Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Price:$34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 7, 2012
I do love this show but have a complaint about the fact that we are being charged as much for later seasons (7, 8 9)as we were for earlier sets. Earlier seasons were 22 episodes long and ran in the range of 960 minutes. These later seasons are about 690 minutes and fewer episodes. if the seasons are so much shorter the cost should be lower.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
I'm a huge fan of the original Law and Order-but grew to love Criminal Intent- most especially watching D'Onofrio and Erbe's characters develop. But this season is terrible. Tragic of course in realizing that Goren and Eames were leaving- and then the writing went to hell! Most of these episodes make no sense. "Palimpsest" is possibly the worst-Goldblum overacts the hell out of it (which is nothing new) but there's no clear plot. Other episodes have the detectives telling a women's spouse that she's been cheating on him- the wife's lover is dead-they think her husband did it-so they confront him and leave?? Cue next scene and here's the police, remarkably arriving on time as said husband is beating his wife. L and O may not always have been sticklers for following procedure but this? All I could think if Goren and Eames had this case, they would've bent the rules if they had to, to protect the wive and find the killer. Add to this the pointless addition of Mastrantinio as Captain-who seems to just run around picking up and laying down files-she adds mothing to the story.What a terrible shame. I'm still looking forward to getting the final season. In short-avoid this-or get the first 2 episodes only. Just atrocious. And I'm not sure what reviewer "Keene" is talking about - I agree that Mz Erbe is a terrific actress-but she leaves at the end of the 2nd episode (I think her work is terrific in general, she was recently on Broadway playing Pat Nixon-and my favorite episode of hers is "Amends" when her husband's murder case is re-opened). But Burrows gets no "standing ovation", midway through the episode "traffic" she gets some wolf whistles-she's all glammed up having just come from a interview with a Madame of a Escort agency!! Sorry-she is a wonderful actress-but these story lines are just terrible!
33 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Ninth Season of "Law & Order: Criminal Intent" opens with a catastrophic two-part story which results in the departure of detectives Goren and Eames, and their boss, from the major case squad. Their replacements are Detectives Nichols (Jeff Goldblum) and Stevens (Saffron Burrows) and a new boss (played by Mary Elizabeth Mastrontonio). The tried and true format of the series remains the same, as the detectives investigate unusual murders, smoke out the intent of the suspects, and try to wring a confession out of them.

Season Nine offers sixteen new episodes and a procession of interesting guest stars. The cases range from mob bosses to serial killers to revenge for old murders, and more. Perhaps most interesting, at least for some viewers, will be the evolving dynamics between the two new detectives. Nichols is the black sheep of a family of doctors, who sometimes seem over-educated for a detective. Stevens is a hardworking single mom, transferring in from the Detroit police department. The two detectives will take awhile to get used to each other's operating styles, but it's fun to watch two talented actors work it out on screen. Nichols and Stevens are risk-takers, but the new boss usually gives them lots of room to solve their cases. One of the better episodes involves a serial killer, put in jail by Stevens, who claims to be innocent on the eve of his execution, just as a copy-cat killer seems to strike. Nichols will be driven beyond the call of duty to obtain the confession that could save his partner's peace of mind.

"Criminal Intent: Year Nine" is recommended to fans of the series who are prepared to take on the shift change.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
The Worst season of Law & Order: Criminal Intent by far.

After a rather painful two-part episode premiere where Goren, Eames and Captain Danny Ross are all summarily given the boot. Some worse than others, (Ross gets straight up killed) we are then given a new squad, sole surviving Detective Zack Nichols now paired with Serena Stevens for one of the lamest pairings in crime show history or Law & Order history. No chemistry, no real anything with the two, Goldblum is on Ian Malcolm autopilot through a lot of episodes and the ratings are sinking.
Oh and Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio is the new barely making an impression Captain Zoe Callas.

It's here that the show really sucks, gone is the Goren/Eames drama that infused the previous episodes with something. Gone is Goren's wild behavior, which reaches it's climax with that two part episode that begins this season, and instead it's very boring.

Ungodly boring, the plot lines are sometimes great, "Abel & Willing" had a great plot line, it would have been killer with Goren/Eames, but it's flat with Nichols/ Stevens.

And with this season the creators made a huge mistake and the show was now sinking faster and with one desperate last move, knowing they were going down, made a real final season to the show. Which still really did not have enough episodes to it, but hey, it's better than nothing.

By the way some episode involving the Olympics was so controversial or something (maybe stupid corporate and copyright issues) that it has never been seen since on this DVD set or in reruns of Criminal Intent. Not that it really matters, because it would still probably be another lackluster episode of this piss poor season to sit through.

Seriously this season is really the worst. I guess if your Jeff Goldblum fan, maybe you'd watch it. But it's not his best work either. Don't even buy to watch Loyalty parts 1 and 2, it's just too painful and sad they did this and caused the show to sink faster.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
Anything with Vincent D'Onofrio in it is a five star production, I think that Eames and Goren were the best combination in this show. It's fantastic having the DVD they can be in my living room at any time. I think that this was one of the best Law & Order series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2015
Of Course, the issue is D'Onofrio vs Goldblum. Some people reacted badly to Jeff, but I thought he did an equally peculiar psychoanalytic approach to the art of detection. Equally entertaining. If it was up to me, I'd move Amanda Rollins from SVU to criminal intent and stretch it out a few more seasons. Incidentally, I am a criminal defense attorney and I have to suppress the urge to call Dick Wolf and tell him the real legal system looks nothing like his. I just suspend belief and let it entertain me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
The only thing I didn't like was the distinct lack of Vincent D'Onofrio as Robert Goren. Although this season is a must for fans of Jeff Goldblum. This is an awesome show and you cannot have a complete collection without this season.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
The earlier seasons are much better. They are getting, well kinda boring in my opinion. Gorem has just simply lost his lustre. Eames is still good and I don't like the new boss. If you are a die hard CI fan then get it, there are some really good episodes but overall it's time the show ended...which it does after season 10....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
I really enjoyed Year Nine, as well as years 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 and 8. However, I miss the Captain who looked like Greg Brady. I missed the vivacious female partners and truly wonder why Ms Burrows was so loaded with Botox she could have played a corpse. I also miss the romance,which a friend told me existed, between Greg Brady and the coroner. I definitely think another season or two should be added for a bit of something between Bobby and Alex. However, Jeff Goldblum is always fun to watch, so I can truly give Year Nine five stars for him alone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
I was sorry to see Vincent D'Orofino leave the show as well as his lady partner. There was a loss of one other regular right away as well. The rest of the cast still does a great job and the show makes the transition very smoothly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.