Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Regress
Last Regress is a very original, emotional and spooky read that leaves you wanting more of its characters and the whole experience that's within. I can honestly say there is a bit of everything in here; love, romance, thrills, chills, mystery, suspense, excitement and much more. It is not a read for those that cannot handle a bit of gore, but a definite must read for...
Published 16 months ago by DragonRene

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun
This was a nice, fun, paranormal romance that will keep you entertained from the beginning.
The story is pretty unique, which is this age of paranormal overload, is not so common. The plot is intricate and mostly fast-paced. The beginning is the only part I found a bit slow. I realize we need to know the protagonist's back-story and all of that, but it could have...
Published 18 months ago by V. Cano


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, October 25, 2012
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
This was a nice, fun, paranormal romance that will keep you entertained from the beginning.
The story is pretty unique, which is this age of paranormal overload, is not so common. The plot is intricate and mostly fast-paced. The beginning is the only part I found a bit slow. I realize we need to know the protagonist's back-story and all of that, but it could have moved a tad bit faster. But the rest was nicely written, with a good sense of timing for some of the more suspenseful scenes.
There is lots of mystery and romance in the novel. The romantic scenes were lovely, the kind that make your heart beat a little faster, though I'm not a huge fan of the love-at-first-sight thing. But I know it works well for some of you, so don't let that deter you from picking the book up. The characters themselves are fun, with Alyssa being a good heroine who is not a weakling who needs everything done for her.
All in all, this is a fun read that I do recommend. Especially for this spooky time of year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Regress, December 13, 2012
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
Last Regress is a very original, emotional and spooky read that leaves you wanting more of its characters and the whole experience that's within. I can honestly say there is a bit of everything in here; love, romance, thrills, chills, mystery, suspense, excitement and much more. It is not a read for those that cannot handle a bit of gore, but a definite must read for those that enjoy a different type of paranormal romance without too much heat.

Allyson is a woman that comes off as very lonely and sad, yet strong and determined. Her life experiences have brought her much pain and sorrow, but she keeps going strong. Once a woman's heart is shattered to pieces, it takes a lot of time to pick them up and put it back together again. Being a paranormal investigator and having an incredible best friend has helped her immensely. But her practice and beliefs are all questioned when she opens an old case file to start working on and things in her life become unreal and unbelievable. Knowing what is a dream and what is reality becomes more and more difficult for her as time goes on. The man haunting her dreams even visits her while awake. Can someone fall in love with a man that is just a dream, a figment of the imagination to such an extreme it hurts? You're all going to have to read and see for yourself and be ready for loads of surprises :)

Rachael J. Thorne has created a new paranormal world for us to enjoy and leaves you wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely paranormal romance, October 19, 2012
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
Last Regress is a paranormal romance that will make you cry more than once and will make your heart beat fast with every romantic scene.

Last Regress presents us Alyssa, a woman in her late twenties working for the "Institute of Paranormal Research, Cambridge". She deals with paranormal phenomenon in her daily basis but she still isn't ready for what is to come. When Cain enters her life, things will never be the same. Her sanity will be tested and also her friendship with Greg.

The book has a slow start for my taste. It does a well job describing the characters, where the story is set and a bit of the past, but in the first chapter I didn't know what to expect. However, after our first encounter with the mysterious guy and the dark shadows everything starts to move on fast.

Alyssa, Cain, Greg and Nathaniel are very well described and in few chapters you get a pretty nice idea of their personalities. Cain is my favorite not only he has the most romantics dialogues he seems a tridimensional character that you can actually see as a real person. Alyssa is a bit depressive; she has lived most of her live in the shadow of her existence and has a peculiar personality. On one hand she has a hard time figuring out who the mysterious man is (in my opinion it was obvious from the start) and then she refuse to accept the truth. But her most memorable moment is when she takes some bad decisions (they are good to the story and help to the book to move on but it wasn't my favorite Alyssa's moment).

Overall, the paranormal part of the book is well built and it makes you want to read more. the characters complete the story and you can see more books in the future because the story leaves some paths open for future adventures.

(I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars page-turning and compelling, October 8, 2013
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
Alyssa spends a lot of her time researching paranormal cases - she's a paranormal investigator. One particular case really catches her eye. His name is Cain and he spontaneously combusted - from the inside out. She thinks something is off about it and begins to investigate further.

After her initial investigation, she starts having dreams about someone trying to grab her and she starts to see shadows and ghosts. Is she going crazy? Cain is the love interest for Alyssa, but it's not a clean-cut romance. They come from two different places, and when they meet, it's love at first sight. A bit of a stretch for me to believe that, but whatever works.

With some twists and turns, Thorne keeps the reader on their toes, weaving between the land of the living and the land of the dead in a fashion that it's very easy for the reader to follow along. There are thought provoking key points, as well as some spine-tingling moments. It's a bit slow to start, but as the story develops, the pace increases. Last Regress is a terrific suspenseful paranormal romance that is sure to thrill fans of the genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A traditional Paranormal in a sea of Vampires & Shapeshifters, April 10, 2013
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
My Review: Last Regress was sent to me by the author for an honest review. It took quite a while for this book to build up steam. I felt like the first several chapters just kept repeating themselves, I don't know if that was by design to draw the readers into Alyssa's possible psychosis. Honestly, Alyssa drove me a little crazy and definitely was not my favorite character, I much preferred Nathaniel and Cain with their perspective stories. As compared to what we are all use to with paranormal being witches, vampires and shapeshifters; Thorne takes a much more traditional approach to paranormal with ghosts, other dimensions and dabbling in chants and black magic. I was really hoping for the spontaneous human combustion to take a much stronger role in the book but sadly it only made a brief appearance. Another thing that caught me a little off guard is the romance, it doesn't really build so much as that it is suddenly very there. It almost felt out of place and much of that chapter wasn't really needed. With all that said, Thorne did a fantastic job with the Dark Ones and creating the scare factor for me. I honestly had to set the book aside for a little while so I would stop looking for creepy shadows in the corners of the room every night.

My Rating: I really have mixed feelings about this one, I definitely liked some parts and other parts not so much. I think it would be a great paranormal horror if some of the romance was removed. I give it a rating of Two Paws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Combustive Thriller!, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
People are still combusting! Just the other day Sequoyah County authorities in Oklahoma say a man who died in a fire at his home may have spontaneously combusted. There are about 200 cases per year worldwide where spontaneous combustion was not been ruled out as the cause of death.

Alyssa Matthews, a paranormal investigator, is researching a case from eight years ago in which a man died by fire. All that was left of his body was a charred blob of meat. The coroner reveals the man died from a fire from within or spontaneously combusted. In the dead man’s effects is a CD that when played opens her world to love and horror.

Rachel J. Thorne’s novel treats us to her theories about what happens when you die, the cause of spontaneous combustion, and a theory about why ghosts stick around the physical world. It’s a love story; it’s a story you want to read only with the lights on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Paranormal, February 3, 2013
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
The author did a wonderful job of writing this fun, paranormal romance that will keep you entertained from the beginning. The storyline is pretty unique, intricate and mostly fast-paced. The book has a lot of mystery and romance in the novel. The romantic scenes were the kind that makes your heart beat. The characters are witty, entertaining and Alyssa being a good heroine who needs everything done for her. A recommend this book. I give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An emotional journey into the Paranormal..., January 22, 2013
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
Alyssa is a lonely girl and we spend the first half of the book finding out about her life growing up, what happened to her parents and what happened in the relationship with Alex. We discover how deep her bond is with her drop dead gorgeous but gay best friend Greg, who is the only true friend/family that she has now. Apart from him the only other person in her life is her boss, Dave. They both work at a Paranormal Research company where they document cases and print their developments in their newspaper.

Since Alyssa has started a new case to research about she is having trouble sleeping and believes she is having nightmares. She confides in Greg and he is beginning to wonder if stress is bringing on her issues. Alyssa spends time with Greg, confiding all her problems in him and the more he thinks about it, the more he tries to convince her that it is all in her head. The black creatures in her room are not real and there are no such things as ghosts.

The first half of the book was pretty slow for me as we find out about Alyssa's past and what she is dealing with now. She doesn't have many people in her life to open up to so she spends a lot of time alone and over analyses everything that is going on around her. She starts to believe she is going insane and repeats the same arguments in her head.

The second half of the book was better as there was a bit more action. We learn more about the other plane of existence and how the souls end up there. It gave more depth to the story and I enjoyed learning about Cain. He is a beautiful soul and cares very deeply for Alyssa. They have an unusual relationship and seem to be getting closer the longer they spend together.

It was a bit of an emotional journey where one girl struggles with who she is and is looking for more in life. She found a connection with someone that she can never have. She deals with rejection poorly as her life has been depressing so far and believes she no longer has anyone to turn to. This was the beginning of something bigger in life after death and the war that is on the horizon.

I received a copy of this book from the Author in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
In Thorne's paranormal romance novel, Alyssa Matthews is a skeptical paranormal investigator whose talent revolves around researching, observing and explaining. When she takes on the writing of a long forgotten case of spontaneous human combustion, she assumed it would be fairly typical and ordinary. To her surprise, she is plunged into a situation that would have her questioning her own sanity and her skepticism surrounding the paranormal.

The story is unique, a little slow in the beginning, but a fun, paranormal romance that is entertaining and worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Last Regress, December 28, 2012
This review is from: Last Regress (Kindle Edition)
After a devastating breakup with her boyfriend, Alyssa's best fried Greg encourages her to get a job at the local paranormal research institute. Alyssa's thrown herself into her work to escape the pain and loneliness she feels constantly. She enjoys going through cold cases and seeing what she can uncover, especially with her skeptic's eye. The latest case she's delving into is a case of SHC or Spontaneous Human Combustion. Yet it doesn't exactly fit the pattern of SHC. As Alyssa is drawn deeper into the case, she's plagued by what she first believes are nightmares. Until a man rescues her from the creatures coming for her nightly, who she first believes is a hallucination, but soon learns he's a ghost...sort of. A grand plan is in the works and Alyssa is right at the center of it all...

`Last Regress' is an interesting and unique paranormal romance story. You really get attached to the characters of Alyssa, Cain, and Nathaniel. I enjoyed the different ideas of what happens after death and the multiple dimensions. I wasn't a huge fan of Alyssa's to begin with because I thought she was unable to stand up for herself and was easily influenced. Overall, I felt `Last Regress' was a quick read with some creative characters and disturbing horror elements. It seems, by the ending, this may not be the end of Alyssa and Cain's story...time will only tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x98f195c4)

This product

Last Regress
Last Regress by Rachael J. Thorne
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.