Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars16
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$99.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 21, 2011
I bought this book second hand through Amazon. The book had some minor highlighting through it, which I dont mind.

The book has loads of photos! 17 photos just to cook a stuffed omelet (page 248 - 249), 14 photos to butterfly prawns (pg 296 - 298), 32 photos to prepare a sole fillet.

It aims at an elementary level (eg 17 pages on preparing different cuts of potatoes), so it may be too basic for many 'experienced' home cooks, especially if you dont mind too much if your potatoes are cut 'migonette', 'allumette', or 'paile'.

There is more information on fish, seafood, vegetables, but the meat section seems a bit lightweight in comparison. The last sections of the book are 'technical fabrication sheets for classic French preparations', including stocks and basic recipes to illustrate the techniques referred to in the rest of the book. From the Amazon book preview, I thought that most of the book followed this type of format, but it's only the last 50 pages of the 500 page book.

If you're irritated by French cookbooks with limited pictures, then this book could be a great complement for your other books. If you're a confident cook, or you dont mind if your tomatoes are seeded 'emondee' or 'videes' then this Foundational book may be too basic for you.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2011
This is a book on how to mince, dice, chop, etc in the French way. It has beautiful, detailed photos of every thing it covers, like 16 detailed photos of Masquage (if you are like me and did not know what that is, then buy the book)and about thirty pictures of cabbage, and twenty of making sole meuniere, and that does not include the pictures of how to bone the sole. Very much a text book for a student who is studying to cook in the clasic French way. After all how many of need to know more than six different ways to chop an onion, carrot, etc. Fun to look through however maybe a little too much detail for even the serious home cook. Very technical, after looking through it, I was almost expecting a quiz at end. There are no recipes in the whole book that are just stand along recipes, all are foundations (as title states) or starting points for other recipes. It is just what the title says it is. Not unhappy at all that I purchased it but it is for a serious cook who has, or wants, a very well equipped kitchen.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2010
Ever feel like chefs are speaking another language? Mis en place, chiffonade, julienne...? THEY ARE, especially when we're talking French cuisine. Le Cordon Bleu's "Cuisine Foundations" unlocks the door, and gives you the opportunity to step into the prestigious world of Le Cordon Bleu and French cuisine! It breaks everything down into a simple, easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide. Consider this your new best friend!

The Le Cordon Bleu has been training the best of the best in the art of French cuisine since 1895, and now you and I are privy to the tried-and-true techniques that made it the premiere culinary institute that it is today. You will learn the techniques they still teach their students: this is what makes French cooking, well...FRENCH!!

This book not only outlines the techniques, it's beautifully illustrated with step-by-step photos and recipes to help you learn: there's no way you can't succeed with this in your library!

Whether you are a culinary student, a home cook, or a serious foodie, this book should be in your library.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2010
This book is certainly beautiful, full of color photographs, but it doesn't make much sense.
Supposing you want to make a sauce. First, you go to the chapter "Techniques and Basic Preparations". Then you go to the chapter "Technical Fabrication Sheets...". Then, for the actual recipe, go to the second book! (Which I still need to get).
If you really want to learn to cook, you need to use both books simultaneously. It would have made more sense to group all the info for one food together, from technique through recipe.
Also disappointing is the long list of various fish with no pictures to differentiate, and the list of spices and herbs with random photos only, no pics for ALL of them.
Less important perhaps is the confused editing of the "History and Evolution of French Cuisine" chapter.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2010
I am a blogger and received this book for review and gave it a glowing recommendation.I am enrolled in a Hospitality/Food Service program at my college and my next class involves basic food prep. This semester I took Bakery Production and our textbook for the class has instructions along with recipes but its focused on teaching you. Le Cordon Bleu is known worldwide for creating amazing chefs. This book is an answer to requests by the students to have a reference that has it all and this book does. From teaching you every way to slide a carrot, to teaching you how to make a creme filling for eclairs it covers everything and its laid out just like my culinary class textbooks. The conversions are easy to read and understand. I showed these books to my advisor and he said that I got a really great book because it teaches, not just recipes. This is a must for any culinary student looking to have a good reference book in their collection!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
I recommend this book, This book is excellent I'm glad I bought it.
this book teaches you step by step all the tecniques that is required in a large professional kitchen I'm glad I was able to find this book at great price and will be valuable for those who want to learn to cook like a real chef and when I ordered it the book arrived fast and in a very good condition I am a happy customer.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
This is a good little textbook for the aspiring chef to learn the basic foundations of french cooking. Intermediate and advanced techniques along with other helpful information is included. I was particularly impressed with the section on cutting vegetables. I have always wanted to find the secret to being one of those fast choppers! Stocks, sauces, and roux... here I come!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
It is a great book as they are all the books published by cordon Bleu,lots of informations good for the home cook.
It is like going to cooking school
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
This is a great book to review or learn about the fundamentals of classical techniques. Covers very important aspects of basic cookery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
Any Cordon Bleu fan will appreciate this book. Great gift - and one that keeps on giving if you're the dining recipient of the recipes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse