Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing May4th

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$62.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 8, 2008
Exactly the book you want if you're going to use lattice. And if you're serious about graphics in R you want to be using either lattice or ggplot2. I've been very pleased with the book and have tabbed quite a few pages for quick reference.

As a side note, lattice is like R's base graphics on steroids. After having this book for a while, I decided to investigate ggplot2, the other major R graphics package, and I think I'll stick with ggplot2. It has a totally different philosophy from lattice (and thus base graphics) which allows for an incredible flexibility without resorting to tinkering with the engine (i.e. lattice's panel functions). ggplot2 has a draft PDF manual online and a nice reference website.

I ultimately chose ggplot2, but I still give this lattice book high marks and will keep it nearby for if I have to work with lattice. With its status as a recommended R package, lattice is more widespread and several packages now use it as their graphics foundation.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2008
Deepayan Sarkar won a prize for programming Lattice. He deserves another for writing this book. The usual style of help files in R (including Lattice) is terse; this is a deliberate choice by the developers. Presumably, a lot of people like this terseness - but I am not one of them, and there are many others I know of who share my confusion at some of the help files.

Now, there's a whole book on Lattice, and it's written in an accessible style that will let me use Lattice much more creatively and with many fewer errors.

I think even experts on Lattice may find new things here; but for newcomers to Lattice, it's an indispensable guide.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2008
I learned far more from a few hours of reading this book than I did from countless hours tinkering with Lattice graphs. I would recommend it without hesitation to any novice or intermediate user of R.

Furthermore, while both are helpful, this book is probably a better first purchase than R Graphics (Computer Science and Data Analysis).
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2008
I share the views of the previous reviewers: this book is great. I have been using R for several years now, and found the help pages for Lattice much too terse to really grasp the potential of the system. This books is loaded with examples, ranging from easy to quite involved, and the explanations given are clear and to the point.

A book like this deserved a production effort from Springer, and about three times as many color plates as it has, but even as it is seems to me quite good.

Aside from the description of the Lattice package, that Deepayan Sarkar obviously knows as only its designer can, there is a wealth of comments on graphics design and pointers to the classics of the subject --Tufte, Cleveland, etc.

A book not to miss by any seriously interested in statistical graphics, or indeed by anyone willing to add a powerful tool to his/her graphics toolbox. May I only add that those willing to make a further investment of time to obtain the most of this book, might consider Murrell's "R Graphics" (Chapman & Hall), also a masterpiece of expository writing, discussing (in its chapter 4) Lattice graphics within the context of grid ---grid being the underlying graphics model on which Lattice is built.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2011
Lattice is easily my favorite graphing package in R, and this book makes it pretty easy to use.
It's a great supplement to some tutorials available online (as well as the R forums).
It is not comprehensive, and leaves a few issues unaddressed. But it is well written and easy to follow, enough so that even beginning users will have an easy time creating some very effective graphs.

UPDATE: Although Lattice is still a great package, and this book is one of the best ways to learn how to use it, I know use ggplot2 almost exclusively for my graphing purposes. Hadley Whickam's book is also very helpful, so I recommend checking that out. ggplot2: Elegant Graphics for Data Analysis (Use R!)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2008
It is hard to imagine a software book that beats this one. Sarkar has shown huge technical skill
in his development of the lattice package for R, and in this book he spells out how anyone with
the time and inclination can become proficient in using the package creatively. This book is
simply superb: well organized, comprehensive, and refined, with attention to the details of
coding that seem often to anticipate every question that the user is likely to have. If you care
about visualization and graphics, and use R, then you cannot go wrong in acquiring this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
This book is essentially the definitive user guide to the lattice graphics framework. And given that lattice is one of the most powerful ways of producting R-based visualizations, it gets wide use. On my team, everybody has their own copy, and refers to it weekly, if not more frequently. It provides a great intro to the library, its philosophy, and how to use it and extend it.

Where the book falls down is in supporting people beyond the initial learning phase. There is a lot of attention on the intro details, but later when somebody wants to merge multiple plots using trellis c() or create arbitrarily complex levelplots with unusual dendrograms.... All those special use-cases aren't present, and some guidance into the internals and the ways of tweaking it accomplish sophisticated tasks are missing. Once you get past "creating your own panel functions", the book stops, and leaves advanced audiences posting to R-help hoping for an answer (or mining the source-code itself).

So lattice = awesome, and this book is the best intro to it, but eventually you will find yourself wanting more, and being unable to find it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
I switched from Lattice to ggplot and base R; however, there are still some visualization situations where lattice is the tool of choice. Very well written
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
Brilliant. If you want to learn how to make useful plots for scientific publication, this is it. The Lattice package for R is fast, efficient, and free and gives you unlimited flexibility and control in how your plots are displayed. The flip side is a relatively steep learning curve. This book makes the whole process manageable and accessible to the dedicated reader. Plenty of fully-document examples with code are provided to make this an entertaining and interactive learning experience. The book is well laid out and has nicely produced color examples. If you are committed to making better scientific graphs, this is well worth your time. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.