Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy Classic
All right, people--I'll be the first to admit Dice is no comic genius. He had a good two-year run, made a feature film (Ford Fairlane) that tanked, p.o.ed a lot of people in the process, and you know what? He's still out there doing it!
The media circus has died down, and while most Diceheads got their kicks from his first album (simply titled "DICE") and the video...
Published on July 7, 2003 by Greekfreak

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny in quite a few places, but not in others.
Dice in his early days shows himself as being chovenistic, and not care about feelings of others. He basically says that women should be barefoot and in the kitchen (not really but it's the general idea) and if I had seen a guy like Dice come in trying to sweet talk my mother during the funeral for my father (who passed away this past May), I would've gotten a baseball...
Published on October 4, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy Classic, July 7, 2003
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
All right, people--I'll be the first to admit Dice is no comic genius. He had a good two-year run, made a feature film (Ford Fairlane) that tanked, p.o.ed a lot of people in the process, and you know what? He's still out there doing it!
The media circus has died down, and while most Diceheads got their kicks from his first album (simply titled "DICE") and the video that came with it ("The Diceman Cometh"), this two-CD tour de force came, saw, conquered, and it'll be back in an hour--get it?
With almost two hours to kill, from start to finish, Dice takes his time with the show, and organically spouts jokes that end up being riotous. By the end, the whole crowd realizes they've been part of something timeless, and 14 years later, this album is still funny as hell.
His act might have gotten stale, but this is THE quintessential Dice album to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all-time greatest Comedy Albums, March 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
Dice, taken selectively, can be brilliant, and he never gets (or got) any better than on this double album. It's up there with Sam Kinison's "Have You Seen Me Lately?" and Richard Pryor's "Is it Something I Said?" for sheer audacity and talent. Later on when dice would pander to the 'rhyme' contingent the material became sloppy--this never gets old, it just ages like wine. I can't recommend any bits in particular, because it's all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Yeah I got a b___ j__.! It's a grocery store!", November 24, 2003
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
This album is untouchable. The material on this album will never get old. Everything on this is classic, from his delivery to the material, to the setting to the people walking out to the people laughing. Make no mistake, this is a comedy album, but you have to get it, and let yourself go. I didn't enjoy it too much the first time I heard it.. and then there was the second time. Best comedy album I've listened to so far in my life, and I've listeded to many. My only wish is that I could have been there myself. This is THE comedy album and THE Dice album. I've listened, to Carlin, Pryor, Hicks, Kinison and the younger comedians out there, and I want to see them attempt to put on a show like THIS. Andrew Dice Clay isn't funny all the time on his albums, but when he's on, he's the best in the bizz. Best delivery I've ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dice's Best!!!, November 23, 2010
By 
MozartFX (Bristol, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This is the best comedy album ever made. Period. I've heard em' all: Pryor, Winters, Allen, Newhart, Martin, Murphy etc. This is it. Classic. It's the Physical Graffiti of comedy albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best improv comedy Cd's ever, April 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
He may be too dirty to some people, but if you can see the humor in it, he is one of the best there is. He has an incredible talent for improvisation and is very, very funny. People should give the guy the credit he deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't party with the big boys? Don't show up!, April 10, 2000
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
You can listen to it in an hour, back! Get it?This album will like send a chill down your spine. This is the absolute vintage, top-o-da-world-ma Dice. "Milk and Shampoo," "Women Comics," "great dane in the park." "Eric Roberts! Is he in the room?" All of them excellent bits. And remember - no lies in this act. Everything he says is true!
I'm telling ya - don't be a dunce - get this album. It was recorded at Dangerfield's (cool freakin' club, right?). You will die of laughter when hearing this album. Go ahead - it's ok to laugh - it's only a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chocked Full of Entertaining Lines, November 28, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
This album is one of the greatest recorded routines of all time. This even ranks with the greats of Eddie Murphy, Richard Pryor and Sam Kinison. This is a must buy for any who like "Explicit" comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yo! Dice, Send it out to Sheepshead Bay!, September 20, 2000
By 
yosunnyjoe (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
This has to be the funniest Andrew Dice Clay available. Primarily known for his filthy rhymes, on this Cd he says "No Rhymes"! You don't get them either. What you get is a small crowd at Dangerfields Comedy Club who hardly knew who he was Christmas of 1989. While some knew what to expect, most were shocked or insulted and some walked out. This Cd also has his most intelligent sarcasim and he pauses often to make you feel the punchline. A real treat to many fellow New Yokers but no matter where your from or who you are, this material holds up to some of the best anywhere. Some see Dice as the dirtiest comic of our time and maybe it's true but his sense of humor on this Cd is intuitive of one of the best comedians ever. If your a fan of Dice Clay and haven't heard this Cd from front to finish it's like loving the Yankees and never seeing them win a World Series. Many jokes are improvised and based on his traditional audience. Dice is at his funniest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Dice, what did you expect?, March 1, 2001
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
Look, after listening to him for the last 10 years, it hasn't gotten any better. He really isn't funny, and that is what's so funny. His albums after 40 Too Long, aren't that good. Filth is an experience, and worth the cash if you can find it, but if not, get this because it is probably the pinnace of his career. Looking at the material on this album, I can legitimately say it is great, and in terms of sheer class, this album tops the rest. His one on one interactions with people here are the best, especially with the guy and his two daughters. I think that is one of the best segments on any of his albums. Well, if you only have to buy one Dice album ever, this is it. If you don't know what you are getting into with Dice, well, you're going to get a treat. If you know him well, then good luck. This wasn't much of a review, but it is Dice, and as far as I am concerned that is all that is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dice!!!, May 17, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Day the Laughter Died (Audio CD)
Okay folks. This is, without question, Andrew's best performance. What makes this album a classic is that it takes place in a quaint New York comedy club during the 1989 Christmas season. No one in the audience knew who was performing this classic night. The audience was very small and did not know what to expect. What makes this album truly amazing is that Andrew improvises the entire album. Some of his comedy are hits and some of them are misses. For example, his catfish routine is a complete miss with the audience, but they laugh so hard because they know he realizes it was a miss. And then the classic, HOUR BACK routine that does not end. This was the life of the album and the crowd just accepted him with full arms at this point. I swear I have never laughed so hard. Check it out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Day the Laughter Died
The Day the Laughter Died by Andrew Dice Clay (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.