Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex in the City of Thailand!
I couldn't believe that a video could capture the action me and my friends have been enjoying in Thailand for years, but the "Last Temptation in Thailand" was just like being there! The guy travels all over Thailand in a kind of sex odyssey and then ties it altogether with a Sex in the City kind of narrative. If you can't go to Thailand or are thinking about going, get...
Published on May 14, 2008 by Lance Calderon

versus
16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hollow Philosophy
This documentary will be of value to two types of people: men looking for shallow sophistry to justify their sex tourism and people interested in how sex tourists delude themselves. As the creator of this documentary is a happy customer of the sex trade, any semblance of unbiased presentation is lost. The creator of this documentary claims an interest in truth. It is,...
Published on April 4, 2011 by J. den Boer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex in the City of Thailand!, May 14, 2008
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
I couldn't believe that a video could capture the action me and my friends have been enjoying in Thailand for years, but the "Last Temptation in Thailand" was just like being there! The guy travels all over Thailand in a kind of sex odyssey and then ties it altogether with a Sex in the City kind of narrative. If you can't go to Thailand or are thinking about going, get this tape and see what you're missing! Absolutely the best show on Thailand I've ever seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful look at the thai experience, December 30, 2008
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
This film will not appeal to everyone. You may need at least a passing interest in the subject matter to enjoy it. I found the DVD to be an insightful and interesting look at the relationship between Thai women and Western males.
There are abundant images of Thai beauties and the vibrant nightlife, filmed mainly in Bangkok. The film goes deeper however and gives the viewer insight into the buddhist views and approach to life typical of Thais. I found these views refreshing and share much of the filmakers philosophy on life and love.
Highly recommended and thoroughly enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Temptation in Thailand, January 6, 2009
By 
ETD (Orlando, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
I thought this DVD was very good. It showed some of the cities and country side of Thailand as well as some of the adult entertainment establishments. It had several interviews with some of the girls which I found to be informative. I would recommend this DVD to anyone interested in the adult entertainment business in Thailand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all know why we go to Thailand, October 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
This flick was awesome. Lots of disease ridden thai chicks on this movie. The guy goes for religious enlightenment but, instead goes into the natural way of man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hollow Philosophy, April 4, 2011
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
This documentary will be of value to two types of people: men looking for shallow sophistry to justify their sex tourism and people interested in how sex tourists delude themselves. As the creator of this documentary is a happy customer of the sex trade, any semblance of unbiased presentation is lost. The creator of this documentary claims an interest in truth. It is, however, impossible for a paying customer to interview a prostitute and expect to hear this truth. The prostitutes consistently tell him that they prefer middle-aged to old foreigners, that they enjoy their work, and that they dislike Thai men. They are wily enough to know that these are the exact answers that he wants to hear.

The excuses he and his fellow johns deceive themselves with are pathetic. They argue, with all of the inadequacy of their collective losership, that paying a Thai prostitute directly for sex is exactly the same as paying for dinner and a movie in the West with the indirect expectation of sexual favours afterward. These consistently paunchy, pale, and/or awkward-looking men are so lost in their own sexual appetites that they forget that a date is not a transaction in hope of sexual returns, but an embarking of two people in a relationship. Paying a prostitute for sex in Thailand is exactly the same as paying a prostitute for sex in North America, only the small capital that these men have is valued far more in Thailand. He and his fellow sex tourists also seem to believe that there is something magical in their whiteness that makes them desirable to Thai women. The only magic happening here is capitalism in its most base and ugly manifestation.

But the truth is not only lost in what he chooses to present, but in what he chooses to ignore. While he waxes poetic with self-absorbed consistency on his own motivations, he passes over entirely the issues of AIDS, exploitation, and the social impact of this sex industry. He interviews fellow sex tourists, prostitutes, and two female backpackers, while remaining purposely oblivious to NGO workers, frontline health care promoters, Thai men, and regular Thai women. In fact, one section of the film seems to imply that almost all Thai women are available to western men. Take away the economic imbalance, and you will soon find that a few beautiful Thai women are no longer willing to sacrifice their dignity for the money of ugly white men.

One of the more amusing sections of the film had the documentarian dismissing backpacking tourists as yuppies. This khaki-short wearing, goateed douchebag is the epitome of whitebread middle class yuppie-ness, yet he tries to separate himself from the label. Another rather entertaining tangent is his warmed-over Buddhism. One trap that western Buddhists consistently fall into is that they make the entire philosophy about their own inner struggles, forgetting Buddhism's focus on community. Does he really believe that his cavorting around Thailand paying for sex with multiple women will have a positive effect on Thai community? It's not clear in the documentary, because it isn't something helooks into.

For all of his pretentious naval-gazing, the creator of this documentary does have a skill with words. He is a man of some intelligence and wit, but the hollow sophistry that he uses to justify his own lack of self control is telling. This is an empty shell of a man, too wrapped up in his own desires to consider the consequences of his actions.

My hope is that someday Thailand's economy will rise to such a level that desperate Thai women will not be reduced to sleeping with these men. For a much more truthful, striking documentary on Thai prostitution I would recommend "The Virgin Trade."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good video. Interesting information about Buddhism, August 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
Very entertaining video. The author obviously had a great time in Thailand. It is nice to see how he juxtaposes the Thailand experience with Buddhism. I know very little about Buddhism, so that part was very interesting to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Important Questions & Some Answers, October 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
Now some 5 years since I first viewed this video - most of those years spent in Thailand (2 years) and the Philippines (3 years) - and I consider this an excellent introduction to Asian life - and particularly the girls that travelling boys meet there.
Yes, sometimes Best goes over-the-top and indulges a little too much in slavering over the the girls' beauty. That is inevitable given their charms.
But he also raises fundamental questions that are likely to dog many travellers, and gives hints as to the answers without ever actually solving the problems.
As his friend Buddha might say: "No can solve them, you can only live them."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, December 1, 2009
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
Life the way it was supposed to be before they screwed it all up! A road trip through Thailand that every man should take before he kicks the bucket. Put this one on your bucket list before it's too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 9, 2014
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
Great insight into Thailand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, August 14, 2014
This review is from: The Last Temptation in Thailand (DVD)
it only shows interest sites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Last Temptation in Thailand
The Last Temptation in Thailand by Gary Best (DVD - 2007)
$19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.