Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it is
This is a book on how to mince, dice, chop, etc in the French way. It has beautiful, detailed photos of every thing it covers, like 16 detailed photos of Masquage (if you are like me and did not know what that is, then buy the book)and about thirty pictures of cabbage, and twenty of making sole meuniere, and that does not include the pictures of how to bone the sole...
Published on July 16, 2011 by Ralph B. Wood

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but...
This book is certainly beautiful, full of color photographs, but it doesn't make much sense.
Supposing you want to make a sauce. First, you go to the chapter "Techniques and Basic Preparations". Then you go to the chapter "Technical Fabrication Sheets...". Then, for the actual recipe, go to the second book! (Which I still need to get).
If you really want to...
Published on December 4, 2010 by Apple Pie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it is, July 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
This is a book on how to mince, dice, chop, etc in the French way. It has beautiful, detailed photos of every thing it covers, like 16 detailed photos of Masquage (if you are like me and did not know what that is, then buy the book)and about thirty pictures of cabbage, and twenty of making sole meuniere, and that does not include the pictures of how to bone the sole. Very much a text book for a student who is studying to cook in the clasic French way. After all how many of need to know more than six different ways to chop an onion, carrot, etc. Fun to look through however maybe a little too much detail for even the serious home cook. Very technical, after looking through it, I was almost expecting a quiz at end. There are no recipes in the whole book that are just stand along recipes, all are foundations (as title states) or starting points for other recipes. It is just what the title says it is. Not unhappy at all that I purchased it but it is for a serious cook who has, or wants, a very well equipped kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great foundation, lots of photos, June 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
I bought this book second hand through Amazon. The book had some minor highlighting through it, which I dont mind.

The book has loads of photos! 17 photos just to cook a stuffed omelet (page 248 - 249), 14 photos to butterfly prawns (pg 296 - 298), 32 photos to prepare a sole fillet.

It aims at an elementary level (eg 17 pages on preparing different cuts of potatoes), so it may be too basic for many 'experienced' home cooks, especially if you dont mind too much if your potatoes are cut 'migonette', 'allumette', or 'paile'.

There is more information on fish, seafood, vegetables, but the meat section seems a bit lightweight in comparison. The last sections of the book are 'technical fabrication sheets for classic French preparations', including stocks and basic recipes to illustrate the techniques referred to in the rest of the book. From the Amazon book preview, I thought that most of the book followed this type of format, but it's only the last 50 pages of the 500 page book.

If you're irritated by French cookbooks with limited pictures, then this book could be a great complement for your other books. If you're a confident cook, or you dont mind if your tomatoes are seeded 'emondee' or 'videes' then this Foundational book may be too basic for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Translated French Cuisine!, June 10, 2010
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
Ever feel like chefs are speaking another language? Mis en place, chiffonade, julienne...? THEY ARE, especially when we're talking French cuisine. Le Cordon Bleu's "Cuisine Foundations" unlocks the door, and gives you the opportunity to step into the prestigious world of Le Cordon Bleu and French cuisine! It breaks everything down into a simple, easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide. Consider this your new best friend!

The Le Cordon Bleu has been training the best of the best in the art of French cuisine since 1895, and now you and I are privy to the tried-and-true techniques that made it the premiere culinary institute that it is today. You will learn the techniques they still teach their students: this is what makes French cooking, well...FRENCH!!

This book not only outlines the techniques, it's beautifully illustrated with step-by-step photos and recipes to help you learn: there's no way you can't succeed with this in your library!

Whether you are a culinary student, a home cook, or a serious foodie, this book should be in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but..., December 4, 2010
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
This book is certainly beautiful, full of color photographs, but it doesn't make much sense.
Supposing you want to make a sauce. First, you go to the chapter "Techniques and Basic Preparations". Then you go to the chapter "Technical Fabrication Sheets...". Then, for the actual recipe, go to the second book! (Which I still need to get).
If you really want to learn to cook, you need to use both books simultaneously. It would have made more sense to group all the info for one food together, from technique through recipe.
Also disappointing is the long list of various fish with no pictures to differentiate, and the list of spices and herbs with random photos only, no pics for ALL of them.
Less important perhaps is the confused editing of the "History and Evolution of French Cuisine" chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Culinary Students Bible!, October 17, 2010
By 
C. Reid (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
I am a blogger and received this book for review and gave it a glowing recommendation.I am enrolled in a Hospitality/Food Service program at my college and my next class involves basic food prep. This semester I took Bakery Production and our textbook for the class has instructions along with recipes but its focused on teaching you. Le Cordon Bleu is known worldwide for creating amazing chefs. This book is an answer to requests by the students to have a reference that has it all and this book does. From teaching you every way to slide a carrot, to teaching you how to make a creme filling for eclairs it covers everything and its laid out just like my culinary class textbooks. The conversions are easy to read and understand. I showed these books to my advisor and he said that I got a really great book because it teaches, not just recipes. This is a must for any culinary student looking to have a good reference book in their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Le cordob Bleu cuisine foundations, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
It is a great book as they are all the books published by cordon Bleu,lots of informations good for the home cook.
It is like going to cooking school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Cordon Blue Cuisine Foundations, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
I recommend this book, This book is excellent I'm glad I bought it.
this book teaches you step by step all the tecniques that is required in a large professional kitchen I'm glad I was able to find this book at great price and will be valuable for those who want to learn to cook like a real chef and when I ordered it the book arrived fast and in a very good condition I am a happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, easy to follow, April 14, 2014
By 
Rolando Aguilar (Heredia, Costa Rica) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
Great book, good cuisine foundations for any home cook or chef on the making.

Well structured and clear instructions. A must for anyone trying to improve cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, February 14, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
This is a great book to review or learn about the fundamentals of classical techniques. Covers very important aspects of basic cookery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book is so inspiring and easy to follow, August 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations (Hardcover)
This book is so inspiring and easy to follow, it's like having a teacher there with you
Guiding you, just love all the cordon bleu book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations
Le Cordon Bleu Cuisine Foundations by The Chefs of Le Cordon Bleu (Hardcover - April 21, 2010)
$99.95 $54.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.