Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable soundboard recording - fine form
I've been a fan of Alvin since 1968-69 when I bought "Ssssshhhh" as a new release. This is an excellent soundboard recording of his last show in May of 2012 at age 67. First off, the guy could still play his a** off. Great playing on his part (age considered) with more excitement and feel in his playing than some of his peers who have released sleeping tonic recordings in...
Published 15 months ago by Randolph Von Dingleton

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alvin's Swan Song
I was pretty excited to hear of this live release. Lee seemed to save some of his best moments for live shows. No one will ever forget his epic and energetic turn at Woodstock. In fact, much of his body of work with TYA and early solo career seemed to have a live in-studio feel. I think of the sound of brilliant LP 'Cricklewood Green', for example. Nothing fancy there,...
Published 11 months ago by Diamond Dave


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable soundboard recording - fine form, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Alvin since 1968-69 when I bought "Ssssshhhh" as a new release. This is an excellent soundboard recording of his last show in May of 2012 at age 67. First off, the guy could still play his a** off. Great playing on his part (age considered) with more excitement and feel in his playing than some of his peers who have released sleeping tonic recordings in the past year.

Great versions of "I Woke Up This Morning", "Love Like A Man", "I'm Going Home" (of course), "I'm Writing You A Letter", "Hear Me Calling" etc. The Al Kooper cover is excellent (I Can't Keep From Crying Sometimes).

My only wish is it had more Ten Years after songs (say from A Space In Time etc.) along with solo works like his last, or On the Read. But you can't have everything and what you get here is Alvin Lee in fine form playing and singing in his last show. Worth the price. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alvin Lee's Last Show. . .RIP, September 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
These first two reviews are interesting but seem to not consider this album for want it is, a live solo album by Alvin Lee 2012. I too was a fan of Ten Years After in the late 60's, and if you want listen to TYA live, I recommend "Live At The Filmore East" (1970); two discs and very tasty.

"The Last Show" is a nice disc to wrap up Alvin's late run of solo albums: "Alvin Lee in Tennessee", "Saguitar", and "Still on the Road to Freedom". It highlights that Alvin still loved to boogie, especially on stage. I recommend this album for the music and hell, because it's Alvin Lee, RIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Maestro's Last Show, September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
This baby is a gem, wart's and all! That's rock'n roll! Alvin has always been that rock'n roll gunslinger shooting from the hip and letting it rip. Imagine getting on a stage with your band not having rehearsed or seen each other in nine months. Now listen to this recording - seems relaxed - Alvin in fine vocal form throughout! The set list includes a couple of tunes from "In Tennessee" where Pete Prichard and his "big bass" shine much to Alvin's delight. And, that, is the essence of this live recording - three musicians getting together, having fun & that fun translates and emotionally touches from a September day in Raatle, Holland into this recording and finally, to us - his fans. A must have!!! Miss you, Alvin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God for this performance, November 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
It's a crying shame this guy is no longer with us. This recording just serves a testament to the fact that he never lost the fire! The song selection is fantastic and is presented in a power trio format that showcased his fretwork to the maximum. Not only could he play but his vocals are strong as ever. Rest in peace Mr. Lee---the original shredder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' Alvin!, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
This is a great testament to Alvin Lee. Great sounding recording. Alvin is at his best! Every Alvin Lee fan should own this CD. One of the all time greats. R.I.P. Alvin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great live performance, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
Alvin was in top form through the entire show. Great sound production. So sorry that we'll never enjoy his playing again. A must for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD to have., October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
This is a great live recording of one of my favorite guitarists. I hope that there are other archive recordings to follow this release. Gone too soon, Alvin will always be remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rest in Peace Alvin!, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
A sudden loss of a great guitarist, his last concert is a good disc. Lots of good new and old music updated and current sounding. It is a sad thing that we lost him, at 68 he still had a few more good years left. Please pick up this disc if just to honor a good musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ten Years After fans will not be dissapointed, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
the sound quality is pretty darn good and Alvin Lee was on fire during this perormance ..... two thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A farewell to the great Mr. Lee, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Show (Audio CD)
I have been listening to Mr. Lee - within TYA and as a soloist - since 1970. Possibly my biggest regret as a passionate fan of music is never having seen the man live in concert. I was stupified when he began to be criticized as not being a great guitarist because he was fast. As if one precludes the other. It is the same moronic thinking that likewise says Mel Gibson cannot be a good actor because he is handsome. Say what?! Anyway, Mr. Lee was an amazing player, able to stunningly rip through rock 'n roll, the blues, pop, hard rock, and occasionally a hint of C & W. Like everyone else, I was deeply saddened by his loss. So when I heard about this recording I snatched it up immediately. And then the disc sat on my shelf for man months. I could simply not make myself listen knowing it would be the last thing of his I would hear. Is it a fantastic album? No. But it is a very good one, captured on a good night with good playing. If you allow yourself, you can be captured up into the reality of this being his last concert. As the applause dies away after his encore of 'Rip It Up,' you may find yourself mentally calling out, "No, don't go yet! Just a bit more, please." Consider it one last gift from the man. Many thanks to his family for releasing this farewell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Last Show
Last Show by Alvin Lee (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.