Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An effective overview of MGMT's roots and contemporaries
Late Nite Tales presents roughly 20 tracks designed to showcase MGMT's various influences. True to the group's second album (Congratulations) this collection is a relatively subdued affair, featuring mostly lo-fi, slow-tempo songs. The beauty of this collection is how well these selections fit together, creating a very cohesive whole.

Standout tracks include:...
Published on October 16, 2011 by A. Webster

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too trippy for me
I picked up this CD because I love the series and I like MGMT. I think the best part about Late Night Tales is that you get to hear music you might otherwise have never been exposed to. For me though, that music just isn't that good this time around. You can certainly hear how MGMT has been influences by these bands, but I think it leans toward the side of "weird" and...
Published on October 11, 2011 by Narda Quigley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An effective overview of MGMT's roots and contemporaries, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Audio CD)
Late Nite Tales presents roughly 20 tracks designed to showcase MGMT's various influences. True to the group's second album (Congratulations) this collection is a relatively subdued affair, featuring mostly lo-fi, slow-tempo songs. The beauty of this collection is how well these selections fit together, creating a very cohesive whole.

Standout tracks include: "Cheree" by Suicide, "For Belgian Friends" by The Durutti Column, "Lord Can You Hear Me?" by Spaceman 3, and of course, MGMT's cover of "All We Ever Wanted Was Everything."

As a fair warning, this album may not work for those seeking equivalents to "Kids" or "Electric Feel," who may do better to investigate Neon Indian's latest album Era Extrana instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inside Look at What Makes MGMT Tick, February 3, 2014
By 
Kirk A. Gauthier (Dundalk MD U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Vinyl)
It is often very difficult to pinpoint the influences of a band when listening to their music. While some bands wear their influences on their sleeves, others tend to be inspired by their favorite artists while crafting a sound that is completely out of this world. MGMT is very much the latter, something of a new age psychedelic romp in electronic music. It's a bit like dancing through a field of synthesizers while tripping on acid...or so I imagine.

Late Night Tales is a very unique music collections series. Established in 2001, Late Night Tales invites the world's best artists to delve deep into their music collections to create the ultimate "late night" selection. The series features expertly curated mixes by MGMT, Friendly Fires, the Flaming Lips, Metronomy, Groove Armada, the Cinematic Orchestra, Four Tet, Belle & Sebastian, Jamiroquai, Midlake, Arctic Monkeys, and more top artists. Each offering includes an exclusive cover version by the artist and a spoken word story narrated by the likes of Benedict Cumberbatch, Will Self, Bootsy Collins, Brian Blessed, and Patrick Moore. In other words, Late Night Tales is music and stories worth staying up for. More to the point, Late Night Tales is an in-depth look at the artists that have influenced and inspired the music of MGMT.

The vinyl edition provides a slightly altered version of the CD/digital editions, dropping two of the tracks and altering the sequencing in order to fill up both sides of the two 180 gram vinyl records without spilling over onto a third LP. However, a bonus copy of the CD as well as the liner notes are included to provide the full experience. Whether you're at home listening on your turntable, your CD player, or your MP3 player, MGMT's ultimate late night playlist is there fore you to enjoy. Some of my personal favorites from this compilation are Disco Inferno's "Can't See Through It," Suicide's "Cheree," the Velvet Underground's "Ocean," Felt's "Red Indians," Julian Cope's "Laughing Boy," the Durutti Column's "For Belgian Friends," Charlie Feathers's "Mound Of Clay," Martin Rev's "Sparks," Spaceman 3's "Lord Can You Hear Me?", Paulina Anna Storm's "Morning Splendor," and, of course, MGMT's cover of the Bauhaus's "All We Ever Wanted Was Everything."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly "Late Night Tales", April 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very good for chillaxing with acoustic and downtempo tracks. little bit of mixing and effects thrown in on some of the tracks, but it doesn't detract from the overall flow of the mix. good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New to the series., December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Audio CD)
I love MGMT, and was looking for some quiet songs to listen to while writing. This is a good deal (2 CDs for the price of 1). You definitely won't find any workout material here, but this is a great moody listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Audio CD)
perfect condition, shipped earlier than expected. Amazing diverse album, i recommend this to anyone with ears and a passion for music. Plus MGMT's cover of the Bauhaus song is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, trippy collection of songs, July 9, 2012
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Vinyl)
I hadn't heard any of these songs before listening to this album. They range from haunting and beautiful to creepy and freaky. Also of importance and enjoyment is hearing these songs gives one a better understanding of MGMT. I hope these songs provide a blueprint for what we can expect from these fellas on the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MGMT are music Gods in my opnion, May 17, 2012
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Audio CD)
This collection consist of 20 songs of MGMT's favorite bands,which includes artists such as Suicide (a huge influence on MGMT and how they make their music), Felt etc.. MGMT have not disappoint me and lived up to their legendary name. They are Gods to me because they dare to try new things and explore which in turn makes beautiful music. Long live MGMT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too trippy for me, October 11, 2011
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Audio CD)
I picked up this CD because I love the series and I like MGMT. I think the best part about Late Night Tales is that you get to hear music you might otherwise have never been exposed to. For me though, that music just isn't that good this time around. You can certainly hear how MGMT has been influences by these bands, but I think it leans toward the side of "weird" and "tripped out" a bit much. If you're into that though, this might just be the album you're looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Tales MGMT, March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Audio CD)
My shipment came in fairly quickly. I am really enjoying my cd. The item was new as the posting for its sale statwd :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this cd is perfect, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales (Audio CD)
omg i dont even know what i would do without this cd its so perfect like wow i love it so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Late Night Tales
Late Night Tales by MGMT (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.