Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Law and Order
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon July 9, 2004
Law and Order is a solid, entertaining western that showcases Ronald Reagan as a leading man. Reagan gives an almost John Wayne-esque performance (you could almost call him John Wayne Light in this one). Reagan is tough, but very likeable in the role and shows the charisma that would help him in his political life just a decade later.

The story itself is something of a re-working of the Earps VS the Clantons, and it even starts in Tombstone. Reagan is Frame Johnson, tough, no-nonsense Marshall of Tombstone. He decides to retire to a nearby town to start a ranch and marry his girl, but he finds the town run by another rancher and soon Frame and his brothers are in conflict with that rancher and his family. There is plenty of good western action, and a solid story in Law and Order.

Law and Order is well worth buying for Western fans or fans of Ronald Reagan.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
First made in 1932 starring Walter Huston and Harry Carey the story was an adaptation of W R Burnett's hard-hitting western novel about the fictionalised clean up of Tombstone loosely based on the Wyatt Earp legend. This 70 minute film was highly regarded in its day! The second version made in 1940 starred Johnny Mack Brown, James Craig and Fuzzy Knight this was a loose remake of the above with a shorter running time. This 80 minute 1953 remake this time in Technicolor, closely follows the original 1932 version. Starring Ronald Reagan, Alex Nichol, Preston Foster, Dennis Weaver and Dorothy Malone.

Hard-hitting peace keeper Frame Johnson (Ronald Reagan) is marshal of Tombstone and has just brought in a prisoner the infamous 'Durango Kid' (Wally Cassell). When a group of angry townsmen try to lynch him without a trial. Disappointed with the lack of support from towns folk apart from saloon owner Jeanie (Dorothy Malone) he decide to pack up and take up ranching on a spread he had purchased near the town of Cottonwood. Once again he turned down the chance to become 'town tamer' but his brother Lute (Alex Nichol) took up the challenge in his stead but was tricked into a rigged gun fight and got himself shot by Frank Durling (Dennis Weaver) younger brother of local trouble maker Kurt Durling (Preston Foster). Meanwhile Frame's younger brother Jimmy (Russell Johnson) has fallen for Durling's sister Maria (Ruth Hampton). Foster and Weaver catch Jimmy in a compromising position with their sister Weaver gets shot in self defence and Jimmy is framed for murder Leaving only Frame to set out and restore Law and Order

Half of the female love interest is provided by brunette Dorothy Malone before her transformation to blonde in the mid-fifties. Newcomer Ruth Hampton proved the other half! The so called 'Durango Kid' in this film I assume has no relationship to the one played by the athletic Charles Starrett in his famous DURANGO Kid Series of the 1940s and early 50s. Arriving in Cottonwood Frame Johnson meets the local judge in the Land Office, in one shot over Reagan's shoulder can be clearly seen a portrait of Abraham Lincoln the 16th President of the United States of America, how ironic was that? 42 year-old Ronald Reagan at the time of this movie was President of the Screen Actors Guild and moving into mainline politics he became Governor of California in 1966. In 1970 he was elected as the 40th President of the United States of America, surviving a assassination attempt early in his presidency, he went on to serve two full terms. Not bad for a 'B' movie cowboy actor!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2006
'Law and Order' is hardly a rich strike, and might be considered as a solid, conventional Western of 'retired gunfighter' breed...

Frame Johnson (Reagan) is a respected lawman who has cleaned up the wicked ways of Tombstone, Arizona, and wants to retire to the life of a rancher... This pleases his fiancée, Jeannie (Dorothy Malone), who runs the saloon left to her by her father... She, too, is eager to leave the rough community and be her beau's wife: 'You're big and you're ugly and you're stupid, and I happen to be in love with you.'

With his brothers, Lute (Alex Nicol) and Jimmy (Russell Johnson), and their undertaker friend, Denver (Chubby Johnson), Frame proceeds to the town of Cottonwood... Unfortunately, Cottonwood is under the domination of Kurt Durning (Preston Foster), who hates Frame because he crippled him in a previous encounter...

The citizens of Cottonwood appeal to the famous marshal to take up the badge of law and order once again, and rid them of Durning... Frame declines, but Lute accepts, which soon costs him his life when he tries to apprehend one of Durning's sons...

Frame takes the job as marshal and brings the Durning empire to an end...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2010
I am enjoying the old American westerns of '50s and '60s,thanks mainly for the stronger yen, I am now reaching for the Amazon's US Western market, because sometimes Japanese market lacks very important titles, and this is one of them.
I reckon, The Universal Japan should have issued this Law and Order in@Japanese subtitles, but so far they failed to do so. Talking Westerns, you must not miss this title, it's one of the few Mr. President's Westerns in his younger days, I think. Oh, I don't share this title with other Japanese enthusiasts, this will be one of my seacret treasured titles. A Western enhusiast.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
I'm forever a Reagan republican, but I will give an honest 'non-political' view of this movie. This is a very typical western story & movie. That's not a criticism in any way. It just means the good guys are good, the bad guys are bad, the landscape is 'southwestern-y', law & order prevail, etc. If you love typical westerns from this time in movie history, there's nothing not to like.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
Now we KNOW why the Commies never messed with the USA in the 1980s.

Yes, I understand this is fiction. However, if I was thinking of challenging the United States in the 1980s, I would NEVER do so after watching Reagan in this movie! Because I would be afraid that if only one percent of this character was in the real man, I would lose.

Of course, this movie is best seen in the drive-in theater, (which I have done). I guess you could describe this as your "Standard Western" adventure. Also, there are two very pretty women in this movie to add a little extra "scenery".

With Reagan as the star, you already know the ending. 1) Bad guys captured, or killed. 2) The West is won. 3) Reagan gets the girl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2012
A bit soap operary, yeah, but enjoyable. Reagan is a nice guy living in an unforgiving wild west and he proves that nice guys finish last...way last. But don't let that detract you from a fairly awesome little revenge vs justice movie; the crooks are over the top crooks and the hero is Captain America, Superman and, well, uh, Ronald Reagan all rolled into one and played by, well, uh, hee, Ronald Reagan.

I'm a Gen Xer that has recently discovered the greatness and thrills of Reagan movies (six total as of this posting); not as great as the Duke or the ever-awesome Chuck Norris or Ah-nold, but Reagan is very much an actor with heroic stature and succeeds in giving me bang for my bucks.

Truly fun movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
My sister is a fan of western movies as am I, so I purchased a copy of the DVD for her collection. She thoroughly enjoyed the movie and remarked that she had no idea Reagan was such a handsome man in his younger days. The story is straight forward, but the acting is superb. Viewers will find a number of actors who later became famous for their tv roles and, of course, Dorothy Malone is always a pleasure to watch. I ordered a copy of the movie for myself. The order arrived on time in excellent condition, and at a good price for this rarely played gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
Our former President had a movie career of mixed reviews. But this western was everything you want from a western. Former gunslinging lawman is forced out of retirement to face the bad guys one more time along with his brothers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2012
This is a great western with Ronald Reagan as the marshal of Tombstone and quits to become a farmer, but later events make him become a marshal again. This movie stars Dorothy Malone, Preston Foster, Alex Nicol, Russell Johnson, Dennis Weaver plus others! This movie is presented in color and is in Full Screen format released in 1953. This movie runs for about 80min (1hr 20min). This is a must have for any Western fan or fans of these actors. I would and I have recommended this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.