Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Last Of The Vikings
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 27, 2008
Once again Alpha releases an all but unwatchable pan and scan transfer with poor color and a blurred image. I give it two stars because the movie itself is entertaining. When you have transfers like the Anchor Bay/Starz DVD of ERIK THE CONQUEROR, it makes you wonder why they even bother to release such an inferior product as this DVD of LAST OF THE VIKINGS. Buy it only if you want to complete your Cameron Mitchell Viking trilogy (along with ERIK THE CONQUEROR and KNIVES OF THE AVENGER...both available in gorgeous widescreen versions).
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
I give this movie 5 stars because I am a sword and sorcery and ancient history nut. I would say that the gold standard for Viking movies is probably " The Vikings" starring Kirk Douglas and Tony Curtis. Using that as a top notch Viking Movie to judge others by "The Last of the Viking's" pales by comparison. But I have recently discovered the Cameron Mitchell trilogy and love Them. But I love it for what it is Good B-rate movie entertainment, meant mostly for those like myself that must have all things sword and sorcery or historical action oriented ei. lots of violence and sword play with a descent story line. If your looking for a big budget block buster you will not find it here. What you will find is a hour or so of fun escapist fantasy to fill your time on some crappie winters day or stormy summer afternoon. If purchased for the right price you might want too give it a go. If your wanting another 50's 60's epic film with big name stars and glorious cinematography with hundreds of extras all in Technicolor then stay away. If your looking to bulk up your sword and sandal collection and can excuse some over acting and a low budget by all means pick it up. At the price I got this DVD it was worth the cover art alone. Beware the transfer is sad but watchable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2009
Closely follows the story of the late 1950's Kirk Douglas movie "The Vikings". Looks like it was recorded with a 1st generation camcorder from my grandma's 12" basement TV. Fun to collect for us "must have all things viking" fans, but this story was done profoundly better by the Kirk Douglas film's superior sets and Norwegian cinematography. };>{>The Vikings
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2012
I have to agree with the other reviews on poor quality of this Alpha Video reproduction. Very fuzzy picture, hardly any clarity. Voice dubbing distracting. Would have preferred having option of watching in Italian with English subtitles. No options for viewing it that way. Transfer was made in zoom mode, i.e. Images are cut off on edge of screen so heads are sometimes out of picture edge on tight close up shots. Was hard to watch and I really wanted to see this film. Does anyone know if version of this film in Warriors 50 Movie pack is any better? The 50 movie pack was put out by Mill Creek Entertainment.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Production values = awful. Lousy acting, even the cliches are cliche. British captain sees Vikings and calmly enunciates "They are Vikings, m'Lord"... almost in slow motion. The crew calmly walk to their battle stations, the captain calmly enunciates "prepare for battle"... "pre PAY ure for BAT tel." Um... nobody seems afraid of Vikings, or maybe the actors were hungry and it was almost time for their lunch break. This is as far as I made it into the film.
STREAMING: an unknown amount of the film was cropped away. The film is streamed in 4:3 aspect. The colors were terrible, the audio was ridiculous. Ugh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
The original wide screen is cropped and the action scenes have more pulled punches then saltwater taffy.

The audio is terribly muffled, the video blurry (like watching a bad video in a fog), but nothing can hide one of the most remarkable, over the top, performances that one man has ever put to celluloid.

The poster child for chewing up the scenery must go to Edmond Perdom in the role of bad King Sveno

His outlandish, spineless, sadistic, prissy, mincing, snarling, highly stylized performance is more suited to a cross between Caligula and Richard the III projecting to the nose bleed seats in the Yankee Stadium. Its a Richard the III swagger with a Lady Macbeth had rub accompaniment. Or maybe its ancient silent film villain acting. Did Edmond not get the message that sound had been added to film by the time this was made? Curious. .

As I watched, I kept trying to figure out who this character reminded me of? it suddenly hit me. Rowan Atkinson!!! Could Edmond's performance and appearance be the source point for many of Rowan's characterizations. See for yourself.

Five powerful stars for Edmond Purdom's very unusual and absolutely entertaining performance minus 3 ordinary stars for the everything else thats wrong with the film, equals 4 stars.

The movie is free on Amazon Prime Video.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
This film is typical of the days when characters were black-and-white bad or good, and very little research was done to authenticate the characters and motifs. Other than that, it's well-acted and well-dubbed, and worth an evening when you want to turn off the mindless garbage offered by the TV channels.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
Swords,good guys, bad guys and beautiful women or young girls, I should say. All the things it takes to make a family type movie, you can just sit back and enjoy. Don,t forget wonderful viking ships, loved the way they were made.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
I love this sort of movie, but it's not for everyone. High drama and beautiful vistas lots of rowing around the north sea, scary fogs and dragon ships.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
Not much plot. Not much action. Not much of a movie. I wonder why I watched it to the end.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.