Customer Reviews


298 Reviews
5 star:
 (224)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insights! And a splendid vision of how things can be.
There are many books on Leadership that have little to say. Sinek's book has both new insights and an inspiring vision.

Sinek begins with biology and outlines the roles of chemicals - specifically Endorphins, Dopamine, Serotonin and Oxytocin - and how evolution has dictated why we generate them and how we respond to them. Endorphins mask pain and help give you...
Published 11 months ago by Srikumar S. Rao

versus
35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (Re) Stating the Obvious--Interesting Read But Nothing New
I really tried to give this book a higher rating but just couldn't. While I can't quibble with anything Sinek says, he says nothing that hasn't been said by dozens of other authors. The point of his book: Leaders need to care for others, protect them from harm, provide opportunities for them to grow and develop, create a vision of something to believe in that's larger...
Published 10 months ago by William Corsair


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insights! And a splendid vision of how things can be., January 7, 2014
By 
This review is from: Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Donít (Hardcover)
There are many books on Leadership that have little to say. Sinek's book has both new insights and an inspiring vision.

Sinek begins with biology and outlines the roles of chemicals - specifically Endorphins, Dopamine, Serotonin and Oxytocin - and how evolution has dictated why we generate them and how we respond to them. Endorphins mask pain and help give you a `runner's high' or the intense satisfaction after a tough work out.

Dopamine leads to your `feeling good' upon accomplishing a goal whether that is bringing home dinner while evading sabre-toothed tigers or doing a bang-up job on a major presentation. Think of endorphins and Dopamine as the `individual achievement' chemicals. We need them to excel at what we do.

Serotonin is what gives you a feeling of gratitude and affection for the persons who supported you in your endeavors and the good feeling as they applaud you. Oxytocin is `love' chemical. It gives you the warm fuzzies you get when you hug someone or have a deep meaningful conversation. Think of Serotonin and Oxytocin as the `social' chemicals.

We, as humans, need both the individual achievement and social chemicals to progress. What has happened, unfortunately, in our society is that mores and values have changed to emphasize the former to such an extent that a deadly imbalance has been created. It is truly toxic - your job may be killing you. I used to think this was hyperbole but Sinek presents enough evidence for me to revise this opinion.

Central to Sinek's arguments is the `Circle of Safety'. When a sabre-toothed tiger attacks a herd of buffalos they gather together with their tails touching and horns out. Whichever direction that tiger attacks, it is met with impenetrable defense. This is the circle of safety. We want to feel that there are persons we can trust who will look out for us. Where we can let our guard down and be ourselves.

In such a trusting environment we can focus on doing the best we can and this greatly benefits both us, individually, the company. This feeling of `belonging' is what has disappeared from the corporate workplace to a large extent. It has been replaced by an ethos of `everyone for himself and the Devil take the hindmost'. And, sadly, even the `winners' in this environment are actually losers because of the personal price they pay in terms of insecurity and lack of meaningful relations, not to mention health side effects.

What I found really useful in the book is the way in which Sinek takes concepts from fields such as psychology and shows how they are relevant to what we experience in the workplace. I found these to be penetrating insights and they lead to many `aha' moments as well as to a change in the way I conduct some of my own programs.

For example, take the Milgram experiments. These are some of the best known - and most shocking - experiments in psychology and the implications are truly horrifying. In the early sixties, shortly after the Adolf Eichmann capture, trial and execution, there was a lively debate on whether Nazi collaborators were simply `following orders' or had a sense of responsibility and ownership for what they did.

Yale professor Stanley Milgram devised a series of experiments in which a volunteer was asked to deliver electric shocks to a subject each time he made an `error' in a lesson. Unbeknownst to the volunteer the subject was actually a confederate of the professor and an actor who affected great pain and suffering as the level of electric shocks increased. In reality there were no shocks and no pain but the volunteer did not know this.

When volunteers demurred from administering painful electric shocks the white gowned Milgram told them in various ways that they were required to continue even when they thought that the shocks they were administering were severely harmful to the subject.

The shocking result was that huge numbers of `normal' persons - readily or with mild trepidation - continued to administer potentially lethal shocks to subjects even as they howled with pain and demanded that they be released from the experiment. And this happened simply because they were told to do so by an `authority figure' with no threats or rewards for doing so.

Obviously this has great implications for why dictatorships form and survive and the debate on this continues to this day.

What Sinek points out is that this same experiment is played out in our companies every day at huge human toll. I had never thought of it in these terms before but parallel is exact. Many `managers' willingly take actions that they know will bring hardship and suffering to others - mass layoffs, reductions in benefits, changes in working conditions etc. - simply because they have been directed to do so. Even worse, we have evolved a business `philosophy' where formal directions are no longer necessary - this is simply the way to do things.

Sinek talks about how to bring the balance back in our workplace so both companies and individuals can thrive side by side in a symbiotic relationship. And he gives lots of examples such as the Barry Wehmiller companies where CEO Bob Chapman is dedicated to `building great people who do extraordinary things. And Charlie Kim, CEO of Next Jump who implemented a policy of lifetime employment.

I particularly like his comparison of the results achieved by James Sinegal, CEO of Costco and Jack Welch the much touted former CEO of General Electric. Welch's paradigm of pitting executives against each other created a high stress environment and the gains were short-lived and unsustainable.

In contrast Sinegal built a strong `circle of safety' for his people, paid wages which were nearly double those at Walmart and did many things to engender loyalty and trust. Costco employees are loyal and have built it into the second largest retailer in the country and the growth is both balanced and continuing.

This book will make you think differently about the business systems that prevail in our society and also give you a way to make the workplace more humane.

I hope you join the `Truly Human Leadership" bandwagon set rolling by Bob Chapman, CEO of the Barry Wehmiller companies. Be sure to watch his TEDx talk. Google it to get the URL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very different view of management, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I previously read "Start With Why" and really enjoyed it. That book helped to completely reframe the way I viewed business and the big picture. I was very excited to get a chance to read this book. Initially, I thought it would give a fuller explaination of how the Marines create greater sensitivity in their leaders. In a way, it did this although actually, the book was much more of a scientific study on the chemistry of management. I think it's interesting how Simon related biological chemicals that we all have to better management. The concept of a Circle of Safety and treating each employee as if you are their second parent is also interesting. I think in particular the end of the book where Simon talks about how the current generation feels entitled to quick success is very enlightening and very true. The ultimate point of the book is that if a leader watches out for their people and commits their whole organization to serve others and each other, everyone wins. It's easier said than done, but it's a very good reminder of the importance of going beyond just chasing financial gain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (Re) Stating the Obvious--Interesting Read But Nothing New, February 18, 2014
By 
William Corsair "Will" (Leavenworth County, KS USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Donít (Hardcover)
I really tried to give this book a higher rating but just couldn't. While I can't quibble with anything Sinek says, he says nothing that hasn't been said by dozens of other authors. The point of his book: Leaders need to care for others, protect them from harm, provide opportunities for them to grow and develop, create a vision of something to believe in that's larger than themselves, and take an interest--a genuine interest--in the well-being of their followers.

There's a great deal of hand wringing in this book, but almost no "how-to" that can be applied in everyday organizations. He even uses the word "polemic" late in the book as a description of what he's writing. We all know what needs to be done, but very few of us are doing it.

Yes, it was interesting to read about brain chemicals and current brain research. And it was okay to read some of his comparisons between/among companies that see profit as the purpose versus those companies that see profit as a means to greater purpose. The problem is that all of this could have been stated in a pamphlet, rather than a 216-page book. And, just as his TED talk on "Start With Why" offered everything in that book, his 99U video offers everything in this book--in less than 45 minutes.

I recommend lots of books to students in my leadership development classes but, in this case, I'll recommend that the students watch Sinek's videos and save their money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Create a circle of safety for optimal team performance, January 7, 2014
This review is from: Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Donít (Hardcover)
Written by one of the most astute observers of the human condition today, this manifesto makes the case that humans work best when placed in environments similar to those in which we evolved.

Through surveys, scientific research, and stories, Simon Sinek describes the pain many suffer in workplaces. Instead of thriving, we are preoccupied with internal rivalries and distanced from fellow humans by abstraction and scale. The result is our defense mechanisms kick in, and the chemicals released make us more unhelpful, unhappy, and unhealthy.

There is a way out. Understanding that humans biologically evolved to cooperate and that leaders emerged to protect the group, organizations that create environments paralleling those early conditions will bring out the best in us. This means taking steps to avoid the allure of abstraction in modern life by keeping it real and avoiding the perils of scale by keeping team sizes that mimic those of human tribes.

The leader, then, plays a role in service to the group, protecting it from external threats. In short, quoting a Marine Corps general, Leaders Eat Last.

If you work with humans, you'll be delighted and reinvigorated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No any new theories or principles but explanation of difference between good and bad leadership, January 10, 2014
“Leaders Eat Last” written by Simon Sinek is a book about leadership that does not offer any new theories or principles but instead skillfully explains what makes the difference between good and bad leadership and how to help an organization or people that you manage to feel happier and more satisfied.

Before reading the book I wasn’t aware that the Huffington Post has included Sinek’s book into the list of “The 12 Business Books to Read in 2014” (moreover in the first place), but after I read it that doesn’t surprise me because it’s truly a book for everyone who works with people and manage them.

In the book foreword, retired US General George J. Flynn nicely wrote that an organization’s success or failure is based on leadership excellence and not managerial acumen – and this is one of the common situations in business when leadership is equated with management, which, although in many ways are overlapping and complement each other, are not the words that mean the same thing.
For this reason, the author in his book explains why management can’t be enough to sustain any organization in the long run; he explains the human behavior elements that are causing organization to perform well over certain period of time, but lose its breath in the long run, the reason being their people lacking the good leadership.

The author simply defines leadership - it’s an environment where people are important, their thinking matters, where values are shared and together they are passing through the good and bad, knowing that it is all an integral part of every job and life.
In his book Simon Sinek is often referencing to the military examples which is not surprising because in that old human profession the term of leader and the leadership is the most prominent, even though sometimes is not supported by a formal hierarchy - many times happened that in the most difficult times of military conflicts someone leadership managed to raise the morale of those around and the battle that seemed long lost was won.

In “Leaders Eat Last” divided into eight chapters, with significantly last chapter named “Becoming a Leader,” author explained many aspects of leadership, including human biology and different chemicals that occur in our bodies evolved through countless generations forcing us to do things even us sometimes not certain why.
And therefore, if after this book you stop rushing to lunch, letting your colleagues in front to catch the best pieces that will mean you are one step closer to become a leader because they always think of others first, putting their own interest aside to protect us…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Review Was Biologically Determined and So is Your Response To It., May 25, 2014
This review is from: Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Donít (Hardcover)
Pros: Sinek sheds light on what many of us have known intuitively but may have never heard articulated recently in a conventional manner- namely that something is wrong with the way the modern business and corporate America pursues profits at the expense of it's employees. He candidly reveals that the very thing lacking is a special kind of leadership among administrators and managers that puts proper emphasis on the inherent value and worth of their employees. Companies are more than P&L spreadsheets. Two pearls Sinek leaves us with early are 1) an observation that within organizations, people desire to be led and not managed and 2) that they perform much better when they believe they are part of a family of sorts in lieu of being a nameless/faceless staff member within a department. Sinek gives a few good examples of how investing in people over the long haul actually makes more business sense than treating them as a liability or a "resource" to be expediently jettisoned whenever the short term would suggest. I particularly appreciated Sinek's description of the modern historical and cultural development of this phenomenon in Part 4 of his book.

Cons: Sinek leans heavily upon an a priori attribution of all human behavioral patterns to neural biochemistry and frequently cites theories of evolutionary development to prop up a 'how we got here from there' anthropological summary, straining at times to create a neo-darwinian narrative. In Sinek's naturalistic world, the only explanations that matter can be boiled down to energy and mass. This would also apply, as well, to the ethical categories of right and wrong, truth and falsehood, or ontological issues like personhood, personality, human dignity, and more importantly- choice. Sineks behavioral explanations assume a naturalistic determinism that undermines the value of the efforts put forth in his book. We get a double-minded message: people are worthy of dignity and should make the right choices but it's all merely a biochemical illusion. Sinek's prescriptions are on the mark but not new. Once can find similar admonishments within pages of Scripture (Do unto others...) as well as the supreme example of servant leadership typified by atoning sacrifice of the Man from Galilee.

The book is worth buying and reading but I recommend skipping Part 2. Men don't throw themselves on grenades to save the lives of their brothers because the Norepi, Epi, Oxytocin, Serotonin, or Dopamine in their brain told them to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality concepts, but interlaced with too much liberal dogma, July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the book and without a doubt will incorporate many of the concepts into my business. To that extent I give Simon "two thumbs up". But halfway though, I had trouble swallowing opinion presented as fact. Conclusions based on one example, when if given a different example there would be a different conclusion does not equal a fact. I believe that the variety of opinion is what makes all of us smarter and I do embrace that, I am however very uncomfortable with opinions being presented as facts, which they certainly are not. It made the second half very distracting, and as I would like to point out to Simon; it kicked up a lot of unnecessary cortisol, distracted from the message and forced me to go back and weed the garden in the end to see some of the beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for every business owner, as well as employees., May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Donít (Hardcover)
Simon Sinek has demonstrated in his book that we are all humans that should be treated with respect. In this regard businesses are starting to forget about the core fundamentals that make profit without considering people as just numbers. The more exposure leaders get with their employees the better the leaders should treat his company. In return for this generous care and safety employees start to take the company more then just a place to work. Employees will wear their company on their shoulders and would be proud to work at the company for as long as they would be allowed. Without safety or trust though comes a high stress environment where employees feel lifeless. They come for the money then leave, this leads to people not feeling safe and secure and causes them to not trust their leader in helping them support their family. Successful companies treat their employees like their children; they will not lay off employees when times get bad but actually treat them with even more safety. This simple act of kindness allows employees themselves to protect one another such as ideas of having mandatory no pay vacations in small
doses so they can all pull together and wait out the bad times of the company.

Simon talks about key terms such as the circle of safety as well as our biology with selfish chemicals such as endorphin and dopamine. The other two chemicals that we receive are called selfless chemicals and they are serotonin and oxytocin.

Endorphins come from physical activity, or stress and fear. When it is released into our body it masks pain with pleasure. This is also seen when we start to enjoy exercising and how some people can complete long triathlons. This chemical gives us the next step in what we need to cover a great distance.

Dopamine is the reward we receive when we accomplish something or become near to accomplishing a task. Dopamine is slowly released little by little when we get closer to finishing something. The dopamine amount is also relative to how hard the task is. Dopamine is the reason why we continue with projects because it makes us feel good about ourselves.

Serotonin is the feeling we get when we feel recognized and appreciated. It gives us confidence and makes us strong when we receive a compliment of our abilities as a person. examples of this is when we walk receive an award for best employee in front of all your co-workers, or walking down graduation day being held your degree you worked so hard to get.

Oxytocin is the chemical we receive when we develop deep trust with another person. When someone does something nice to us we get a rush of oxytocin in our blood and it is a feeling what some call the chemical love. Oxytocin is also responsible for making us vulnerable and open up. This gives us a equal share in the group to bare our inner circle of safety which gives us an easier time to focus on tasks.

These two terms go hand in hand and it is up to the leaders to create the circle of safety for their employees in the work environment a place they feel safe and secure. Without the circle of safety being received by all employees, trust and integrity go down the drain and slowly grab the company in a slow but sure spiral of how the company should be. These chemicals should be in balance and it is up to how the leader structures their company to ensure their employees are receiving the circle of safety.

The military and basic human fundamentals are clear examples Simon based his theories on and I feel he did a good job explaining himself. Fantastic book and a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not as solid as his other work, May 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read other Sinek books which I found very helpful and challenging. This one seemed to be more history lessons which he tagged with catchy leadership headlines. Honestly the chapter titles are the most helpful things. Just look over the headings and you get the best parts of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Sinek. Make it practical next time, May 14, 2014
This review is from: Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Donít (Hardcover)
Big sweeping statements about his brand of ethics rather than any real original practical case studies. How many people are gonna rehash this milgrem study (people shocking others in a university study cause they were told) w/out any original insight?

How is this book getting 4.5 stars? It's up there with Crime and punishment? And better than Gladwells books? I'm sorry I disagree heartily. This gentleman preaches the whole time, gives highly worn stories and gives very very little pragmatic solutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Donít
Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and Others Don’t by Simon Sinek (Hardcover - January 7, 2014)
$27.95 $16.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.