Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I was torn in deciding how to grade this book. Clearly, anyone who has already enjoyed most of Dr. Maxwell's outstanding leadership books would find this book to be a valuable, inexpensive and highly portable reminder of those many lessons. For that person, the book is clearly a five star value! Carry it around and draw sustenance from it!! My rating above reflects this perspective, since there are lots of people who do know his work well. When you face a leadership challenge, pull this book out to refocus you and your energies in the right direction!
What about the person who's new to leadership? I would have to grade the book much lower, probably a 2 or 3. Somewhere in the middle of the book (probably between chapters 5-7), most people new to leadership would lose the thread. It's just a little too condensed. In addition, I just didn't think that several of the examples worked for the point they attempted to make. For instance, Dr. Maxwell could have found more meaningful examples for me than Princess Diana and Roberto Goizueta if I were a new leader. I would nominate instead Barbara Bush for her caring and Frances Hesselbein for preparing successors.
Here are the book's structure and key examples for its 108 jam-packed pages:
Part I: The Development of a Leader
1. Why Should I Grow as a Leader? The McDonald brothers versus Ray Kroc in developing McDonalds.
2. How Can I Grow as a Leader? Teddy Roosevelt
Part II: The Traits of a Leader
3. How Can I Become Disciplined? Jerry Rice
4. How Should I Prioritize My Life? Paul Tsongas
5. How Do I Develop Trust? Billy Graham
6. How Can I Effectively Cast Vision? Walt Disney
Part III: The Impact of Leader
7. Why Is Influence Important? Princess Diana
8. How Does Influence Work? Robert Dilenschneider
9. How Can I Extend My Influence? His father
10. How Can I Make My Leadership Last? Roberto Goizueta
Finally, what's the best part of the book? For me, it was the repetition of the Law of the Lid: Your ability to accomplish things is circumscribed until you can energize others in the same purpose. There's a nice set of graphic displays to make this point.
As a technical note, some of the information in the examples seemed dated. I don't believe that Mr. Dilenschneider has been head of Hill & Knowlton for many years . . . yet that's the way he is described. Roberto Goizueta's hand-picked successor at Coca-Cola, Douglas Ivester, did not work out (although he is described as a great success here) and had to be replaced. Paul Tsongas later reentered politics to run for president rather than smelling the roses with his family (even though he had had a recurrence of the cancer that soon killed him). It's almost as though these examples were all written a number of years ago, and not revisited.
Draw inspiration from your vision of serving others . . . and get busy!
0Comment|80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2004
John C. Maxwell has apparently spent the majority of his life striving to become one of the leading members of society. Maxwell is an ex-preacher, a key notes speaker, and runs a leadership development consultant firm. Needless to say Maxwell's rhetoric is very impressive. I enjoyed "Leadership 101" as much as anybody can really enjoy a textbook. I felt that the book was very well organized, but that Maxwell used his stunning organization to tip-toe around the fact that the book actually contained few useful guidelines to becoming a leader.

It is not very often that you find a book so well written that you do not mind reading on despite that lack of inspiration from the text. John Maxwell does cover many topics concerning leadership during his book. Such topics are the Lid of Leadership, or the Four Stages of Developing into a Leader, and the Development of Personal Vision. These topics cover tangible ideas about leadership theory, but do not really create any solid conclusions about how the reader should begin to attain these goals. Maxwell uses stories about famous icons such as Jerry Rice, Princess Dianna, and Mother Theresa to explain his theories of how to become a leader, but somewhere along the way the messages seem to fall shortof their goal. The stories seem to overwhelm the information, and Maxwell offers no real plan to the reader to follow on their own

As a student of Communications I am very aware of the ideas that leaders are born and also created. but to a certain degree all characteristics of being a good leader can be studied, copied, and eventually learned. This journey towards leadership, even if guided by a personal mentor, will always be a personal experience. Despite this,you would think that after 21 books on Leadership John C. Maxwell would have developed a more tangible plan for his audience to follow.

In defense of this book, I am aware that it is one of Maxwell's shorter works, and that with a more compact text not all the information required to become a leader can be squished into just 108 pages. If I was to describe the type of person I would recommend this book for I would have to say a person looking for an entry-level book on the topic of Leadership. This book will give you a good base structure from which to work. Maxwell emphasizes that individuals must work on personal traits such as discipline, perseverance and commitment, while working towards developing their personal character. This is important ground work for anybody working towards becoming a leader.

Unfortunately I would say that a more advanced student of leadership would be mildly disappointed by this book. If you are a fan of Maxwell's work and wish to check it out; I would recommend this book as a quick read while traveling. This book will remind you of the qualities you must possess as you continue your journey towards becoming a leader. Maxwell's "Leadership 101" will be a nice refresher course, but if you are a true leader you will be thirsty for more information when you finish the last page.
22 comments|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2005
Many people attain positions of leadership in the organisations, community and other spheres of life but with no guidance of what good leadership entails. John Maxwell did a good job of writing a small book packed with useful guidance on how to be an effective leader. He divided the book into three parts. The first part describes how one can develop as a leader, whilst the second part explains the traits of a leader and the last part is on the impact that a leader can have on people.

The need for a clear vision as a leader becomes very apparent after reading the book. As a leader one should be aiming at producing a lasting legacy, that is, one should be aiming at making a difference to the lives of others. Followers should be willing to follow you because of the positive influence that you have on people as a good leader. To be an effective leader, one needs to continually develop oneself. High quality leadership entails empowering others to exercise their huge potential for the benefit of the organisation or the team. Followers have to trust you as a leader and trust has to be earned from one's actions.

One cannot hope to be an exceptional leader unless one is self-disciplined. Leadership starts with being able to lead yourself before one can lead others.

The book is written in simple easy to follow style which makes it readable by anyone at leadership position in an organisation or other sphere of life.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2007
The author of this book has written over 25 books on leadership, and here he tries to distill a lifetime of thought, practice, and study to produce an introduction to the subject.

This book is not and does not pretend to be comprehensive, but it is useful to students of the ever growing field of leadership studies and to practioners in a myriad of fields. While this book invokes Presidents Abraham Lincoln, Theodore Roosevelt and Jimmy Carter, Princess Diana, General "Black Jack Pershing, heavyweight boxing champion Joe Frazier, football star Jerry Rice, basketball star Jerry West, U.S. Senator Paul Tsongas, National Hockey League coach Mike Keenan, among others, the thrust of this book is on business leadership--with heroes like Walt Disney, Roy Kroc of McDonald's, and Roberto Guizeta of Coca Cola.

The field of leadership studies is more and more entering the turf of the social sciences, with numerous case studies and comparative studies, but this volume does not go there. Anecdotes are piled upon anecdotes to make point after point. A person less credible than the author, one of the most prolific writers on the subject, would meet more resistance with his generalizations.

The level of leadership in an organization serves as a lid on how successful an organization can be, the author says. The hire the level of leadership, the greater the potential of an organization. He speaks approvingly of the philosophy of firing old leaders when taking over a failing organization. "The higher the leadership, the greater the effectiveness," he says.

"Leadership develops daily and not in a day," he says. In other words, building leadership skills is the work of a lifetime. The four phases of leadership growth are (1) "I don't know what I don't know;" (2) "I know what I don't know;" (3) "I grow and know and it starts to show;" and (4) "I go because of what I know." There are no overnight successes, he says. The catchiness of this description might lead some to take it less serioiusly than it deserves to be taken.

A good leader, he says, has the traits of being disciplined. That includes "the discipline to prioritize and the ability to work toward a stated goal...." He draws distinctions between leaders and followers: (1) leaders initiate, while followers react; (2) leaders pick up the phone and make contact, while followers wait for the phone to ring; (3) leaders spend time planning and anticipate problems, while followers spend time living day to day reacting to problems; (4) leaders invest time with people, while followers spend time with people; (5) leaders fill the calendar by priorities, while followers fill the calendar by requests.

Leaders keep priorities in place by evaluating requirements, return, and reward. They eliminate unnecessary work by asking what can be done by someone else. They ask subordinates what are the top projects they are going and how long it will take.

He quotes a survey of regrets of people 95 and over conducted by the Rev. Dr. Anthony Campolo of Eastern University. The top three answers were "If I had to do it over again, I would reflect more. If I had to do it over again, I would risk more. If I had to do it over again, I would do more things that would live on after I am dead."

Trust is the foundation of leadership, he says. Strong character communicates consistency, generates the trust that allows subordinates to realize their potential, and communicates respect.

A strong leader develops his vision from within. He draws upon his history, meets others needs, and helps the organization in gathering resources.

Five myths about leadership are that leadership and management are the same; that all salespersons and entrepreneurs are leaders; that the mere aquisition of knowledge creates an ability to lead; that being first is the same as leading; and that leadership is based upon position. The real leader, he says, is the one who has influence with others.

Real leadership, the author says, is being the person that others will gladly and confidently follow. The five levels of leadership are (1) position--people follow because they have to; (2) permission--people follow because they want to; (3) production--people follow because of what the leader has done for the organization; (4)people development--people follow because of what you have done for them; and (5) personhood--people follow because of who the leader is and what he has done for them.

The higher one goes in leadership, he says, (1) the longer it takes to go from one level of leadership to another; (2) the easier it is to lead; (3) the greater the personal growth. One does not graduate from the old levels, but rather, as one advances, one must meet the requirements of more and more levels.

The act of empowering others changes lives, he says. The qualifications of an empowerer are position, relationship, respect, and commitment. To empower others to reach their potential, a leader should (1) evaluate them; (2) model for them; (3) give them permission to succeed; (4) transfer authority to them; (5) publicly show your confidence in them; (6) supply them with feedback, and (7) release them to continue on their own.

"As you empower others, " he says, "you will find that most aspects of your life will change for the better. Empowering others can free you personally to have more time for the important things in your life, increase the effectiveness of your organization, increase your influence with others, and, best of all, make an incredibly positive impact on the lives of the people you empower."

A leader's lasting impact is measured by the quality of his succession, the author concludes. Leaders who leave a legacy of succession lead the organization with a long view, create a leadership culture, pay the price today to achieve success tomorrow, view team leadership above individual leadership, and walk away from the organization with integrity. Few leaders are able to pass it on, but the author takes pride that in his career he has been one who has learned to do just that.

This book can best be used as a guide to emerging leaders, or a checklist for established leaders. One can quibble about the components of all his categories, and the oversimplification they entail, but there is no question that the author is a master synthesizer of forests of information and is well worth reading and pondering.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
Maxwell does cover some helpful qualities of leadership and steps to becoming a more effective leader. However, I did not appreciate at all the references to God and church and mainly Christian ideologies. He says at one point that ultimate greatness does not come within but instead can and only comes from God which is completely an opinionated statement and has no right in being in a book about leadership. Granted the publisher is Christian Audio which I must admit I did not realize until after I purchased the book. Had I realized before I probably would have never bought it. Nonetheless, the title of the book is Leadership 101: What every leader needs to know. No where in that title does it says based on religious preference or according to God fearing Christians. In my opinion after he made religious references that where clearly one sided it discredited the book and author greatly.

Nonetheless, if you can ignore the religious none sense and God references then the rest is appreciable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
There were too many stories of successful businesses and quotes from the leaders. I felt like I was reading information I already knew. Honestly, I didn't learn anything new and felt it was a quick easy way to make money. I don't like books that try to motivate me, but only offer cliche attempts.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2003
Leadership 101: What Every Leader Needs To Know by John Maxwell (a gifted public speaker and the founder of "INJOY", an organization helping people maximizing their personal and leadership potential) is a concise and profound guidebook to unlocking one's inner potential to influence, motivate, and unite others toward a common goal. Tips, tricks, techniques, insight, keys to self-confidence and more fill this practical and resourceful pocket resource. Leadership 101 is strongly recommended, highly rewarding reading for anyone with leadership responsibilities or aspirations.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
I first got this book two years ago. It is remarkable. Yet a fast read. I got the audio version then followed by the paper edition as I do with any book that I call a keeper. When I scratched one of the two CDs, I immediately bought this book again.

This book is one of those that every person can benefit by. It is an injection of wisdom for work, life, decision making and much more.

The way it is written is very entertaining. One example is that the CEO of Coke a Cola walked in and addressed the meeting with a direct time line using the number of a Billion which covered months, a Billion Days, A billion Minutes, a Billion Days. These numbers covered when Human life appeared. Christianity appeared. All the way up to "A Billion Coke a colas was yesterday. Now what are we going to do to make a Billion Coke a Colas tomorrow"

This book is what I affectingly call a goldmine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2016
John Maxwell is a legend in the self development arena. He has hundreds of books on leadership development. Usually his books are bigger books with more pages. This 101 series is compact and a easy read. Great seller the books came really quick. I reccomend this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
pretty simple 101 of leadership. lots of "common sense" laid out. you'll know 80% of this by simply having a job and watching what others do. the other 20% will be a, "duh, that makes sense" moment.

read the whole thing in under 45 minutes.

what makes Maxwell's "common sense" books is how you execute what you read. the format is super simply and easy to make notes and understand. much better than a full textbook on leadership. do what the book says and be a leader, not a manager.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse