Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 12, 2014
I purchased this battery case, and like many reviewers pointed out... no electrical connection.

The reason it fails is because the battery case width (AAA's end to end) is a tiny fraction too small for the batteries when inserted. They tend to 'pop' out of their slots just a little bit, and thus no electrical circuit completed. Just closing the case top on them does not push them into the full seating required. This tends to be centralized on the 'middle' batteries of the group. I can only assume this is the general reason for the product not working... perhaps they designed the case based on a different battery manufacturer that has slightly short battery nibs... I don't know. (I always use Duracell alkaline batteries)

Insert your batteries inside the case shell, and take a small piece of 20-lb paper (common printer paper) which needs to be cut in a short rectangle with the edges just covering the footprint of the battery group installed. Place it over the batteries in such a manner that the paper edges do not interfere with the case back being installed. Slowly close the back up and you should be good to go.

The paper insert gives just enough fill to keep the batteries down allowing continued contact with the metal fingers of the case.

Battery pack now works.
33 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
I am at a loss to explain some of the negative reviews on this product. I bought two to go with the UV-5R+ radios I bought and was quite impressed with the construction and fit. They are better quality than the similar packs I bought to go with my Icom W-32A radios at a third the price. The fit initially was pretty tight but after inserting it 5 or 6 times, it fit just like the factory Lithium battery. I have the radios for very occasional use and was concerned that the Lithium batterys may not be available in a couple years rendering the radios useless. This solves that problem as AAA batteries will be around when I am gone. I am going to order another two today to go with the other two UV-5R+ radios I just ordered.
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
Received it with only half of the internals to connect the battery. Only 4 out of the 6 batteries make a connection leaving the middle two to fall out and/or rattle around.

This item does not work!!!!!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
This product needs some refining. The "AAA" batteries do not fit nicely in there slots .The battery pack will not properly couple up to the UV-5R radio and make electrical contact . I should of bought a BaoFeng BL-5 Two Way Radio Battery pack instead.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
My battery case had one internal connector that wasn't of the correct gender. This made one of the AAA cells not make a connection when inserted (this prevented the entire battery case from working). It looks like that connector was for the other side of the case (perhaps assembled at the factory incorrectly?). Either way...pretty crappy as it's completely useless.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
The construction of this product is about as cheap as you can get. It does not fit the radio without modification, and the battery clips are not attached to the case and fall out when the case is opened. After sanding down the attachment clip and super gluing the battery clips in place it sorta works. As inexpensive as it is, it is still not worth the money. I do not recommend that anyone buy this product.
33 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
The curved tabs that fit under the radio housing are shaped slightly differently than the stock Li-ion battery pack which makes it nearly impossible to attach, and it's a major PITA to open.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2014
Product Description ("4pcs x AA Battery Case" for Baofeng UV5R series")
AND customer questions (Q: Does this use AA batteries A:Yes)
both claim this case holds AA Batteries.
The cases I recieved use AAA only. Sad.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
Just know you will NOT be able to transmit with this unless you put a "dud" battery in this. With all new battery's, it has too much power going to it and will keep you from transmitting to keep from frying the radio. However still a great thing to have when out in the field if your original battery died off on you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
Like all of the Baofeng ham equipment I have tried, this battery pack works. It is not a beautiful piece of engineering, but the batteries fit and it power the radio just fine. I have not drop tested it, but this is the only area I would suspect the pack may fail. It is not a very sturdy unit. For the money, it is a value compared to higher end brands.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.