Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The History like you never thought
This is a really an amazing story. The filmmakers made an excellent research work to bring us this story.
The editing of this documentary really will not let off your eyes of the screen. I am sure there is a lot similar stories like this one and they just waiting to be revealed, till then, you must watch this movie.
Published on July 20, 2009 by MikeJonez

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but could have been a lot better!
I watched this video a couple of times before I made another trip to Germany. Kind of on a whim I stopped by Herr Misch's house in Berlin to see if I could meet with him. His housekeeper (the same lady in the film) let me in and we had lunch and chatted about all kinds of stuff. I mentioned that I had seen this video and Herr MIsch laughed and commented that he thought it...
Published 17 months ago by Peter Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but could have been a lot better!, August 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (DVD)
I watched this video a couple of times before I made another trip to Germany. Kind of on a whim I stopped by Herr Misch's house in Berlin to see if I could meet with him. His housekeeper (the same lady in the film) let me in and we had lunch and chatted about all kinds of stuff. I mentioned that I had seen this video and Herr MIsch laughed and commented that he thought it turned out to be a "stupid comedy".

It was a fascinating conversation and I was sorely disappointed with how much interesting stuff was just completely left out of the video in lieu of family drama, etc. The stories that I heard were so much more interesting than the ones on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whew! Pay attention and be prepared to squirm, May 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Amazon Instant Video)
An odd little film: Inside the home and the mind of an old man who was a body guard to Hitler. Living literally with his memories he has forged an identity for himself out of the ruins of his life. Through the interviews with the daughter and the housekeeper with a person off screen, one expects the first to thoughtfully, just as one expects the second to casually drop a bomb shell, and they do, but not in the manner one expected. Requires some thought, and there's no happy ending. Might merit 2nd viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The last survivor from the Berlin Bunker..., April 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (DVD)
The film (DVD) follows Rochus Misch, the last living survivor (witness) as to Hitler and the final days in the Führerbunker in Berlin (1945). Given the fact Misch was born in 1917, he still has a sound mind and gets around pretty well. The film shows his modest home in Berlin where he has lived these many years. His devoted housekeeper is interviewed and she gives her views on Misch and Hitler. She tells how there is a disconnect between what she learned in school and the stories Misch has told her.

The best part of the film is when Misch is going through his old wartime photos and tells anecdotal stories about the people and places shown. There was not enough time spent on that in the film. The filmmakers spent a lot of time interviewing Misch's adult daughter and showing how she views things differently from her father. I will say it is of some interest to show the family dynamitics in relation to Germany's past, but again, I would have liked to hear more as to Misch's interactions with Hitler and "the inner circle". In the end, the World War II buff and student of German history will find the film interesting, keeping in mind the caveat mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You Can Just Skip This Disgraceful Little Film . . ., September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Amazon Instant Video)
TO be quite blunt, if the I.Q. of the German people is represented by the subjects of this documentary, it is no wonder they followed a deceptive monster like Adolf Hitler into World War 2. We have Hitler's absolutely clueless, dopey telephonist who obviously is living in the past "glory days" (which weren't so glorious for others, one must remember, since apparently this gentleman thinks Hitler was the Germanic equivalent of Andy Griffith). Then we have his non-stop muttering fool of a housekeeper who goes on and on about how Auschwitz must be a made-up history - things can't have been so bad, and she for one believes her employer, the "witness" (holocaust witnesses be damned, I suppose) to how nice a man Mr. Hitler truly was. The telephonist's daughter does not exactly come across as likeable after she brags that she has some very distant Jewish relative on her mother's side (but we hear nothing of any suffering that took place in their family; only some story about giving hidden Jews some vegetables), and she uses her Jewish card to be even bolder about NOT designating historical synagogue sites as being worthy of preservation because "they just look like laundry rooms" when the Christian Germans would hesitate to say something so awful. A horrible, squirm-worthy, weird little film I wish I had never watched, because if the rest of the German people are anything like these characters, within a generation or two the lessons of WW2 will have all been twisted and lost as an apparent exaggeration. Sad, sad state of things in Germany.

As far as history goes, nothing new is added of any interest, except that Eva Braun kept bunnies, and once a dog broke into the pen, and Hitler stated he would be interested to see what came of it. Yes, Hitler would be interested in something like that, wouldn't he? Any student of WW2 would have heard this man's testimony before in other accounts - maybe about 5 minutes worth of interesting stuff.

After watching this film, one feels the need to state the truth. The truth is this, folks. The holocaust happened. It was real. Hitler was not a nice guy. Germany, you were not lied to. He was an evil dictator, you all participated blindly and ignored his blatant hatred and blame of Jews for selfish reasons - it's not like he was sneaky - it was all written out for you in Mein Kampf (which, by the way, only gets 3 stars on Goodreads. So there.). If you had a low I.Q. and were low on the totem pole and easily fooled, Hitler might have been a "good boss" like he was to this numbskull. I hope to God this man doesn't outlive the real ones worthy of the title of "Last Witness" - those who somehow survived the Concentration Camps and have suffered the rest of their lives to speak real lessons from history to the rest of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hitlers TELEPHONE operator~ still alive~ 3 STARS~ Good~, July 26, 2013
By 
Molly "Wazoo Books" (Goshen, IN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Amazon Instant Video)
PLOT: one of the last Nazis alive from Hitler's Bunker Talks~

a former Nazi ~ one of Hitler's "telephone" operators~ is still alive and a Tel Aviv TV group film him for interviews. This is a DOCUMENTARY. The gentleman in the film is in his 90s and very alert and intelligent and (articulate). He has a treasure trove of photos from both Hitler and Ava Braun and the Hitler inner circle. HIS story is good but he "loves" the attention and it shows. He comes across as a very likeable man who has a bit of history to share. He does enlightening details about the LAST hours in the BUNKER for Hitler and Braun and even Goebbels and his family. He has become a local "celebrity" of a sorts. His daughter is also interviewed and she speaks very good English. She was born in the 1940's. Her Father was in prison for years and she clearly picked up anti Nazi feelings from her Family and EDUCATION. She is not closed to her father and she speaks out about it. THE HOUSEKEEPER is the third person interviewed and we see her busy "cleaning" what is amazing is her ATTITUDE that history is wrong and the EX NAZI is right about the killing of the Jews. This is both SAD and interesting. This is told mostly in German with excellent subtitles. I would recommend it as a CHARACTER STUDY on history. I give it 3 out of 5 for both interesting people and attitudes to the "same subject". worth wataching ONCE~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The History like you never thought, July 20, 2009
This review is from: The Last Witness (DVD)
This is a really an amazing story. The filmmakers made an excellent research work to bring us this story.
The editing of this documentary really will not let off your eyes of the screen. I am sure there is a lot similar stories like this one and they just waiting to be revealed, till then, you must watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review on The Last Witness., December 18, 2013
By 
CATHY (ALLENHURST, GA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (DVD)
It was a fascinating piece. I gained alot of knowledge and I recomend it to anyone who studies the Holocaust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last hours of Hiltler's life revealed, July 15, 2009
This review is from: The Last Witness (DVD)
This is an amazing story of the man who lived in Hitler's court, working as his telephone operator and bodyguard, tells a Jewish woman from Israel about the final years of Hitler's life, about his last hours. Thrilling untold story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight into the alternate side of Adolf Hitler., July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Amazon Instant Video)
This man is the Last person alive on Earth to have served close to Hitler as his personal bodyguard and assistant. He clearly describes the other side of Hitler, which at the least helps to put Hitler in the realm of a human being. It is interesting to hear accounts of how Hitler's private and personal side was rather polite and kind, but how his other side was that of cruel Monster. This Man never got to see first hand the Evil cruel side of Hitler, therefore he can only speak of what his experience was. It was just his post as a personal aid to Hitler and he was not given inside info about Hitler's master plan. In his mind he may have questioned the integrity of things, but his job was not to ask questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable first hand insight into Hitler's personal world by a ..., August 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Witness (Amazon Instant Video)
Remarkable first hand insight into Hitler's personal world by a man who was there day in and day out. The hundreds of candid pictures taken by this subordinate give and interesting account of the private life of Hitler and his cronies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Last Witness
The Last Witness by A Pygmalion Digital release
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.