Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on July 12, 2015
Terrible copy - terrible sound track - jumpy film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
The Last Picture Show has been recognized in several categories by the Academy in both awards and nominations (it won for Best Supporting Actor [Ben Johnson] and Best Supporting Actress [Cloris Leachman]), and it was selected to be one of the preserved films in the National Film Registry by the Library of Congress for remaining “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant.”

That being said, this movie is holycrapboring. What is it that people see in this film, because its significance flew over my head and out the window. First, it’s in black and white, and while that’s not usually a deal-breaker (Clerks, The Man with the Golden Arm, and 12 Angry Men were amazing films, amongst others), you have to try a little harder to grab my attention and keep it there (see: aforementioned list).

I was, however, surprised by the amount of nudity that was in this film, particularly because for some reason or another, I always assumed this film to be one that prided itself on being wholesome. As it was, the nudity didn’t add anything to the story.

Sure, the pool party scene was Jacy’s (Cybill Shepherd) rite of passage taking her from pure virgin to burgeoning slut, but we didn’t need to pan over the unabashedly naked and patiently waiting attendees’ bodies to get that message. Nor did we need Sonny’s (Timothy Bottoms) inactive hand on his soon-to-be ex-girlfriend’s naked teat during their final makeout session. Both of these scenes seemed to rely more on shock value than substance.

The plot of The Last Picture Show follows Sonny Crawford, who is one of the most boring characters ever to appear on film, and his buddy, Duane Jackson (Jeff Bridges) who is slightly more entertaining, if only because he potentially has the best character development of everyone he knows, and that’s not saying much.

Jacy’s mom tells her to dump Duane because she’ll never have a decent life with him, but after she does just that, she goes through a string of failed...relationships? But oh look, Duane really did love her after all, because in order to deal with his broken heart over their failed relationship (and Jacy’s ultimate pairing up with best friend Sonny), Duane ultimately runs off and joins the military. We never find out what becomes of him after he ships off to Korea, but it has to be better than staying in the fictional hometown of Anarene any longer.

Previous to this, Sonny starts up an affair with the high school coach’s wife, Ruth (Cloris Leachman) in an American Pie-like cougar/student relationship, but he flat-leaves her the second Jacy starts batting her eyelashes his way. This is, of course, after Jacy already abandoned her virginity in favor of sleeping with anyone who will take her mind off of how bored she is (further reminding us of how bored we are), including her mom’s lover. Ew.

Sonny goes back to Ruth at the end of the film and, after yelling at him for leaving her, it is assumed that she ultimately takes him back. Of course she does.

There are several other characters in this film, but you probably won’t remember any of them later on, save for beautiful Ellen Burstyn as Jacy’s mother, Lois. And what was the deal with that disturbing scene in which one of the boys is caught with a little girl in his car? No one mentions this, not the Wikipedia page for the film, not Roger Ebert’s review, nothing. It’s curious indeed how a scene this dark seems to be essentially glossed over in everyone’s glowing reviews over this snore-fest. Though, it’s treated pretty much the same way in the film, too.

Bottom line: the characters in The Last Picture Show are insipid and self-serving, the plot is flimsy and muddled, and the acting is mediocre at best, save for Sam the Lion’s (Ben Johnson) speech, which was the only engaging scene in this film. At least his character gets to die part-way through, rather than put up with this uninspiring crew any longer.

Want to watch a great Peter Bogdanovich film? Check out 1985’s Mask. Another is 1992’s Noises Off which, while not "great," it was certainly entertaining enough to warrant a view.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
Excellent
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
Disc would not play in DVD or computer.... cover has writing in Spanish. Very disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
Totally convinced that this is only a story that extremely pessimistic soap opera lovers could possibly enjoy. Granted, I hardly ever watch movies.... but when I decide to watch one, in this case to kill some time, I choose them from lists of movies that are supposed to be terrific. Last time I choose to put my faith in things like that. My god. This entire movie is full of completely wretched, despicable, amoral characters except for perhaps one or two... certainly not including the main character, who's a complete dirtbag with apparently no qualms with sleeping with a married woman. The only time I felt a rush of happiness in my heart was when that piece of scum got a bottle broken over his face by perhaps the only righteous and likable character in the entire film. The pretentious melodrama of the entire movie was making me cringe uncontrollably, yet through some insane gesture of goodwill towards my own respect towards the time and money it takes to rent a movie, I stuck around and saw it through to the end. Bad mistake. Now I feel a weird sort of anger towards the creators and perpetrators of a story like this.... I can sorta understand wanting to rebel against the idea of the 50's and early 60's being constantly in Leave It To Beaver / American Graffiti land, but if you're going to try and pull that off, just try to make it realistic. Going even further in the opposite direction like this is just such a malign, ostentatious, and tactless representation of that time period as to render it nothing more conceivable than what you might imagine Mr. Roger's worst nightmare to be like. I felt just utterly disappointed and rather sickened at this movie. Yikes. I'll never get it. Most depressing stuff I've ever encountered in my life
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
I saw this movie years ago when it was first released in theaters. Watched it again the other night on cable. It still stinks. Even though I am much older now and have experienced much more of life since I first saw it, my opinion of this dull, slow, stale film has not changed one bit. Most of the acting is subpar, the script is atrocious, and the storyline is inconsistent. A total dud.
33 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
Very trashy movie that tries to pass as art. The whole movie was one big crude and lewd, illicit sex scene. Just degrading trash.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2012
The dvd froze up at half way. It was a terrible product. It never did work. I give up on it after numerous tries. Donald Larrison
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
The Last Picture Show, 1973 film

Two young men in a pickup truck stop at a pool hall. The radio plays a Hank Williams' song. The men talk about the local football team. The hard hats suggest workers in oil construction. One young man goes to the local movie theater to meet his girlfriend. Another couple joins them. [That movie poster suggests the late 1940s. That cash register does not have a marble top.] Next day students are in an English class. Then the boys are in a gym. Note the dirt roads of a rural town. [These towns are dependent on the local economy, either in agriculture or minerals.] JC has her own car, unusual in those days. Her Mom talks to JC about love and marriage. Elsewhere a woman gets a ride to the clinic. She comes out sad. [Garages are needed to prevent damage from hail.] She cries when she returns home.

When the parents are away a teenager throws a party. A man dances with his boss' wife. There is a live band. JC gets a present from her boyfriend; and more. There is a conflict with Dwayne. Later JC goes to that pool party and denudes herself. [Believable in a small town of that era?] The boys pull a prank on Billy, Sam bans them from his pool hall. Dwayne drives that woman again, then comes inside her bedroom. They become friendly. There is another Hank Williams song. Sam and Billy enter the café. The story runs on, recreating small town life circa 1951. But human nature doesn't change much. There is more change in a person over the decades. Two boys decide on a week-end vacation in Mexico. When they return they learn Sam had a stroke and died! His stores were divided. JC meets a boy in the "Cactus Motel". [No small town gossip?] Dwayne hesitates. What happened?

People wait outside. "It can't describe it in words." Next time its different. JC has a new boyfriend. Dwayne leaves for a job out of town. JC's new boyfriend married another girl! JC wants to see the pool hall. A man takes her there. They are alone. JC cries when she returns home. There is a report about a missing girl, she is found with an older boy. What happened? JC and her boyfriend go for a ride. Dwayne bought a new Mercury. After JC goes to college her local boyfriends will be dropped. An argument leads to a fight and hospitalization. Dwayne will join the Army.

JC is mean like her grandma. JC marries, her parents are quite upset! The police are notified and find them. [The talk pads out the story.] Football is the big interest; as in other small towns. [Ritualized combat?] They visit the movie theater before it closes down [a movie about cowboys]. Television has taken its audience. The soldier leaves town on a bus. His friend will take care of his Mercury. There is an accident on the street! What was he doing? He visits that older woman, she shows her anger. And the story runs down, like a mechanical clock. How much of it seems believable?

This is based on a novel by Larry McMurtry. It attempts to recreate small town life in rural Texas around 1950. This was probably not much different from other small towns across the country. One problem is the presence of television. There is a limit to transmission even in flat lands. The station had to be in a big city about 50 miles away. Religion plays a big role in small town life, yet there is no mention here. This is not so much "bad" as it is "not good". One advantage is the music: the country & western songs seldom played in big city areas today.
77 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2011
I have come to the conclusion that the only reason this movie has highly rated reviews is because everyone enjoyed seeing Cybill Shepherd take her clothes off again, and again, and again......
The town in the film is dying - why? because all the smart people took off and went someplace else.
What is left in the town are complete idiots. The only bright spot was Ben Johnson - who was just as real and natural as ever. Even HE left - as his character died halfway in the film. I got a big news flash for Bogdanovich - girls in the 1950's were not amoral as they are depicted in the film. They were amoral in the 1970's (when the picture is filmed). There were a lot of future stars in this film Jeff Bridges, Timothy Bottoms (Randy Quaid was awful in this film, as usual) - and a lot of current stars (70's)(Ellen Burstyn, Eileen Brennan, Cloris Leachman)who actually carry the film....barely. I am surprised that Cybill Shepherd was able to have any kind of career after this movie. I guess it helps when your boyfriend is the director. Good Lord, don't waste your time watching this movie - it's not worth it.
1818 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.