Customer Reviews

112
3.5 out of 5 stars
Lawe's Justice (Breeds)
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Price:$7.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

106 of 118 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2011
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Lawe's Justice. Breeds #26

If you're a series addict like me, then nothing anyone says is going to dissuade you from buying this. But allow me to say in advance ...I told you so!... There were only 2 posted customer reviews when i bought this and they both give it 1 star and a very bad write up. I should have listened.

This latest instalment in the Breeds series is quite possibly the worst one in the series to date.
The plot line was there, it even had potential. It just never went anywhere. None of the action/adventure plot lines finished and Lawe & Diane's romance lacked the fire of many of the other titles. They just talked it to death.

We had; Lawe and Diane discovered they were mates more than a year earlier, but Lawe just wandered off to la-la land somewhere and didn't persue it. It wasn't until Rule (his twin brother) decided if Lawe didn't want a warrior for a mate, then he'd claim her, cause his mate is all girly and he doesn't want her. ...and whats with that? We've been told for the last 25 books that Mates are the best thing in the universe, and here we have 2 characters who don't want their mates?

We had a breed gone feral whose killing council scientists by vivisection,(autopsied alive) (which, incidentally is a word which does not fit well into a story when used more than once or twice). Because he was killed that way, I think it was 3 times?

He's trying to find a girl whose blood saved his life when he was a younger. He wanted to die, she foiled him because she wanted him to live. Good a reason as any to want to kill someone, I spoze. I wouldn't be too surprised if when this finally plays out we will discover they are mates.

Even though he's feral and killing all these people, he still saves Mates whenever he needs to. The "tortured bad guy" thing usually sucks me right in, but it wasn't well written in this book and really didn't grab my heart strings.

This same girl holds the key to Jonas & Rachel's baby girl's life after the injection Brandenmore gave her in Lion's Heat. But that story line didn't end, even though it was the main action/adventure story line.

There were several other plot lines to give it action/adventure, but nothing ever went anywhere, they didn't end, they all just fizzled out.

When I finally got to the end, on literally the last page, after all the air went out of the story and it withered up and fell to the floor(& I breathed a sigh of relief that I'd finished it). Jonas detects a scent, and grins! And we'll have to wait until LL persues it in some future book. How much do you want to bet, it's not the next one!

All in all, unfinished. She could have cut out most of the repetitive sex scenes and used the space to tie up all the other plot lines.
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
60 of 66 people found the following review helpful
on December 14, 2011
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN SO RIGHT BUT WENT SO WRONG!

Plot lines either simply died or continued in an endless loop getting nowhere and not having any type of resolution.

The story read like more of a set up for a novel about Amber and the unknown Feral breed instead of about Lawe and Diane.

There was just TOO MANY "HUH" moments. At several points in the book, either the stated dialogues or action scenes described made no sense and/or were confusing. I've read Federal Tax Laws that were clearer!

The internal dialogue of the main female protagonist, Diane, was repetitive and didn't really add anything to the plot lines. It read more like "filler" to increase the word count.

Most of the book was a rehash of what any reader of the series already knows. Maybe if this was a 1st in the series, yeh, it would be necessary. If this was meant to be a stand alone novel instead of one in a series - then again, yes I could see the necessity. But even then, the novel still needs a strong plot line and developed characters and actions which this did not have.

If you take out the repetitive parts of the novel, the rehash of data from all the previous novels and the repetitive dialogues/descriptions, you would end up with an extremely short undeveloped story.

What is really sad is that Lori Leigh is capable of putting out an outstanding novel but her latest creations fall so short of the potential. What is even sadder is the "high praises and ratings" when you would think that a good editor or "beta" reader would have after reviewing this book said, "Look Lori, this needs to be reworked, tighten up your plot, strength your story line, get rid of the repetitive parts, get back to the basics." Instead an inferior piece of work is rushed to publication. I don't know if the author has spread herself too thin, taken on too much that she no longer has time or energy to really apply herself to her writing, or what. All I know is that if you look back at previous ratings of her latest books - most of the reviews have tried to give her the same advice - Lori, you NEED TO GET ANOTHER EDITOR! Someone that will actually give you the down and dirty. Someone that will help you put out a GREAT novel instead of a poorly developed one.

I made the mistake of doing a pre-order on this novel because I really had high hopes that Lori Leigh would get over her obvious writer's slump with the breed stories and put out a novel worthy of the series. Unfortunately this one has convinced me that it's now time to say good-bye because I have no faith that it's going to happen. I wish the author well, but I'm not wasting any more of my money or time on poorly written stories that lack development of plot lines, characters and actions. And if I needed to refresh my memory about the Breeds, I do not need to spend my money on a rehash - I could just reread some of the previous better written novels in the series.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
72 of 84 people found the following review helpful
on December 7, 2011
Format: Audible Audio Edition
I am a long time fan of Lora Leigh. I've read every breed book, even the more recent and less impressive offerings from Ms. Leigh. After the Navarro's Promise SNAFU (missing chapter at critical point towards the end of the book) and the delay in publication, I really expected more from Lawe's Justice. Unfortunately, this book fell disappointingly short.
This book is a cookie cutter reproduction of any of the more recent breed novels. You can basically replace Lawe and Diane with any of the previous breed/mate names and you have the same story. Breed finds mate. Breed resists mate. Mate resists breed. Mating heat is irresistible and brings breed and mate together. Pepper in sex scenes and you have the book. Any real plot is confusing if it exists at all. Is Diane trying to find information to save Amber? How did that effort get lost in trying to avoid Lawe? What a cop out ending.
I have always been curious about Cassie's character and how she will arrive at her "happily ever after" but I don't think I can suffer through however many more of the seemingly "printed just to make a buck" books that it will take to get there.
Ms. Leigh really needs to re-evaluate and raise her game.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on January 26, 2012
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
I just finished reading the kindle release of this title. I've read most of the reviews, especially the negative ones, as soon as the title was released. I was disappointed but at the end, as a devout follower, I caved in and purchased. And I never thought I would be venting my frustration with it by writing a review on it--just to work the disenchantment out of my system. Since I've read all of the books--and enjoyed most of them--on the series, I really did not believe that Ms. Leigh could top the disaster that was Styx's Storm. Yet this book is even a bigger disappointment for me, but not because it is missing chapters like in Navarro's Promise--it is not--and Diane is not as annoying as Storme was in her attempts to establish her independence and abrasive personality. So I gave it 3 stars but in the progression of the series, from my end, it deserves only 1.

From my perspective what failed me most in this book, was the fact that at the end I felt as if THE SERIES, starting with Styx's Storme, LOST THE AUTHOR'S ATTENTION AND DEVOTION TO IT AND THIS INSTALLMENT HAS CEMENTED THAT FACT.

Editing is at best acceptable as far as the punctuation and spelling is concerned. (English is not my first language thus I can't comment on that much.) Otherwise, sentences, paragraphs, even whole chapters remain poorly connected with each other. It is as if the writer turned over her preliminary notes on the general plot, characters' behavior (not personality), their eventual surrender to each other, and their standing in the overall development of the breed series (which is I'm not sure where it is since some previously deemed indispensable characters have disappeared all together) along with some twists, over to some subordinate. He/she than inserted standard breed lovemaking scenes where the writer indicated and...Voilaì! All got printed without taking the time to re-read, let alone put them together in a cohesive, logical and meaningful arrangement.

The sentiments of the main characters for each other were haphazard instead of gradual, so they seemed impetuous rather than assiduous individuals. Their love was expressed but was neither demonstrated nor conveyed to us. The quest for answers in the overall breeds plot were put aside to insert an episode at the end just so that the heroine could prove her "warrior's nature" and a happy ending could be achieved. But unlike the one in Mercury's War, it seemed very puerile and unwarranted. It's been established that Diane knew how to handle herself. That lengthy portion could have been used to build up their relationship, or elaborate on the plot. Aside from unexpected revelations about characters we were long familiar with (or so we thought), unresolved issues and a storyline left as a cliffhanger, the sex scenes were unbelievably tedious, as if they were GOING THRU expected reactions and motions rather than LIVING those expected reaction and motions as Lawe and Diane. We know these are erotic books, we know sex is explicit, and it is welcome. However, what is not welcome is, on EACH AND EVERY such scene the endless repetition of run-of-the-mill sentences which renders the intimacy shared by the individuals quite GENERIC and not written exclusively for this book and for these characters.

At the end, this was a book with main characters I could not feel for, in a storyline that took me nowhere, with unanswered questions that left me puzzled, exasperated and generally unsatisfied. Ironically though, when I finished this book, all I had left with was the horror I felt visualizing a vivisection--a lurid subject of this book and not an image I would have liked to have embedded in my brain right after finishing a title listed under romance/erotica. But there was nothing else left to distract me from it.

This book, especially in the development and interaction of its characters, was a far cry from what we had in Dawn's Awaking, Mercury's War, Coyote's Mate or even the one's which came before. Even the novella The Breed Next Door was better developed then this one! Who wrote and edited those earlier titles? I don't think I'm alone in saying that WE WANT THEM BACK BEFORE NOTHING IS LEFT TO SALVAGE from the series which started to loose its intensity and focus starting with Lion's Heat and has been spiraling down ever since.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2012
Format: Mass Market PaperbackVerified Purchase
I had high expectations for this book, I'd pre-ordered it when it first became available and was disappointed when it was pushed back twice but with all the rewrites that were being called for I had hope for quality well written product. All for nothing. The flow was off through out the entire thing, even the sex scenes. It did not read at all like any Lora Leigh novel I have ever read before. There was absolutely no spark between the mates; strangers meeting in a dark alley have more chemistry than these two did. Really she should have just made the book about Gideon because while gruesome to the max his parts were the most well written.

The gruesome factor was over the top. The story was more about Gideon than Lawe and Diane. Rachel a strong independent woman was turned into a weak sap - only reason for this i can was to make Diane look stronger.
The worst though was nothing was every accomplished for Lawe and Diane.. fight then sex fight then sex over and over. Relationship issues were not addressed at all.

For a group of people men especially who are suppose to love their mates unequivocally hers seems to spend an awful lot of time running away... Lawe (a year) at least got a clue before Cabal (11 years) did.

Lora Leigh should really give more information to her ghost writers so that they know what they are writing and can include facts that allow the story to flow and make sense.

I don't know if the Lora Leigh/or ghost writer team has spread herself too thin, or if she's has taken on so much that she no longer has time or energy or the discipline to really apply herself to her writing. All I know is that if you look back at previous ratings of her latest books - most of the reviews have tried to give her the same advice - Lora, you NEED TO GET ANOTHER EDITOR! Get a proof reader to help keep the details straight. You need someone that will actually give you the down and dirty. Someone that will help you put out a GREAT novel instead of a poorly developed drivel that I personally just wanted to throw across the room.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on December 11, 2011
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
This was a sad experience for me. I love the world Ms Leigh has built and, although the recent books have not been up to par with the earlier books, this book seemed to have promise. I liked both main characters and understood their vastly differing points of view. Each had a well developed past that showed how they became the people we see in the book. I felt sympathy for both and was in suspense wondering how the writer would resolve their issues and bring them together permanently. The plots with the baby Amber and the enraged Gideon added to the interest and suspense. And then things started going wrong.

Descriptions, pasts and problems about which we had already been told were retold - for page upon page. If we are told once about someone witnessing a vivisection (or being vivisected) we will remember it. We don't need to be told over and over each time the character reappears. It's just sloppy writing. This is also a book in a long series. Readers want to have more world building - to add to the other books - not rewrites of what we have already read in twenty previous books. We want to learn more about the breeds daily lives. To see previous beloved characters interacting with the new characters. We really don't want to be treated as if this is the first time we have been invited into this world. New readers can begin with earlier books. Series fans deserve a richer and fuller view of the world we love. Not repeats of all the world building since book one.

I hate to add more (it is an interesting world) - but many times the book was just plain confusing - paragraphs seemed sometimes out of sync, aa if one was missing, or the acting/thinking/speaking characters were not clearly deliniated and I would have to stop and figure out who was speaking etc.. Plots too became confusing as if the author had been rushed and was just trying to tie everything up.

The conclusion of the main romance was particularly unsatisfying. It was trite, fast and seemed like this 'ending' should have been the middle of the book. It left me feeling they had not resolved the main issue and I was also disappointed not to see their relationship grow once they FINALLY decided to work things out. It was a sad ending, I thought. We did not get to see them interacting at all as true mates. Not even a breakfast the next morning. Just a permanent mating sexual episode and poof! The romance is concluded. Sad. There was potential for so much more. This book was much better than the last one though, so I have hope! Just make your editor do his/her job Ms Leigh. You know your story in your head - the editor needs to be sure that story is terse yet rich - and makes sense to the readers. And know your readers look for romance and not just hot sex scenes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
37 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on December 6, 2011
Format: Mass Market PaperbackVerified Purchase
I've read the entire series. It's always been a flawed series but very readable. Some books like Dawn's Awakening or Coyote's Mate are very good reads and I'd recommend them to most romance readers who don't mind sex. Some like Navarro's Promise are barely readable and I actually threw my copy away.

--And Tanner's Scheme still geebs me out and not in a good way. God I hated that main character.

But this book is just blah. Lawe's Justice is unfinished or so it seems. I spend the whole book with Diane hunting the three missing people who might be able to save Amber. And the book ends after a fight with a character that I can barely distinquish from her other team members.

No new information. No closer to helping Amber. Nada. Nothing. BlAH!!!!!!!!

It ended---and I wondered where is the climax? Where is the discovery?

Lawe and Diane were okay as a romantic couple--more of the same ole stuff. Not spectacular but not awful. The sex was better written than the early books but still the same moves. It's a bit more sexy than porn. Some of the early books were more porn that sexy. So that's an improvement.

But overall, it had no plot.

It left me hanging and the person I was most interested in during the whole book was Gideon---not even the main character.

This series frustrates me to to death. She's SO inconsistant as an author.

This book is okay but it feels like it ends in the middle.

I feel like I should ask her where I buy PART 2.

OH---and for the love of flying monkeys, please get your editor to check details. In the earlier books, Diane's sister and her niece have red hair. Now they have dark brown hair. Annoying.

T
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Lora Leigh introduced me to the world of Breeds. I fell in love with Mercury & Ria, I went through all of the fights with Del-Ray & Anya, and let's not mention Callan & Merinus. But somewhere, she forgot the recipe to writing a book that thrills me like the others. I am a writer so this review is painful for me to write. In my opinion, the book was too convoluted, the past was re-iterated way too many times and there was no passion between the two main characters.

I want to state again that this is my opinion and in no way do I want to leave a bad review, however, I agree with the other reviewers that this book doesn't represent her best work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I didn't hate this book, but I didn't like it. I have read many of Lora Leigh's books; own all of the Breed, Pleasure, and Naughty series. This book just fail short. There were times where it almost felt like I had missed a book in the series... when I haven't. At other times Leigh spent too much time talking about Breed genetics and how Breeds were made and why the scientists wanted to experiment on them.... there are pages and pages of this. She also put this new character in the story which I think took away from the romance between the 2 main charaters. If you take out all the Gideon/new character and all the Breed genetics you have a romance that is only about 150-200 pages long. I would rather wait longer for a better book than read a bad one. My next Breed book (Stygian's Honor)is coming from the library.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on December 6, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I have read every book by this author and I must confess that whilst I was originally a fan I am afraid that the past couple of books have been more and more below par. This particular story is perhaps even more so in that it lacked any real development and the romantic leads stuck me as .. well ...quite simply just annoying in their attempt to create some drama as to why they were not able to be together. What was more worry some however was that I felt the quality of the writing was so poor that I would even go as far as to state that I felt that some of the paragraphs were barley even cogent. Overall I found the whole book confusing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Styx's Storm (Breeds)
Styx's Storm (Breeds) by Lora Leigh (Mass Market Paperback - October 5, 2010)
$7.99

Lion's Heat (Breeds)
Lion's Heat (Breeds) by Lora Leigh (Mass Market Paperback - April 6, 2010)
$7.99

Bengal's Heart (Breeds, No 7)
Bengal's Heart (Breeds, No 7) by Lora Leigh (Mass Market Paperback - August 4, 2009)
$7.98
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.