Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attain your personal best during your next project
So, who is this book for? According to the authors, not just people in a "leadership position." Rather, it's for anyone who has the desire and will to lead. The workbook begins by getting you to look in the mirror. The next time you find yourself asking "Why don't they do something about that," you should look at yourself in the mirror and change the question to "Why...
Published on August 2, 2012 by Book Mark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
For a class and not casual reading.
Published 1 month ago by Suann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attain your personal best during your next project, August 2, 2012
This review is from: The Leadership Challenge Workbook (Paperback)
So, who is this book for? According to the authors, not just people in a "leadership position." Rather, it's for anyone who has the desire and will to lead. The workbook begins by getting you to look in the mirror. The next time you find yourself asking "Why don't they do something about that," you should look at yourself in the mirror and change the question to "Why don't YOU do something about that?"

The workbook takes a very inspiring and practical approach. Instead of working on leadership skills in general, the exercises in the book are framed in the context of a "personal best" leadership project. Whether it's a project you've been assigned, or a project you've created, the workbook's practice is designed to elevate your leadership to the best it's ever been over the course of the project.

That's so much more concrete than a general, abstract approach. Targeted feedback comes in immediately, and there's much less wondering how to apply the ideas.

Just as the Leadership Challenge book does, it follows the 5 essential rules that the authors believe will create your personal best as a ruler:

1. Model the Way
2. Inspire a Shared Vision
3. Challenge the Process
4. Enable Others to Act
5. Encourage the Heart

Each chapter is broken up into Reflection, Application, and Implications. It's the Implications part that makes a real difference. It means seeing where things could or will go "from here." It's an open-ended approach that leaves the mind alert to developments and possibilities.

This workbook is highly recommended for those in leadership positions, or who wish to lead. It should prove useful in situations that demand innovation, as well as those that require a more conservative approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Real-World Lessons, April 28, 2013
By 
Paul (Boise, Idaho) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Challenge Workbook (Paperback)
This book has challenged me to look internally and externally about leadership problems, solutions, and to think critically about them. So far it has been excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally useful, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The 5 practices are totally relevant in today's professional climate. I ordered a workbook for each member of my team. We are going through the exercises, and everyone has chosen a project on which to practice the principles. I believe this will give all of us the tools we need to get through some sticky problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For leaders, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Challenge Workbook (Paperback)
Good companion to the text and I recommend it to readers of all discipline. Use this workbook after reding each chapter of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best leadership book I have ever read!, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Challenge Workbook (Paperback)
The best leadership book ever written. I have read 400+ leadership books and this is #1 in my library. Fantastic information, lots of superb data, well-written - I cannot say enough good things about this book - to me it is an absolute MUST read if you are in any way serious about leadership development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Project development done right., July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is step by stephow to put a project together so that it is accepted and meets the requirements of a solution. I would rather spend the time with problem definition and resolution than convincing people of a given solution. This book is a road map to that destination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insights, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Challenge Workbook (Paperback)
This workbook gave practical insights which could be utilized in the sphere of management, a perfect compliment to the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Challenge Workbook (Paperback)
I love this book! Keep you in the path to being a great leader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Challenge Workbook (Paperback)
"great seller, completely satisfied"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, November 3, 2014
By 
Suann (PHOENIX, AZ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Leadership Challenge Workbook (Paperback)
For a class and not casual reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Leadership Challenge Workbook
The Leadership Challenge Workbook by Barry Z. Posner (Paperback - July 31, 2012)
$22.95 $16.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.