they were tested and tried to become and the girls so strong in their faith are put through some of the hardest testing yet...will they all stand strong and depend on the Maker to help them through? Or will they fall and fail leaving the earth to destruction? ...a great book! Cliff hanger ending! I can't wait for the next one!! =]
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2008
Do you want adventure, fantasy, and on the edge of your seat thrills. What if Nephilim roamed the earth? This book is wonderful for those with imagination and a desire to dig into a fantastical world with Biblical traces. Come to Second Eden and join in a battle of epic proportions. In fact this series is an epic in itself. Totally recommend this book to anyone and everyone!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2008
This is a story of adventure, fantasy, and best of all excitement. What would the earth be like if Nephilim roamed the earth? What would happen if you discovered another world at war? All these questions and more are answered in this book. It is great for people who have an imagination or a love for adventure. Join the battle now in an unknown world called Second Eden.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse