Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer TL256 TL256 TL256  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 10, 2012
The girl playing the lead gets on your nerves, since she seems like she's on hyperspeed all of the time. Did Catherine Zeta Jones get a major face lift? And of course Vince Vaugn is in it, he's very funny. I liked seeing him and Bruce, they were great. But I expected more, in general. It was like watching squirrels run around in those little wheels things....I should have waited until it was ALOT cheaper, like in Prime....buyer beware--
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
Beth(Rebecca Hall) is a woman who aspires to be a cocktail waitress in Vegas. She has both brains and looks. She ends up working for Dink, a bookie (Bruce Willis) who she develops feelings. Dink has a jealous wife Tulip (Catherine Zeta-Jones) and a bad side when he loses, which causes Beth to get a job elsewhere. Beth eventually gets into trouble and needs help.

The film is based on a true story, so you didn't know where it is headed. The downfall of the film is that it has a narrow appeal. It is basically a modified chick flick. But it is for chicks who know something about book making. The phrase "lay the favorite" means betting against the favorite, i.e. you always take the points and the underdog, you never give points. Bookies make their money by having a balanced book. They need the same amount of money bet on a team as they do against it. They make their money from taking "the juice" which is a percentage of the winnings. If the juice is 10% and you bet $50 even money, you will net $40 in return. In order to balance their books, they will have to move money around and make bets with other books or alter the point spread. The point spread has more to do balancing the books then it does the ability of the teams involved which is why it sometimes changes from the beginning of the week to the end of the week. This allows a smart better to straddle his bet. The key to book making is to do the math and bet with your head, not your heart.

It is not an inside look at the gambling industry per se, but it gives you enough of a glimpse that you feel you need to know what is going on in order to enjoy the movie. The most unbelievable aspect of the film is that with all the money Dirk and his wife had, she drank Beefeaters Gin. I enjoyed Bruce Willis in this role. Rebecca Hall was refreshing. A light chick flick for people who know something about gambling.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, nudity (Jo Newman, Laura Prepon - Donna from "That 70's Show")
66 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
Good movie. A very attractive, smart young woman, tries a private in home stripping service which quickly fails after having a 45 revolver pointed at her from a crazy customer. She leaves to find work in Las Vegas, and ends up becoming very good at a particular trade that has different legal boundaries according to which state of the U.S.A she is in. Having some let downs and an opposition in polar force from her new bosses wife, she gets involved in a relationship with a young man, and moves around after getting into a few situations. You never know if she is going to end up being totally dumb, or truly successful and genius. The acting is really good...but what can you expect with Hollywood brand names: Willis, Zeta Jones, and Vince Vaughn. These actors always deliver in their roles. A very good movie, that basically never stops. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2015
Hollywood must be overflowing with money to burn if this lame script was green lighted and made into a movie. If I ever hear Bruce Willis, Catherine Zeta Jones or Vince Vaughn talk about acting as an "art form" I'll vomit. Don't waste a second of your life watching this garbage.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
If it were not for the lack of acting ability of the main character 'Beth' played by Rebecca Hall... this could have been a great movie. She was AWFUL!!! The possibilities were there. Bruce Willis, Catherine Zeta Jones, Vince Vaughn... and others. But the inability of Rebecca to emote any character other than 'ditzy' for her character made this movie unbearable. Granted... there were other failings in what I can only assume was the editing... because they never even gave us any reason that Beth was so in love with Dink. Anyway... I hated it. In my opinion... don't waste your time!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
I wouldn't say I disliked "Lay The Favorite", but it definitely wasn't great. A strong cast in a movie about gambling should have been a winner, but it just never really came together. I guess I can see why this made a whopping $20,000 at the box office before getting shipped off to streaming-land. I'll admit, watching Rebecca Hall prance around in some skimpy outfits was half the reason I watched the whole thing. You could do worse for a Prime movie to stream, just don't expect anything too deep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2015
Not terrible not great Just OK. Some fun stuff. Doesn't really come together as a coherent whole but watchable and not an unpleasant way to pass some time if you got nothing better to do. Some interesting moments and performances. Amazing at the end to realize this is actually a true story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
I thought with a cast like this it would be far better. I like the movie, but felt cheated in a way. The performances were flat. Bruce Willis and Catherine Zeta Jones are sleep walking through most of the movie and there doesn't seem to be any energy. Gambling is a high energy, high spirited endeavor and this movie doesn't show any. Vince Vaughn gave the best performance and was surprising funny for a change.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2015
This was advertised as a movie starring Bruce Willis and Vince Vaughn, which is not accurate. Vince Vaughn is in the movie for maybe 5 minutes of actual screen time. This has to be the worst Bruce Willis movie I have watched. The leading actress was horrible, it wasn't funny, and it wasn't dramatic...I really don't know what it was other than a movie I wish I hadn't sat through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
Pretty much a tortured, disjointed mess. Bruce Willis phones in a performance (I suppose we can call it a performance), Catherine Zeta-Zones is woefully under-utilized in a shrill and pointless role, and poor Rebecca Hall is asked to carry this heap forward as the lead. There is an absence of pace and the plot -- to the degree that one may be inferred -- seems to meander aimlessly. Unfortunate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.08

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.