Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nelson and Tomas are trailblazing for many of us
I have been very blessed by reading the principles in this book. I have planted a church in New York, and it is not easy. However, Nelson has done it, and is doing it as he writes. Although I dont personally agree with all of there philosophy of ministry, i do think that the benefits of this book far outweigh the loss of not reading it. after reading this book and meeting...
Published on March 5, 2007 by I Read Freely

versus
53 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Practical, but broadbushing!
I like this book, but I have issues with it as well. I like the fact that they are more practical than theoretical. That said, I find it a bit too broad bushing. They imply that if someone plants a church and doesn't follow their advice, then that person is going down the wrong path or cannot succeed. I think they have great ideas, but I have no doubt that God can use...
Published on February 18, 2007 by S. Doyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unclear in Marketing, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
I didn't understand that it was NOT necessary to order a copy of the book for every person who was involved with just one launch. So I ended up with 10 extra copies that just sit on a shelf...would like to just return them for a refund..? Another thing the book never address someone who is not connected to a denomination or is actually starting a church from scratch without church connections of a denomination. Having started a number of churches over the past 40 years...some in relationship with a denomination and some completely independent with no connection...I found nothing, no information of help about the process of filing for a non profit church status. Fortunately, I had done it before but the book is written with a lot of assumptions.

There were some good ideas but very little was really applicable to really "doing it!" without the financial support of some churches or individuals. Faith also has to have some responsibilities and "not everybody" should be encouraged to max out their credit cards along with a few potential staffers to start a church. Finding a Music / a good Christian Guitar Player sometimes isn't as easy as the book states. If you are in a huge Church like Saddleback etc. or any significant church it is a starting point. But there are a lot of things that would need to be addressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Ideas, But Not Enough Stories, May 29, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
While there were numerous good ideas in this book, I would have enjoyed it more and gotten more out of it if they had shared more specifics from their journey as well as stories from other churches. Making the book a little longer by filling it out would have been helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, Must-Read Church Planting Book!, January 17, 2007
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
This book is a must read for anyone starting a church or praying about it! You won't find a more practical, step-by-step guide on how to successfully launch a new church than Launch by Nelson Searcy and Kerrick Thomas. Every year the vast majority of church plants fail - not from a lack of faith or heart, but from a lack of strategy - a plan to go from where you are to where God wants you to be. This book shares with you not just stories, but a detailed, comprehensive strategy for starting churches that has been tested, and proven, in arguably one of the hardest American cities to start a church - New York City. But these strategies are not specific to NYC or the northeast - Nelson and Kerrick have already shared these strategies with church planters all over the country, both rural, suburban, and urban, and they have continued to work exceptionally well. Having formerly worked with Nelson and Kerrick and seen this strategy implemented firsthand, I can personally testify that you owe it to the unchurched in your area to read this book when starting a church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must Read" for Any Person, Team or Church Praying about or Preparing to "Plant" a New Church, February 13, 2007
By 
Robert Hager (Kendall County, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
I am in the midst of "launching" a church here in Kendall County, IL--- during the past year and half I have read dozens of books, attended several seminars and listened to a plethora of podcasts that dealt with various philosophies and paradigms within the ever growing church "planting" movement. Nelson Searcy and Kerrick Thomas provide what I consider to be one of the most practical explanations of the relatively new "Launch" approach to church planting. Ron Sylvia's "Planting Churches on Purpose" (formerly "Starting High Definition Churches") was the first book to lay out this innovative concept. Ron's book presents the premise, practical layout out and passion for the "Launch" paradigm. Nelson and Kerrick build on these and flesh out the "nuts and bolts" of planting in additional detail. Read both books if you want to get a real grasp on the heart, soul and practical side of this approach to starting new churches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic, But a Good Formula, March 13, 2007
By 
Scott Ott (McKinney, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
Launch delivers what it promises -- a clear, reliable guide to planting new churches. It follows a particular model, with which some may find fault, but it serves as a good primer for executing that model. Adequate attention is directed at the role of Christ in the establishing of his church, though one may still bristle at the formulaic approach.

The open question here is the same as in Rick Warren's "Purpose Driven Church": Can description (of what happened) really translate into prescription (of what you should do)?

You'll never know until you actually try to plant a church this way. And even if that effort should fail, it's hard to diagnose the cause of failure. Perhaps that's why such "how to" books are great. They can never be disproved by failure, only affirmed by success. If the new church soars, the author's share credit. If it flops, the planter gets the blame alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Ideas Inside, August 23, 2009
By 
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
Nelson Searcy was the guy behind The 40 Days of Purpose campaigns for Rick Warren's church in Saddleback. He left that job to start a church in New York city. Following his successes at planting numerous churches, including the one in New York, he decided to write this book: Launch.

Searcy has written other books that I want to get my hands on; including one on moving first-time guests to servers in the church. This seems to be a crisis for many Christian churches in America. The lazy-do-everything-for-me attitude has finally taken control.

Launch is more a how-to book for church planters. You will find correct ideas on how to properly set up and build a brand new church.

Seeing as my church is moving through the process of changing its name, I found some good ideas within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Valuable, September 7, 2009
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
Nelson and Kerrick have provided more valuable information than you can imagine in Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch! This is a must read for every church planter prior to starting their new church if they plan for their church to be successful. Nelson and Kerrick give you a step-by-step "how to" with more detail than you can imagine. Launch is also helpful for pastors who need to know how to turn things around and move their church back into the right direction and purpose. Established church or new church plant...either way Launch is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great For Beginners in Planting A Church!, March 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
This book was a "God Send"! I searched for a book that would explain how to plant a church in a simple format. This was it! I even suggest it to Pastors who already have a church for fresh ideas in managing and preparing their ministry for the next move of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have resource if you are planting a church!, March 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch (Paperback)
Nelson and Kerrick have written a very practical guide to launching a church! It is extremely helpful at any phase of the process and is something I go back and look at frequently. Don't even think about planting a church without putting this book on your reading list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars helpful resource, June 26, 2014
By 
Jason Deuman "deumania50" (Lynnwood, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are called to plant a church or are paper of a church that wants to help start more churches you should read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch
Launch: Starting a New Church from Scratch by Kerrick Thomas (Paperback - January 11, 2007)
Used & New from: $1.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.