Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Greatest, But great fun!
I give this movie 5 stars because I am a sword and sorcery and ancient history nut. I would say that the gold standard for Viking movies is probably " The Vikings" starring Kirk Douglas and Tony Curtis. Using that as a top notch Viking Movie to judge others by "The Last of the Viking's" pales by comparison. But I have recently discovered the Cameron Mitchell trilogy and...
Published 16 months ago by Leo Hott

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another lamentable Alpha transfer
Once again Alpha releases an all but unwatchable pan and scan transfer with poor color and a blurred image. I give it two stars because the movie itself is entertaining. When you have transfers like the Anchor Bay/Starz DVD of ERIK THE CONQUEROR, it makes you wonder why they even bother to release such an inferior product as this DVD of LAST OF THE VIKINGS. Buy it only if...
Published on January 27, 2008 by Gary A. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another lamentable Alpha transfer, January 27, 2008
By 
Gary A. Smith (Palm Springs, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last Of The Vikings (DVD)
Once again Alpha releases an all but unwatchable pan and scan transfer with poor color and a blurred image. I give it two stars because the movie itself is entertaining. When you have transfers like the Anchor Bay/Starz DVD of ERIK THE CONQUEROR, it makes you wonder why they even bother to release such an inferior product as this DVD of LAST OF THE VIKINGS. Buy it only if you want to complete your Cameron Mitchell Viking trilogy (along with ERIK THE CONQUEROR and KNIVES OF THE AVENGER...both available in gorgeous widescreen versions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like watching on a 1963 TV with a bad rabbit-ear antenna, May 31, 2009
By 
grim norseman (Minnesota Norse, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Of The Vikings (DVD)
Closely follows the story of the late 1950's Kirk Douglas movie "The Vikings". Looks like it was recorded with a 1st generation camcorder from my grandma's 12" basement TV. Fun to collect for us "must have all things viking" fans, but this story was done profoundly better by the Kirk Douglas film's superior sets and Norwegian cinematography. };>{>The Vikings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Last of the Vikings DVD, April 28, 2012
By 
Diane B. Holcomb (Davis, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Of The Vikings (DVD)
I have to agree with the other reviews on poor quality of this Alpha Video reproduction. Very fuzzy picture, hardly any clarity. Voice dubbing distracting. Would have preferred having option of watching in Italian with English subtitles. No options for viewing it that way. Transfer was made in zoom mode, i.e. Images are cut off on edge of screen so heads are sometimes out of picture edge on tight close up shots. Was hard to watch and I really wanted to see this film. Does anyone know if version of this film in Warriors 50 Movie pack is any better? The 50 movie pack was put out by Mill Creek Entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Greatest, But great fun!, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Last Of The Vikings (DVD)
I give this movie 5 stars because I am a sword and sorcery and ancient history nut. I would say that the gold standard for Viking movies is probably " The Vikings" starring Kirk Douglas and Tony Curtis. Using that as a top notch Viking Movie to judge others by "The Last of the Viking's" pales by comparison. But I have recently discovered the Cameron Mitchell trilogy and love Them. But I love it for what it is Good B-rate movie entertainment, meant mostly for those like myself that must have all things sword and sorcery or historical action oriented ei. lots of violence and sword play with a descent story line. If your looking for a big budget block buster you will not find it here. What you will find is a hour or so of fun escapist fantasy to fill your time on some crappie winters day or stormy summer afternoon. If purchased for the right price you might want too give it a go. If your wanting another 50's 60's epic film with big name stars and glorious cinematography with hundreds of extras all in Technicolor then stay away. If your looking to bulk up your sword and sandal collection and can excuse some over acting and a low budget by all means pick it up. At the price I got this DVD it was worth the cover art alone. Beware the transfer is sad but watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where the brave may live forever, March 28, 2014
I love this sort of movie, but it's not for everyone. High drama and beautiful vistas lots of rowing around the north sea, scary fogs and dragon ships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Movie A Good Show, February 20, 2014
Swords,good guys, bad guys and beautiful women or young girls, I should say. All the things it takes to make a family type movie, you can just sit back and enjoy. Don,t forget wonderful viking ships, loved the way they were made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not worth the time, January 19, 2014
There is no story. Watched only 4 episodes of parts of the film and it got nowhere . There is nothing here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars very long hour and a half, January 8, 2014
Not much plot. Not much action. Not much of a movie. I wonder why I watched it to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Standard old-school fare., September 14, 2013
By 
Raven (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This film is typical of the days when characters were black-and-white bad or good, and very little research was done to authenticate the characters and motifs. Other than that, it's well-acted and well-dubbed, and worth an evening when you want to turn off the mindless garbage offered by the TV channels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Northmen, August 27, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Pittsburgh, PA, US) - See all my reviews
I would like to say it is riveting but I fell asleep during it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Last Of The Vikings
Last Of The Vikings by Giacomo Gentilomo (DVD - 2008)
$9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.