Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent RPG
I love this great little game. It is a very fun classic RPG that feels like a tabletop game mixed with old school computer and console games. I like that the levels are long enough to be engaging, but not so long that they make jumping on for a quick game a chore. I really enjoy the variety of characters to choose from. This will really add to the replay value. I'm...
Published 20 months ago by Aaron

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less Than Meets the Eye
I was intrigued by this, as it reminded me vaguely of the old SirTech game Wizardry, but it's far inferior and is, in fact, quite boring. Each quest is essentially the same: you have a number of rooms sprinkled in a rectangular playing area, connected by corridors and doors and populated with various monsters. There are also rock-filled corridors that serve no apparent...
Published 18 months ago by T. Bridgman


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent RPG, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
I love this great little game. It is a very fun classic RPG that feels like a tabletop game mixed with old school computer and console games. I like that the levels are long enough to be engaging, but not so long that they make jumping on for a quick game a chore. I really enjoy the variety of characters to choose from. This will really add to the replay value. I'm. playing as a barbarian now (I'he been reading a lot of Robert E Howard lately),but as soon as I'm done I want to try a wizzard and the other characters as well. I also love the promise of more quests to come via download. I also love that after I paid my money to buy the game, I wasn't. hounded with adds or forced to buy items to proceed. Once you pay for this game, you get the whole thing. I really appreciate this. If this developer releases more games, I'll. snap them up right away. GREAT STUFF!!!!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Limited Audience, May 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
Let me just start out by saying, this game is not for everybody. If you're a fan of old school RPGs and/or table top gaming, then you've found the game for you. If not, I strongly suggest looking up videos and screenshots for this game before purchasing it. Do not take this warning as me saying this game is bad in anyway though. Mighty Dungeons is actually a very good game, it just isn't for your everyday casual player. I suggest doing a bit of research on the game to make sure it's going to offer the kind of experience you will enjoy before buying it blindly.

The graphics of the game are a little less impressive than I would have liked, but that is really my only complaint on an otherwise solid game. The classic table top token movement system is coupled very well with a turn based battle system that makes a lot of sense and doesn't try and over-complicate things with any unnecessary additions to the formula. The risk VS. reward for doing most tasks (like disarming a trap, searching a chest that might have a trap in it etc.) is all handled well. The amount of gold given from killing monsters is enough that you feel progress, without being too much so you feel like it's just being handed to you.

The story is I suppose another thing I feel could have been handled more cohesively though. I am a veteran of table top games like DND (Dungeons and Dragons), so the old school text walls at the start and finish of the chapters were fine with me. But I can understand why that would put off a lot of new comers to the genre because of it's lack of depth. I think it's worth trying it out this way however. The value of these old story telling mediums is that you have to create your own experience within it's guidelines. The clever use of just enough of a framework to guide you without stifling your imagination is something this game made valiant efforts towards recreating, even if it ends up more of a cameo to that style than an actual revival.

As a whole I recommend this game to long time DND fans or RPG fans only. Average players I feel wouldn't enjoy it or get the most of the experience as they should for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned board game RPG goodness, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
Ok, I'm hooked. I had work to do today. My shoes were on, for pete's sake; I just wanted to pop on the game to make sure it had downloaded properly. It was over fours hours later before I realized how much time had passed. For someone who played HeroQuest back when it first came out, this game is digital crack.

The Good: Make no mistake: This is not Final Fantasy. It is essentially a boardgame, with flashy action and graphics. It is most reminiscent of HeroQuest but is, obviously, single player (although...multiplayer maybe in the future? Who knows!). You move your token around the board (think of a dungeon, but from an overhead perspective) opening up rooms and corridors, searching through furniture and chests, battling a wide assortment of baddies, speaking to various NPCs and completing quest missions. As of this writing, there are already several campaigns to play, with each campaign having eight progressive games to play, each with their own quests and missions that makeup the storyline of that campaign. Sound effects are decent and slightly humorous (your character gives a particularly satifying grunt when killing something). Missions are short enough that you can pick up the game and play one in only about 10 minutes, but chances are pretty good that you'll be playing for hours, rather than minutes. You cannot leave a "mission" (i.e; gameboard) early without being penalized (more on this below), but you *can* save and exit at any time, enabling you to pick up exactly where you left off.

The Less-than Good: The game does freeze at times on the original Kindle Fire when changing weapons during a fight. However, simply selecting "Menu" and then exiting back into the fight will refresh the battle and you can continue on. I also had a single instance where the game simply refused to roll back the "fog of war" on the game board; saving & exiting, then resuming the game fixed that problem easily. Just to be clear: there has been *nothing* gamebreaking. For some reason (maybe to control the money influx), if you find a piece of armour that you have already equipped (or a similar piece in the same slot), the game refuses to let you keep it, which means you cannot sell it later. Similarly, you cannot play through a partial board, then return to the "town" and sell what you've earned, as the game will delete everything earned in a board if you have not completed the quests. I get this; as I've said, it is a board game, not really an RPG and so this is not a complaint; it's a warning that it is possible to run out of cash and find yourself without a usable weapon, if you do not understand how this works (thankfully, the game allows some "Fight Club" action, but your character will only be as powerful as his core stats allow).

The Bloody Brilliant: User created content means this will not get old for a very long time. A developer who not only updates the game regularly, but is in contact with his users? Damned near unheard of, and very much appreciated. No bizarre permissions. No in-app purchases - once you've bought it; it's YOURS!!!!!

Mighty Dungeons takes the original games on which it is based, and improves them by its use of strategic player limitations, extended campaigns, and NPCs. It is terrific fun, and brings back old-school RPG tabletop gaming goodness that, up until now, has not been available on a digital platform - and it does so at an incredibly decent price. The only thing missing is the junk food.

Now, I have some old HeroQuest modules I created back in the day that I need to resurrect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome on Kindle Fire, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
I tried the demo the day it came out and promptly began pestering Amazon to get the full version. Finally here it is. I love it and plays well on my fire. There is a free demo version if the cost seems a bit much so you can give it a bit of a try before you buy. So far the developers are putting out updates to keep improving the game and I hope they add new dungeons. Well worth the price for me. I look forward to seeing what Laylio Games does in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less Than Meets the Eye, June 17, 2013
By 
T. Bridgman "mrtom2000" (Wappingers Falls, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
I was intrigued by this, as it reminded me vaguely of the old SirTech game Wizardry, but it's far inferior and is, in fact, quite boring. Each quest is essentially the same: you have a number of rooms sprinkled in a rectangular playing area, connected by corridors and doors and populated with various monsters. There are also rock-filled corridors that serve no apparent purpose. You have a mission: to find someone or something, kill a particular monster, or kill all the monsters. It really makes no difference, as your quest doesn't particularly alter your game play.

You look down on the maze, which draws itself and helpfully checks off items you have examined. You can glance around the maze, tap where you want to go, and you run there. Secret doors and treasures practically leap out it you if you glance at the right thing. All the sword-fodder monsters have the same AI and attack you on sight. (One reason that the quest doesn't matter is that you will end up exploring most of the dungeon and killing most of the monsters regardless.) The boss monsters, on the other hand, don't seem to notice you unless you run up and whack them. They will not pursue you, for example, if you decide to leave the room. Monsters may carry weapons, potions, and spells, seemingly for the purpose of dropping them at your feet when you kill them; only the boss monsters seem to use magic.

The weapon system is rudimentary -- all the weapons work exactly the same way, only differing in attack and defense points. This makes no sense: the point of a bow and arrow is to be able to attack from a distance (and be useless in close quarters), but in this game it doesn't matter if you're using a spear, sword, or crossbow except in terms of how much damage you might do when you hit. It is also nonsensical that swords and the like have "ammunition" values, that the blacksmith can "repair" your sword (load up on "sword" ammo) far beyond what it had when you bought it, that bows are destroyed when you run out of points, and that if you find another of the same weapon it "stacks" with what you already have.

The magic system is similarly basic and requires no thought. You instantly know what all potions and spells are (presumably the monsters keep them labeled for you) and you can drink multiple potions simultaneously with nothing but beneficial effects. I never had a reason to try a spell, as the game is far too generous in handing out magic items.

Combat is both tedious and mindless in either the turn-based or timed mode. The essential strategy if encountering something stronger than you is to run a short distance away, knock back a potion of speed or invisibility (or both), perhaps prepare to cast a spell, and then go back and whack away with whatever your strongest weapon happens to be.

There are a multitude of other things that just make little sense. You can buy a pet, which is like buying a self-aware weapon plus shield: it defends you and attacks. You can't take care of it, so it will eventually die, but you can sell it off when it starts to get low on points and buy a new one. Dungeons completely repopulate and all treasure resets if you leave a level without completing a quest. Chairs contain gold (apparently it falls out of the monsters pockets and into the cushions) and secret passages. You can carry around weapons and magic that your character can't use (to either sell or give to another hero you have, if for some inconceivable reason you want to play this game more than once), but if you come across a new suit of armor you can only wear it or drop it. If there's a limit to the amount of stuff you can carry, I didn't find it. If you leave a level before finishing the quest, it completely resets and you lose all gold and treasure you found. Oh, and all the monsters have names. (I'm not sure if you know the name because they introduce themselves or if you met them earlier at a pre-quest cocktail party.)

In a really intriguing game the magic system balances power with consequences, weapons have different advantages and disadvantages, monsters have different strengths and weaknesses (and strategies), dungeon conditions tend to persist when you leave, and secret doors are really secret until you deduce where one might be and go searching for it. There might be clues sprinkled around the level that enable you to complete the quest. There's something different about each level - really different, not superficially different. (Also, there's a little occasional murmur in the background of the "village" music that sounds like someone speaking in the distance, which is truly annoying after a while.)

Bottom line: I got this as a FAOTD and I got a couple of hours out of it but feel no compulsion to try and finish, as it's the D&D equivalent of the movie Groundhog Day - nothing seems to change. It doesn't crash, the graphics are fair, and the game play (what there is of it) was smooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars simple fun game, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
I enjoyed this game. It is a little simple and repetitive.

For those stuck on Ralbur you have to kill his demon form. you can find that by clicking on boulders until you find a secret door. hint the secret door is in the middle of the map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice game, but ultimately falls flat, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
I was very interested in this game when I saw the screens, and even more excited when I saw several character classes were available to play.

The artwork is great. All the dungeons are nicely drawn and the characters and monsters look fiersome.

The audio is nice, and while it won't win any awards, it fits the game well.

Moving your character token around the map, exploring dungeons, and killing baddies is satisfying. There's even location based damage, allowing you to aim for enemy's torso, head, or extremities.

So what's the problem? Well, there's no real sense of progression. The numerous character classes ultimately feel the same, and only differ in starting stats and items. Characters have no unique skills, and there's no leveling up. There are character upgrades which uses a point system. Points are unlocked via achievements, such as killing 100 goblins, but upgrading my hitpoints or defense isn't all that exciting.

For instance, there's a playable stone golem. It sounds pretty cool, but the stone golem plays identically to the assassin/rogue character and the warrior. He has more starting HP, but that's about it.

The only redeeming class would be the wizard/mage. He starts with some spells, which adds some variety to the melee class's strategy of tapping the enemy on the face until it dies. However, spells are consumables and are quite costly early on, so you'll still be tapping monsters in the face anyway until you get a nice stash of gold. Even then, it's not worth casting spells on most monsters because of the high price.

With all that said, there are some good things here, but it's just not enough. If classes had some unique skills with regular progression, it would be a solid title worth at least $5 to me. But with overly simple gameplay with very little combat variety, it's a $. 99 app at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great old school rpg, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
Very fun game. Reminds me of older games from back in the day! I got it as a free app of the day months back, but would gladly buy it! As others said the game gets updated with new levels via download and there are no in app purchases or ads! Solid developer!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun!, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
I am so glad I bought the full game. There are many more choices and quests than the demo. Try the demo first and then be ready to upgrade. Really fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun dungeon crawls, September 3, 2013
By 
Arwynn (Dallas, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mighty Dungeons (App)
a fun game to play! I can play a level when I have a few minutes to kill. Waiting for school to let out is one of them. No too easy, not to hard-unless you change settings otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mighty Dungeons
Mighty Dungeons by Laylio Games
$1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.