Start reading Lavender Vows: A Mini-Novel on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Lavender Vows: A Mini-Novel (The Medieval Herb Garden Series Book 1) [Kindle Edition]

Colleen Gleason
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (100 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Book Description

A short novel in NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Colleen Gleason's lush, romantic Medieval Herb Garden Romance Series...

A compelling, sweet romance... A story of passion and love in Medieval England.

Gruff, brooding Lord Bernard of Derkland needs to find a wife, if for no other reason than to satisfy his father and his incessant badgering. He has no interest in marrying, but when he meets the beautiful and gentle Joanna of Swerthmore, he immediately knows she is the one.

The only problem is: she's already wed...to a monster.

The Medieval Herb Garden Series does not have to be read in order.

However, for those who want to read it in chronological order, the stories go as follows:
LAVENDER VOWS
A WHISPER OF ROSEMARY
SANCTUARY OF ROSES
A LILY ON THE HEATH

Readers who like Roberta Gellis, Catherine Coulter, Tina St. John, and Paula Quinn will enjoy this book of romance about ladies, lords, knights and castles.


Product Details

  • File Size: 429 KB
  • Print Length: 71 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Avid Press (January 6, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004WSQNBG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #135,681 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read! May 1, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I loved Bernard! He was a gentle giant, and the story of his heroine Joanna, was
heart wrenching. When they first meet, she's married to an abusive husband.
Those scenes, while not graphic, were well-done and had my heart racing near
the end--would Bernard save her from her husband, when he had no right to?

I enjoyed this story immensely, and wish it had been longer. I look forward to
reading A Whisper of Rosemary, about Bernard's brother who meets up with
another character who was introduced in this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute - December 3, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
An interesting quick read. There is no romance here. Boy (17) meets married woman (18) for no reason falls head over heals. But finds out here husband is a brute but what husband isn't in Medieval times). He looks for a way to get her free from her husband.
There is no sex in the book, but there is a lot of brutality. While the reality of a woman's position in Medieval socity is fact, I'm not sure I want to subject younger members of my family to it.
What really peeked my interest is in the sequal. When the Bernard's brother meets the healer. I hope that will be a better read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tender Love Story August 18, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Lavender Vows by Collen Gleason

I loved this tender love story about Lord Bernard and Lady Joanna. Lord Bernard falls in love with Lady Joanna the first time he sees her. She is married to an abusive man and Bernard wants to rescue her from this horrid marriage and marry her. There is action, suspense and true love which makes this a lovely love story. The story moves swiftly with a wonderful ending.

I can't wait to read A Whisper of Rosemary, the story of Bernard's brother Dirick and Maris, the Lady of Firmain and Cleonis, the next in the series.

Lavender Vows Collen Gleason
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true nightmare with a happy ending April 17, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A sweet story where the hero is a stud - who has zero interest in settling down - and sees a girl and is entranced by her - then realizes (1) that she is married. Super bummer. Then (2) he sees bruises on her arms, puts two and two together and realizes her husband beats her. Chest thumping ensues and eventually love conquers all (including the nasty hubby. Deep sigh of relief.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really worth the time January 13, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I am a romance lover. The story was uninspired and lacked development. The story was good lady has a bad husband. Hero kills bad husband. They live happily ever after. If you are bored this story will keep you company, but don't read it thinking it's a good read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating October 26, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Kept the reader interested to the end. Great beginning of a series that made me want to continue to read the remaining books.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever May 10, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I highly recommend this book. I don't usually read the shorter stories, but am glad that I did. It turned me onto a author with many more books to take me away to. Her ability to capture the true essence a story is marvelous.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good short story April 25, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Unlike some of the other reviewers, I quite like a nice short story. The author does a good job of it and I think a full length novel would have been too much. I certainly wouldn't want to read a full length novel about the h being abused by her husband. I enjoyed this story so much that I'm going to go back and re-read the other Medieval Herb Garden books (I bought them some time back).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
2.0 out of 5 stars lighthearted but weak
Was okay but not worth $2.99. Started of with a good idea for a love at first sight. Became unbelievable, can't say more without spoiling the story.
Published 1 day ago by Nnenna
5.0 out of 5 stars Lavender Vows was totally fantastic
You definitely have a way with words, It was a good book even though men in those times treated their wives badly. But it turned out okay.
Published 10 days ago by Patricia Collins
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice quick read
A quick read. Not as in depth as some of her other novels in this series, still relaxing to read.
Published 1 month ago by tigerlily
4.0 out of 5 stars CLEAN STORY!
I enjoyed this mini story of medieval times. There is no lovemaking, only two people who desire each other, but don't act on it except for kisses. Read more
Published 1 month ago by NavyWave62
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
didn't buy
Published 3 months ago by Diane Raines
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant mini novel
This author is always good. Pleasant but I've enjoyed some of her others more. Try the Herb series, it's much better.
Published 3 months ago by JoyceBaker
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Fun book to pass the time....
Published 3 months ago by Sarah Joiner
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Nice light hearted readding
Published 3 months ago by kandie taylor
4.0 out of 5 stars A romantic, Medieval tidbit
Lavender Vows is a romantic, Medieval tidbit whose heroine, Joanna, finds herself wed to an incorrigible cad while drawn to someone with far more honor: Bernard. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Juli D
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Good book, very well put together.Short reading as it's not very long. I was able to finish it in less than 2 hours.
Published 5 months ago by Barbara Harmon
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category