Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny!
Lauren Takes Leave is a fast paced, hilarious journey of a middle aged wife-teacher-mother who just wants a break. From the moment she realizes that her husband, boss and kids don't know she's been released from jury duty and that maybe, just maybe, she can get away with a week off.... I was hooked. This book is Ferris Bueller's Day Off, just aged up 20 years, but what...
Published on July 3, 2012 by AMonaghan

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the fence
First, you have to give this book for at least 3 stars if you have a kid and are a working mom. Second, I don't read reviews until after I'm done with a book for good reason. This is FICTION, it doesn't have to be realistic, it just has to be well written and get you hooked. This was a great story but there was just too much, felt a bit overwhelmed by all the drama and...
Published on October 26, 2012 by Quaziphoto007


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the fence, October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Kindle Edition)
First, you have to give this book for at least 3 stars if you have a kid and are a working mom. Second, I don't read reviews until after I'm done with a book for good reason. This is FICTION, it doesn't have to be realistic, it just has to be well written and get you hooked. This was a great story but there was just too much, felt a bit overwhelmed by all the drama and underwhelmed by the completely ridiculous happy ending.

Overall, I liked the story and felt it was worth of a 3 star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, could have been a great book!, September 22, 2012
By 
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Kindle Edition)
This book is NOT good, and I only read it all the way through in hopes of some kind of redemption at the end. It's full of one-dimensional stereotypes (e.g., harried working mom, evil boss, ambivalent husbands who work all the time and don't know what foods his kids like) and TONS of clichés (e.g., rushing to the airport, only to be faced with a street closed due to a *parade*).
The first third of the book is not awful... but then it completely flies off the rails, never to return. One ridiculous and cliché event unfolds after the other! To boot, most of the characters' problems are solved at the end of the book with either a work- or money-magic wand, not with personal growth or lessons learned from their (cliché, outrageous) experiences. Seriously, do not read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny!, July 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Kindle Edition)
Lauren Takes Leave is a fast paced, hilarious journey of a middle aged wife-teacher-mother who just wants a break. From the moment she realizes that her husband, boss and kids don't know she's been released from jury duty and that maybe, just maybe, she can get away with a week off.... I was hooked. This book is Ferris Bueller's Day Off, just aged up 20 years, but what Lauren does with her week off would put poor Ferris to shame. Warning: you will laugh till your abs hurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts ok, gets really strange, October 22, 2012
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Kindle Edition)
Story starts out being fairly realistic, but gets progressively more and more bizarre, so much so that I had no desire to finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars high expections, low enjoyment, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Kindle Edition)
the book started out good but went downhill. The concept sounded interesting but the longer I read the less I enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Reading Break, January 19, 2013
By 
Michael A. Wells (Kansas City, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Paperback)
Lauren Takes Leave was a fun diversion with numerous twists and turns in a well layered plot of a mother/wife/teacher on overload. Exceptional writing for a first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, December 13, 2012
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Kindle Edition)
I really liked the beginning of it, it was when they went on vacation that it kind of lost me (and became a middle-age Ferris Bueller's Day Off knock off, right down to the parade). But I do like the way the author writes, and it was funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quick read, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Kindle Edition)
Although I live in the country and didn't quite get the interactions Lauren does, it is still funny and sounds like something we would all love to do once in our life. Running off for a weekend of little white lies, partying with strangers who turn in to long time friends and learn something about ourselves all in one trip. Fun read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!!!, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Paperback)
I love the friendship these ladies have and their humor...... I want to read this over and over. Looking forward to more books, hopefully!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gal's Night Out, November 27, 2012
By 
Val Sharp (Stamford, Ct.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lauren Takes Leave (Paperback)
The writing quality is more than superb, which one might expect from a Doctorate of English from Columbia University, certainly five star. But the wit and humor is something than cannot be taught, and that has to be also a 5 (It reminded me of Tom Wolfe's description of the social x-ray).

I vacillated between a 4 and a 5 about the story and how much it grabbed me. But then I thought, I'm a guy. This is a story about gals' nights out (more than one), and it is hilarious. I think the story would grab almost any gal and should therefore deserve my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lauren Takes Leave
Lauren Takes Leave by Julie Gerstenblatt
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.